FB Twitter

Our Bijou Apartment

Our Bijou Apartment

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


This jewel of an apartment is brimming with dramatic touches and a hint of humour. Located on the ground floor means you’re just steps from shops, pubs, and the city’s infectious spirit.

A short stay at Our Bijou Apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A terrific place to stay in Edinburgh. Well appointed and nicely finished apartment, terrific location. Only suits a single or couple (it is small), but would highly recommend. And would stay here again if in Edinburgh.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return trip to 'our bijou apartment' and it was every bit as good as the last visit. The location is fantastic with all of Edinburgh in easily accessible distance but the quiet setting for a good nights sleep after all that walking! Alexis is a pleasure to deal with and I will not hesitate to book this accommodation on a future trip.



Great location for fest

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alexis was very nice and was waiting for us with a warm welcome. The apartment is a small but fully equipped 1br, and we had no problems. Lication was excellent for festival events. The lovely teak floor in the apartment did emit a smokey odor, but Alexis thoughtfully had a small table fan set up for our use. I'd probably stay again.



Great flat in perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great flat, wonderfully designed, in a perfect location right next to the Grassmarket that makes exploring Edinburgh easy. Alexis is a wonderful host and answered all questions we had regarding our stay. All was as expected from pictures and other outstanding reviews.



Beautiful apartment in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time in Edinburgh and first visit to the fringe. The bijou apartment was a delightful place to relax and stay after busy days and nights at the amazing festival. Central, surprisingly very quiet, it made our visit. Beautifully decorated with every detail thought of. Alexis was a great host.



Excellent doesnt do the location or apartment justice!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time in our Bijou apartment. Cannot fault the communication - best of our trip so far. The location is fabulous for eating out or if you wish to cook something there is a local supermarket about 3 minutes walk away. As for location when you look out the window and there is 'the Castle' what else can you say. Alexis and Liz are delightful and we wish them the very best going forward.



The Best Possible Edinburgh Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My significant other had a magical 5 days in Edinburgh, and Alexis' Bijou Apartment was a HUGE part of that. In the months leading up to our trip, Alexis responded promptly to every email I sent, providing advice as to how to get from Glasgow Airport to Edinburgh Waverley, and even sending a screenshot map with walking directions to the apartment from Edinburgh Waverley. Although Alexis could not be there for our check-in, she put us in touch with her wonderful friend Liz, who was there when we checked in and did a fantastic job of welcoming us to Scotland and showing us the apartment. Alexis had towels laid out and artisanal haggis waiting for us in the fridge!

The location of the apartment is fantastic. For those looking to cook and have a drink in the flat at night, it's less than 5 minutes from a Sainsbury Local. There is coffee and tea in the apartment for you as well as every cooking apparatus you need. Edinburgh is a very walkable city, and Alexis' apartment is 10 minutes from Princes Street/New Town and the shopping there, a minute from the Grassmarket area, 10 minutes from Cowgate, 5 minutes from the Castle and High Street (Royal Mile), and a beautiful 20 minute walk to Arthur's Seat and Holyrood Palace. For those coming in via train, or looking to take day trips, Waverly is only 13-15 minutes away on foot.

Last, but certainly not least, the apartment itself is absolutely adorable. The kitchen is beautiful and the windows look out to the castle and Royal Mile. The bathroom is small but clean and sleek.

Bottom line--for those looking to experience Edinburgh while feeling like you live there, I could not recommend Alexis' place enough. Between Alexis' professionalism and friendly help, the beautiful apartment, its location, and price, just a fantastic stay.





Location and quiet

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location for walking almost all of Edinburgh. Bus stop nearby which also serves for HOHO bus red line. View of the castle is terrific.

Since the apartment is at the back of the property it is very quiet with only other residents noise.

We did find the sitting area to be very dark so needed lights on to read but not a big issue. Also as there are no curtains on the living area windows people are able to see in if they want.

However this is a good place to stay.




Great, central apartment!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bed and kitchen were great in this cozy apartment! It is also super central and close to everything, especially Grassmarket and Old Town. Groceries are a two-minute walk away, a good coffee shop is right across the street, and many bus stops are nearby. Communication was great. I definitely recommend this apartment!



Wonderful stay in June

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful stay at Alexis's apartment! Beautiful location and the decorations of the place were perfect!!!! Could not ask for a better place, we'll be back!!



Little gem

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is centrally located and there is a supermarket a couple of minutes away. Alexis was quick to respond to my texts and was very friendly, leaving fresh provisions for us upon arrival. The apartment was everything we could have wished for, clean and comfortable with all the necessary amenities provided. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.



Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved my stay here. The Bijou is comfortable, quiet, stylish, safe, well appointed, and centrally located in Old Town. I can't say enough great things about my stay there. When I come back to Edinburgh, it'll be the first place I check to stay.



Wonderful apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was everything we wanted for a quick 5 night stay in amazing Edinburgh.
The location is splendid - literally staring upwards at the back of the Castle and providing easy access to all the delights of the beautiful city. We walked everywhere very easily.
The flat is stylish and chic, indeed. It makes the very best use of the small space and is generously equipped and stocked with essentials. The bed was beautifully comfortable and once inside the flat it was so quiet!
This is an apartment that has been thoughtfully put together and decorated and furnished.
We could not have asked for a better experience.




Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
. We missed nothing. Nice and attentive Hostess. All extra wishes were fulfilled. The location is great. Everything easy to walk to reach. We would come again at any time. Thanks Alexis for the great time in your apartment. Greetings from Germany



The Very Best

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My trip to Edinburgh was greatly enhanced by the warm hospitality of Alexis, the host, and her fabulous apartment. Nothing but accolades from me....Alexis greeting me after my very late flight from the USA, the cleanliness and comfort of her apartment, the superb location, the wonderful suggestions of Edinburgh sights to see and delicious restaurants nearby. All together, this made for a wonderful trip!



Fabulous weekend in gorgeous appartment

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need for a long weekend. Facilities excellent and local amenities so close that you want for nothing.



Lovely and cozy apartment in the city centre of Edinburgh

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When I planned my trip to Edinburgh I learned that my preferred hotel - the Bank Hotel - doesn't exist anymore and I was a bit sad, then I checked in at Our Bijou Apartments and was totally surprised and felt recouped instantly. I had a nice chat with the lady who brought me the keys and then I made myself a home. And that's what the apartment was, a home for my holiday. There was everything you need for a pleasant stay, a comfy bed, everything you might need to make tea, coffee or even cooking. The place was very clean and beautiful decorated with a love for details.
Located near the castle you got a good place to start to explored the city and you find little shops with food and plenty of restaurants and coffee shops nearby.
I would love to come again.




Beautiful apartment in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment was stunning and absolutely spotless when we arrived. The location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh; right under the castle!



Amazing stay in an excellent apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is absolutely amazing overlooking the castle. The decor is stunning and the location is perfect for any stay in Edinburgh. We had an absolutely awesome time and would highly recommend this apartment.



Wonderful stay in a magical city!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 3 days in Edinburgh staying in the Bijou Apartment. Impeccable style throughout the apartment and the best location. We loved the views of Edinburgh Castle and knowing that the Royal Mile is only a stone's throw away was really a great feeling. We can definitely recommend the apartment to anyone who wants to visit Edinburgh. We also experienced great service from Alexis!



A Memorable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bijou
In September 2016 we stayed in the Bijou apartment for 5 days in Edinburgh. We loved it. It was comfy and had all the amenities to feel at home. I also slept very well during our stay which is no mean feat.
The apartment was at a perfect location to explore the old town and a block away from the popular Grassmarket. It was a perfect place to stay to begin our 3 week holiday in Scotland.
Alexis was so helpful and accommodating. I would highly recommend staying at the Bijou.




Nice place

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Done out very well a lot of thought and care had gone into making it ready to stay in. Alexis was a great help.



Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful little apartment in a great location. The host was wonderful and the apartment has a great cosy feel.



A great place to stay in the centre of Edinburgh.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is ideal for a couple staying in Edinburgh. The kitchen is just right for a short stay, Nespresso machine ideal for a quick coffee first thing in the morning. The shower was great with constant hot water. The bed was comfy. The living space is limited but as we were out doing the Fringe, it didn't affect us or detract from our visit. We felt very safe and secure in the Apartment.



Honeymooners

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was fab. Pretty sure it had damp because of the condensation so wouldn't stay any longer as I have athsma. That was its only downfall!



Alexis replied 348 days ago
Hi guys! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave the review, I'm delighted you had a great time :) As you pointed out there is condensation which builds up on the windows when winter starts coming and it's warm inside. Just to let you know it's more to do with bad ventilation rather than damp and it's being addressed in the next couple of weeks (with better ventilation being fitted) so this should rectify the problem. Thanks again and I hope married life has got off to a great start! Alexis

Another Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are not staying in one of Unique Chick Lets rentals while on vacation in Edinburgh you are missing out!

The flats are in a fantastic location, with stunning views of the castle and access to the Grassmarket's restaurants/shops/lovely farmers market on Saturday. Well appointed, stylish decor, everything needed for a fun and relaxing stay.

Alexis is a wonderful host, gave us great recommendations, always available for questions and concerns. We always stay at one of her rentals when visiting Edinburgh.




Very good location and beautiful apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very close to all of the prime things in Edinburgh. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to do. Just bring good walking shoes and plan on walking on hills. The apartment is located in a quiet building just below the castle so you have a great view as well. The unit was well maintained and we could not have been happier with our stay. We will definitely plan to stay here again.