FB Twitter

Chypons River Cottage

Chypons River Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Located in spectacular wild moorland countryside just to the south of St Ives, Chypons Farm is a small group of 200 year old stone barns and cottages set around a courtyard and bordered by a small river and woodland.

Worthy of a stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This cottage felt very homely having all the resources you would need at home ... warmth, comfort, kitchen utensils and crockery, etc. Unfortunately, there is a slight issue with condensation/damp, especially in the lower bathroom. However, with careful airing, it is manageable.

Linda from Plymouth stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Summer 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage set in an undisturbed country farmyard. River cottage is gorgeous combining historical character with all the mod-cons. Highly recommended.

Liam from Co Dublin stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 14 nights in July 2017


Chypons River Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, very well equipped. Very welcoming hosts, scones and cream waiting for us, lovely fresh flowers on table.Well situated to explore Cornwall. Would happily recommend to my friends.

Vanessa from Tamworth stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
River cottage is delightful. Situated in a peaceful location but close enough to plenty of places and attractions to visit, situated almost halfway between St. Ives and Penzance. Julian and Kate are attentive hosts, and gave us a wealth of information both before we arrive and during our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The cottage was very comfortable, immaculately clean, and we even had a delicious cream tea awaiting us on arrival, as well as milk in the fridge and tea and sugar provided. So we enjoyed that in the garden which also has a summerhouse for less warm days I guess. We were blessed with really good weather all week, so that was a bonus to a very enjoyable stay.

When visiting St. Ives, we took the train from Levant Saltings after parking the car at the Park & Ride there. We also visited Falmouth and also left the car at the Park & Float and got the Ferry into one of the Quays in Falmouth.





Patricia from West Drayton stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Nice cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have enyoyed our stay in this lovely, cosy cottage. You find everything you need, even the fridge was full with your wantings. This way is is nice to arrive and you feel welcome.

W.f. from Oosterbeek stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A really nice place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend and had a great time. The cottage was lovely and we were provided with essentials (homemade scones, clotted cream & Jam) to help us settle in after a long Journey. We were made very welcome and Julian helped with recommendations on places to visit. The cottage is in a good location to explore Cornwall with both the north and south coast within easy reach. The only problem was that we didn't stay for long enough.

Phil from Manchester stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


home from home lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very well presented, good location for st Ives. The owner was very helpful, would definitely stay again.

Stephen from Kingston Upon Thames stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in March 2017


Home from home,

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, good condition, very quiet and relaxing. Very welcoming, they left us a cream tea and tea ,coffee and milk.

Suzanne from Shaftesbury stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 6 nights in November 2016


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing holiday, just what the Dr ordered! Although there was WiFi, on occasions it was difficult to access.

Guest from Weymouth stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Stayed here before and would definitely stay again.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Julian & Kate who own the properties and live on site, work very hard keeping the place clean and tidy and are always on hand to give advice and make sure that everything is okay. The location is very quiet being off the beaten track and is ideally situated to visit Penzance, St. Ives, Porthcurno, & Land's End, whilst Flambards at Helston and The Eden Project near St. Austell are a bit further out but easily doable. The Cottage is a real postcard picture and very comfortable with everything you could need, and the shower is fantastic. We have been holidaying in Cornwall for over twenty years and this is still one of the best places we have stayed and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone, I'm sure we will return again at some time.

Scott from Waltham Abbey stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 14 nights in August 2016


Gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Really made our stay in Cornwall that much more enjoyable knowing we were going back there at the end of the day. It really did feel like a 'home from home'. There was everything we needed throughout our 5 day stay including a lovely comfy bed.
Julian and Kate were very welcoming and informative. We couldnt fault anything whatsoever.


David from Colchester stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 5 nights in May 2016


Booked last minute to have a break in area of Cornwall where family came from.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked at last minute but couldn't have been happier with the location and accommodation. We stayed in River Cottage and it was very well furnished and was just what we had hoped for, a home from home. The downstairs shower room was an excellent facility. The owners were very welcoming and there were fresh flowers and a cream tea waiting for us on arrival. Location was perfect as you could easily reach both the south and north coast in a very short time, with lots of places to visit easily in a day.

Margaret from Saltash stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Beautifully appointed cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage, and we really liked the tasteful furnishings and the thought that had gone into setting it up for comfort and convenience. The beds are comfortable and it's great having a bathroom and a shower room, facilities that in my experience cottages dont often have. The kitchen is well set up, with a dishwasher as well. There isn't a washing machine but there is a laundry room next door where you can use the washing machines, and we thought that was actually much better.
The cottage is in a great location - you can hear the sound of the river and it was nice for us townie types to be somewhere cool and peaceful. There is a nature reserve just up the road for interesting walks, some good eating pubs nearby, and a lovely garden and summerhouse with a barbecue. This is a very special part of Cornwall, with something for everyone e.g great beaches, St Ives just down the road, tea rooms, potteries, art galleries, Neolithic sites, museums, you name it.
The cottage owners are very helpful, friendly and informative, and all in all, we had a great couple of weeks.


Jenny from Sheffield stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 14 nights in August 2015


Summer vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with the accomodation and the kind welcome we received.

The cottage was an ideal place to return to after a days exploration of beautiful Cornwall.

Only wish was that we didnt book 2 weeks


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Stay here!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very cosy, well kitted-out cottage in a great location. The owners were really welcoming and helpful, especially when my car broke down at the end of our stay.

Guest from Stroud stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


A September break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chypons farm is conveniently located to strike out to St Ives or Penzance the owners were very friendly and helpful.
We were made to feel at ease the moment we arrived.
The cottage was decorated with a lot of thought.
It is a very restful location and I would like to return some day.


Guest from London stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


chypons river cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was wonderful with everything we needed. THE COUPLE RUNNING THEM WERE VERY HELPFUL AND VERY FRIENDLY. They have worked very hard to get such high standards in such a short time. It was lovely to be able to sit in the gardens as well. We went there during a very hot week but the cottage was very cool so we slept very well. We could not find anything wrong and had a very enjoyable holiday. WE shall return, maybe next year.

Guest from Witney stayed at Chypons River Cottage for 7 nights in July 2013