FB Twitter

Russet Cottage

Russet Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Russet Cottage offers a pretty kitchen and living/dining area on the lower level (all with oak flooring), and two bedrooms and bathroom at the upper level. The cottage is quite compact, yet its clever layout and high quality furnishings, as well as the views over the courtyard make it highly desirable places to stay

Lovely stay, fun for all

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Mazzard Farm with our 2 toddlers for 8 days during the early part of October. Having never been to Devon before, we were unsure as to how to make the most of our stay. Needless to say, Mazzard Farm was a perfect choice. Our cottage was compact but lovely, making excellent use of the space available. The scones that greeted us on our arrival were quite possibly the most delicious I’ve ever tasted…and they were homemade!!!! The hosts were very hospitable and they’ve done an excellent job of creating an environment that is perfectly suited to both families with young children as well as adults seeking respite away from the mania of the city.

The farm itself has plenty for kids to do. There’s some goats and chickens for the kids to feed, there’s some play area facilities and also a room filled with toys for them to use. There’s also plenty of books and DVD’s to borrow.

The location of the farm is lovely. Other seaside towns are not too far away if you want to venture out for a day trip or excursion

The only thing to bear in mind is that the WiFi was pretty non existent in our cottage. Whilst this didn't really bother me too much, given that we were in rural Devon and the whole point is to get away from the trappings of urban life, for those trying to stay tapped into work emails, Netflix, Youtube or other internet related activities may find themselves struggling. From my perspective, it was actually nice to get away from it all and just focus on the beauty in front of me. The hosts have mentioned that the WiFi is fully functional and that there are certain tricks to get it working. I wasn't really that motivated to solve the issue and felt an absence of internet access was a blessing in disguise.

The hosts have also put together an incredibly comprehensive guide to East Devon which was an invaluable aid in helping us to decide our itinerary during the week. You can really feel their affection and passion for Devon.

To cap things off perfectly, the hosts were kind enough to remain on the farm well beyond our check out time and we essentially spent an extra day on site.

Can’t wait to go back next year!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Flemish from London stayed at Russet Cottage for 8 nights in October 2017


Lovely cottages in a great location!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time at Mazzard farm! Lovely cottage in a great location and very family friendly!
On our arrival we were greeted with freshly baked scones with jam and clotted cream. The cottage was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Furthermore there was a garage stocked full of toys for the children and a laundry room with washing machine, dryer and a freezer stocked with pastries, meat and lollies for you to help yourself for a small cost. There was also a good selection of maps and guides and loval event
information.
As the weather wasn't always kind to us we also made use of the wood burning stove making the cottage cosy and warm.
Would definitely recommend Mazzard Farm

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Helen from Guisborough stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Cosy and warm

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottages with great views. Warm with the fire burning in the corner, having a cuppa and everything to hand,

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Jane from Sevenoaks stayed at Russet Cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Short stay at Mazzard farm

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely setting and cosy cottage. The owners really helpful and welcoming. A really good family place to stay with so much to see in the local area. We had a very relaxing stay.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Angela from Oxford stayed at Russet Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


Mazarrd Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always really enjoyed stay. No complaints but a few things looking a bit tired eg bathroom. But facilities at farm are exceptional and very welcoming. Kids area is great, loads for them to do and see (goats and chickens). Kitchen equipment is good, everything you need is there. As always welcome scones and tea/coffee provided. Will be back ☺

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Jackie from Luton stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Great Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great week, in a lovely location, perfect for our two young boys. Lots to do in the local area and on the farm itself. Hosts were excellent providing useful information of things to do before and during our stay.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Adam from Monkston stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Away from it all but close to lots to do

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both had a great stay in Russet Cottage. Lots to see and do locally and great places to eat - we barely scratched the surface - but our favourite was the quirky Pig and Pallet at Topsham. Enjoyed the local produce (home made apple juice with spices was fabulous chilled) and the grounds with lovely flowers and friendly animals. Property designed for four but is probably best suited for two, especially if you bring walking/hiking gear and it could do with a couple of bigger mugs in the kitchen - for a big cup of tea after a long day out enjoying the countryside! Looking forward to going back next year.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Jonathan from Romsey stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Work stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal place to stay in south Devon , real friendly people . More freedom than a stuffy hotel. Otters st Mary proper friendly and good services.great to be able to cook own food.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Judy from stayed at Russet Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Peaceful break with a toddler

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruud was very helpful in booking and hosting our weekend break at the cottage. Very clean facilities and great entertainment for a rambunctious 1 year old - chickens, geese, goats, trampoline, swings and a roomful of toys for him to play with! Excellent service in helping out with advice on takeaway, borrowing items for toddler (high chair, cot, cutlery etc). A great weekend in a peaceful location.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Crystal from stayed at Russet Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent a lovely 3 days at russett cottage, lovely owners made us feel relaxed and welcome, would definitely recommend for family or couple

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Russet Cottage for 3 nights in July 2015


Very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, very friendly hosts, great facilities, wish we'd had time to stay longer. Accommodation really nice with everything you could have needed. Highly recommended

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Russet Cottage for 2 nights in February 2015


Mazzard farm last minute break

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Feb 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay at Mazzard Farm. Hosts were very efficient and speedy in setting up our last minute break. Cottage was very cute and suitable for a family of four with two kids around 10 years of age. Husband and son particularly liked setting up the wood burner which made the cottage very toasty on a cold February evening. Good location particularly if you have a car - near the village of Ottery St Mary where towards the weekend, the very inviting Rusty Pig cafe/restaurant beckons. 30 minutes drive from Exmouth where we hired bikes and easily cycled the beautiful paved pathways towards Exeter. Also near the beautiful seaside resort of Sidmouth (just 15 minutes by car). Invigorating walk to Firebeacon hill from the cottage and all round a very friendly set up indeed. A great find.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good

Guest from Twyford stayed at Russet Cottage for 2 nights in February 2015


Russet cottage Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very welcome from Ruud on our arrival, and some lovely scones with cream and jam which went down particularly well with our two young boys. Lots to do at the farm, great outdoor space and plenty of books and dvds for rainy days. Good location qua proximity of airport, beach. Recommended are trips to Crealy, Exmouth beach, Pecorama, Powderham Castle if with young kids. Would not hesitate to recommend!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Amsterdam stayed at Russet Cottage for 14 nights in August 2014


Enjoyable cottage for everyone

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear viewers,

We really would recommend to have a stay in this or one of the other cottages at Mazard farm. Great place, nice location, beaches close by. Really nice views around the corner as can be seen in this picture.


Guest from Sexbierum stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in July 2013


Mazzard Farm is great for stays with young children, our two under 5's loved the outside space.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mazzard Farm is great for stays with young children, our two under 5's loved the outside space and toys. We loved dinner outside in the courtyard and toasting marshmallows over the campfire by the tepee. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and the local guide written by the owners and provided to all guests was really useful. We did find Russett Cottage a bit small but it was well-furnished and well-provided with everything we needed, even a bed-rail and baby monitor for our youngest. Since we had good weather, we spent most of our time either out and about or relaxing in the outside space at Mazzard Farm, so the cottage size didn't really matter.

Guest from Shrewsbury stayed at Russet Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013