FB Twitter

Mallard Cross

Mallard Cross

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


In an ideal central location for activities, with a good double garage for storing outdoor bikes, boats or canoes. Close to Sustran Cycle route 7 and a section of the Three Saints Way. For the more ambitious try a Munro, Ben Vorlich, Ben More or Ben Lawers, a must for nature lovers, its the highest mountain in the Southern part of the Scottish Highlands and has the most celebrated collection of rare mountain plants in Britain. For the outdoor enthusiast Loch Earn is popular with water sports during the summer months, walking and cycling paths are on your doorstep with local golf courses welcoming all visitors.
Mallard Cross is in a quiet village location with great views towards Loch Earn where you can see the Osprey diving for fish or the keen fisherman of course. Permits available locally. The holiday home is within walking distance of the village shop, two bars/restaurants with others a short drive away. Mallard Cross offers spacious self catering accommodation sleeping 7 with 1 King en-suite room downstairs, one King one twin and one single room upstairs with family bathroom. This self catering accommodation is a good base for seeing many of the historic sites in the surrounding areas and just over an hour from Perth, Glasgow and Edinburgh.

A nice base in Lochearnhead

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A spacious house in a lovely location in Lochearnhead.
Lots of room to store our bikes in the garage. Furniture and decor very basic but the house did the job for us.




Good holiday but scope for some improvement

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great location with beautiful scenery around. Convenient to drive around to interesting places. Spacious property, well equipped. and well heated. Cleanliness needs improvement especially the toilet cleaning accessories. Bath room fittings inadequate. Bed linen, seating covers and bath towels old and faded. Shower cubicles covered in mold and drainage blocked with hair.
Score 70/100




Mallard Cross

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was surprisingly spacious, well equipped and very clean and comfortable. Our girls were delighted with their huge upstairs bedrooms and very comfortable beds. The mattress in the downstairs double bedroom is possibly in need of changing, but otherwise, again a spacious and comfortable bedroom. The bathrooms were clean, spacious and easy to use, though the upstairs shower had an issue with dripping after use. It was very powerful though.
We could not have asked for a more beautiful location, with stunning views over the Loch Earn that made you glad to be alive. The gardens were lovely, with space to play and explore. Perhaps the garden furniture was a little tired, but usable.
We would definitely recommend to others. Thank you.
I would also like to mention the owners of the Lochearnhead Hotel, who were so welcoming and helpful - beautiful food too!




Matthew replied 93 days ago
Thank you for leaving this review of Mallard Cross. We are glad to hear that you and your daughters enjoyed your stay in Lochearnhead.

We were a family of 8 looking for accommodation next to the loch for water sports.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mallard Cross house was perfect for our short stay. The house was clean and big enough for 8 of us plus our mental spaniel. I would highly recommend this house and we'll be back next year.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Mallard Cross. We are glad to hear that you and your spaniel enjoyed your stay.

A week's stay in Mallard Cross - Lochearnhead

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location a few minutes walk from the loch. The property was very clean on arrival and reasonably well appointed. The beds were very comfortable, but the sitting room, where the television is situated and dining room should be swapped, the sitting room was too small to comfortably accommodate five adults and two dogs.

We were disappointed that for such a large garden it was not secure to allow our two dogs to run free. It's also quite a climb to get to the upper level where the barbecue area is located. Once you're up there it's a nice area with lovely views over Loch Earn.

The only negative is that the I had to relight the boiler pilot light at least three time a day. The pilot light would extinguish when the water pressure dropped in the boiler, which had to be adjusted before the pilot light could be re-lit. This was really inconvenient and often resulted in someone having an unexpected & unwelcome cold shower! I think it's unacceptable to leave the boiler operation (notes were left how to adjust the water pressure & pilot light) to the occupiers of the property, the problem should have been rectified by the owners.

It was beneficial to be able to use the double garage for secure storage of our jet ski and car.

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Mallard Cross.




Fantastic views

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property with fantastic views, kitchen is very well equipped, and garage is excellent for storage. Very clean, needs TLC on the outside of the property, especially the back garden, not inviting at all, garden furniture not appealing, overall excellent property as views make up for the small problems, will use again.





A mixed experience!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An enjoyable week in an area we know very well. The house is well located and in a quiet location and the balcony made the most of the view. We especially valued having two living room areas as there were three generations staying. The only drawback was the single bedroom which was really smelly, and I have to say we found unusable, smelling of vomit and strongly enough so that the mixed gender grandchildren opted to share rather than have a bedroom each. I did report this back afterwards, but didn't hear anything, so I just hope it has rectified itself. We left the windows open for the next guests but it was still smelly when we left, so I suspect a deep clean is needed. If you don't need to use the bedroom then there were no problems at all. Having said that, the house was well provided and there was plenty of kitchen equipment former needs. The pint of milk was very welcome on arrival as were the daffodils on the windowsill.



Great stay in Lochearnhead

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great New Year in Lochearnhead with Cooper Cottages. The accommodation was first class with everything you needed and more. We'll definitely be back with Cooper Cottages next year. A big thank you to Christine who always provedes a warm welcome.



4 days at Mallard Cross

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spacious, clean bungalow for a base for walking. The kitchen had everything you would need and more. The beds were extremely comfy. Lots of toys for kiddies (if you had them with you), books and music. Fantastic views over Loch Earn if you weren't doing the walking (i was sewing). Had to ring Christine as we couldn't work the patio door out, she had someone come down to show us within half an hour.
Excellent holiday home.




Great Bank holiday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, lots of room, ticked all the boxes.....................................................................................................



Brilliat

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very easy booking prices good value for money and excellent location. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Mallard Cross which is a great size for a family.



Two weeks in July

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful view across the loch. Spacious and well equipped house in excellent central location. Enjoyed barbeques in garden in the evening sunshine. Lots of games, jigsaws, books in case of any rainy days.



Lovely spacious house in great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a four night at Mallard Cross with family party of 8, house was a perfect size, plenty of space for us all. Excellent facilities in house although a mirror in the ground floor bedroom would have been useful, although this is only a minor point! Would definitely recommend this property and Cooper Cottages who were excellent.



Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mallard Cross. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The point about the mirror has been heard.

Beautifully situated house,which was very well equipped in all aspects.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautifully situated with an amazing view of the loch. It was very well equipped all round,the kitchen,bedrooms and bathrooms were of a high standard and the service was perfect.



Well-equipped house in good area.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mallard Cross made an excellent base for exploring the Southern Highlands. The property was well-equipped and very spacious. In warmer times the garden area would be very much appreciated; in winter, the views from the property were very pleasant. Altogether an enjoyable stay, at a property which is highly recommended.



Good Service, Wonderful Views.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked last minute and found Cooper Cottages very helpful. We arranged to meet on arrival, they showed us how the heating worked and made us feel very welcome. We called them out to help us sort the Free-View TV, they were there shortly after the call. Christine called to make sure all was well on the Wednesday.
With the lower floor King-size bedroom and bathroom it met our needs superbly. Highly recommended.




Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely weekend in Mallards Cross. The cottage is spacious, clean, really comfortable, well equipped and could not have been better. With lovely views over Loch Earn and a couple of minutes from two hotels for food and drink it could not be better placed. The kitchen is well equiped for cooking. Would have happily stayed a full week rather than just the long weekend we did stay. There is some great walking very close by including 3 Munros which we just had to climb! Would happily stay again.



Mallard Cross Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mallard Cross is the perfect holiday home - it is in a fabulous location commanding wonderful views of Loch Earn. The house is very spacious with all mod cons - great kitchen facilities and very comfortable lounge areas. The bedrooms are all great with very comfortable beds and the double bedroom upstairs has amazing views over the loch. The house is immaculately clean, lovely bathrooms and plenty of towels etc. The front and back gardens are very well tended and perfect for enjoying a glass of wine whilst enjoying the lovely views! We had a fantastic stay at Mallard Cross but three days wasn't long enough! Could also recommend the Lochearnhead Hotel nearby for dinner, very dog friendly and lovely welcome from the owners. The house is perfectly located for exploring the Trossachs or just enjoying Loch Earn itself and we are already looking forward to going back!