FB Twitter

Shingle Lodge

Shingle Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


This beautiful new build cottage has a unique z shaped design which enables fantastic sea views from both bedroom and living areas.

With two ensuite bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen and relaxed living area which opens out to your own private terrace with sea views this is a luxury home from home. There is free private parking for two cars.

Sited in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge and only 3 miles from the quaint harbour village of Portpatrick this is the perfect place to take in the peace and quite of the rural location or to use as a base to explore South West Scotland.

Safe for families with children which can play in the garden or on the secluded beach.

Award winning dinner, lunch or afternoon tea can be booked at Knockinaam Lodge should you wish.

Relaxing by the beach!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. We received a really warm friendly welcome and the cottage was perfect. There was even bread, milk, butter, coffee and homemade jam waiting for us. Really thoughtful touch. Also well stocked with games and books incase it is raining!

Views are spectacular and cottage is good distance from the hotel so that we felt we had our own private space. Really great that it is so secluded.

This cottage was perfect for a really relaxing break by the beach.

We will definitely return!




A little bit of Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying in the Lodge and once again it was fab. It really is a treat to spend time here. Our boys age 3 and 5 constantly talk about how great it is. The food in the main house is first class! Looking forward to are next break here.



Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful lodge.Tastfully designed interiors and equipped with high end appliances.The lodge was absolutely spotless.Bedroom annex was literally like a hotel suite with plush carpets and large beds with high quality linen.Stunning location which is very private.I do feel it's slightly overpriced but I imagine plenty would be willing to pay for this level of quality.



June at Shingle

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Without doubt one of the best self catering holidays we have had. Fantastic location, great service and immaculate accommodation. The ability to dine in the hotel is a real bonus. Great cooking and real attention to vegetarian requirements.



a lovely and unique place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Shingle Lodge.
The view is breathtaking, it's a calm and a secluded place, perfect to get away from the stress of modern and all-day life.
We were very lucky with the weather in June, it was quite mild, beautiful gardens in the area,...
The kids enjoyed our stay enormously. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent.
We can really recommend Shingle Lodge.




Just fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is pretty new and has been well designed and fitted to a very high standard (including a Nespresso coffee machine!). But it is the setting that makes the house so very special. A lovely patio for sitting out and just steps away from the small beach. The only other people you may see near the beach are guests from Knockinaam Lodge, but most of the time there is no one near it so for birdwatchers it is also a treat. We found it difficult to find any pictures of Shingle Lodge viewed from the outside and suspected that there might be a second cottage nearby, but in fact it was because the house has two parts which are both at ground level and connected by the entrance area. We went for two dinners at the hotel and the food was outstanding on both occasions. The menu is fixed, so I don't quite know how it works if you arrive to find that there is something you don't like, but this didn't happen to us. All in all, we would have loved to have stayed longer!



Heaven on the west coast

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to everyone at Knockinaam for making our stay at Shingle lodge so perfect . House is beautiful with every amenity you need to feel at home in this tranquil and peaceful haven on the west coast of Scotland . Service was impeccable and unobtrusive, food was outstanding and all of the little touches made us feel very special indeed . We booked to return in summer the day after week got home , such was our impression . Can't wait to visit in July !



A Magical place!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle cottage was outstanding every consideration thought of - the views were amazing and the design of the accommodation very well thought out. We were also very lucky with 4 fine days!



Shingle Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect setting for a weekend away from the outside world.

Stargazing, wildlife all at the step of the door.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay . If you love nature & high levels of comfort - this is a perfect choice. Brilliant & we will be back !



Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is a beautiful, fantastically equipped cottage in an amazing location. Just returned from 5 day late booking break and quite honestly did not want to come home. The cottage itself is so comfortable, all mod cons you need and has the most amazing vista that you could just sit on the sofa all day and watch the landscape. We brought our 2 boys aged 6 and 2 with us and they loved it too. It's set in the grounds of the knockinaam lodge hotel...so on your doorstep you have an amazing garden with wonderful treehouse style climbing frame, then 2 more steps and you are onto the beach. A little hut helpfully has beach equipment too. It was wonderful to be able to allow our 6yo some freedom and we spent our days just playing on the beach..simple pleasures that they both loved. The personal greeting on arrival and the welcome pack made the break complete. A wonderful few days and we will definitely be back..not sure we'll ever beat this one! Thank you



Birthday weekend at Shingle Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable lodge with outstanding views from every room, including an amazing sunset over the Irish Coast. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Knockinaam Lodge with delicious food and wine just a short walk away through the dinner. Wonderful!



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place, we enjoyed every moment we were there and were sad to leave. Gazing out at the sea every day is hypnotic, but would advise to take a pair of binoculars.



Mid week break at Shingle Lodge. Four days

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Monday to Friday at Shingle Lodge.
The weather was mixed but did not affect the holiday. The website is good but is not able to do it justice. The views are amazing from all rooms ( including bath and loo !)
There was usually a seal in the bay in the morning we could see from the lodge.
The lodge is very well fitted and has all you will need (if you forget bits the hotel can probably help) and the beds are enormous . The lodge is well heated if weather is cool and the large windows make the most of the sunshine.
There is a good walk from the garden to Portpatrick if you are energetic and many good gardens to visit within a few miles drive.
It feels very secluded but you have the hotel across the gardens for extra meals you want (but needs booking ahead )




Four blisfull days

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Shingle Lodge and found it very comfortable as it has been done to a very high standard.The views from it are quite outstanding.
Jim from Lincolnshire.




A fantastic break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week in shingle cottage. Luckily for us the weather was perfect too.
The cottage is fantastic, 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge.
We liked the fact that the cottage stands away from the main lodge so our dog didn't annoy anyone!
The location is perfect with great sea views and access straight from the lawn to the beach, almost felt like we had it to ourselves.
Thoroughly enjoyed the recommended walks and particularly Ardwell Bay when the tide was out.
David, Sian (not sure of spelling!) and Winnie (the border terrier) were very gracious hosts and run a relaxed but efficient business. I haven't seen many people happier than David on his ride on mower !!!
Donna and her team in the lodge provide a polite and slick service throughout the day.
The food.....Oh the food......Glorious!
I don't know how chef + 2 managed to create the delicious tasting menus every night but for me some of the best food i've ever eaten (and i eat out a lot!). The full Scottish breakfast was also hard to resist.






"Serenity and seclusion by the sea."

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is rare these days that a holiday location lives up to the claims made in its brochure.
Shingle Lodge not only meets expectations, it well and truly exceeds them.
Fitted out and equipped to a very high standard the lodge combines luxury with tranquillity and privacy.
It provides total seclusion but with all of the amenities (particularly the outstanding cuisine) of the nearby hotel.
Whilst we enjoyed "Mediterranean" weather during our stay, this location would be attractive irrespective of the prevailing weather conditions and one could easily imagine how cosy it would be, for example, on a cold winter's night.
We have previously stayed in the hotel and loved its ambience and comfort and particularly the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
However, we well and truly fell in love with Shingle Lodge and can't wait to return.
Thanks to David and his team for making our stay so enjoyable.




An id situated cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 days in this brand new cottage in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge and enjoyed every moment. The cottage is bright, modern and has a luxurious feel, the en suite bath with a sea view, is long and deep enough to float in. There is out door seating on a deck set into a corner of the cottage, so it's sheltered and private. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with superior appliances and there is a a fully stocked wood shed for the wood burner and romantic evenings in, watching the sunsets over the bay.
We chose to take dinners in the Lodge (having been here before!), so we enjoyed the best of both worlds, privacy and the delights provided by the excellent kitchen and cellar. Even our dog was catered for with a bowl of water waiting on arrival and a box of doggy treats.
The welcome and service is warm and first class, we'll be back.




Shingle Lodge - Luxury by the Sea

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in the lodge and enjoyed a wonderful long weekend. The weather was kind to us with sunshine, but the lodge would be a fantastic place to stay all year round. Even in the winter when the Irish Sea would be a wild and spectacular sight and visible from the panoramic glass fronted living area.
The lodge is beautifully appointed and finished to a very high standard throughout. The place is well insulated from both a heat and sound point of view. A combination of underfloor heating and radiators kept the entire facility very comfortable. When the sun shines merely open the sliding glass doors in the living room and let the outside come in. In winter there is also a fuel efficient log burning stove.
The kitchen area is well designed maintaining visual contact with guests in the living area and allowing whoever is on kitchen duty an opportunity to interact and enjoy the magnificent sea views. Fitted to a high standard with all the appliances one could wish for including a very neat Nespresso Coffee machine. Also provided a welcome pack with butter, bread, milk, eggs and homemade jam and marmalade.
The 2 bedrooms were again well furnished and the beds were very comfortable. Master bedroom made up as a double with spacious en suite bathroom and shower. Bath set into the window recess to allow a wonderful vista outside as you relax. Bedroom 2 made up as a twin but could be a double with adjacent shower room and WC acting as the main bathroom. Ample wardrobe and drawer space in both bedrooms and hairdryer in each.
Altogether very impressed with Shingle Lodge as its location in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge means it is easy to access the fine dining facilities available there or simply self cater and dine in with family or friends. Completely private, despite the proximity of the main lodge, and plenty of garden space for children or dogs. Walks on the beach or over the cliff top to nearby Portpatrick all highly recommended. Alternatively, curl up on the sofa or sit outside on the patio and just enjoy the views....




Heaven on Earth (but not in a storm)

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is stunning, the accommodation is 5 star together with a fantastic restaurant next door what more do you need.
If you require real peace and tranquility this is the place to be.




Heaven on Earth (but not in a storm)

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is stunning, the accommodation is 5 star together with a fantastic restaurant next door what more do you need.
If you require real peace and tranquility this is the place to be.




Amazing place

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge really is an amazing place! The views are incredible and the facilities and provisions provided were above and beyond what you normally expect in self catering.
There were plenty of logs for the fire, beautiful thick towels/robes. And........the hotel was just a few yards down the path for when we needed scones & tea or lunch.
Congratulations to David and Sian for developing such a superb addition to Knockinaam.....luckily, we are back there in a month's time!!