FB Twitter

The Old Stables

The Old Stables

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Three bedrooms (1 double and 2 twins with "zip and link" beds) two en-suite bathrooms and one en-suite shower room, large open plan living and dining area with integrated kitchen and downstairs cloakroom. Outside: large private terrace with barbeque.

Perfect for our post lockdown break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We so needed a break and Mornacott was the perfect venue. Everything was immaculate and the welcome cake much apprecaited by everyone as the was the pool (so nice to have your own dedicated timings) and other facilities.



Fabulous Week!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week at the Old Stables was thwarted somewhat by poor weather!! but there was still so much to see and do, both on site and further afield. We all loved the pool and found ourselves planning our days out around our swimming times! The cottage was beautifully furnished and it was bliss to sink down onto comfortable sofas for family movies or to sit on the patio overlooking the vegetable garden and valleys beyond and with properly dark skies at night – loads of stars without any light pollution. We love to cook as a family and found that the kitchen had everything we needed, especially the dishwasher as we could all avoid the washing up!

We’ll definitely be returning next year, hopefully with a lot more sunshine!




Fabulous stay, Greta place and everything immaculate!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we needed after lockdown! We were a little concerned about travelling following all of the COVID problems but were reassured to see the external certification. Throughout our stay we found all of the virus protection measures to be very sensible and neither lax nor excessive!
Mornacott is a superb location, close to everything that we needed yet with a sense of true seclusion and with only three cottages on site we hardly saw another person. The pool rota (with cleaning in between each family) was really good and was like having our own private pool and sauna (the facility is superb by the way - best we’ve ever had on a self-catering holiday).
The clay pigeon shooting had just reopened when we arrived and the instructor was great with our two teenage boys who now, of course, want their own shotguns!
We really couldn’t fault Mornacott as a holiday destination. Everyone was very friendly and helpful but never intrusive.
We loved it!




AB replied 142 days ago
Thanks so much for your review. Our team have worked incredibly hard to get everything ready following the Coronavirus lockdown and your kind words are much appreciated. Following your new booking we look forward to seeing you all next year.

Wonderful stay in beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week. The cottage and farm are beautiful, very well maintained and everything is of a high standard. The pool and games room were great and the grounds really beautiful. We loved the rabbits and my daughter spent a lot of time in their hutch with them! We ordered a breakfast and BBQ pack and both were great value and delicious. Our cottage had a small private garden/terrace area with amazing views over the farm and vegetable gardens and the cows and sheep come right up to the fence areas close to the garden. The team can’t do enough for you and are very friendly. Although there are 3 cottages they are spread out and we hardly say anyone else. Location wise is perfect - very close to Exmoor and the North Devon coast with plenty of walks right on the doorstep. We visited Croyde, Baggy Point (highly recommended) and Exmoor and all are within 30 mins. We ate at some great places but I’d highly recommend The Masons Arms and the Tarr Steps In both were fabulous. Highly highly recommend a holiday here!



What a lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a short winter break this time but we'll be back.
Wonderful facilities and a very well equipped cottage. we couldn't have wanted more and the children loved the swimming pool and games room.




Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant place. We got unlucky in that we had several days of rain during our stay but the pool, which was fantastic, and the games room saved the day with the kids. So unusual to find such great facilities at place where there are only three cottages.
Would definitely recommend.




What a wonderful place!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a blissful week at Mornacott and our cottage was wonderful - really well equipped with everything that we needed and the Victoria sponge that awaited our arrival was a very nice and delicious touch!
We bumped in to several of the team during our stay who were all very welcoming and helpful but never intrusive. Out nighttime safari was wonderful and really enjoyed by our two boys (13 and 10). Charles (our guide) was really magnificent with them and they were enraptured at animal sightings and even tracks on the ground which Charles took time to explain in detail.
The boys loved the pool and with only three cottages on site we only had to share it once.
We've always tried a different holiday cottage every year and have never returned to the same place but have decided to break this "rule" next year, not least because the boys want to have a go at the fishing and clay pigeon shooting on offer.




Holiday enjoyed by three generations.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Stables is spacious and comfortable and provided all we needed for a happy holiday. The views of the surrounding land are beautiful. We went on the safari which gave a real insight into the location of Mornacott and vastness of Exmoor and Dartmoor. Also the wild life and farm animals on the estate. We all enjoyed the pool, games room and football pitch. The pigs were always glad to see us bringing food and there was a list of what they are allowed to be given and special bin in the cottage. The only downside for me was that the access to the pool and games room was quite steep and the steps do not have a hand rail but I understand this is a matter in hand. The fishing lake was another major attraction even in the rain. We hope to return.



A week to remember

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had never come down to Devon or Cornwall before this year and had tended to seek the weather abroad but this year we thought we would give it a go, it is safe to say we made the right choice, our stay at Mornacott was superb. We wished we had stayed for longer. The cottage itself was a lovely ‘old stable’ as the name suggests overlooking a beautifully kept vegetable garden.

The pool was a brilliant accompaniment to the lovely scenery and surrounding area. The well equipped games room occupied our children during the stay, continuously informing us that ‘it was brilliant’. The staff were welcoming when we arrived and continuously friendly whenever we saw them during our stay.

This week was a relaxing and joyful time in the South-West. We would definitely recommend.




A restful break

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my wife and daughter stayed at Old Stables for a change of scenery after exams and work. After all working very hard we had a brilliant relaxing time, we were very lucky with the weather as there was glorious sunshine for the duration of our visit. My wife and I enjoyed using the swimming pool and the games room kept the daughter happy. The cottage was beautiful and we could not have asked for better Customer Service. The place felt clean and there was a certain character about it. The pigs were a regular sight in the morning as we fed them and Apple and Crumble (the rabbits) were very sweet. We had the farm's Devon red cattle in a field nearby. All in all a wonderful Cottage in a wonderful location, we could not have asked for more.



Could not ask for more from a holiday!!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous accommodation & location. Lots of on site activities including amazing pool/sauna. Outstanding! Relaxing!



Fabulous Country Cottage close to loads of things to do

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Stables (beautifully converted from the old stable block that used to house the draft horse that worked the farm in the 1800's) provided a fantastic base for our week long adventure in Devon. So often with cottages in the country you end up being stuck in the back of beyond but Mornacott is only a couple of miles from the main A361 which made our outings very easy.

Next time thought we're planning to stay on site a bit more as there's so much to do and the facilities are great.

Tow of the local pubs that we were directed to provided wonderful inexpensive meals for those nights that we didn't feel like cooking. We also had a couple of BBQ packs from the farm which were wonderful.

Everyone was so pleasant and helpful and we've already booked for next year.




Peaceful,comfortable amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

This was everything we wanted for our holiday, clean, comfortable, peaceful, friendly. Everyone who worked there were friendly and Louise couldn't of been more accommodating a pleasure to meet. The swimming pool was lovely which completed all our needs as we took our three grandchildren, so on a not so sunny day or at the end of the day to wear them out this was an extra bonus.
You only have to step outside to find some lovely walks although sign posting could be a little clearer, fun getting lost though.
Me, my daughter and our two granddaughters went on the night Safari, very interesting and an adventure. Charles was a fountain of knowledge and made our evening fun showing us around the estate.
We had the barbecue pack which lasted us a couple of nights, excellent quality meat, good value for money.
Once off the estate there is so much to see and do all within 3/4 hours drive and after our busy day it was great to get back to a peaceful, relaxing place.
The only downside to our stay was leaving, and was already booked up for next year, will be hard to find another place like this.




Superb property with excellent on site amenities

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property , furnishings & fittings of very high quality . On site amenities an added bonus with superb indoor swimming pool. Parking a little difficult for large cars to try & keep gate free. The single track road to the property was in very poor state of repair with huge potholes. Thoroughly enjoyed out stay .



Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The potholes on the local road to which you refer have been the subject of frequent notifications to Devon County Council who have just informed us these are now due for repair within the next ten days.

Great Cottage, fabulous views and very cozy

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time in the cottage and much enjoyed the surrounding walks. It's just so peaceful and properly in the country yet will all of the modern conveniences in beautifully restored surroundings. Being less than two miles from the main road helped as well as a long drive down country lanes to reach your final destination after a long journey can be a real pain.
There were so many nice little touches - a fresh cake on arrival, tea and coffee which meant that we didn't have to rush straight out to the shops and all of the team were very friendly including Patch the Jack Russell who adopted us.
We really enjoyed the pool and sauna as well and no expense has been spared on this new facility - having a nice warm pool was a real bonus.