FB Twitter

Ewen House (MV25), Cotswolds

Ewen House (MV25), Cotswolds

3.8
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
71% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.7
Condition
3.7
Location
4.1
Value
3.3
Customer
Service
4.0


Click here to view full property description and more images
Ewen House is set in a traffic-free location within the water garden in Mill Village, built in a traditional Cotswold style. The property comprises open-plan ground floor living with double doors opening from the dining and sitting area onto an enclosed terrace enjoying views across the water garden. On the first floor can be found a master ensuite bathroom with shower over, double bedroom with ensuite WC and wash basin. Further bunk room as well as a single bedroom and a family bathroom with shower over bath. There is also a downstairs cloakroom, a utility cupboard housing a washing machine, and a wood-burning stove in the living area. The property has two enclosed decking areas and is pet friendly, ideal for those who want to take man’s best friend away with them! Ewen House is one of only a handful of properties within Mill Village to benefit from access to the onsite Spa facilities.
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

Fine

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
No hot water or working oven on arrival but both were fixed fairly quickly. Sadly there was no hot water in the spa / pool showers for the weekend we were there. The house is small and perfectly fine but starting to look a bit dated. Parking was terrible - always someone else in our spot and in a very wet weekend that was annoying.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied 90 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review, we appreciate your feedback and ensure it is passed to to the relevant departments. We hope to welcome you back to the estate, when the weather is better, so you can enjoy all the estate has to offer.

Wonderful setting for an active break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 8 days here with our family with age range 16 to 74 all 5 of us had a great time. Walking, water sports, outdoor swimming pool, tennis all on site plus this property gives you free access to the spa and fitness centre that has gym and in door and out door pool. We used it every day and paid extra for massages and beauty treatments. Lots of lovely village pubs around with really delicious food not just ordinary pub grub!



Habitat Escapes Team replied 304 days ago
Hello Sheila, thank you for leaving a lovely review. We are happy to hear you had a brilliant stay at Ewen House and got to enjoy all that Lower Mill Estate has to offer. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Gorgeous location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cosy and comfortable little cottage in an incredible location surrounded by wildlife. The beds are comfortable and the cottage is well supplied with all the necessaries. Beautifully quiet. Cons: wi-fi is a bit slow and unreliable and there's a weird stinginess about eg loo roll and dishwasher tablets (only four for a four-bedroom house for a week!)



Habitat Escapes Team replied 336 days ago
Hello Naomi, thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay in Ewen House. The estate is currently having fibre optic broadband installed to improve the wifi! We hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards.

Rather expensive for the quality of the accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Rather expensive for the quality of the accommodation. There were lots of ants near the kitchen door. The maps were inaccurate so that it was not easy to follow the walking trail. The shop was poorly stocked and outrageously expensive.



Habitat Escapes Team replied 350 days ago
Hello Jacqui. Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the estate. We will pass your comments onto the onsite Shop/Restaurant. The map has only very recently been updated but again we will ensure the estate management hear the feedback about the walking trails. We are saddened to hear that you feel the holiday was expensive however our properties are very competitively priced both onsite and within the area. We do hope you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future.

Cosy and warm

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The week was wet and cold so the fact that the cottage was cosy and hot was suited. However, in summer or hotter times I wonder how hot the cottage could get.

We were a family of four and that was enough for the cottage to feel full, especially as there is limited storage.

No lake or river view but would definitely recommend being at this end of the estate as the stone cottages have more character than the soulless glass fronted properties over looking the lakes.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, and sorry to hear the weather wasn't on your side but it sounds like the cosy feeling Ewen Cottage provides certainly made up for it. Mill village offers a quaint village setting for those looking for a more traditional property to holiday in, only steps away from tennis courts, Activity hub and lake launch pad. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Lower Mill and hope to welcome you back in the future.

New Year break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our week at Mill Village on the Lower Mill Estate, however we were disappointed with Ewen House house. Having stayed at Lower Mill in the modern contemporary properties previously we were expecting a very different holiday home environment, that being a traditional cottage, compact, and cosy. We were prepared for that, but not for the quality of fixtures and fittings. We have given a more detailed breakdown on our feedback form to Habitat Escapes. The owners of this property really need to pay attention to the amount of crockery and kitchen items stored. We had absolutely nowhere to store food as every cupboard was in use. Dinner service for 15 people in a small 6 person cottage seems rather excessive! Saucepans in very poor condition. In general the kitchen does need a refurb. There is very little storage space for clothes, no hanging space in the 2 single rooms, there is wardrobe space in master and 2nd bedrooms but again filled with any amount of extra bedding. We appreciate that space is a premium at Ewen but with some careful planning it could be so much better. Love the Lower Mill estate and will return but not to Ewen House.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear you intend on visiting Lower Mill estate again and thank you for your return custom. Ewen house is indeed a very different design to the more contemporary glass fronted properties found onsite. Many guests really enjoy the cosy cottage feel of these Cotswold stone properties but we certainly take your comments about the storage within the property into consideration and will relay this to the homeowner. Please do let us know when you hope to return so we can find a suitable property for your party.