FB Twitter

Glen Ogle Lodge

Glen Ogle Lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


A charming, detached, rustic log cabin, situated on a south facing hillside overlooking Loch Earn. Within the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park it makes a perfect spot to explore Perthshire and Strilingshire with all they have to offer. Cycling and walking routes begin close by. For the more adventurous our local munro Ben Vorlich, Ben Lawers or Ben More all start a short journey away. Good fishing on Loch Earn or try a round of golf at St Fillans, Killin or Callander. Outside patio area where you can relax and enjoy the peace and tranquility of this self catering log cabin.

wee holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Love it, love it, love it. Had a fantastic wee family holiday there. Definitely will be back. Great location.



Matthew replied 30 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

breathtaking. Will definitely go again

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views from every window of the cabin are amazing. (Even the toilet window) Every evening we would see the deer in the fields behind. One evening there were 17 including a number of young who were bouncing around they stayed for about half an hour and we enjoyed watching them through the kitchen door. There was plenty of space for our family of 4 (and I think a family of 6 or 3 adults 3 kids) but I think 6 adults would struggle. The attention to detail such as the 1 pint of milk, tea, coffee and sugar, and the shortbread biscuits on arrival were a lovely bonus as we arrived after all the shops had shut. The decking was a lovely private area where we enjoyed breakfast and eating tea whilst the sun set over the mountains. This was a lovely base to visit all over The highlands. Even with people staying in the other cottages we still felt like we were by ourselves. If you have children would recommend a visit to Blair Drummond Safari park. If there had to be a moan it would be the lack of a washing machine as with 2 young children who can find mud in a desert it was quite difficult. All in all this was the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Already planning our return visit.



Matthew replied 70 days ago
Happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay in Lochearnhead.

Lovely lodge in great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay. Was especially grateful for the plentiful supply of firewood etc. for the wood burner , kept the lodge lovely and cosy. Cooper cottages were also a pleasure to deal with.



Cooper Cottages replied 312 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Glen Ogle Lodge and that the wood burner helped you stay nice and warm. It is always comforting in the winter months to have logs included in the tariff and benefit from the fire.

What a wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in lodges before, but none with the attention to detail that Glen Ogle had. Everything down to there even being a pint of milk in the fridge which is sure to be something many people forget and we all know how important a brew is in the morning. Fantastic location, quiet, romantic, and just what we were looking for. We decided we will definitely be visiting again. Although we are relatively local from Perth and Aberdeen this is a wonderful lodge for us to come back to on a semi-frequent basis without the hassle of long distance treks to get there. A must read is the visitors book. We cracked up laughing at the "A Team" message which was left in there! Would not hesitate to recommend Glen Ogle, just not on the weekends we want to be there!



Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoyed Glen Ogle and we look forward to welcoming you back.

theblairsatnumber3

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we were disappointed by the space we had (or rather the lack of),We were spoilt by our earlier stay in Allt Beag .We found the space very cramped for 5 adults and it would have been worse had the other family member been able to be with us. However, we enjoyed our stay in this beautiful location and look forward to our next stay in 2017. We would like to thank Christine for her care. Best wishes from Terry and Jennifer.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
I will contact you by seperate email to ask if you want to change your booking for 2017 that you made for Glen Ogle Lodge for 2 weeks. If you are not comfortable here we can offer alternatives to suit you and your family. Glen Ogle Lodge is compact for 6 which suits many people who are looking for an accommodation which equates to £13 pppn in the height of the season. We will do our best to help you with an alternative accommodation for next year.

Five days at Glen Ogle lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found the lodge advertised on the net,,paid up immediately.Arrived on the 15th August,,awesome place.Location was spot on,,peaceful ,quiet and well equipped for our stay.
T.V. struggled to hold a signal,,who cares,,didnt go to Scotland to watch telly.
Will almost certainly be trying this lodge out again,,maybe even one of their other holiday lets.
All in all a perfect stay in a perfect place,in a perfect location




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future to the area. Thanks for the comments about the television too. The television in the lodge was recently replaced. We hadn't heard anything about a poor signal previously, so we will certainly look into this.

Thank you for welcome tea/coffee, etc. Also paper band round loo to indicate it hadn't been used.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was fine for two of us; six would have been a real push.

Would it be possible to include a small milk pan? All the pans were huge.

We found it difficult to switch off the shower light by pulling the cord.

Like in a lot self-catering places, leftovers from previous lodgers use up space in the cupboards and when surface space is at a premium cupboard space is important.

It was extremely peaceful. Thank you.




A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked Glen Ogle Lodge as a base for a walking holiday and it proved exellent for this purpose with Ben Ledi, The Cobbler and Ben Lawers all within easy reach.
The Lodge itself was roomy enough for the three of us, each with our own bedroom, but with six visitors it could be a bit tight. We also had very good weather, which made the garden a welcome extra space.
In fact, the only lack was WiFi which in the last few years has become more important. The pub in Lochearnhead with free Wifi is however convenient for this purpose.
The supermarket in Callander not to far away, three visits in our ten day stay were enough to keep us supplied.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Dave, Thank you for your review of Glen Ogle Lodge. I am glad you managed to get out and enjoy some of the nearby climbs. I agree that WiFi would be a big plus at this property. BT have been out to look at the possibility of having it installed there, but were unable to help us. Many thanks for your other notes. We will pass these on to the owner. Kind Regards Matthew

A great break away

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at this cabin. It has a fantastic location, just elevated enough to give amazing views of the loch and hills from the windows. A lovely open outlook to the back and the trees, we saw a great deal of wildlife from the window including deer and red kites. There are great walks nearby as well. The cabin itself was well maintained and had everything we needed. Have stayed in a few cabins before and know they can be a bit chilly in the winter months but this one had a superb wood burner and it heated the cabin up nicely. Would highly recommend this as a great base for exploring the Trossachs, loads to do nearby and it is a really nice place to come back to at the end of the day!



Great wooden lodge in a quiet location of Lochearnhead and great views to high mountains

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb place to stay in a great location. The very well equipped lodge is cosy and rustic and suited us very highly. It's in a quiet location, well away from busy roads, just on the edge of the village of Lochearnhead.
The kitchen is good and plenty of space to cook meals.
Lots of walks from the door and the walk for Ben Vorlich is just a few miles down the road. Lots and lots of other great hill walks are an easy drive away. There's a wood burner and plenty of wood and starter kindling available. We were there in a very cold spell and the wood burner was essential but heated the living room and kitchen well. Electric fires provide heating for other areas and were essential.
The staff at Cooper Cottages were really helpful in finding us the most suitable location and cottage for our holiday when we called them.




Great end of the year 2015

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had really great time with friends at the cottage. Beautiful surroundings but very dark at night, a wee torch would be very useful to take the dog out. Nice and cozy wooden cabin. Fire place creates the atmosphere. We really love it and definitely we would like to spent more time in this place. Thank you very much for the hospitality. :)



Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of the time spent at Glen Ogle Lodge. Your comments re the torch have been noted. The torch used to sit in the hallway. Sorry it was not there during your stay.

Location, location, location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Glen Ogle Lodge. The wood burner was a necessity in the winter months, without it we would have been lost. The views from the lodge are spectacular, even despite the constant rain. The lodge was perfect for four people, any more and it would have been a bit tight for space. The only thing we missed was a washing machine, which you need for an extended holiday. Also, a change of towels halfway (due to said lack of washing machine) would have been handy...after 9 days of drying yourself with the same towel you start feeling less clean ;). On the bright side, we played some board games, watched television/dvd's, read and enjoyed the views. We even had a spectacular visit from the local wildlife when a small herd of deer (a stag and five females) came to graze just across from our front door. A beautiful location to spend your Christmas holiday :-).



Great autumnal week in the Trossachs

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable and homely cabin in a great location for walks, views, local attractions and just getting away from it all. Cabin was well equipped. Highly recommended.



Glen Ogle Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glen Ogle lodge is a great getaway destination, the property has everything we needed, well equipped kitchen, nice bath, good wee stove, very comfy lounge for relaxing, spacious rooms and lots of space around cabin outside. Just far enough away from neighbouring property's to give privacy unlike many big scale parks.



A nice simple cabin, comfortabe with good access to surrponding travalling attractions

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This lodge is actually a cabin suitable for 6 sleepers. It is comfortable though kitchen and shower room could be larger. It is well equiped though a washing/drying machine could be a nice addition.There is a vie to the lake. It is located within a small village neighbourhood. It enables visiting loch Katrine, loch tay and Callander: all are less than 0.5 hour drive. The lodge is gives good value for money, but in a retrospective I would have chosen a place with better view and maybe a cottage.



Charming!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spend some days in the lodge, we all found it a great lodge, very cosy and everything there. We would absolutely recommend it! We were staying there with our four kids and they just loved it!




excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is in a stunning location which gives you plenty of places to walk. The lodge itself is very clean and comfortable with everything you need included. It is highly recommended and we will definitely be returning.



Cosy cottage at the lake

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to rest for a week. Comfortable and cosy. Good service: the microwave oven broke down and was replaced in 20 minutes. Would certainly love to repeat the experience.



glen ogle cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Too small for six people. Needs frosted glass in the bathroom to maintain privacy. The gardens could be maintained better as there were too many weeds around the cabin.



Glen Eagle - the temporary HQ of three souls in search of a good week in Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrival was on time, with a slight surprise on our part as we were thinking in terms of a 'Butlins' holiday camp style
location with a line of similar hut-like dwellings akin to the great escape!. We were pleased that the Lodge was set apart
in its own space, on a slight rise, giving pleasant views of Loch Earn and the tree covered hillside next door.

It had a Canadian cabin feel to it, with enough space for us all to have their own room. The lounge was comfortable, and the kitchen well equipped for our cookery adventures, which given this was our first attempt at self catering, went well.

The main feature which we appreciated above all was the lack of noise from being too close to others, indeed it was hard to know if we had 'company' at all for the first two days. This was a big plus because there is nothing more bothersome than to be staying in a great location, only to have noise and similar from people too close to your own 'space's o to speak.

Parking was ideal, as we used our car a lot for sight seeing.

In all, I would most certainly book this Lodge again, and I'm sure others using this location will have a wonderful holiday
experience here.




Short break during early summer

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jun 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location and a great holiday despite the weather. Good walks. Pubs, eateries nearby. Deer came down to the cabin in the evening. It's a cabin so rooms quite small and wood fire needed to keep cozy temperature - zero insulation. Bathroom basic but shower OK, although privacy an issue (bare window at chest level). Good selection of DVDs and books and big screen TV. An emptied vacuum cleaner bag, replacement light bulbs and extra bin liners would have made our stay even better.



Had a wonderful stay and would be happy to return!

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The log cabin warmed up in no time and my family and I enjoyed our time relaxing by the fire, cooking and watching movies. We very much enjoyed the quiet location and beautiful views of the mountains. On our second day we went for a lovely walk on one of the old train lines, which was just nearby the cabin...It was wonderful to simply step out the front door and enjoy nature.

Everything we needed was close by at the local shop or a short drive into the next town... And it was wonderful to have a supply of wood for the fire included. A great, relaxing get away.

Would definitely recommend Glen Ogle Lodge to friends!

Many thanks,

Suzanne




Great cabin, will come again

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It was a wonderful stay. The cabin was thoughtfully furnished, it was very comfortable for 3 people; at full capacity (6) it might have been a bit crowded in the evenings. The private garden was perfect for breakfasts and reading in the sun! We also had a lovely view of the loch, quiet nights, and beers and grocery basics within walking distance. The well-equiped kitchen felt just like home, and finding spices, salt and tea on arrival was a very nice touch.
Two small gripes: the available logs were too large for the stove, but luckily the owner happened to come by and lent us an axe. And had we stayed longer, the lack of storage furniture in the master bedroom would probably be more of a problem.
Still, the quality of both service and accomodation were above most companies we've dealt with in Scotland: we definitely plan on coming back in a few months!




Our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a nice stay in this cottage. Though the furniture is not exactly new (and the couch difficult to get up from) it was comfortable enough.
We had some trouble finding the cottage. Maby in the description of the way there can something be done about the words "at the village hall", which leaves too many possibilities to choose from...




lovely log cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful view .beautiful surrounding. we had comfortable evenings as the stove worked very well. Shower supply plenty of hot water. but bathtab plug chain was too short.Staff were helpful.one thing to request is to maybe add a comfortable chair in sitting room.



excellent location, cosy and clean,

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
excellent location, very good for hiking local munroes (eg Ben Vorlich). Cosy and clean, would definitely come back and will recommend to friends









Praise we'll earn-ed

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We only stayed three days in this lovely cottage, but had a pleasant stay - despite the Scottish rain. Inside the cottage the homely interior makes you feel welcome. In the rough nature we found our cozy haven. Recommended!



Glen Ogle

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice cabin. The only issue was lack of a decent sign at the end of the road caused some confusion. Very comfortable and well equipped. I will definitely stay there again.



A tranquil place.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family ( husband, daughter and son in law, & 2yr old grandson and not forgetting dog izzy) stayed ay glen ogle for a long weekend. The log cabin was lovely and clean and once we got the fire going it was very warm and cosy. Everything that we needed was available. A very peaceful and quiet place and I hope to return soon.



Excellent time with familly

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recommendable place definitely use again. Very close to the places of stunning, winter season just half an hour sculptures reach the ski lifts. For sure I visit this place again.



Glen Ogle Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Timber hut was well set out and good to be in. 14year old & 10 year old complained that the mattress's were very poor and un comfy in the twin room. The location excellent . all in all we would have no problem revisiting.



Very cosy, real log cabin

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great wee log cabin - it had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and the log burner was second to none. Despite the cold and miserable weather outside, once the fire was on, we had all the windows and the doors open to cool us down! Perfect for a short/long getaway. Close to a couple of pubs/hotel bars and the watersports centre is very close. Also within easy driving distance of plenty of walks and Killin where you will find the Falls of Dochart.