FB Twitter

Carreg y Nant

Carreg y Nant

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


This cottage has a large ground floor open plan fully equiped Kitchen, also having a dish washer and a washer / dryer, and the very relaxing living area has 2 sets of patio doors opening to the private garden. The private hot-tub is located in the garden over looking the fields and the old oak trees. There is a small unfenced brook running through the garden. There is a small wash room in the hall with a w.c and basin. The bedrooms are on the 1st floor: 1 x en suite double bedroom + 1 x en suite Twin Bedroom. Each bathroom has a shower , w.c and a basin with large velux windows, which make the bathrooms very light and fresh. The fabulous hot tub is located out side on the patio area. 2 Bedrooms Beds in twin room can be joined to form 1 king size on request Bathrobes and towels provided. Sleeps 4 + cot available Wi-Fi available for £10 per stay Ipod dock No extra charge for use of Hot Tub The owners Gareth and Sioned live in the farmhouse, which is close to the cottages, and are more than happy to help and advise when needed. When you arrive at the cottages we welcome you personally and give you a guided tour of the property!! As this is a new small family business we really care about making your holiday perfect in every way and that you will find it hard to stay away after you’ve discovered Bythynnod Bryn Caled Cottages!! Special Features; Open all year – short breaks available throughout the year; and great last minute offers – just ask! The three cottages are graded 4/5 star Visit Wales (The Welsh Tourist Board) All cottages are warm and cosy and well heated Child friendly environment Child minding service available Hot water is heated by solar panels and electricity Close to mountains and beaches Complimentary welcome food and drinks - Home Baked Cake,fresh milk, teas & Coffee . Christmas and New year – all cottages festively decorated with plenty of home made mince pies....delicious! Maid service available Monday - Friday .......just ask!! Full Welsh delicious Breakfast delivered to your cottage for £12 per person Dinner delivered to your cottage from £18 (menus available on request) Home made "eat any time" slow cooker meal available for £25 (serves 4 guests) . Just what you need after a long journey! (menus available on request) All cottages non-smoking Sorry, no pets

A gem in Wales

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb cottage in a wonderful setting . Everything you could need provided,with the bonus of a hot tub. Lovely touch being given a home made cake . Will definely book again

Linda from Swindon stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in September 2017


Just wonderful!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location, and stylish but very comfortable and practical house. The host was very friendly and bought us a delicious cake which went down a treat when we got caught in a downpour! We really enjoyed the peacefulness and calm of the surrounding area, and our son enjoyed seeing the dogs, chickens, horse, sheep etc! Grateful for the stair gate and child-friendliness. All very clean, everything worked well, we really wish we could have stayed longer.

Thank you Sioned.



Naomi from London stayed at Carreg y Nant for 2 nights in September 2017


Beautiful Bala

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Superb stay at the same cottage we visited several years ago. The location and privacy is second to none, a great location to relax and unwind

Nick from Birmingham stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in August 2017


A great Holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the location. The owners were very helpful and responded very quickly to our requests. Kids had a great time. We had an email prior to our departure detailing the route to the cottage and the activities around, so we could plan the holiday activities in advance.
Everything were provided. Fresh free range eggs too!


Kiran from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in July 2017


A fabulous stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed with our son in Carreg-y-Nant and has a fabulous time! The cottage was in a beautiful location and perfectly clean with everything needed! We were in love with Bella and Bobi who paid regular visits to see us and have cured my little boys fear of dogs! We didn't see the owners much as they were away but it was good to know that they were only a text away if anything was needed. Thanks for a fabulous stay!

Laura Duran-smith from Ormskirk stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in May 2017


Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I returned from a 3 night stay in Carreg Y Nant earlier this week, and already can't wait to book again to go back. You couldn't ask for a better, more picturesque location, and the cottage itself was fantastic with everything you need provided (the only thing we did miss was an iron, although I'm sure Sioned would have been happy to provide one had we asked). The town of Bala is only a short drive away, and has plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants. There is also a lovely old steam train that goes from the village into Bala, which was a great way to spend an hour or two during our stay. It was nice to use the hot tub at the back of the cottage at the end of each day, but we were a tad disappointed that one of the jet settings wasn't working which meant that it wasn't all that bubbly unfortunately - hopefully this will be fixed when we stay again as it was one of the main reasons we booked. My only other suggestion would be for some fans to be available during summer months as the upstairs of the cottage became unbearably hot - the heat would hit you in the face as you walked upstairs - this would be lovely during winter but in the nice weather we had whilst there it was uncomfortable at nighttime so we found it hard to sleep (despite the bed being very comfortable!). Overall though we had a fantastic stay, made even better by Sioned's three lovely dogs who visited us frequently, and the horse and chickens who live in the fields round the back of the cottage! Sioned herself is a lovely person, and you can tell that she puts a lot of care and attention into the cottages even just from the details provided on the website at first glance. We will definitely be back, and our family and friends have already been asking for the details based on the photos we've shared with them! Look forward to our next stay!

Adam from Liverpool stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in May 2017


A week with a view!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I spent a warm sunny week at the cottage surrounded by glorious scenery, friendly animals and very welcoming owners. This was our third stay and just as good as our first visit. Cottage very comfy, clean and has everything you might need for a selfcatering, home from home holiday.

Joanne from Ashford stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in April 2017


Thank you for a relaxing and truly inspirational stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing setting and the best holiday cottages we have stayed at. We felt very safe with our three little children and we had everything we needed for a fantastic holiday. We have just returned from our stay and put some photos of our holiday on facebook - already have had several friends asking us for the contact details to make a booking for this year! Thank you for a relaxing and truly inspirational stay.

Lloyd Edward from Bridgend stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in February 2017


Needs a new button "beyond excellent"

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is stunning, clean & modern. Amazing views, hot tubs, chicken visits.cant wait to return

Trevor from Sandbach stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in February 2017


Our third visit and just as fabulous as ever. Beautiful accommodation in a stunning area.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the attention to detail to show owners really care about their customers. Spotlessly clean and so warm and inviting. Hot tub wonderful. Sioned always at hand if ever you need help, even though she must be incredibly busy.
Frightened to recommend to others because we want it all to ourselves! Best hot tub accommodation and location we have been to and we've been to about 15 across the uk.


Kay from Birmingham stayed at Carreg y Nant for 5 nights in December 2016


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice cottage in an excellent location for a peaceful break, owner left us a lovely lemon drizzle cake that she had baked that morning which was a really nice touch.

She also made a quick visit to make sure everything was in order and was very helpful in advising us on the local area.
Highly recommended.


Bob from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 2 nights in November 2016


Peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we wanted and more. Peace tranquillity, comfort and the hot tub.
Sioned is very friendly and her cake was a lovely surprise. Wanted to take the double bed home with me as it was so comfortable.

Sioned announced that they had a been successful in gaining another award which was so well deserved.


Christine from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 2 nights in November 2016


Brilliant cottage with incredible views.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found the cottage online and booked through hoeseasons arrived on the friday to a wonderfully presented cottage with a freshly baked cake waiting for us. Rooms where immaculate and comfortable with great views all round.

Would definitely recommend.


Chris from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in October 2016


Beautiful location, very friendly family and pets - will be back

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic short week away with 4 adults and one 2year old - perfect place for kids with lots of animals, stream and playground on site.
The hot tub was lovely each evening, beds comfy and the views across the valley were stunning. Daily visits from the dogs and chickens was a great treat for 2 year old.
Great info on activities nearby in cottage or Sioned was very helpful with tips on places to visit.
There were people staying in the adjoining cottage but our place still felt lovely and private.
I marked down condition only because the dishwasher and fridge need a little tlc but otherwise very well provisioned cottage.


Jacqui from London stayed at Carreg y Nant for 5 nights in September 2016


Beautiful cottage with outstanding views

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Careg y Nant for 3 nights with our children before start of school. Amazing cottage which has been fabulously furnished with great detail. Sioned came and personally welcomed us which was a lovely touch. A lovely surprise when her son arrived with a home made lemon cake for us. Hot tub fantastic, particularly after a busy day as was the wifi (so happy kids!). Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Bedrooms were very well furnished with very cosy duvets. Sioned and her family have some lovely friendly pets who would visit us frequently and keep the kids happy. They were also able to feed the chickens and horses who lived in the field at the back of the garden. An exceptional cottage which made our break very special. Will definitely be staying here again.

Helen from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in August 2016


A Great Week at Carreg y Nant

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house which provided everything we needed and was as shown on the website. A couple of issues with equipment were dealt with quickly by the friendly and helpful resident owner who also provided us with an excellent discount code for Bala Water Sports Centre. The house was well equipped, clean and quiet. I would definitely recommend this house to others

John from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in July 2016


Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Over all we had an excellent stay. Loved the arrival treats, the cake was delicious. We found it very difficult to find though, especially as it was dark, signs on the main lane by the bins would have been useful. The cottage was great for our 3 month old and the offer of the baby bath was very kind. A couple of niggles were that the washing machine start button was broken and the dishwasher top shelf kept falling due to a missing stopper, also the second bedroom window would not stay open. Hot tub was fab after a long days exploring and the view was amazing. It was nice to see the chickens, ducks and dogs wandering around.

Emma from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in May 2016


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at this cottage for the easter holidays with my family. Lovely views from the cottage and my children enjoyed the daily visits by the chickens and dogs. Nice walks and the owner has provided a list of nice restaurants nearby to visit. So that was a very nice gesture. Hot tub also a bonus and easy to use.

Sin Chuen from Kuala Lumpur stayed at Carreg y Nant for 12 nights in March 2016


Carreg y nant

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at carreg y nant! Would love to come again! Lovely views, lovely cottage. Set in the middle of nowhere so lovely if you are looking for peace and quiet.

Guest from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in February 2016


Great for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with beautiful views, the hot tub completely made it for us, sitting out in it on a cold winters night looking up at the stars was fantastic. The area is beautiful and the hosts lovely

Carolyn from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in January 2016


Fantastic Cottage, great owners, lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited the cottage in December when Hurricane Desmond was in full flow so to say the weather was bad would be an understatement, But this didn't put us off the cottage was very lovely indeed as we pulled in the owner Gareth met us and showed us where to park he was a lovely guy and made us feel so welcome the key was in the door when we arrived so we could go straight in when we arrived and out of the horrible rain and wind the heating was already on when we arrived and they had put a Christmas tree up with lights which was a very nice touch the place was very clean and welcoming and warm, the facilities were fantastic the rooms very big and clean, the other owner Gareth's wife Sioned came round later a lovely lady asked if we had settled in ok and made us feel very welcome when I asked for the wifi password she gave it to me and just said leave the money by the kettle which was a nice touch of trust in this day and age, I would highly recommend the cottages they are fantastic and over such lovely views on the hillside, we didn't get to use the hot tub due to the weather but we hope to next time

Michael from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in December 2015


Wonderful!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and location are simply superb. Such a relaxing break and customer service is second to none. The cottage was warm and welcoming on arrival with all the comforts you could possibly need.We will be back.

Paul from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in November 2015


Wow

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved this cottage. It has everything you need, is so comfortable & relaxing and the view is wonderful.
The hot tub is brilliant - it's great to sit in there and look up at the stars. The location for us is perfect. Up a country lane and in its own grounds - It's so peaceful but only a 10 minute drive into Bala town, with the local village (and pub) being about a mile away.
The owners were very helpful and friendly and the home made cake on arrival was a real treat.
We had a fantastic holiday here and will definitely be back.


Salena from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in September 2015


Great, relaxing time

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a short break here and it is the best hot tub cottage we have stayed in. Everything immaculate - views of local area stunning and attention to detail makes you really feel special. Can't wait to go again !!

Kay from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in October 2015


Lovely peaceful spot with a hot tub

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time I've stayed here and both times have been wonderful. The owner is so helpful and friendly, and the homemade cake waiting for your arrival is a lovely touch. The cottage was cosy, modern and well-equipped. There are lovely walks nearby, and of course lots to do on Bala lake, and the view from the cottage is beautiful.

It's a shame the hot tub is tucked so far away at the back (although that gives privacy); even if it was at the side of the cottage it would retain privacy while enabling you to absorb the beautiful view out front. One other minor point is the beds, which were a little soft for our liking, but nothing a new mattress wouldn't fix!

Overall, we had a fabulous break and would recommend it to groups of friends or family. It's all the more value for money if more of you share the cottage rather than just a couple.


Heather from Leek stayed at Carreg y Nant for 3 nights in September 2015


Long Weekend In Wales

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, great location, fantastic views & a warm welcome. Lots to do in the area - particularly if you enjoy the great outdoors. Recommended!

Nick from Alne stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in September 2015


Nice home at a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Carreg Y Nant very much. The house is homely and has a lot of great facilities. And the location is wonderful with a magnificient view!

Guest from Amsterdam stayed at Carreg y Nant for 7 nights in July 2015


Stunning tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a stunning location. Very cosy, private and peaceful, with stunning views and an awesome hot tub! Super friendly owners, ducks, horses and chickens - including a couple of cute foals no less! We'd definitely come again. Oh, and you get a homemade cake on arrival - what more could you ask for?

Guest from stayed at Carreg y Nant for 4 nights in June 2015