FB Twitter

1 Somerford Lodge (CW103), Cotswolds

1 Somerford Lodge (CW103), Cotswolds

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.3
Location
4.6
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.7


Click here to view full property description and more images
1 Somerford Lodges commands a stunning location overlooking the main sailing lake – Somerford Lagoon. Ideal for keen water enthusiasts, you can launch directly from the property on to the water but equally well set back from the water’s edge with a garden area. Accommodation arranged over 3 floors to accommodate 8 guests. Fabulous example of contemporary living awaits your holiday destination complete with Sky sports, Sky cinema and BT sport.

Great location, in need of a interior refresh

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is in a stunning location and layout is excellent. The interior decoration needs refreshing - new painting in all of the bathrooms for example. The property was also in need of a deep clean - under sofas had dust balls and likewise in some of the shelves. The kitchen equipment lacked a few essentials - such as a measuring jug and lemon squeezer, so would suggest this needs reviewing.
Jo




Habitat Escapes Team replied 135 days ago
Hello Jo, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Its great to hear that you thought that property was in a great location and has a great layout! Thank you for providing your feedback regarding the decoration - we are currently undergoing our property standards so we will add on your feedback to our checks so we can pass it onto the owner. We hope to welcome you back to the estate again!

What a beautiful place!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in 1 Somerford Lodge for my husband's 30th birthday which was very impressive indeed! We booked this lodge as it suited our party of 5 adults and 3 children perfect!
When we arrived and explored the house, my 9 year old son was amazed at the home's beauty and kept repeating 'wow' (particularly when entering the living area!) The presentation of the home was lovely and had everything that we could have possibly needed for our weekend stay. We had a 1 year old in our party, so to find that there was already a high chair and cot bed was brilliant! The plastic cutlery was another added bonus!!
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night which was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced! It is named also as a 'clubhouse' but I struggle to see why.
The walk around the estate is lovely and there was a lovely park and tennis area for the children to play in. We didn't have chance to make use of the spa treatments but the pool was a great hit with everyone!
We were all sad to leave when departure day came around and my 3 year old daughter insisted we move into the new holiday house! When the children went back to school, their teachers told us of the stories they had heard of our fantastic weekend - which sums it up really.....if they went back to school and told everyone of how much of an amazing weekend they had, then we know the weekend was a success!!




Habitat Escapes Team replied 222 days ago
Hello Sarah, thank you for leaving a great review about 1 Somerford Lodge. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the estate and the property. We are happy to hear that you got to enjoy the facilities on offer. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

A beautiful lakeside house with impressive architecture and stylish presentation.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is in a great location at Lower Mill Estate and the views are superb. The contemporary design is very appealing and I miss the house already! The owners have decorated with flair and created a beautiful holiday home. I would recommend trimming the trees and shrubs in the garden next to the lagoon as the view is compromised from the main bedroom.

Lower Mill Estate is run impeccably and the environment couldn't be better designed. My only disappointment with our stay was the rampant and invasive weed which has taken over Somerford Lagoon and Clearwater Lake this year. We brought our own dinghy so that we could enjoy the lake but rowing was severely hampered by the weed and sailing would have been impossible. The weed could be extremely dangerous if someone fell in and became entangled and if left to its own devices, the lake will become a field within a few years. We understood from a member of the grounds staff that the estate wasn't planning on clearing the weed for "environmental" reasons. If I were a homeowner on the estate, I would take great exception to paying high service charges at a Lakeside resort if the lakes were abandoned to nature. It's really sad to see this level of neglect in an otherwise superb Cotswolds development.

I would love to come back to this property but would need to be convinced that the weed had been cleared first. The value of the properties will be severely affected in the future by the loss of the lake view and amenities. I was considering buying at Lower Mill myself but as an investment, I would have serious doubts regarding future re-sale. I love Lower Mill Estate so please don't abandon the lakes which are the whole point of the site. We had a wonderful week and hope to return despite the "weed rant!"




Habitat Escapes Team replied 254 days ago
Dear Ian, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 1 Somerford Lodge. We are glad you agree that the house is in a great location and is stylish inside! Thank you for letting us know about the weeds, we will ensure that your comments regarding the weeds gets passed onto to estate team so they can look into this matter. We do hope this hasn't put you off returning as we would love to welcome you back to the Estate! Kind regards.

Pleasant enough

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend, everyone enjoyed the activities. I have to say the decor & soft furnishings are a little tired & dated though.



Habitat Escapes Team replied 308 days ago
Hello Gillian, thank you for your review. We hope you had a lovely stay at 1 Somerford Lodge and got to enjoy all the activities! We will pass your feedback onto the homeowner. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Girls getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to habitat escapes but our first stay at 1 Somerford Lodge. The property is very modern and welcoming with a beautiful master bedroom on the ground floor. Overall a lovely relaxing stay with gorgeous views.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback following your stay - we agree, the master bedroom is fabulous! We look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Best house we’ve stayed in at Lower Mill Estate - very clean & spacious & to a high standard

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our sixth visit to Lower Mill Estate & by far the best property that we’ve stayed in to date - it was very clean, the layout of the house was ideal and the rooms, in particular the master bedroom, were very spacious.
It was also kitted out to a high standard for example a Quooker tap and Smeg fridge and even the dog bowls provided were of a high quality.
I’d highly recommend this house and we’ll definitely be back.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. 1 Somerford Lodge is a fabulous property with great views! We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Stunning stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at 1Somerford Lodge over a sunny weekend in October as a family of 5 with our dog. What a beautiful property with we think the best view on the whole of Lower Mill Estate. This is our second visit to the Estate and this house beats our first house hands down.Comfortable beds with lovely linen and a roaring fire. Kitchen has plenty of utensils and equipment to cook with.Wifi good so kids were happy.
House and garden were perfect for our needs.




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend. 6 adults and 3 babies under 2. Would highly recommend this place as a family weekend getaway.



The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, it certainly is a lovely location for a family getaway. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Short stay but fab time had by all!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short break away in beautiful Cotswolds with the family. Lower Mill Estate is extremely well kept with great facilities for all ages.
There is a range of great priced properties to rent according to your budget. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Easy to research and book up with a smooth efficient service from the bookings team. We have previously stayed in various properties on site and always enjoyed our stay. Definitely worth a stay especially in the warmer months to make use of all the fantastic facilities available. We will definitely be back soon! Well done Habitat Escapes!




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! We loved having you at Lower Mill Estate and can't wait to welcome you back!

An excellent break in a beautiful settinh

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for New Year and had a great time. 3 Families, 4 toddlers/kids and a dog!

The view of the lake when we woke up in the morning was lovely and the location was great for reaching the public walks, the swimming pool and the shop. The whole set-up of Lower Mill estate is great and very family friendly.

The standard of the property was excellent, my husband is very fussy and he was delighted with what we found when we arrived. All very clean, well equipped and ideal for us as we spent a lot of time in the house because of all the kids needing naps, early bedtimes etc

We have already looked at booking up for the summer!




The Habitat Escapes Team replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - it certainly sounds as if you made the most of Lower Mill Estate. We will look forward to welcoming you back in the summer!