FB Twitter

Ferndale House (HM60), Cotswolds

Ferndale House (HM60), Cotswolds

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.4
Location
4.7
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.6


Click here to view full property description and more images
Ferndale House is one of Habitat Escapes premier properties and a fine example of Lower Mill Estate architecture at its best:. Found along Nightingale Walk, where at least 19 pairs of these songbirds nest each year, the house faces south towards Swillbrook Lake and Nature Reserve with exceptional views over Swillbrook. This property is a substantial six bedroom, arranged over 3 floors with vast living areas both inside and out and offers beautifully decorated interiors. Sleeps 11 + childs pull out truckle bed.
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house, in a fab location with absolutely everything you need for a weekend away with friends and family. Looking forward to booking another stay!



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 195 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed everything the house and estate has to offer for a break away and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

A Wonderful Break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were impressed by the house and were particularly pleased with the accommodation. Being a group of 10 we thought it could be a bit tight however this was not the case. All the rooms were clean and nicely furnished.
The top floor was really good being an open plan kitchen diner and lounge. It meant we could eat and relax either inside or outside on one of the balconies.
The glassware needs replacing . It was quite unpleasant to drink wine out of a misty plastic cup. In addition the outside of the house desperately needs repainting.
Overall we were very happy.




Habitat Escapes Team replied 292 days ago
Hello Fran, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at Ferndale House. We will pass on your feedback regarding the cups and painting onto our maintenance team and the home owner to ensure this gets looked into. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Annual family visit

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in various properties in Lower Mill Estate, Ferndale House is by far the most luxurious and bigger than any of the similar properties we have used. The bedrooms and the living/ dining areas are so spacious that having 12 people there, it did not feel that everyone was on top of each other. The number of bathrooms also was very adequate for the number of people. The only area to perhaps improve is the single bedroom which could be decorated in a more neutral furniture as although comfortable, my 19 year old son did not appreciate very much sleeping in a girlie room. It may also help if the bunk beds could be changed to 2 single beds as if the guests are all adults, it will be difficult to use that room.
We loved the whole place and will definitely visit and stay there again purely because of the space. The only thing which we were not very happy about was the plastic cups and wine glasses, with a few of the cups cracked which we were not able to use. The plastic wine glasses were obviously well used and had discolored so it was not very nice to use them. For the price and the luxury element of the place, I think using glass would have been much better although plastic is more practical. However if it is replenished more often then it would not feel dirty and old. But that is the only dissapointment otherwise we had a great time in a fabulous place. Thank you so much for having us.




Habitat Escapes Team replied 300 days ago
Hello Haleh, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Ferndale House. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the property. We will pass on your comments regarding the glasses and bed configuration onto the home owner, to ensure this gets looked into. We do hope to welcome you back soon.

Ferndale House

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful house in a stunning location. The only criticism is that some parts of the house needed a little maintenance due to wear and tear (shower screens, bathroom doors etc).



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at Ferndale House - t's a beautiful property! Thank you for your feedback, we have passed on your comments to our maintenance team. We hope to welcome you back to the estate soon.

Xmas at ferndale

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at christmas time . Exceptional house and amenities
Although
Food in restaurant not up to standard and a better shop for groceries would benefit the site




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay - Ferndale House is a brilliant property! We hope to welcome you back to Lower Mill!

The Location and Facilities.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I feel a lot more needs to be done with the overall management of the grounds, rivers and lakes. Although I do appresiate the necessity for retaining the wild life and bird habitats, in my opinion more dredging hedge cutting should be done.
Also, as for the so called restaurant, that is a joke. Please, please sort that out if nothing else.
K.Ward




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for providing us with your feedback and delighted to see you scored very highly on most aspects of your stay. With regards to the grounds, we are located within a beautiful nature reserve and do have strict laws to abide to. We are unable to cut back hedges, trees or reeds during the bird breeding season which runs from 1st March to the end of July (and sometimes into August if a bird has a second or third brood). As part of our ongoing nature commitments, we wish to protect the birds we have on our Estate and hope our guests can sit back and enjoy the sights and sounds they provide. A world without bird song would be a very sad one indeed. We're saddened to hear you had a negative experience at Ballihoo as they always endeavour to provide excellent customer service and quality of food. We would love the opportunity to demonstrate this to you on your next visit with a negotiated discount. Please do contact the office and let us know of your experience as we and Ballihoo would like the opportunity to rectify this. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Great venue for family celebrations .... shame the site's swimming pool was cold

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Communication was great every step of the way. The house is gorgeous although showing sign of use in some areas e.g. The main ring on the hob wasn't working, some sockets weren't working in the kitchen, the dyson clearly hadn't been emptied for some time as it was full to the brim and we couldn't find out how to open it ... but there was a dustpan and brush to use. However overall the house was in good condition and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed the outlook to the back, over the water. The bird life enchanted the children .. and adults. We only went to the pool once because it was so cold ... our 18 month old had blue lips! It was a shame as the steam room and sauna were great. I a. Glad that we didn't choose a smaller house further up into the site because it felt like an estate and very bunched up as we drove through. Yes, it was expensive but we enjoyed spending precious family time together.



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Wendy, Thank you for your recent feedback and review. We really appreciate the time you have taken to provide this for us. Feedback from our guests is important to us. We can pass your comments onto the homeowner as they are always happy to accept suggestions and improvements. I am sorry to hear that the pool was cold when you went to use it. That is surprising as the pool is heated to 30 degrees. I will however pass your comments onto the Spa Team to make them aware. We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lower Mill Estate with Habitat Escapes and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards