FB Twitter

Martingale

Martingale

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


An exceptionally spacious 5 bedroomed cottage for 10 people (extra beds available).

Family Reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Pete and Sue. Our two weeks at Pitt was everything we could have wished for. We all gathered from Wales, London and the USA to celebrate my 70th birthday. Scones and wine welcomed us. Sue's honesty shop was very useful. Martingale was perfect for our family of fourteen. The heated swimming pool, the trampoline , the soft play area were a total success for all the children. Thank you Pete for taking the girls on an alpaca walk but Harry the pig was their favorite.
Great location to explore South Devon. We especially liked visiting Dartmoor and the towns of Salcolmbe and Dartmouth.
Also highly recommend the Sunday roast at the Fortescue downtime road. Again, thank you.


Jodie from Harpenden stayed at Martingale for 14 nights in October 2017


Good family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm welcome & helpful throughout. Great beaches nearby, fun 'honesty' shop. All capped by arrival of Alpacas to join the other farm animals!
Hope to be back.


Elizabeth from Gerrards Cross stayed at Martingale for 9 nights in August 2017


Great weekend at Martingale

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just came back from a fantastic weekend at Pitt Farm Cottages. Martingale Cottage easily slept 12 and was very spacious and spread out over three floors. Great location and great hosts .... Pete and Sue were very kind and helpful. We were even welcomed with a Devon cream tea :) Good facilities on the farm and good location generally, as not far from lots of good seaside resorts and other interesting places. Would definitely go again.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Martingale for 3 nights in June 2017


Amazing and an incredible place for a holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived until we left we felt that we had been cared for by the great team of Pete and Sue. We arrived to freshly cooked scones and cream and then a tour of the facilities which were excellent. We had 10 in our family party and the cottage was spacious and well equipped. We have had a great holiday.

Bob from Bracknell stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in March 2017


Warm welcome at Pitt Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to spend time with family and friends.

The setting is perfect, the accommodation clean and well laid out.

The pool, sauna, tennis court and games room great for kids and adults.

Warm welcome from Pete and Sue.

All in all a place we'll want to come back to, time and again


Chris from Hartley Wintney stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in March 2017


Really positive. Very Welcoming

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and the owners were very welcoming to us. It was a lovely cottage in a beautiful area. We visit cottages annually as a group and have visited one a year since 2000. It was really one of the best. Everything was good. Our only slight comment was that the toilets are unevenly distributed with two on the bottom floor with two bedrooms and one on the top floor with three bedrooms but there ma be nothing that can be doe regarding that and overall our experience was really positive. Thanks for an excellent holiday!

Phil from Havant stayed at Martingale for 3 nights in February 2017


Hen weekend short break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Martingale was very clean, comfortable and perfect for our stay - A super house. The owners are lovely and even homemade scones on arrival

Claire from Taunton stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in March 2017


Large space, suitable for families

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting just outside of Totnes. A cluster of cottages with a games room and heated swimming pool. Hosts were welcoming and always at hand if needed. Very happy with the stay and was perfect for my mum's birthday celebrations! We will be back!

Jade from Bedminster stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in February 2017


enjoyable stay with plenty of room for all of us

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely setting with great hosts and lots of facilities for a large group to enjoy.
The owners are always available and very friendly. Would stay here again no problem


Matthew from Bristol stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in February 2017


Wonderful holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party consisted of 12 people over three generations & all had a wonderful time. The house was more than big enough for 12 & was one of the best equipped we have stayed in.
The pool was a big draw for all of us which was beautifully warm & the games room was a hit with the kids (we also enjoyed the board games & scones!)

Thank you


Melanie from Poole stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in January 2017


Stag party in November

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic facilities, tons of room for a large group, and friendly service from Pete. I would recommend!

Richard from Winchester stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in November 2016


Great stay, great price.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation, with all we needed for our stay. Made all the more better due to its secluded location with the caveat of provisions made available with a shop.

Ben from Wellington stayed at Martingale for 2 nights in October 2016


Pitt Farm, October half-term

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal for our family half-term get-together (7 adults, 5 children). Safe and secure site, adequate play area for children, although no longer a working farm it still has a farmyard feel. Clean, refreshing pool, adequate for energetic kids. On-site honesty shop in the summerhouse very useful, daily bread facility most useful. Martingale cottage spacious and comfortable for 12, not too pristine that you would worry about it being subject to normal family mess and muddle when coming in from muddy lanes. Would recommend for large family gathering. Loads to do in area, something to suit everybody. Would definitely consider Pitt Farm as a South Hams base again, in fact would probably look no further. Owner Pete extremely amenable and flexible, nothing too much trouble. Our stay much too short. Well done, Pete and Sue, you have got it just right for families with young children.

Malcolm from Hook stayed at Martingale for 4 nights in October 2016


Fabulous Devon Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family we now don't see the great need to go abroad after finding a wonderful place like Pitt Farm nestling in the beautiful Devon countryside so close to many stunning beaches. We were warmly welcomed with a delicious cream tea in the spacious comfortable house. Pitt Farm itself has excellent facilities for a family holiday. My children and their friends loved the animals, the swimming, the tennis and a particular hit was the honesty shop.. Thank you Peter for looking after us so well

Karen from London stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in August 2016


Lovely isolation

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quite different but exactly what we wanted. Quiet and somwhat isolated but peace perfect peace.
It took some finding to provide the accomodation for four groups in the same family but the search was really worthwhile.
Everything we required in the domestic situation, lounge, bedrooms, cooking, storage, and swim pool and games room, tennis court, etc. Parking no problem.
Plenty of options for getting to all resorts
And the price was right.
Our thanks to Pete!


Terence from Hull stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in August 2016


Very good hoise

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Martingale was an excellent house for the ten of us and it had everything we needed. It would have been nice to have had a bit more outside space just to ourselves (some grass perhaps) but we realise with the position of the house that imight be difficult to do. The bottom floor of the house was a bit chilly despite quite warm weather but that is also due to the position of the house.

Claudia from Walton-on-thames stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in August 2016


Plenty of room

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pitt Farm is hidden away in a valley south of the A381. Martingale was ideal for our size of party, plenty of room well maintained (looked as if the carpets had just been replaced). Headroom was limited on the top floor so care was needed getting in and out of bed. Facilities were good, shop well equipped and swimming pool and tennis courts a bonus. Owners were friendly and there if needed. Only drawback was the narrow lanes leading to the property, not too bad if approaching from the east as there are frequent passing places, but the road west was narrow with little opportunity to pass which involved reversing some distance to allow passing. We resorted to always going east out of the property and getting back on the main road. Had a good holiday and would recommend.

Bob from Lymington stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in July 2016


Great Family Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful short stay at Pitt Farm. There are so many interesting towns, beautiful beaches and excellent walks in the area that we were spoilt for choice. We all agreed that we needed longer in such a lovely area. The facilities at the farm - the pool, playground and playroom - were great for keeping the children entertained, particularly at the end of a busy day. The cottage was roomy, well equipped and had a friendly feel. The extras, such as scones with jam and cream on arrival and the site shop, added to our enjoyment. We managed three cream teas during our time in Devon but the scones at the farm were voted the best ! Thanks for everything!
Sandra Head and family


Sandra from Cookham stayed at Martingale for 3 nights in June 2016


Highly recommended cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at pitt farm cottages. Everything was excellent facilities, cleanliness, service and location. Many thanks and would certainly recommend these cottages.

Michelle from Rotherham stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in May 2016


Couldn't have asked for more

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Martingale and Kineton was wonderful! Pete and Sue were so accommodating. They had rearranged the furniture so we could eat as one big party, nothing was too much trouble. We thought the honesty shop was a wonderful idea and the kids were always popping in! Both pools proved very popular ( wet and table variety) and the location provided an excellent base to explore places of interest. We will certainly go back.

Lyndsay from Lee-on-the-Solent stayed at Martingale for 4 nights in April 2016


Family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 4th time we have visited Pitt Farm with our 4 grandchildren and their families, who think it is wonderful. Facilities on site are good and the Honesty shop an excellent idea. Pete and Sue always make us very welcome and we enjoy our cream tea on arrival, together with the bottle of wine which we have with our first meal! The farm is situated in a very quiet location, but there are plenty of wonderful places to visit in the surrounding area. We hope to return again before too long.

Guest from Addlestone stayed at Martingale for 7 nights in April 2016