FB Twitter

The Old Bakery

The Old Bakery

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


This beautifully restored holiday home sleeping 6 is set in the popular village of Killin. One double room and two twin rooms make this a flexible family accommodation. A supermarket and a variety of shops, restaurants and hairdresser are all within walking distance. For the outdoor enthusiast this is a good location for walking, cycling and canoeing. Our local Munro Ben Lawers is the highest mountain in the Southern part of the Scottish Highlands and boasts the most celebrated collection of rare mountain plants in Britain. The ruins of Finlarig Castle are close by, the Moirlanich Longhouse gives an insight into 19th century living, and the famous falls of Docart are a short distance away. Killin hosts an annual agricultural show and the Highland Games.

The Old Bakery Killin

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location and cosy comfortable accomodation. Shop ie Co op very convenient for provisions.. Good takeaway pub/restaurant COURIE nearby



Great location and lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location especially with a view to day trips around Scotland. Village has all the amenities you need and is charming.

The cottage is of a good size, clean and very comfortable. It was well appointed with everything you need. There were very few condiments and household goods available but once you know this you can plan ahead!




Good location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Old Bakery is well located just off the main street and within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. We were met on arrival by Ron who showed us the ropes and provided good information about the local facilities and attractions. The only slight criticism was that, after our drive from Edinburgh, it would have been nice to find some milk in the fridge to save rushing straight out to the Co-Op to buy some before we could enjoy a cup of tea!



Matthew replied 93 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage convenient for local shops and restaurants.

Wonderful week at the Old Bakery

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every minute of our holiday at the Old Bakery. The house is very nice and cosy. Beautifully furnished, very nice pictures! Everything you need is available. Very clean. Nice restaurants nearby . Supermarket just across the road. Thank you Ron for the very warm welcome and the helpful advice for daytrips. Killin is an ideal place to explore the highlands!



Cooper Cottages replied 100 days ago
Thank you for your kind words about the Old Bakery. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday. We hope you'll be back soon."

Magnificent stay at the Old Bakery in Killin, Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in the wonderful Old Bakery in Killin and we were very sad to have to leave. The cottage is spotlessly clean, is superbly located, offers lots and lot of room and makes you feel at home right away. The kitchen is well equipped, the rooms are large and cosy and the living room, with open doors to the garden is a dream. Two bathrooms complete the luxiert. The house is very well furnished, with prints and pictures from many countries. The cottage is smack in the middle of Killin. Killin has a supermarket with a great assortment of reasonably priced groceries, several nice restaurants and pubs and a fantastic outdoor shop. The falls are a must see. The hiking trails, which are nearby are wonderful and Killin is a great place to start day trips. Nature in the Highlands is very imposing and there are many things to do and see. Great experience !



Richard replied 113 days ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery as well as the area. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay and we thank you very much for taking the time to give us your lovely review. With kind regards, The Owners.

Very good stay but slightly marred by non-working items.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely and very comfortable house in an ideal location. We were however somewhat concerned by the number of items that didn't work. These included the television, microwave and tumble dryer. There were other minor things that were faulty. The caretaker came in and tried to sort them out but was unable to do so. This should not have happened in a rental property. Having said that, we much enjoyed our stay. We would recommend the property if the items were repaired.



The Owners replied 182 days ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and apologise for the problems you had with the appliances. We have replaced the microwave oven which unfortunately failed during your stay. We understand that the TV was incorrectly set up after the previous guests had used it and the tumble drier is still working but as we recommended using it at half setting to reduce possible clothing shrinkage, the items had not been put in long enough. Kind regards, The Owners

Family Holiday in the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a lovely week at The Old Bakery with our two young kids (2 and 6) and my parents for the Easter Holiday. The house is very spacious and comfortable with plenty of room to spread out, a large and very well equipped kitchen and a great entertainment system to watch movies in the evening. The beds were super comfy and it was very convenient to have the cot and highchair provided. The house also has a beautiful enclosed area for the kids to run in although it was a bit chilly in April to spend long playing in the yard. The location is ideal in many respects: it's right in town so grocery shopping and other conveniences (pubs, coffee shops, hardware store, etc) are within minutes walk. There are also many shorter (30min to two hours) walks suitable for our whole family with something different to do each day -- out to the loch, up the hill above the town (with GREAT views), over to the waterfall, out to see the castle ruins. There's also the amazing one hour drive over to Glencoe with incredible highlands scenery on all sides. Our group wasn't much up for the more strenuous hiking but there's also plenty of that available-within a short drive away.
Would highly recommend this rental for groups or families looking to visit the highlands.




Christine replied 218 days ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Bakery. It is very important to us that our guests enjoy their stay and we thank you very much for taking the time to give us your lovely review. Kind regards, The Owners.

99 %

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the shower (warm water) was a problem - there was not a trace of pressure, so hair washing was an adventure!
All other things were wonderful - very nice rooms, lovely and comfortable and cosy! The kitchen was any woman's dream, and there was an interesting DVD-Collection for the whole family. The local representative, Ron, was very kind and helpful. After all, Killin ist a great little town:)




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Elisabeth, Thank you so much for your kind comments after your stay in the Old Bakery and for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. Regarding the shower attachment, we apologise for the low pressure you experienced and we have now fixed the problem. Kind regards, The Owners

Lovely property and location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here as the house is a lovely stone cottage with some great views of the surrounding hills. The pictures and furniture are very tasteful. The garden is peaceful and has a bird feeding table. All the rooms are very comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. There is a walk in shower downstairs and and a shower attachment in the bath upstairs. Ron who showed us the property was very helpful and had lots of useful information about the area as well as the cottage. Lots of walks available from the cottage. It was also very convenient for the Co-op grocery store and the several restaurants in Killin as these were all within walking distance. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday here.



Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0

We used the Old Bakery as a base to drive in and around the West coast to see and do various things.
The Old Bakery was close to the shops,hotels and Out door centre.
We had a great week in and around Killin.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Colin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Old Bakery. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay around Killin and further afield.