FB Twitter

Bun Cill Athat

Bun Cill Athat

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Bun Cillatah - Close to Kenmare - Great Views

On of two Luxury Homes on 14 acres of private, secluded mountain land with breathtaking views of Kenmare Bay and MacGillycuddy Reeks. Electronic gates (ensuring maximum privacy) and a sweeping drive lead to spacious accommodation and a great place to chill out, only 2.5 miles from Kenmare town.Your Home Away From Home. Bun Cillatha is a generously proportioned single story hom

Nice house however poor quality service

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Truly nice house located in a beautiful area of Kenmare. The house is large enough and well equipped (except for the dishes and plates). The house is however getting old and would need some works (the heating system, some of the windows).
We were disappointed by the wifi which is limited. After 5 days the wifi connection was turned off. I went to the pub of the owner to see what was the problem and I was welcomed in a rude manner "I cannot help call this number" (no "sorry for the inconvenience caused" or so)... I took us 4 days to have the wifi back, and only for 3 days, because it was turned off again...
So in a nutshell a beautiful house but with a disappointing customer service.


Raffaello from Ixelles stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 14 nights in July 2017


Great Holiday Home

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house in a great location about about 5 miles from Kenmare.
The house is very spacious and clean with spectacular views. The owner was very helpful and friendly
The condition of the sofa in the sitting room is poor and some windows ( sitting room and master bedroom) have problems with condensation inbetween the double glazing which means a loss of the beautiful view.
An extra large towel per person would be very welcome because the house has two bubble baths.
Overall a great holiday home !




Mari from Amsterdam stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in July 2017


Comfortable stay in a beautiful part of the world

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A good position 2 miles from Kenmare with views over the estuary.
Very spacious and comfortable accommodation for 4 people.

Did not read details of hire properly and ended up paying €30 for calor gas heating (Water only) and electricity.

With access to a good dishwasher, it would be nice to have more cutlery and crockery to fill it up.

Recommended and we will return.



Simon from Newbury stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in May 2017


Perfect location for a quiet getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at this property. It was so well equipped and the location was very special, so quiet and peaceful and only a short drive into Kenmare. Our kids loved the space the house offered. Jer the host was great and called in to check everything was OK on the day we arrived! We will definitely be returning to what our kids call "our Kerry house"!!

Ciara from Dublin 12 stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in April 2017


To have

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0

We spent a lovely week in this beautiful well equipped villa with a beautiful view of the sea.
Quiet and close to the town too.


Stephane from Villeneuve D Ascq stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 6 nights in December 2016


Great place to spend your holidays

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much and surely highly recommend the holiday home. As advertised it is a remote and very quiet place in the midst of nature. The view over the lake is stunning.

Guest from Buerstadt stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in October 2016


The perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was spacious and very comfortable; one of the best we have stayed in and we always stay in apartments. Jer Foley was brilliant with his friendliness and support. The location was to die for - views, near to Kenmare, lovely spacious gardens, outside sitting area in the evening sun. It is also the perfect base for seeing South West Ireland. The culture of the people in Kenmare has to be experienced - friendly, helpful, pleasant - you don't need zebra crossings as drivers stop to wave you across the road! All in all a wonderful experience - we will be back to this apartment in September 2017.

Terry from Holmfirth stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in September 2016


Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy with the house and it was well placed for touring Co Kerry. Nit picking - could do with some TLC as it was slightly tired and for example, the oven could do with in depth cleaning. Extra hand towels wouldn't come amiss (luxury). Kenmare is a grand town with a buzz and plenty of bars, cafes and shops. There are also several supermarkets for supplies. Owners v helpful. All in all a really good holiday.

Guest from Alva stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in August 2016


A great Holliday Home

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very good week in Bun Cill Ahat
The house is very comfortable.
The view in the kenmare baie is fabulous, and it's very calm.
We recommand this house.





Fabrice from Paris stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in August 2016


Excellent house

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was just like the pictures. The flowers around the house were an additional nice treat. A word of advice, though. There are two identical homes on the property ... Bun Cill Athat and Barr Cill Athat. We learned Bun means "lower" and Barr means "upper". While the views from Bun Cill Athat are nice, the views from Barr Cill Athat are spectacular (since it was higher up the hill). If views are important to you and Barr Cill Athat is available, request that home. If Barr isn't available, Bun is a very nice alternative.

Karen from Oak Point stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in June 2016


A great week in March

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week around Easter in the holiday home; the house is bright, modern und spacious. We were there with 4 persons. That´s perfect in two bedrooms with a bathroom each.

To go shopping you need a car; Kenmare is about 4 km from the home.
The gas oven is tricky: there is a timer that needs to be set; but it can also get set erranously. My suggestion: Someone should change the mode so that it will operate without the timer or: a fool-proof manual / instruction should be at hand.

Although there is another holiday home on the premises (same gate and driveway) we never saw the other house nor the guests.

Gas and electricity has to be paid extra.

Our host was always very friendly and helpful when we asked for minor repairs (eg. replacement of bulbs).


Stephan from Celle stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 6 nights in March 2016


Wow!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a large beautiful home in a quiet private location. With a view! Great location between the Kerry and Beara Rings. Close to Killarney and the National Park. Loved Kenmare. House very well furnished. The kitchen is huge! Jer, the host, was incredibly friendly and responsive. Hope to return some day for a much longer stay.
The Lynns
The Olsons
USA


Jeanette from stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 5 nights in April 2016


Lovely property and location for a complete rest.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is located in a raised location with fabulous views out across the river to the mountain. The house was nicely furnished and equipped with everything you need. Thank you to Jer for all his help during our stay.
Hope to return again soon.


Ian from Kent stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 14 nights in November 2015


Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lessor’s website perfectly describes what we found in reality. No negative surprises as location, house, furnishing and service were really excellent. There is only one comment: Distance to Kenmare is about 4 km and requires using the car as walking along these narrow roads with no sidewalk seemed to us too dangerous. But we think this is acceptable given the beautiful and peaceful location.



Guest from Kempen stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in September 2015


Fantastic house, fantastic area

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is spacious and well appointed. It has everything you could possibly want, including the deer that feed on the front lawn. The property manager, Jer, was particularly friendly and helpful.
The property is in an excellent position with easy access to Kenmare, the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula.


Ian from Grafton stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in September 2015


A great fortnight in Ireland

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 14 wonderful days in Ireland. The weather was not what we hoped it would be, but the house was just awesome and the owner very helpful. Kenmare is a pittoresque town worth visiting. We could not have chosen a better place to stay. Bun Cill Athat is a dream - we felt very much at home there. It was quiet and peaceful with a wonderful view, very spacious and comfortable.

Hans Werner from Goslar stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 14 nights in August 2015


Kenmare holiday property

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely light, spacious property with expansive, private grounds in a situation convenient for walking and sightseeing.
Bed/sofas could be a bit more comfortable.


Guest from Truro stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in August 2015


A Blissful Week at Bun Cill Athat

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was fabulous. We 3 senior citizen girlfriends spent a week here in July. The cottage is relatively new and had all of the comforts. Each of the bathrooms had jacuzzi tubs and we loved them.mthe kitchen was well appointed and we really appreciated the washer and dryer. This cottage sits at the back of the property and is very private. The town of Kenmare is close by and is quite charming. This was my third trip to Ireland and this cottage is absolutely the best ever.

I would also like to praise the owner. Her was very responsive and very kind to us. We got free desserts at his restaurant/pub. The best food ever.

Thanks Jer--for a great stay

Beth Nicholas, Corona del Mar, California


Guest from Corona Del Mar stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in July 2015


Wonderful stay in beautiful Kenmare

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't say enough good things about this well appointed and extremely well equipped property. Situated on a hill-side with spectacular views of Kenmare Bay to the front and the Kerry mountains to the back, this home away from home will not disappoint even the pickiest of vacationers. The two-bedroom cottage features two master suites each with jacuzzi bathtubs. Situated about 2 miles outside of Kenmare town, a car is a must. We Will be back and to be absolutely honest, hate to leave!

Michelle from Lexington stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in July 2015


Very comfortable accommodation, great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is a perfect holiday home for 2 couples. Spacious living area with practical kitchen, good cooker and comfortable dining area. Log fire was welcome especially as it was rather cold our week. Views from the house were spectacular and it was totally peaceful.Outdoor area was perfect to appreciate the views and we saw a deer on one occasion in the garden. The location was super, totally rural but with easy access to Kenmare with shops, restaurants and supermarket and lots of scenic routes and good walks close by. The local Sailors pub was a gentle 15 minute walk away and good for beer and food.

Guest from Holmfirth stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in May 2015


Comfortable and plenty of space

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house shows extremely spacious rooms with a comfort and quality achieving that of suites of excellent international business hotel groups - while a real wood kitchen front is merely unusual there but found here. However, as sole little critic point, there are as well the usual little shortcomings of such excellent hotels, the difficulties to get rooms (particularly baths) really clean and equipment really up to date and fully working. But this is a minor point compared with the overall quality. Currently, the house complies fully with the high (exaggerated?) standard expected (or better desired) by Middle Europeans. But the owner will have to care to retain that for the following years. The cooker is pure luxury, but there are to many good restaurants around to use it! The surrounding garden is as well generous, well styled and a lot of space if children want to play. The separation from the other house on the grounds works well and consequently there is silence and tranquility. Providing 3G-Wifi is very helpful and a well-received courtesy. The heating is working well, in addition the open fire produces the intended cosiness for the few cold rainy evenings we had. The position close to Kenmare between both peninsulas is ideal. We really enjoyed our stay and left with pity since we felt home.

Guest from Erftstadt stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 14 nights in May 2015


An Ideal place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is light, very spacious, and well furnished. To be able to sit outside with views of mountains, and sea, and the only noise is that of the birds is a truly relaxing experience.
Kenmare is a very good base for day trips in all directions, indeed, something for everyone. Great restaurants, and pub food adds to the appeal of this town.


Guest from Worthing stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in May 2015


A balm for the harried soul.

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Calm, peaceful and a view to die for. It was a joy to wake up to the spectacular view every morning! The house was very comfortable and well equipped and all instructions were easy to understand. Kenmare is an ideal location to be based for area activities and the village had everything we needed for supplies. Just a wonderful place to de-stress from our hectic lives and unwind. We would love to stay here again!

Guest from Carpentersville stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in March 2015


Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in Bun Cill Athat November and December 2014 and I loved the place. Spacious views. There are no neighbors within sight so you can be there really in peace. Rooms are big and decor is modern.

Some of the windows were "foggy", there were moisture between the glass. Little minus for that.

The owner is friendly and helpful and make my stay pleasant. I can recommend this place.


Guest from Kotka stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 60 nights in November 2014


Ireland 2014

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were in Kenmare for the last leg of our three week Ireland trip. I have used VRBO a number of times world wide and was again, not disappointed. Bun Cill Athat was a perfect setting for finishing off the trip. We had my mother-in-law join us for this final week as she had never been out of North America and we wanted her to have a European experience but we had to make certain she could handle all the pitfalls of old buildings, etc. This home was perfect. All ground floor, one level with easy access to all rooms for her walker. The home itself was well cared for in all aspects. Clean and fully stocked. It overlooked the beautiful Kenmare Valley and river and the start of the Ring of Kerry was right across the way. So convenient. There was a wonderful patio and the seclusion on the hillside was fantastic. Sitting out with a glass of wine doesn't get much better. There was a large parking area for vehicles and the security gate was an added bonus as you never worried about strangers. Finally, the manager, Jer, was excellent throughout all our communications. He was flexible and accommodating and when we ran into techie difficulty ( our inexperience not the cottage ) he quickly found a solution. From the beginning he was prompt and professional with his responses and did not at all disappoint when we were finally able to meet in person. The Irish are very friendly as a people and this man was a fine example of the people of the area. Thanks Jer. Your service was super.

A couple of suggestions. One, the bed in the main bedroom was not very comfortable. It may need changing soon as we both could feel the springs at times. Second, the directions need an overhaul. You were fine getting out of Kenmare across the bridge but turning right on the Bearra rd. the directions said to travel 1.2 km and turn left. No sign for a road or an address to punch into the GPS. In the rental car I had which is now typical to most vehicles, when driving the odometer cannot be read so going 1.2 kms is a guess. The road you turn left on ( Glengarry ? ) had an identifying sign but there were others that would be able to guide ( Fushia Cottage /Bearra PennRd , etc) as well. We lucked out finding the road and then once found we were to get to the cottage. A directional map may help.

Kenmare itself was a great village. Very typical Ireland and so friendly with every service available. Take in a night or two of traditional Irish music. It was a treat.


Guest from Barrie stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in September 2014


Excellent house - fab location - 5 star in all.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All excellent -beautiful house and views fab - big spacious and clean - all rooms as huge. loved the deer running through the massive grounds.

we'll be back for sure - owner v helpful too - we had a ball.


Guest from Dublin stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 14 nights in July 2014


Perfect location for a visit of Baera

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed the house which is very spacious. View on mountains and the bay. We loved the village of Kenmare, which is only a 10 minutes drive. The beds are quite narrow for 2 people. And we would have loved comfortable chairs for outside to read a book on the terras.

Guest from Huizen stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in July 2014


Ein "zu Hause" im Urlaub ...

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gute Lage, absolute Ruhe, mitten in der Natur (mit z.B. Rehen vor dem Wohnzimmer), großzügiges Raumangebot, hervorragende Ausstattung, einfach wunderbar erholsam. Kurzum: Sehr empfehlenswert!

Guest from Landau stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in June 2014


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 31 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a perfect location. Kenmare had excellent eating facilities and the scenery was amazing.

Would definitely make a return visit.


Guest from Melrose stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in May 2014


Beautiful cottage and Location

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed at cottage for 1st week in April.

The cottage and location was beautiful and well stocked and organised and we enjoyed our stay. We are regular visitors to Kenmare and the surrounding area and we usually visit twice a year. This house has been one of the most peaceful locations we have stayed in and if it is complete peace, quiet and relaxation you seek this is the place to be.

The deer roaming the site in the evenings and early morning is very nice natural addition to the cottage.

The only faults we found was that we needed to wash all of the cutlery and cookware in the dishwasher when we arrived as they were not completely clean and there was some food stuffs left stuck on them.

When we used the main bath for the 1st time there was a lot of dirt and body
hair that came out of the jets which freaked us a little so we filled with cold water and ran the jets and this cleared them out, again i would assume left by the last guests. We would recommend that this should be done by the cleaners on change over of guests every time.

The bedding was clean until we discover the under matress cover had a large stain on it which is a little of putting but we only discovered it by the end of our holiday.

so apart from these little but very important details everything else was fine and we would certainly recommend rental of this cottage.

Jer Foley and his team organised and arranged everything very well and were there if we needed any help or advise.

Brian & Debbie


Guest from Lucan stayed at Bun Cill Athat for 7 nights in March 2014