FB Twitter

Mullen

Mullen

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.3
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


A spacious sleep 6 (one double and 2 twin rooms) cottage with secluded garden.

Nicely thought out site with good accomodation and facilites making for a very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week in October half term with family including 2 young grandchildren aged 4 & 2. Delighted to find a cream tea waiting for us when we arrived and Pete and Sue were very welcoming. Very well equipped and spacious accommodation which included a good selection of books and games for adults and children. Some good facilities on site including an indoor pool and games room, very useful for wet days. The children absolutely loved the soft play area whilst adults enjoyed the table tennis. We made good use of the small shop on site and were particularly happy with the freshly baked bread and croissants. Plenty of interesting places and beaches to visit within easy driving distance.

Richard from Bristol stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in October 2017


Hidden gem

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pit farm is one of those places that just blows your mind.
We went for a weekend break just to get away from it all however we didn't expect to 'find ourselves'. It is hidden away in a part of England we had never heard of, a place that we felt like we was at home. Sue and Pete made us feel like a part of their family. To quote my brother who was there with us, who has travelled far and wide across the globe, his top three places he has visited include new York, Brussels and Pit farm in east Alington, England.
The facilities there cater for both adults and children and adults with inner child! It caters of serenity and peace, or adventure if you needed. Plenty of beaches within 20minutes. We will definitely be visiting again.
Thank you Pete and Sue, we were privileged.


Ray from Leighton Buzzard stayed at Mullen for 2 nights in September 2017


Enjoyable stay in a very friendly and relaxing setting

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed an excellent week long family holiday at Pitt Farm in August 2017, staying the Mullen cottage.

From the outset Pete and Sue were clearly keen to make sure our stay was as good as possible. They are really friendly and personable and they made sure we felt 'at home' during our stay. There was even a bottle of red wine for us on arrival!

The location is really good for getting to any of the beaches or local attractions as it is only a few minutes drive to the main A381 road linking Totnes (15-20mins drive) and Kingsbridge (10mins drive).

The setting is nice and relaxed - we had plenty of privacy from the guests in the other cottages.

We were able to play tennis on the court just across from our cottage (we brought our own, but there are racquets and balls provided in the games room), our young boys enjoyed going to see the animals (especially the Alpacas!) and particularly enjoyed a daily swim in the indoor pool (and the water was a good temperature!). There is a play area for the kids, including a decent sized trampoline and the games room was a real hit: Our boys loved playing table tennis (lots of bats and balls provided). There is a soft play and ball pit for the younger kids in the games room which our two made use of when other smaller children were not around.

The cottage itself was well set out and very comfortable. The kitchen had full sets of everything and included fridge & separate freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer (perfect for when we came back from a day at the beach or watersports). There was a large dining room and the living room was comfortable: the dvd player gave us options in the evening and something for the boys when it rained. The bedrooms were really comfortable and we had sufficient wardrobes and drawers for all our clothes, which is not always the case. There is a large patio for the cottage too - not a sun trap but it does get some sun, especially in the morning and a perfect place to sit and relax in warm weather. There is a lot of furniture there too, more than enough for the cottage! There is even a brick barbecue and, just behind the wall, there is a clothes line to dry the wetsuits/swimwear etc.

Overall a very enjoyable stay in a very friendly and relaxing setting (just a shame the weather didn't allow us to fully enjoy the outdoor space!).


Dean from Thames Ditton stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in August 2017


Lovely Cottage in great Surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had a great time! Pete was so friendly and helpful - from the moment we arrived we felt at home. The facilities were all we needed for a family with 4 kids aged 12 down to 6. Plenty of space in and outside - the playground, patio for BBQs, the beautiful grounds, tennis court, chickens, alpacas... the list is a long one of things to enjoy, not to mention the play room and the pool of course!

The location is great too - we could easily get to a range of great places, from Dartmoor to Dartmouth to Kingsbridge and a host of lovely beaches.

In short a great week's holiday.


Ian from London stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in August 2017


Great holiday for family group holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week with 12 family members from 10 months to 75 years old at Pitt Farm! The owners, Pete & Sue were a delightful couple & couldn't have been more accommodating & helpful during our stay. Couple of minor issues with our house arose which were sorted v promptly! The house is really spacious & well equipped. Verging on a little tired now but I believe Pete & Sue have plans to update in the near future! Good value for money though. Brilliant having all the facilities on site (tennis/ playground/ pool/ games room). The children loved it all! The honesty shop is such a brilliant idea & we loved the warm croissants for brekkie each morning! Thanks for a happy time Pete & Sue.

Clare from London stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in August 2017


Sixth Easter in Wonderful surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our sixth Easter in Mullen Cottage at Pitt Farm. The cottage is spacious clean and comfortable. It has a well equipeed kitchen and large dining room and lounge. Pete and Sue always give us a warm welcome and are on hand if we need them. We enjoyed the Easter egg hunt they laid on and the use of the pool and games room where we played table tennis. We had a brilliant week for weather so enjoyed the grounds and playing boules on the lawn in the evenings.

Ole from Newport stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in April 2017


Feels like home but with a better facilities

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic warm welcome, very genuine. A lovely welcome package of a great bottle of wine and tasty home-made scones. And a bonus Easter egg hunt thrown in! Very kind and good fun. Very clean, very spacious and very homely accommodation. Beautiful setting and very peaceful amongst pretty grounds, with a (semi) private patio and tranquil views. House and setting better than website pictured!
Central location to all South Hams/Dartmoor sites. Good facilities with swimming pool, tennis court, animals and a lovely field with picnic benches next to a great play area.
We didn't want to leave our relaxing holiday home.


Jo from Salisbury stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in April 2017


Looking to hide away for a while but still have access to an adorable 'new age' town? You got it!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So here we are, all 7 of us, three different generations from 1 to 60 year old. All in one HUGE cottage sprawled over 3 floors, double bedroom for each couple, baby cot at the ready, a dining table large enough to land a small aircraft, lovely kitchen and a living room large and cozy enough to host Strictly.
A heated swimming pool, a games room and a tiny shop offering the bare essentials, also on the premises.
Lost in the Devon countryside, Pitt Farm offers the chance to hide away from it all - wifi good enough to keep you going but you have to stand at the right place - and still have access to Totnes, a vibrant and quirky new age town 10 minutes drive away full of shops and restaurants / cafes and the nicest people you can imagine.
Beautiful countryside views and opportunities for long walks (bring your wellies) are at your disposal if you are that way inclined.
Pete and Sue are wonderful hosts and, like most people in the area, despite being very busy, they have all the time in the world for their guests.
This was our second visit and we would go back again if we wanted to spend a few days away with the whole family.


Costas from Canberley stayed at Mullen for 2 nights in December 2016


Relaxed and welcoming family stay, with some nice extras

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to Mullen. The reason we came back was the relaxed and welcoming feel at Pitt Farm - and not just because there is a cream tea and bottle of wine waiting on the kitchen table when you arrive! You can tell a lot about a place by the number of pages in the welcome pack that are devoted to 'Rules'. We've stayed at a number of similar holiday properties in the South Hams, and whilst they all offer a range of facilities, some leave you feeling on tenterhooks lest you do something wrong during your holiday. Another feature of Pitt Farm that we loved, was the fresh croissant and newly baked bread (and sometimes newly laid eggs), available on order each morning. We look forward to returning to Pitt Farm again in the future.

Jill from Hammersmith stayed at Mullen for 8 nights in July 2016


Holiday in south Devon 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I am not being critical but am trying to give constructive help. We had a lovely holiday staying with you and the weather was good. As you know we have stayed at Higher Bowden before several times.Each time we have seen an improvement there. When we were there one would see Peter out gardening and lin was always about. The garden was colourful and inviting. They loved each other and delighted in making peoples stay a happy one, they loved their work of running Higher Bowden.
Pitt Farm looks a bit sad, at your entrance your notice needs repainting. The gutters need cleaning, you have grass growing in them, this will lead to damp on the inside walls. The garden is dull, it wants brightening up. It looks as though you have lost interest. Have you ? In the bible it tells you you should love god first above all others, secondly you should love your neighbours as yourself. This includes everybody not just your neighbours but also you must learn to love your occupation, the world around you and all that is in it. We are all very lucky to live on this planet so make the most of it.


Ian from Woking stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in July 2016


Weekday escape with a young family

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pitt Farm is a great spot to get away from it all. There's no mobile signal and the Wifi can easily be beaten by carrier pigeon but these things should not matter - surely the whole reason to be on holiday is to break the norm. (just make sure you do all your downloads on to the ipad for the kids before you leave home!) The hosts were lovely and non-intrusive and were apologetic that they weren't quite as well presented in some of the 'outdoorsy' areas as they would have liked as they had had a wedding the weekend before and in all fairness we had booked at very late notice.

We had a great time and Mullen Barn was much more space than we needed- when it says it sleeps 6 it really means it. It served as a great base to visit Salcombe and the surrounding areas north, south, east and west. Although the single lane track to get to it can be a bit fun if there's a car coming the other way but that's country life ! I would definitely recommend a day out to Inner / Hope Cove with a great beach there and if you have younger children a day out to Pennywell Farm which is about 25 mins drive away.

On site there is an honest shop which works well, a childrens play area, tennis court and games room with pool and tennis table. The indoor swimming pool is a good size and more than enough floats / inflatables to keep the children entertained.

Without wishing to sound negative, there are though in my opinion, some areas for improvement - the swimming pool lacks suitable space to dry off properly with children and the steps which have plastic 'drapes' on to retain the heat and moisture can be a bit tricky to negotiate especially when you have the swimming gear in one hand and a child in the other. We also felt it was perhaps geared slightly more to 'getaway' groups as opposed to younger families as the honest shop food was more boxed pizzas and fast food - it would have been lovely to have had a few frozen home made meals or just a slightly different variety/choice. Also the children's area whilst nice could be so much more with a bit of investment.

I am being super critical however and this would not stop us returning - I just think I see Pitt Farm has super potential to be so much more from an activities point of view - the accommodation on the whole is perfect and clean and that's why I would still invite others to return.





David from Warwick stayed at Mullen for 4 nights in June 2016


Stayed as a group for a family wedding.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very pleasant stay with lots to do. Mullen very spacious and well equipped.
Could benefit from a second bathroom when 6 people stopping here.
Honesty shop very good and well stocked, please take advantage as prices are very good.
Swimming pool and facilities are very good.


Glenn from Sheffield stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in May 2016


Idyllic location - very welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth consecutive stay fro Easter which in itself is the best recommendation we could make. The small group of cottages are in a very quiet location eight miles from Totnes. Mullen is spacious, well equipped and comfortable. We couldn't wish for better hosts than Pete and Sue who from a friendly initial welcome are always on hand with nothing too much trouble. and feel like friends after the stays we've had. We enjoy the swimming pool and games room and the small garden for an evening game of boules. One unmissable thing for us is the little shop where order fresh warm croissants and bread fro breakfast each morning.


Ole from Newport stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in April 2016


A family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time my family had self catered and we were all very pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed it. Pitt farm has such a beautiful location and Mullen is so spacious and comfortable that it would be hard not to enjoy it. The courtesy shop is brilliant and the owners do everything possible to make you feel at home. We will return.

Jennifer from Beckenham stayed at Mullen for 7 nights in March 2016