FB Twitter

Above Deck

Above Deck

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


Paignton Devon
3/4 bedroom / 2 bathroom house
Private parking
Private garden
Free Wi~Fi
Tourism Rated:- 3 Stars + Gold Award

Upside down house

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House is comfortable and has everything you need.
Couple of niggles the door to ensuite needs attention as due to new carpet being fitted the door was very hard to open and close, also the toilet seat lid was missing.
Overall we all enjoyed our holiday here.




A

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely well equipped house, with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing family holiday. The house was in a great location with paignton town within easy reach of a 10minute walk. We all really did have a lovely comfortable holiday meeting local people including neighbours within the same street. We originally booked this house to attend a family wedding. So the chances of us all going away again together but be slim. Although would definitely book other smaller accommodations as we wouldn't need such a big property. The booking of above deck was really easy, staff were friendly and helpful. We would have no hesitation in booking again and recommending to friends. Thank you



Home away from home

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We reached Above Deck at 3.30 pm after four and half hours drive from London. Since it is an upside down house, it took us straight into the kitchen and the living room with picture window which gives lovely views. In the kitchen was a welcome pack waiting to greet us which was a nice gesture.

We found the home to be very clean and spacious. The issues we noticed were the downstairs door to the patio area being very hard to lock once it was opened and the corridor toilet needs updating with the cistern handle being loose somewhat, and unpleasant smell. Also, the parking area or the drive is very limited at the front of the property.

Location is good for visiting the surrounding areas. Torquay is about eight minutes away and the Paignton zoo is about five minutes drive while all the major supermarkets are located very close to each other. During our stay, we visited, Dartmoor national park, Brixham, Dartmouth, Plymouth and Cornwall. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at this lovely holiday home and thank you for having us





Reply from Mr & Mrs Jones - Owners of Above Deck replied 307 days ago
Thank you for a fairly positive review. We have investigated your comments and although we did not detect any particular unpleasant smell in the downstairs toilet, it is now fresher than ever and we have fixed the loose cistern handle. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Nice house but garden not suitable for young children or dogs as fences low with gaps & steep steps.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed as a party of 3 adults, 2 children and 2 dogs. Above deck is a nice house and I think the photos on the website make the property look smaller than it was, there was plenty of room for all of us. When we arrived the kitchen was not as clean as I would like but the rest of the house was ok. Kitchen well equipped apart from not enough forks! If you don't fancy cooking there are plenty of takeaways who deliver to the house on the Just Eat App. We can recommend Himal Tandoori! Good selection of board games which the children enjoyed. Location was nice, the house is in a quiet close & you can see the sea from the 2nd lounge side window. You can walk to the sea front & town but a very steep uphill walk back. Lovely park/ wood for dogs & children a 10min walk from house in the other direction and not steep. The thing that lets the property down is the garden. The fence at the back is just low netting and there is a large drop the other side , there are also some large gaps in the side fence which my small to medium dog fitted through, so she had to stay on a lead in the garden. Steep steps and path which is slippy when wet not good for children either. Apart from this we had an enjoyable time. If the garden isn't an issue for you then I would recommend this property.



Mr & Mrs Jones - Owners of Above Deck replied 322 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We usually have more than enough forks and it is a pity that we did not spot that some had gone missing before your arrival, had you let us know they would have been replaced. The fencing has been strengthened and is secure all of the way round. There are some steps but we would not class them as steep as compared to many found in Torbay. We are pleased that your children found the board games interesting and, of course, we have books, DVDs, videos, table football and several outdoor games as well. Much of the property has been refurbished since your visit, with redecoration and new carpets in several rooms and some new lounge furniture. Thanks once again for your feedback.

Good week in our favourite part of the world

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
8 of us stayed in October 2014. House very warm and spacious. Bedrooms downstairs took a little getting used to! The stairs are quite steep so those with little ones may need a stairgate. Bathroom, cloakroom and shower room ideal for number of guests. Very well equipped kitchen with everything you could possibly need.



Lovely week away

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at above deck for a week in April was blessed with gorg weather to add to the lovely view off the sea from the accommodation .
The accommodation was spacious,clean,and well equipped x