FB Twitter

The Arches

The Arches

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 70 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, private patio with hot tub

Work Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful, reasonably priced, easy to deal with when booking
Accommodation, is clean, spacious, COVID friendly




Love this place

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolute gem , great value for money , always clean and very comfy .
We always try and book when we are in the area .




Short break Oct 2020

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cannot fault this place at all. We wanted somewhere to relax and unwind after all holidays and events had been cancelled due to covid-19!! It certainly delivered it is so peaceful even though all cottages were let we didn’t hear any noise from others.
It was lovely that the dogs, cat and chickens were wandering around freely.
The cottages are well equipped comfortable and spacious and the under floor heating is lush!

We will definitely be returning.

The hot tub is an added bonus




Week family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well presented accommodation, wonderful location and a very professional and friendly personal contact throughout our stay.
We were impressed with the all the standards and the level of facilities.
The two young children we had in our group had a wonderful time and would recommend highly to others.

Thanks again to both Julie and Robert for their personal welcomes





Back again and we will keep going

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its a fair drive from us but worth it every time we go. Great base to explore but also comfortable enough to stay in and just relax



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time in the arches but second time at upper house farm, love love love it!!
We will be returning again so will our guests!!




Couldn't have had a better week anywhere, or felt safer

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to Upper Farm before and very much enjoyed it however, like all of us, this years break for the family felt more important and needed than ever before.

Not only was everything as perfect as ever, the steps that are in place to make the accommodation 'covid secure' were excellent. nothing has been overlooked, and without doubt we had no concerns about our safety while we were there.

The cottage itself is perfect and comfortably sleeps 7 adults with plenty of space inside and out to have time to yourself. The location itself is perfect with so many wonderful things to see and do from both the cottage and within a 20 minute drive.

We are already booked to go back :-)




Fantastic family holiday!!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Arches which is a fantastic property. Having four bedrooms, all en-suite except the single gave us loads of flexibility with our two 12 year olds. All bedrooms have TV's which is an added bonus as the kids could have their own space too. The cottage lives up to the luxurious description, with great proportions, great layout, great facilities for cooking and a private hot tub and fish pond. The Garden is a fab and very safe space for the kids to play in.

There was loads to do for the kids too. They enjoyed playing badminton in the sports hall which again is a fab safe place for them to play. Collecting our own eggs from the happy chickens was a novelty too!!

The location and space is just fantastic for a family holiday and exceeds the description of luxury. We wanted for nothing in the cottage as it was so well equipped for cooking and dining and entertaining the kids.

The attention to detail in the Arches is second to none and we will definitely be back.




Superb accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location for our group of 26 on our 5th return to upper house . Great facilities for all ages . Booked for 2021



Prefect place to relax!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW! What a fabulous place. Julie couldn't have been more helpful. Awesome place to spend 2 nights for a relaxing girls weekend. Everything so comfortable.Lovely visit to the local pub for lunch too with Mike the mini bus driver picking us up and dropping us back too.
Made even more perfect by lovely Charlotte the cat visiting us!
Definitely looking to return soon. Thanks for a fabulous weekend!




The Arches

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us made very good use of the hot tub. We overlooked a lovely garden with a pond. The cottage is very comfortable and well appointed. We have booked again for next year.



Great family short break.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy our break at Upper House Farm Cottages staying in The Arches.
It's very comfortable and peaceful we enjoy the hot tub.
It's a break or us all to relax and chill out and we thoroughly enjoy it.
All the extra facilities that are available there are great for families with children too.
We had visits from the dogs and the cat.it's great to see the chickens running around their pen.
You can collect eggs for your breakfast it's a great touch.
Well done to all the staff..hope to.see you again soon...




4th visit

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the job for our residents at The Haven Residential Care Home for people with learning disabilities. All on one level. Spacious and light. Plenty to occupy us as the area has many attractions. The owners could not be more helpful or accommodating.
A little Gem Thankyou.




My 3rd visit to Upper House Farm cottages.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throughly enjoyed our stay in the Arches.Everyone was very friendly & helpful. The chickens are a great addition & the fresh eggs of a morning where delicious. Would highly recommend & look forward to our next visit



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous time as always. Bit of a shame the pond was dirty & tiles in bathroom need replacing asap. But great time had by all.



Everything you need for everyone

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with my family ranging from 1year old to 83years young. The accommodation is suitable for all age ranges. You have soft play for the little ones and range of other games including pool in the activity barn plus every cottage has a hot tub which is great for unwinding after a day with the little ones. We were the only ones on the site from Monday through to Friday so it was very quiet. A perk that I have never had on a self catering holiday is collecting fresh eggs from the chickens on site. The Arches is very comfortable and has comfy reclining sofas with room to seat all 7 people.



Great holiday house

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was beautifully converted and we had a great stay. The kids loved the animals and the play equipment. Thanks.



Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A suprise week booked for my 60th birthday. This is a hidden gem of a place. It caters for all ages from babies, little children to adults. Play barn which includes pool table, air football, softball pit, DVDs, board games, something for everyone. A little shop with all the things you need including fresh eggs laid in the morning. In the big barn there is football area, badminton nets, play house. Julie the owner is so helpful. My suprise was amazing with my children and grandchildren joining us, The Arches is so big you are not on top of each other even if you want to just chill it has it all, it so deserve its 5* rating. Loved the underfloor heating, the electric recliners, log fire, hot tub I could go on and on lol. Can't wait to go back September, please try you will love it.




Annual Shrewsbury Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great break for 26 of us at Upperhouse Farm . Excellent accommodation and service .Already booked for next year



A lovely well laid out cottage with all you could need for some time away from the hustle and bustle

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is now our second visit as we enjoyed it so much the first time. They have thought of most things to include the play barn for a little soft play area for our youngest, pool table, table football and retro computer gaming unit then for the rainy days a big play barn with kids outdoor swings and slides and enough space to kick a ball about or a game of badminton - so perfect to entertain the kids without even leaving the site for days... then there is a brilliant and relaxing hot tub for the grown ups !!

The cottage was clean and well maintained with a well equipped kitchen

You really could turn up here as a family of 5 with nothing but your clothes and have a brilliant week - oh did i mention the little on site honesty shop than gets you a few of the essentials (and some treats too ;) )

We even had a look around the bigger property they have before we left and we will definitely be back......




Fab Fun had by all

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved every minute we defo come back :) From the hot tub in the garden to playing badminton all morning we all had a great time.



The Arches

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place but would benefit from a larger fridge as we could not fit both drinks and food in......



Wonderful Family Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came as a family of 6 and had a wonderful stay. Robert Betty Lou & Julie are always friendly and helpful.
Had lots of visits from the animals too.
Enjoyed the hot tub...all in all had a great stay




Another great stay at Upper House Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fab week spent at Upper House Farm. First stay in the Arches but I think this is our favourite cottage. Amenities fantastic and the girls loved the additions of the chicken coop this year and going out to look for fresh eggs in the morning! We have been many times before but found new places to visit nearby; A great base with so much to do within 30 mins drive. Will be booking again for next year!



A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The two play barns and hot tubs make this an ideal location for families with children. The cottages are ideally located with numerous attractions within short driving distance. Nothing is to much trouble for the owners who really want you to have an enjoyable stay.



The Arches

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this place a couple of yers ago so returned for second visit. Good accommodation.
Little honesty shop for your convenience.
Badminton if you fancy it.




Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wow, what an incredible place! Our cottage was roomy and beautiful, and it was clear they hadn’t scrimped as there were so many additional features that added to that luxury feel (reclining sofas, underfloor heating, hot tub, etc). The location is rural and very peaceful, yet only 20 minutes from Shrewsbury which is a lovely, lively town. The only down side to our experience was that we weren’t greeted at the beginning, so we only found out about certain features that were on offer until the end (the badminton court, eggs from the chicken coup, etc.), which was a shame. But we loved our stay and would definitely like to return. Thanks for a great weekend!



julie replied more than 1 year ago
sorry you didn't discover every thing we have here till late in your stay, but due to your late arrival time friday night, we were unable to meet you on the night. there is a welcome book in the cottage detailing all our facilities we have here to offer. do hope you will choose to come back soon?

As good as we remembered!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Upper House Farm after visiting first in 2016 and it is as good as we remembered! Accommodation is clean, well equipped and is very well appointed for attractions in and around Shrewsbury. The weather was kind to us and we were able to make full use of the patio area and hot tub. The owners were friendly and nothing was too much trouble and the animals visited regularly which we loved. Recommend this accommodation to all. We hope to revisit soon.



Little gem hidden away

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cluster of converted farm buildings offering a great getaway from frantic living. Peaceful and with everything you could wish for including hot tubs, en suites, play barns and helpful hosts.



Excellent Location and Outstanding Accommodation for our Annual Get Together

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Upper House Farm cottages for our group of 22 ( 3 cottages ) . The accommodation and facilities are excellent . We have already booked for next year



A FAB WEEK

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upper House Farm Cottages was a perfect place for myself and family to stay, Comfortable, well appointed,quiet,and plenty to keep us occupied.
lots of places to visit not too far away.
Everyone loved the hot tub and couldn't wait to get in to unwind after long days out,I think my son may be thinking of buying one now. Play barns were an excellent touch and provided lots to do at night.
All in all a brilliant week and my Granddaughter asked if we were going again next year. I would certainly go back
and would recommend it very highly.

,




Best family break ever!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location! Great accomdation! Nothing no trouble to the staff! Plenty for children to do in the play barns! Children loved Millie the friendly dog who came to visit us for breakfast. It was our 2nd time here & looks like we will be going back a 3rd time!



Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect! Fourth time we have been, will definitely be going back. It's like visiting friends.
The cottages are all beautiful, well equipped and clean. The play barns are great for keeping the children entertained. We love the honesty shop which has the little things you might have forgotten as well as locally made cakes, fresh eggs and sausage etc.
The owners, Robert and Betty-lou are lovely, the whole place runs smoothly under the care of Julie the manager who also lives on site. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
There is lots to do in the surrounding area as long as you don't mind driving to get there.
We are already planning our next visit.
Well worth every penny.




Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking at these cottages then look no further - this is the place. This was my 3rd visit and I'm already planning the next! Amazing!!!!



100%

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a pleasure to use this accommodation. This is our 3rd year. Nothing is too much trouble. We will be back.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely stay accommodation is well set out and the kids loved the play barn and feeding the fish in the garden.



The Arches Barn... Our family break.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent customer service.
The facilities for children and adults are great.
Really good base to visit other attractions in the surrounding area.
Tops for all has got to be the hot tub...just lay back and relax you can feel the stress melt away.
This was our 4th visit...that's how good it is....




Family break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable time had by all the family that came, as the weather was very good we were able to sit out on the patio and relax, Hot tub was well used, and on days out nothing was too far away so not much driving was required, Play barn and Jimmiy's play barn was well used and the shop provided was well stocked and cheaper in most cases than the nearest Supermarket, in all a very enjoyable weeks holiday.



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at upper farm cottages last year and decided, for the first time ever, that we would return to the same holiday accommodation and we were not disappointed the second time round!
Staff are always friendly, approachable and welcoming - they were quick to respond to hot tub queries and offered good knowledge about local attractions. They go out of their way to ensure your holiday is relaxing and enjoyable.
The cottage itself is to a very high cleanliness standard and little details such as milk in the fridge for you to have a hot drink upon arrival adds to the special welcome.
The honesty shop is a real special treat and I would definitely recommend the eggs amongst the many other special treats and momentoes on offer there.
What we particularly like about The Arches is the open plan arrangement and space it offers with every room having a tv and access to an ensuite (except the single room). The pond and feeding the fish was particularly enjoyed by the children and a added bonus. The indoor and outdoor play barns are a real bonus and catered for our children ranging from one years to 13 years. The only down side to this holiday was that we had to go home and we would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing and quiet holiday.





Perfect wedding accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was perfect for all our wedding guests, particularly the bridal party. Everyone at Upper House was so helpful and we had a perfect three days. Classy high standard accommodation at s. Dry reasonable price. Thank you everyone.



Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most amazing time very relaxing lovely and cozy
Went with the family something to do for everyone




Another great stay at Upper House Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, tidy, high standard of decor, friendly service. A great base to go an explore Shropshire and in to Wales as well.

Hot tub a great touch




Family weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again enjoyed a very relaxing week end at upper House Farm cottages. We hadn't stayed in the arches before but it was lovely. Everything you need. Can't wait to come back



Our stay at The Arches

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This wasn't our first stay, we came back again as we loved it so much!
The house is well equipped and spacious.
The hot tub is amazing and the largest we have had in this size accommodation.
The buildings next door were fully occupied bit we didn't hear a thing from them.
Lovely little welcome basket when you arrive and plenty for the kids to do in the on site activity rooms.
Shrewsbury is only a short ride away and has plenty to offer with cobbled streets and tiny shops.
We will be back a third time no doubt!




Superb accomodation and location for our annual group get together

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accomodation and location for our annual group get together. We will definitely be returning next year



Amazing...

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place, fantastic owners! loved the hot tub and everything about this place. Can't wait to come back.



Superb environment for a relaxed family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week over new year and had enough space for six adults and three children. We had a few problems with the heating pump which were quickly sorted by the owner. Looking forward to our next stay.



Must be one of the best holiday cottages in the UK.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the "Arches" for three nights for a family gathering to celebrate a birthday. All seven of us felt that the cottage was superb. It was clean, spacious and comfortable and very well equipped. It was also good value for money
There was plenty of parking on hardstanding.
The staff were very cheery and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
When we next visit the area we will be booking at one of the properties in the complex




Stayed in this cottage in conjunction with The Mill House and The Granary

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See review for the Mill House.
Nice that this cottage also has a hot tub which we used on our own one afternoon.




Excellent...!!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was excellent. It was so clean, spacious and had everything we needed! The Play barn was fantastic and so warm and inviting. The kids loved it! The honesty shop was a great touch and had lots of items to buy if we ran out.

The outdoor barn with the climbing frame and astro turf could do with updating a little. The lighting was poor and it was very damp in there but an excellent facility otherwise and brilliant for the kids if it was raining.

The walk over the deer park was lovely and led us to a great little pub called the Windmill where we had a lovely Sunday Lunch!

Overall a fantastic stay and would definitely book there again.




Beautiful cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upperhouse farm cottages are beautiful cottages with excellent facilities. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

The cottages are of a very high standard and are kept very clean.
Julie was very helpful and nothing was to much bother. Also enjoyed our daily visits from Millie the dog and from the cats.

Will highly recommend to anyone.




A fabulous weekend for my Mum's 50th

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A large group of us recently stayed at The Mill House and the Arches to celebrate my Mum's 50th birthday.

The cottages are amazing and by far the best accommodation that we have ever stayed in. There was something for everyone to do; my 3 year old nieces loved the play barns, my 7 year old cousin adored Millie and Bella (and the fact she could take them for a walk), the teenage boys played badminton to their hearts content and the "older crew" loved the hot tubs!

However, notwithstanding the amazing facilities, it was Julie who really made our stay special. She was on hand for months before we arrived to help with the booking, offer advice on supermarkets/things to do in the area and throughout our stay she was only a call away. Nothing was too much trouble - even finding Millie so my 7 year old cousin could have a cuddle and say goodbye!

We had such a fantastic time that we have already booked again for next year!




Family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean cottage great locationg good facilities games barn hot tub well used perfect for family holiday



Relaxing girls weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed last year and will be returning next year again. Stayed in the granary and that is just as nice. It's just home from home even have a welcome pack, Betty Robert and Julie make you feel really welcome. Lovely country pub up the road and if you don't want to drive you can use there mini bus hire service. Lovely girls relaxin weekend



Returners

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to 'The Arches' and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts Robert, Betty Lou and Julie are so welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The accommodation suits our needs perfectly and is clean,modern and well stocked. The hot tub is definitely an added bonus. There are plenty of places locally to visit and on the doorstep to Mid-Wales.



Brilliant time had by all

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family group grandparents, parents, teenagers to new born baby grandson and all had an amazing stay at The Arches. Always something to do, we all enjoyed the barn for badminton tournaments and Jimmys barn for table football, air hockey and pool games. The hot tub was always a pleasure. The onsite shop was well equipped and very generously priced. We got our lovely fresh eggs there most days
The accommodation itself was superb. There was everything we could possibly need. There are even alarm clocks in the bedrooms and every room had fans to help keep us cool.
Seating areas are well appointed and rooms well set out, couldn't hear noise from other rooms which is rare with children.
Thank you so much for our stay. We would definitely recommend Upper House Farm. Hopefully we will return in the near future




Amazing time

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Within our group we all agreed that we had an absolutely amazing time and we would definitely return within the near future and recommend the arches and upper house Farm cottages to our family and friends.



Our third holiday at the Arches

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We discovered the Arches three years ago. We find the owners Robert and Betty-Lou along with Julie to be superb hosts. There is so much to do in the area for all ages. The Arches is large and comfortable for a family of seven. We would strongly recommend it as a place to have a relaxing and enjoyable break. We are hoping to return for a fourth year as we have found It caters for all our needs.



Absolutely Idilic

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely ideal base for visiting the surrounding areas. Quiet location very comfortable with all the comforts of home. The added extra is the hot tub which is so relaxing at the end of a day of sight seeing.
Great place...




A great short stay in a tip top property

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately we were only able to fit in a 4 night stay but we all thoroughly enjoyed the accommodation and leisure families provided. Particularly important because the weather was dreadful. However, being in a good location, we visited Ironbridge, Powys Castle and Shrewsbury as well as walking up Rodney's Pillar, all easily reached.

Everything worked well and we all agreed that we would like a longer visit next time.

For info our party consisted of 7 adults ranging in age from 69 to 82




Wonderful property with great hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great week was had by all, both young and somewhat older.
The barns are full of character and the lovely hosts have really thought of everything.
We will certainly consider returning.




Beautiful family space

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous property with brilliant facilities for the kids. The hot tub was maintained daily & so was kept very clean. Owner & manager were friendly & helpful. The deer park opposite the property offered fabulous walks & we especially enjoyed walking the owners lovely well behaved dog there. Shrewsbury is a very nice town & there are lots of other places to visit nearby- we enjoyed Ironbridge & Ludlow. The only downside is that there isn't a walkable pub (no footpath along a busy road). However the pub that is close does provide a free mini bus if you give a decent tip. Really enjoyed the stay & will definitely be going back.



an excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this cottage needs no improvement, it is perfect. To make it idyllic it needs a countryside view across the patio, rather than the barn and it's corrugated iron roof, but this does not detract from the comfort or the pleasure of this superb cottage.



Relaxing weekend in Shropshire

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely barn , up to our expectations for comfort and style . The barn is very spacious not fussy which we liked .We cooked every evening and proved the kitchen is very well equipped .
The bedrooms are perfect with very comfortable beds , good quality duvets and linen and towels.
We enjoyed the hot tub on frosty evenings and our three year old enjoyed the excellent facilities on the premises .
Exceptional owners who cater for all your needs without intruding . A lovely barn for a relaxing weekend but also in an excellent area to explore Shropshire . Would love to return to do some walking in the area.




A great venue for a party of 22 when combined with the Mill house and Granary

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent the week at Upper House Farm with 22 friends as part of our annual retreat . The facilities are excellent to say the least . Great venue , Great facility, a great time. Thank you . Next year already booked



Great accommodation!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, warm and well thought out accommodation, the children's soft play area was a bonus with the two little ones. The hosts were on hand and very amenable. The only down side for us with the location was it was difficult to walk with a buggy far, as there were no pavements. Just had to spend more time in the hot tub!



Fantastic Stay again

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic weeks stay again. Lovely and clean house with lots of room even with three small kids. The kids loved the play barns and the hot tub was great to relax in the evenings while the children were asleep. The owners are lovely and very helpful. Thanks again and I am sure we will be back.



Girly weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic weekend shared with six of my closest friends of many years, shopping ,catching up ,chilling with a lovely glass of wine, so relaxing will definitely return



Amazing!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We don't usually do self catering but having seen this converted barn on the internet we decided to give it a go! Now we are converted!!
The accomodation, fixtures and fittings are all to a high standard, and the cleanliness...pristine. The hot tub provided us an opportunity to relax and was certainly a delightful added feature.
The friendliness of the owners and their team was just lovely. They pitched their interest in you just right without appearing intrusive.
The location is peaceful and is ideally situated to visit Mid Wales, Shropshire and of course the beautiful Shrewsbury.
We will most definitely be visiting again!




Fantastic property and ...

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
... A lovely welcome. Perfect accommodation in a lovely setting. Everything we could possibly need was provided at The Arches.
A good centre for seeing Shropshire and the border area - many interesting places to visit.