FB Twitter

Bittern Reeds (HM6), Cotswolds

Bittern Reeds (HM6), Cotswolds

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
3.6
Customer
Service
4.0


Click here to view full property description and more images
Bittern Reeds is a charming three bedroom detached house facing south on Howells Mere. The property benefits from first floor open plan living area with spectacular views over the water, ground and first floor decks and two bathrooms.
One allocated parking space, Wi-Fi & Spa use.

A winter stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We had a relaxing stay, helped by good wintery weather, cold and clear skies with recent flooding in surrounding fields. Our house was as pictured, although we were disappointed that one bed was shown as two singles but was in fact one double bed. This wasn't appropriate for our family. Our ensuite shower was clean but the grouting needed a good scrub. The house was in a lovely position on the lake and it was easy to walk around the site. We loved the wildlife. Arriving in the dark, we did struggle to locate the house because it is tucked completely out of sight behind four garages. We would have appreciated being given clearer instructions. We enjoyed all the spa facilities and in particular the outdoor heated pool, and had lovely walks and bike rides. However, two episodes spoiled the stay for me, both to do with preparations beforehand. First, we asked on the booking form whether there was feather bedding as my partner is asthmatic and becomes instantly short of breath. We had no reply until two days before we arrived. Having been told there were no feathers, I was shocked to find on arrival that seven large cushions were piled on the bed, all stuffed with feathers. I also had considerable frustration when trying to discover exactly what activities would be provided by the Activity Hub. There was no simple chart for what activity applies to what date, and when I rang, I was further confused. Very disappointing, even though the people were pleasant and helpful once we got there.



Habitat Escapes Team replied 166 days ago
Hello Judith, thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay at Bittern Reeds, we are pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay. Bittern Reeds provides great flexibility for guests as it has a zip and lock bed meaning it can be set up as a double or twin bedroom. We are sorry that the set up didn’t meet your parties requirements however had we have known we would have been more than happy to change the configuration for you. We apologise for the confusion over the feather bedding and activities and will ensure we are clearer with our communications going forward. We will take your comments about the cleanliness of the bathrooms within the property into consideration and will relay this to our housekeeping team.Please do let us know if you hope to return so we can find a suitable property for your party as we would love to welcome you back to the estate.

A lovely relaxing break by the lake

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bittern Reeds with our 4 small children (7,5 and twins 2). The accommodation was clean and spacious and had everything we needed for our stay. We loved the balcony overlooking the lake from the open plan kitchen/sitting room giving us beautiful views. We enjoyed staying on Lower Mill Estate. There are few cars driving around so it is lovely for the kids cycling and scooting. We loved the swimming pools and we enjoyed having a drink outside the café while the kids played in the small playground or on the football pitch and made friends with other kids staying at the same time. There are good things to do in the area with children like the lakesaide beach and the roman museum in Cirencester on a rainy day.



Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lucy, thank you for taking the time to review Bittern Reeds. We are happy to hear that you and your family loved Bittern Reeds and got to enjoy all the Lower Mill Estate and the surrounding area has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Beautiful relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfectly located with beautiful views over the lake.
Lots of possibilities for the kids to play and wonderful pool,spa and gym facilities.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, sounds like you and your family made the most of all Lower Mill Estate has to offer, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Review of property

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The property had a lovely outlook over the lake. Inside however we did not feel the property offered good value for money as we had previously stayed at 7 Howells mere at the same time last year which was larger for far less money. Whilst the property was clean, the kitchen cupboards and drawers were very untidy and muddly as was the cupboard in the Lounge which stored the dvds and games which made us think that the property was a little uncared for. I was disapoointed by the attitude of a member of staff at he habitat first escapes when I politely requested if we could retain our spa pass beyond 10am on the departure day. She was quite rude and told me this could not happen as they had no way of returning the spa pass to the property. When I explained that we had done this before with another holiday company at lower mill estate and could return it to your office or through the letterbox of the property we were again told no. I found this very inflexible. We had paid for spa usage for 5 days and were not being allowed to use the card on th fifth day. Eventually it was agreed that we could and I promptly returned the card at 12:30pm to your office on the day of leaving advising your member of staff of which property the card belonged to. I then received an email four days later requesting the return of the spa card which did not show much communication between your staff. In future I would book with lakeside holidays as I found there information much more transparent. I chose to book with your company as you had an office onsite in case of any concern but the mishandling of this situation has put me off a little and the property needed better care of all areas including the cupboards to command a higher price.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Habitat Escapes. We are saddened to hear you feel your stay fell short of expectations and we take all feedback very seriously. We will pass your comments about the tidiness of the cupboards onto housekeeping who have a high level of standards so will be equally disappointed. We do ask guests to contact us on arrival or if they experience any issues within their rental property. If you had contacted us on your arrival to let us know you felt these areas needed more attention we would of course have been able to send housekeeping back to your property to rectify this issue for you. A new member of staff met you on your day of departure and was unsure if guests are allowed to use the spa on day of departure, she did seek advice from a manager who confirmed this would be absolutely fine so we are sorry you feel this was not handled in a delicate manner. We do hope to welcome you back to the estate at a later date and thank you again for booking with Habitat Escapes.

Fantastic family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over Easter weekend, which was brilliant from the minute of arrival it all went smooth, it was very clean no dust anywhere you can tell the detail that goes into the stay down to the tea and coffee, small shampoo's in the bathrooms. The kitchen had all the equipment that you would want. The dog loved it with the Nature trail. We will be back loved it.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive feedback - our housekeeping team are certainly thorough and all our property owners choose carefully their interiors to create a wonderful experience. We're glad to hear you made the most of the beautiful outdoor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.