FB Twitter

Bar Cillatha

Bar Cillatha

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Bar Cillatah - Close to Kenmare - Great Views

On of two Luxury Homes on 14 acres of private, secluded mountain land with breathtaking views of Kenmare Bay and MacGillycuddy Reeks. Electronic gates (ensuring maximum privacy) and a sweeping drive lead to spacious accommodation and a great place to chill out, only 2.5 miles from Kenmare town.Your Home Away From Home. Barr Cillatha is a generously proportioned single story ho

A most comfortable base to relax and explore Kenmare and its surrounds.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bar Cillatha is lovely comfortable house with a great view over Kenmare Bay and beyond. Its spacious bedrooms and bathrooms provide a great sense of ease and relaxation. It has all you could need for self catering and in winter it is really snug by the fire. In summer it would be great for a barbecue. You can go on great walks or cycles directly from the house or from a short drive away. It is only a few minutes into Kenmare town with its range of cafes, shops and restaurants to suit everyone. So whether you want a quiet time or lots of activity it is a super base. Jer is a great host and anything needed is taken care of without delay. Very highly recommended.

Seamus from Dublin 14 stayed at Bar Cillatha for 8 nights in December 2018


Perfect Christmas getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely Christmas stay here...a great getaway.. Stunning views of the reeks,, spacious, very comfortable... Deers on the lawn.. Good walks down the road.. Kenmare and Kerry way nearby...
Need a car.. But great to seclude yourself from the hectic , busy, Christmas scene...


Bill from Carrigtohill stayed at Bar Cillatha for 5 nights in December 2018


We loved this house.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very spacious and comfortable, tastefully decorated and has a lovely view across the bay. The setting is very private, quiet and peaceful and on a clear night the starry skies are breathtaking. There is a deer family that grazes at dawn and dusk and we look at them while they are watching us....Highly recommend.

Barry from Moonee Ponds stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time using Kenmare Rentals. Found the whole experience hassel free. Would have no hesitation in recommending them. From the moment we picked up the keys, directions to property very clear and we were provided with all the information we needed for accessing hse, utilities etc. Lovely home, beautiful location, look forwarding to returning. Special thanks to Jer for making this property feel like a home away from home.

Bernie from Co Dublin stayed at Bar Cillatha for 14 nights in September 2017


Wonderful home away from home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best view ever - had a marvellous holiday, will be back hopefully some day.
.....................:::


Michelle from Skerries stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2017


Barr Coll Atha

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have asked for better. Secluded with fabulous views. A great get away from everyday life. Loved it.

Guest from Kildorrery stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in June 2017


Beautiful house with amazing scenery

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a brilliant time here. It's a very comforable and spacious house with an expansive garden and view of the sea. Extremely quiet as it is far away from the quiet road it's on. Can highly recommend.

Guest from Ingelheim stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in April 2017


Great as always

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had our third stay in this cottage last week and as always enjoyed throughly. Beautiful peaceful and quiet and private. A great place for a relaxing get away. Will return again hopefully very soon.

Brian from Lucan stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in March 2017


Lovely stay at Bar Cillatha

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Bar Cillatha over Christmas. The house is beautiful and the setting is stunning. The photos undersell the gorgeous views from the house. Only a ten minute spin into Kenmare and plenty of walks to do from the house or a short drive away. Jer was great and very easy to deal with. Had a great time.

Liz from stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in December 2016


Spent 2 weeks Oct 2016.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was excellent views and area great easy access to town. Plenty of great shopping in Kenmare. Food great in Pubs and Cafes. Guinness YUM.

Barry from Worrowing Heights stayed at Bar Cillatha for 14 nights in October 2016


Great holidays

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay in Bar Cillatha.
The house was clean, very spacious with a fantastic view on the Kenmare's bay and the Kerry mountains.
There is everything here for an enjoyable holiday with deers and rabbits complementing the landscape.


Stephanie from Romain stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2016


Great!! Coming back soon

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house, location and things to do were 1st class. Everything was as advertised on the website. Lovely big rooms, mod cons all great. Worth it just for the view alone

Jennifer from Limavady stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in July 2016


Loved Bar Cillatha

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week at Bar Cillatha was great. It is a beautiful home in a quiet, secluded setting, with a breathtaking view of the Kenmare River backdropped by mountains. The home was spotless and well-appointed with furniture and appliances. We enjoyed red deer and bunnies grazing in the yard each evening and morning. Our Kenmare Rentals contact, Jer Foley, was very nice and quite helpful. We would definitely stay at this home again!
Jim & Jeni Wincek
Custer, MI


James from Custer stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in June 2016


Loved It !

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here from 16th to 22rd April 2016, a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids, 6yrs and 10 yrs)...

We loved the location ! An excellent camping base ! Town life not too far... just about 5 mins drive...
The owner Jer was very kind and helpful !
He was truly busy with work at his wonderful pub, but asking him for any help - was never too much for him...
A very kind person, who has made this place and managing it - with lots of love !

My kids enjoyed seeing and feeding the rabbits... and we occasionally also spotted the deer in the property...

Do carry shower gel, shampoo, dish washer liquid, soap for washing machine, etc, since that is not provided in the accommodation... The utensils were just about perfect for family of 4... no complaints there ! Fire place was good, and fun to use... My kids loved it !

No locker and the house doors did not lock... When i informed it to Jer, he smilingly (and rightly) said .... 14 acers of property... no one around... just leave it open and go where ever you need to ! And thats what we did ! No worries !!!
(Honestly, relax... the place is really very very safe !)

The outdoor umbrella and table were broken, I would surely request Jer to have that fixed... it makes a lovely sit out !!!

Make sure to take the reading of the gas and electricity before you leave, so that you can put the amount in an envelope, and leave it near the fireplace when you leave ! Yes... gas and electricity is to be paid extra... It costed me about Euro 112 for 6 days...

Only one set of towels did put us off... because staying for almost a week, and having to manage with just one set of towels, was a bit challenging.... Jer... It would help to have atleast 2 sets of towels... I did not ask this to Jer, but i am sure, had i asked, he would not have refused ! :-)

The water pressure and water temperature, heaters, etc.... all worked pretty well !

Overall, we loved this place, and will return for sure !
Do make sure to visit his O Donnabhains Bar in Kenmare Town... You will love it !!!

Cheers !!!!! Thanks for making our holiday a memorable one !!!!!
Aj.


Ajay Singh from Bangalore stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in April 2016


Fab!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After staying here we are now spoilt for going anywhere else! Will be difficult finding somewhere that matches it.

Definitely very private - no need to pull the curtains as there's only the deer around to look through the windows!

Very spacious with two big double bedrooms, both with en-suite making it perfect for two couples. Excellent base for touring the area.

Would certainly recommend the property.


Guest from Huddersfield stayed at Bar Cillatha for 14 nights in March 2016


Bar Cilatha is Superb.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bar Cilatha is superb, probably the best holiday rental accommodation I have stayed in in Ireland in over 35 years of renting holiday accommodation in Ireland. It is very bright and warm with large rooms designed for relaxed yet cosy comfort and to maximise the awesome views. The owner is most welcoming and helpful. Very highly recommended.

Seamus from Dublin stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in December 2015


Wait till you see the view!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After collecting the keys from the best bar( great food) we found our cottage and on the drive up, there,happily roaming the garden,was a family of deer! What a welcome. Got out of the car and took in the breathtaking views, the sea and mountains, what a combination of peace and fresh air.
The cottage itself is large, airy and very clean. It is fully equipped with everything you need.the bedrooms are large and both have en-suites. A perfect place to stay for peace and quiet.


Nigel from Grimsby stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in September 2015


This is a realy beautyfull House in a wonderfull area.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a realy beautyfull house with generous rooms. The equipment is tastefull and verry good. The landscope around the house is amazig and calm. The rabbits and roe deers around the house and in the garden were verry amazing.
We had a good time and we will return with plasure.

Wishes:
More plates and glases to fill the dishwasher capacity.
More towles ( 2 per person weekly at least )


Guest from Stuttgart stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in June 2015


my first visit to Ireland two weeks summer holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Der Aufenthalt in Bar Cillatha hat alle Erwartungen übertroffen. Ein sehr schönes Ferienhaus, auf einem sehr schönen Grundstück, in einer grandiosen Natur. Das Panorama von der Terrasse ist phantastisch und der Ort sehr gut geeignet für Erkundungstouren im County Kerry oder Cork.
Beeindruckend waren auch die freundlichen Menschen in Kenmare. Alles in allem, absolut empfehlenswert.
Jens Rudolph
Deutschland


Guest from Delitzsch stayed at Bar Cillatha for 14 nights in June 2015


Best Location and Most Comfortable Self Catering Cottage EVER.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at this cottage and we've just booked the fourth for next year. The location and view, the level of comfort and the value makes this the best self-catering cottage we've ever used. The owner goes out of his way to assure that everything is right.
The location is perfect for exploring most of SW Ireland. We use it to go as far south as Mizen Head and as far north as the Ring of Kerry. The cottage is just 5 minutes drive from Kenmare and many good restaurants, shops and food stores.
I'm reluctant to say too much as I want to make sure that this cottage is available when I want it again!

One point. There are actually two cottages on the property. They are not visible from each other and both are very private but the Bar Cillatah cottage is higher on the hill and gives a better view of the Reeks across the bay.


Guest from Yellow Springs stayed at Bar Cillatha for 21 nights in May 2015


A Perfect note for the Second time !!!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been there 2 times, once in 2009 for a week and this year for a month !
I hope i will return someday, it's a nice place, calm and quiet in the nature with lot of space with view on the bay !
Jeremiah is a great host and eating at his pub is a wonderful experience !
What a lovely place...w've alreary missing it...

Louise et André Richer from Canada.


Guest from Bromont stayed at Bar Cillatha for 28 nights in April 2015


A Luxury Home Away from Home!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bar Cillatha ticks all the boxes! Spacious yet cosy. Great beds, and jaccusi baths to relax in to your hearts content. A very high standard of kitchen equipment. Five minutes from town yet a world away from it. A view to remember no matter what the weather. Warm and peaceful decor. And, an excellent and very helpful host.
Very highly recommended.


Guest from Dublin 14 stayed at Bar Cillatha for 21 nights in December 2014


:-)

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
:-)……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. :-)

Guest from Hannover stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2014


impressive view

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very nicely situated house with a view to die for. Very peacefull and all mod cons provided for. A short drive to Kenmare centre. two large bedrooms and a large living room with open kitchen. You have to "book" your spot in the kitchen as dishwasher, sink, kettle, garbage bin are all in the same corner.
Great place and would recommend it it.


Guest from Mittagong stayed at Bar Cillatha for 5 nights in September 2014


Lovely stay at Bar Cillatha

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Bar Cillatha is a wonderfull cottage and we enjoyed the WiFi, the well equiped kitchen and the stunning views (incl. the deers).
We also visited the pub of the owner in Kenmare and they serve delicious food.
This was our first visit to Ireland and we have discovered the ring of Kerry and the ring of Beara in one week. The cottage was ideal located in Kenmare for our trips by car.


Guest from Etten-leur stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2014


A most welcoming place to call home. If only for a week.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent place to stay.
The location was most convenient and the peaceful setting with exceptional vistas was breathtaking.
We loved it. And it was well worth it!


Guest from Guelph stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2014


Luxurious house with stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bar Cillatha is a gorgeous retreat, very spacious, comfortably furnished and well equipped. The view from house and terrace is simply fantastic and ever changes with the weather and the time of the day. The location close to Kenmare but far enough away from this very busy village is ideal for exploring the beautiful Beara Peninsula. A top ranking holiday home!
Since everything is so perfect the small things which are not (loose crane in bathroom, broken chair on terrace, terrace doors which close only with difficulty, moisture in double glass window panes) certainly fall more in the eye than they would do in the usual holiday cottage.


Guest from Groningen stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in July 2014


Highly recommending of Bar Cillatha.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As usual, we enjoyed the stay at Bar Cillatha immensely, the better than normal weather helping. Myself and my family try to holiday there every year and are never disappointed with the house, it's family friendly grounds and of course the many attractions of the south west of Ireland.
The house location is second to none, perched high over Kenmare bay. Being from Dublin, we particularly enjoy the complete, unbroken quiet that the surrounds of the house provide (at least when the children are finally in bed!) .
The house is always is a very clean condition when we arrive which we are more than happy to reciprocate when we leave.

My only criticisms are the small details in provisioning of household items, e.g. provide more than one tea towel. These are minor inconveniences that do not even warrant a call to Jer but are very easily dealt with before new occupants arrive.

Colin from Dublin


Guest from Dublin 9 stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in July 2014


Second Stay and We'll Be Back as Soon as we Can

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay on this property. Last year we stayed in the Bun cottage which is located just down the hill. The cottages are identical in layout and furnishings.
First let me say that the view from Bar is worth the cost of the rental if you were staying in a tent. However, the cottage itself is furnished to a high level of comfort and is very spacious.
The staff (and owner) of Kenmare Rentals are first class and responded to minor points that we raised with them. They truly did everything to make our stay comfortable and easy.
We will stay nowhere on the Beara Peninsula but this cottage.


Guest from Yellow Springs stayed at Bar Cillatha for 14 nights in May 2014


An excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bar Cilatha is extremely clean and well-appointed. It's got a spectacular view from a perch high on the hill above the owner's other property -- though you can't see the other house nor are you aware of the other tenants. It's located several miles from downtown Kenmare, so you really do need a car. We used the house as our base for long hikes in the area, and found the hiking and scenery wonderful (especially the hike along the Beara Way from Ardgroom to Eyeries). The two bedrooms (each with a private bathroom) are separated by a wide hall and give plenty of privacy for two couples traveling together or for a family. The town of Kenmare is charming and has everything you need in the way of restaurants, markets, etc. We had only one criticism, and it's minor. Tenants are responsible for noting how much gas and electricity they use and paying for it. This seems like an unnecessary nagging worry for people on vacation. We would have preferred if they'd just figured out a high average of what tenants use and added it to the cost of the place -- or at least given that as an option. Oh, and if you want to use wi-fi with phones or tablets as opposed to laptops, be sure to ask for the connector that makes that possible. We'd HIGHLY recommend Bar Cilatha.

Guest from Los Angeles stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in May 2014


Double Rainbow Included!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house was wonderful: bright and airy, and cozy enough to make the rainy, stormy days during our weeklong stay bearable. As pictured, the view from the cottage is amazing, and we were treated to several rainbows over the bay. The mattress was by far the most comfortable of any of the places we stayed; quality bedding too. Some of the other furniture does show some wear, and my only other criticism was that the kitchen is not very well-stocked. If you're coming from other parts of the country, with bags full of stuff, you'll likely do fine but as we flew in we had to rely on the stores in Kenmare. But overall, would have no reservations recommending this house. Owner was very responsive and helpful. (Also wanted to note that we'd seen he has another rental in town, Carraig Beag, but weren't sure how quiet it would be--we walked by and it's on a lovely, quiet side street. Would also recommend checking out that one if you'd prefer to be in town.)

Guest from Shingle Springs stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in May 2014


Costly but nice.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice stay in Barr Cillatha. The house was very clean, and key collection etc. was very well organised. All staff we dealt with were very helpful and efficient.

Maybe a little more attention should be drawn to details in the house.....kitchen utensils missing, extremely blunt knives, difficulties with fire grate, tears in the leather sofa. I feel these things should be looked at before the high season of summer with long periods of rental begins.

The policy of charging for electricity and gas on top of an already substantial rental cost, is in my opinion, too high and a lot of hassle. This cost should be incorporated into the price of the rental as a whole.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and the house and surrounds were quiet and relaxing. The rabbits and deer were lovely to have around also! :-)


Guest from Co. Dublin stayed at Bar Cillatha for 3 nights in May 2014


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bar Cillatha in April of 2014. Aside from the standard "learning the how the house works" stuff - how to work the heat, stove, kill switches (standard in Ireland, but not in the US!), and so forth - it was a glorious stay. For the items that weren't obvious, there was a very comprehensive information sheet that answered any questions that may have come up. We picked up the keys from the pub in town, and that worked out very well. I wasn't sure at first, but we ended up staying for a pint, and then coming back for dinner later that night.

The home was new and very open and roomy. The best part was the windows! The natural light in this house is fantastic. Everything worked, was well-appointed, the beds were incredibly comfortable, the washer and dryer were heaven, the kitchen had enough equipment for actually preparing meals. The location was perfect. Close enough to Kenmare for a quick run in to the huge grocery store, but far enough away from everything to be completely silent at night. *Gorgeous* view. The road it is located on is quiet enough to allow for a walk or a run, even though it is a typical one-lane road. Fresh eggs from just down the road were the source of our morning meals.

An idyllic setting and experience. We don't typically return to places when we travel, always looking for a new adventure. But, if we ever return to this corner of Ireland, we are definitely staying here!


Guest from Spearfish stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in April 2014


Kindness in Kenmare

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Mar 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I recently stayed in Kenmare with my family. The first time we had not stayed in the typical B & B. The owner of the property is a hard working guy who took care of any of our concerns that arose. Providing wood for the fireplace, and very reassuring that our enjoyment was important to him. The view was magnificent and it the property had a private entrance and other than a continual visitation of deer and rabbits very secluded. I will miss the deer and the time away. The only thing not included in the rent was the utilities which were charged on usage and that was made clear as to the cost and we found it the same as what we pay in Massachusetts. The location is not a long way from town by car, and all in all WONDERFUL! Love the Irish folks. Jeremiah 29:11 Michael

Guest from Dighton stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in March 2014


The experience

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole experience was great from start to finish. From the greeting at the bar where we collect the keys to the day we left it was a happy holiday event. We had a wheelchair sent down to Kenmare and while I was going to collect at the bar we found it delivered to the house on our arrival and on our departure it was brought back to the bar for collection. Its the little things that make a great holiday. The house was a dream from the lay out and furnishings to the cleanliness. The arrival of the deer on the lawn when we arrived was beautiful and we felt for the week we were at one with nature.

I would recommend these properties to anyone who wants a restful but happy holiday. It was ideal for travelling all round Kerry and as for value for money it was up there with the best. I will recommend the house to all my friends and will definitely return again for another great holiday.

Thank you to Jer and the team.

Ann


Guest from Dundalk stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in August 2013


Vacation in October

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was very pleasant. The house was comfortable and well equipped. Any small issues Jer was on hand to sort them out quickly and was friendly as well as practical. Apart from lots of rain we had a good holiday. We hope to return.

Guest from Cobham stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in October 2013


great stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barr cillathat for a week in September, we had a wonderful time. The house is spacious, well appointed, and has beautiful views of Kenmare bay and mountains, we have booked again for 2 weeks next yeat

Kerry from Nuneaton stayed at Bar Cillatha for 7 nights in September 2013