FB Twitter

The Capercaillie

The Capercaillie

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Capercaillie is our largest lodge sleeping up to 10 in 5 beautiful bedrooms, some with dressing areas and all with SuperKing size beds. Large outdoor hot tub, BBQ hut with indoor charcoal bbq to accommodate up to 16. Perfect place for celebrations.

Second visit

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Twenty months since our first visit, the property was just as immaculate as the first visit.
Every aspect of comfort is thought of even dressing gown and slippers for going into the hot tub which is very well maintained, water quality checked regularly during our stay.
There is no shortage of cutlery, crockery and glassware.
Well heated and plenty of hot water.
The property is very spacious the whole family enjoyed their visit.
Stunning views.


Elizabeth from Aberdeen stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in October 2017


Beautiful Capercaillie

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most amazing hen weekend, couldn't fault a thing most homely and welcoming place. Can't thank them all enough would highly recommend. Everything there that you need and was welcomed with the most loveliest welcome back.
Thanks Carol and Martin we will certainly be back.
Jemma


Jemma from Elvanfoot stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in September 2017


A wonderful location for our wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, location, scenery. Everything in the house was very high quality. No expense spared. Breakfast pack was supplied - very nice touch. We had our wedding at this location and it was lovely. The owners Carol and Martin were always on hand if we needed anything at all. We returned home to a nice gift which was sent by Carol and Martin - what a lovely gesture! We will definitely stay again!

Gary from Rosyth stayed at The Capercaillie for 6 nights in June 2017


Carol replied 96 days ago
Thank you so very much for your review and for choosing the Capercaillie to hold your wedding. We were very excited and delighted that you all had such a lovely time. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks indeed.

great venue for a team meeting!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
What a lovely place! great views, great facilities in the house- very comfortable and enough space for us to spread outt and very well equpped. Knew if we needed anything we could ask and someone came and helped. the breakfast pack was superb! it was a great venue for a meeting and team building.


Fiona from Edinburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in June 2017


Carol replied 124 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and it was very exciting to have such a great company visiting The Capercaillie. We are delighted it was a good venue for your team meeting. Again, many thanks indeed.

Capercaillie stay May/June 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week beginning of June, the lodge was outstanding everything you needed was supplied, it was spotless, the hot tub was checked twice a day to make sure chemical levels were OK. We had a problem with hot water while we were there it was sorted out straight away. The views were amazing, plenty of good walks around the property. We used Mari Brown for a dinner on the Saturday night she is a chef listed in the air house information booklet, she came to the lodge made us all dinner, the food was delicious,it was a great experience and nowhere near as expensive as you thing. We will definitely will go back to the capercaillie and will recommend air houses to friends.

Isobel from Dunfermline stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in May 2017


Carol replied 134 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Capercaillie and equally delighted to hear that you may be back sometime. Again many thanks indeed.

Lovely accommodation, service from owners not perfect.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Loved the accommodation. Only complaint I have is that owners called and texted us telling us to keep noise down. Felt it was a bit much. Sometimes made to feel like children. They should know that people go there to have a good time and so will want to play music while in hot tub. Also had to ask them to fix boiler as no hot water which meant more visits from owners.

Guest from Cumbernauld stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in May 2017


Carol replied 142 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry you felt it was intrusive to text you regarding the music which could be heard loudly outside. Airhouses is all about "peace and quiet" and we do ask that if you are playing music inside then to keep the patio doors closed so that it can not be heard outside. This is out of consideration for other guests, our animals and the wildlife. As we are situated on the top of a hill noise tends to travel across the valley, especially on a calm evening. A text seemed the least intrusive way to remind you of our Terms and Conditions. We are sorry about the central heating boiler, which seemed to have got itself stressed out by the exceedingly hot weather! Fortunately, there are two large immersion heaters, which just took a minute to switch on, so hot water was back on more or less straight away. This was your second visit to the Capercaillie and we do hope you will return again. We have no problem with music inside, and there are various sound systems in the house. However, we hope you can understand our reasons for not wishing to hear music outside. Again many thanks for your review and we hope you all had a safe journey home.

Five Star !

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely four days ! From lovely walks to relaxing in the hot tub , we could not have asked for more ! It was our second year and we will definitely be back next year !

Maureen from Duns stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in April 2017


Carol replied 157 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome you all back to the Capercaillie and hope to see you again soon. Again, many thanks

Capercaillie Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 families stayed along with Hamish the dog for 6 nights. It was a stunning house with every need catered for. Clean, spacious with a few wow extras like the hot tub and amazing BBQ hut. Well equipped with games, videos, booksetc and the breakfast welcome pack was delicious. Owners were lovely , helpful and friendly and the setting was beautiful. We all loved the animals-cows, sheep, alpacas, llamas, Shetland ponies and fed the pigs daily, not to mention the local wildlife birds of prey, pheasants and deer. I would highly recommend this property. 5 stars. Thanks Carol and Martin for a brilliant getaway in the Borders!

Linda from Gott stayed at The Capercaillie for 6 nights in April 2017


Carol replied 184 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay in the Capercaillie and I am sure the animals are missing you all, and missing being fed by you. We do hope you will visit us again soon. Many thanks indeed.

Fantastic weekend stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing stay at the house the last weekend in march 2017. Great weather helped, but the house was immaculate, the views incredible and the owners very helpful - we even got to see a new born calf!

Caroline from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 1 nights in March 2017


Carol replied 205 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you saw the very first calf for this year - a few days early! Again many thanks indeed.

Amazing Venue

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a hen weekend and could not recommend more! The bedrooms and bathrooms are all to a high standard and have everything you could need.
The kitchen was well equipped and the welcome baskets with bacon, sausage, haggis eggs etc was a welcomed treat! The owners are really helpful and showed us how to use the BBQ hut and hottub. Both are a must use and just make the house extra special especially having Prosecco in the hottub!
Animals eat from you are are really friendly. Lovely to wake up to.
We went to the Black Bull for dinner and got a mini bus which was only £8pp return.
Beautiful stay and a must for a couples retreat or girls night away!


Megan from Glenrothes stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in March 2017


Carol replied 211 days ago
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your hen weekend and hope you will maybe make it a regular occurrence. Again, many thanks indeed.

Fabulous weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place! I booked this for our annual weekend get together and everyone was extremely impressed. The house is stunning and everything we needed was there. The standard of cleanliness was unbelievable and gave the impression the house was brand new. The BBQ hut was a huge hit too and we used it on both days we were there. The views were spectacular and we got to know the gorgeous alpacha's, ponies, lama and pigs, in between the snow showers. I hope to return! Thank you

Vicky from Eskbank stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in February 2017


Carol replied 242 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Capercaillie. My housekeepers were also delighted with your comments about the cleanliness. We have a great team and it is good they are appreciated. We do hope you will visit us again and I am sure the menagerie of alpacas, ponies, pigs etc will have missed you this week. Once again, many thanks indeed.

Perfect family weekend break.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was perfect for the family, from stair gate and high chairs, to the 2 sitting areas and games and books. The kitchen had everything we needed and the breakfast pack superb. Hot tub, children's play house and walks with a fairy wood, all with such attention to detail made it fun for all. We had the added bonus of snow and sledges provided.
We will be back.


Sheila from Linlithgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in January 2017


Carol replied 242 days ago
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Capercaillie and delighted that the children enjoyed the PlayDen and the Fairy Wood. We do hope you will all return soon. Again, very many thanks

A return visit to Airhouses for birthday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at the Capercaillie, the accommodation was wonderful and so well thought out to provide excellent facilities to entertain with friend and chill out with family. Everything you could possibly need for a great stay is provided and more.
We enjoyed our first evening meal in the BBQ hut it was spotless and had everything we needed to enjoy our pre birthday BBQ and it was so cosy despite the snow covering the ground outside. Then a quick dash to the hot tub to enjoy our first of many dips over the weekend. Again spotlessly clean and so relaxing looking out at the fabulous view across the valley, it was bliss.
The bedrooms are all extremely comfortable with soft beds and lovely fluffy duvets we all enjoyed a wonderful sleep.
Saturday morning nice and early back in the hot tub to watch the sunrise and then off to enjoy a walk along the footpath with the dogs and meet all the resident animals all looking for treats. Kids would love it here feeding them all and being so close to nature in such idyllic surroundings.
Our Birthday meal on Saturday was cooked and served by The Orde Food Company, as recommended by Carol. I cannot praise them highly enough, they were fantastic. Beautiful canopies served with champagne followed by a wonderful meal of our choice cooked to perfection and served with style. What a great team so friendly and professional, you wouldn't even know they had been there everything cleared away and left as they had found it. Another great evening finished off with a glass of champagne in the hot tub, just chillin'.
Sunday breakfast, local produce, and lots of it, provided with your accommodation was delicious and so easy to prepare in the lovely kitchen was a tasty conclusion to a wonderful weekend.
Martin and Carol have created a little piece of heaven on earth here at Airhouses and we look forward to returning again and again.


Karen from Edinburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in January 2017


Xmas at Capercaillie

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second Xmas at Capercaillie. We were blown away the first time and the second time we were not disappointed. Fabulous immaculate facilities. Comfortable bedrooms - and great bathrooms.
The kitchen contains everything needed for all your self catering needs - right down to martini glasses and an ice grinder! The local area is beautiful and we can recommend Roxburgh Castle near Kelso for a treat. We used the hot tub and the BBQ hut even when it snowed. The owners work 24/7 (it is a working farm) and look after you throughout your stay.
Just perfect


Linzi from Corby stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in December 2016


Family Birrhday Celebebration

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a fantastic visit to Airhouses! We have stayed numerous times before in the Lamont lodge and loved every minute. This time we stayed in the bigger Capercaillie lodge as it was to celebrate my husbands 60th birthday with extended family.
Wow! Everything from the booking, any special requests we had, through to the lodge itself was 1st class.




Jacqueline from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in December 2016


Lovely spot for a weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carol and Martin were extremely helpful. The lodge was impeccably clean and we'll equipped. We were so warm and comfortable, and the hot tub functioned perfectly. Easy to fit all 10 of us in and they helpfully provides plastic champagne flutes

Feeding the alpacas was another high point.


Alan from Edinburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in November 2016


Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for three nights. We now wish that we had booked it for longer as we really didn't want to leave. Carol and Martin have thought of everything inside the property and the surrounding area. An amazing house and location..


Jane from Halkirk stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in October 2016


Great house, great place & a Llama!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is fantastic - there are spaces in the house for everyone to do what they like, the hot tub was a hit with the younger generation. We loved eating together on the big dining table, playing board games, breakfast on the decking outside, feeding the animals in the farm and just about everything else about the place. We'll be back I am sure.

Robin from Edinburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in September 2016


Capercaillie Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I had a wonderful time at Airhouse Lodge's Capercaillie.
The lodge was immaqulate and definitely worth a 5 star rating.
Our room was open planned and overlooked the fields full of Shetland ponies and the green rolling hills.
It's was so relaxing and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, especially in the huge jacuzzi.
We will definitely be back.


Sophie from Boness stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in September 2016


Comfy house

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very clean, comfortable and new. The owners where so helpful, advic able and ready to assist, we couldn't ask for more. Location of the house was very good also, it's almost 45 minutes from Edinbrugh city by car.

Abdulaziz from Kuwait City stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in July 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We hope you will visit us again if you return to Scotland. Again, many thanks and it was lovely to meet you all.

Excellent as usual !!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay at Airhouses but our first in Capercaillie.
It's been our dream to stay in this house and it didn't disappoint, quite the opposite it excelled in every way.
Facilities were top notch and thanks Carol for the superb home produced breakfast pack, the haggis especially !!!
Hot Tub was superb, massive and well used by all our party.
BBQ hut was something else, and worked perfectly.
Rachel our 3 year old granddaughter loved the ponies pigs and chickens and the lama and alpacas
One wee thing to consider was one of our party was wheelchair bound, and although internall wise the house was perfect for him, some form of ramp from the house so he could access the outside hot tub area would have been good.
Overall it was a fantastic venue for a special weekend and would recommend to anyone.



Robert from Prestonpans stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in June 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed the house. There is something very tranquil about the Capercaillie. You mention a ramp to the outside. There is one to the front door and all 4 patio doors have a level platform from the door which, according to Building Regs, is suitable for wheelchair access. There is one small step from this platform. I assume this step must have been the problem and we now have a small ramp which can be requested during the booking process. Again many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again at Airhouses in the future.

Golden Wedding Celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was up to the standard we expect from luxury accommodation. Our family and friends were most impressed with our choice of venue. All our requests were catered for especially when a change of linen was required mid week when some of the family went home and our other guests arrived.

Kenneth from Perth stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in June 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are very glad your Golden Wedding Celebrations went so well and that everyone had a good time. Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we hope you will be back again to Airhouses. Many thanks indeed.

Peace and tranquility with a difference

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super family break for all the family and of course our little dog. Beautiful accommodation boasting a huge hot tub and enclosed outside barbecue no matter the weather. Great location for exploring by foot or car. Carol and Martin were very welcoming and on hand if required. Part of the fun was feeding the variety of animals right on your doorstep. Definitely recommend a visit and we would return again.

Bill from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 6 nights in June 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted your enjoyed your stay at the Capercaillie and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do hope to see you all again and many thanks indeed.

Family stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having booked The Capercaillie everything looked very good on the website and indeed discussions with the owners was also very pleasant and helpful.
When we arrived my expectations were far exceeded as the property looked like it was newly finished, in a beautiful location and with brilliant hosts. There was a welcome pack consisting of eggs, bacon, sausages and haggis all very tasty and lasting us most of the week, the coffee machine was supplied with plenty of pods for everyone and what a BBQ house, fantastic addition.
The bedrooms of the house were very spacious with plenty of storage and the en-suite facilities looked brand new as did the rest of the house. The hot tub was just perfect to spend time in with the odd glass of bubbly and particularly after some long but beautiful walks
In all a great place to go and we will certainly go back


Raymond from Letchworth stayed at The Capercaillie for 6 nights in May 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted your stay at the Capercaillie exceeded your expectations and thank you so much for your lovely review. We do hope you will be back for another visit sometime in the future. Again, many thanks

Fantastic long weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Capercaillie for a long weekend at the end of May. This was a celebration for my Mum's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the house, the facilities and especially the welcome pack! The standards in the house are very high and the feeling inside the house is of a perfect modern but relaxing vibe. My wife and I were lucky enough to have the master! The hot tub was the best one we have ever been in! The bbq hut is awesome! The walks round the farm are great and the fact there are also animals that you can feed. Our children had a fantastic time with the animals. I give the Capercaillie 10 out of 10 and would recommend it to everyone! We hope to he returning soon in the not too distant future.

Alan from Coatbridge stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in May 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will be back again. Many thanks indeed.

Wonderful 3 nights in luxury

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to Capercaillie with our family including a 2 year old and a 5 month old. The lodge was lovely. It had everything you could want and more. The standard of accommodation was really high and the whole family loved it. The hot tub was a really hit and beautifully clean. Great size for the whole family. The barbecue hut was excellent also, well stocked with charcoal. It was such a successful few days and everyone wants to,return one day. We walked to Oxton one day and then on to The Lodge for a drink. Feeding the animals was a highlight for our 2 year old grand daughter. Thoroughly recommend the lodge. Let's not forget the breakfast basket of Shaws meats! Wonderful!

Edith from Perth stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in May 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again at Airhouses. Many thanks indeed.

Amazing stay for sister hen party

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The capercaillie house is beautiful and the views are amazing couldn't have asked for anything better for my sisters hen party. She was absolutely over the moon with Airhouses and couldn't believe I had managed to find this hidden treasure. We will definitely be returning to Airhouses in the near future. Thank you an amazing stay. Ps make the most of the hot tub it's well worth the relax.

Rachael from Layton, Blackpool stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in April 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed The Capercaillie and look forward to welcoming you back. Again many thanks

Caipercaillie House

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in this lovely house for four days and could not fault a thing !! Everything has been thought of to make your stay comfortable . We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub ,even the snow didn't stop us ! So relaxing ! We are already planning when we can all return next year !

Maureen from Duns stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in April 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the snow in April did not put you off! Thank you so much for your positive review and we hope to see you all again in the future. Many thanks.

A Stunning and Special Vacation.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Stunning Capercaillie Mid April was Perfection! Our 2nd visit & again we all had a fabulous time. Thanks to Carol & Martin. We will return. Xxx

John from Dalkeith stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in April 2016


Highly recommend a stay at airhouses

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a blissful break with family and we all agreed this was the best place any of us have ever been. House and massive hot tub scrupulously clean. Fabulous location in a rural setting yet less than an hour from Edinburgh and the Scottish Borders.Lovely walks, lots of animals to pet and feed. Beds and settees so comfy, huge soaking baths and great showers in en -suite bathrooms. Large table perfect for sitting down to enjoy the contents of the awesome welcome hamper. Fantastic barbecue hut-didn't use this but looks brilliant. Martin and Carol are welcoming and we can't wait to return.

Sheila from Galashiels stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in March 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review and we are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We do hope to see you again soon.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Never fail to be amazed by Airhouses - have visited a few time, this was our first in the Capercaillie, it was wonderful. Great location, spotlessly clean - Carol& Martin think of everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you both.

Carole from Dunfermline stayed at The Capercaillie for 9 nights in December 2015


holiday in heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
arrived a little early because the drive was quicker than thought ,,not a problem,,the owners were very nice people to talk with ,,got a lovely basket of goodies for breakfast ,,by the way was the best tasting bacon ever,,,the lodge itself was immaculate and clean,,and if i was down that way again i would have no hesitation on staying there again ,,any information i needed was all there including local taxis and restaurants to eat ,,i have only positive things i can say about my stay,,even asked for extra hour later for checkout because of the snow which again no problem ,,,this is a lovely countryside retreat to get away from everything ,,a little slice of heaven,, even down to the farm animals which i went i fed by hand ,,pigs ,,alpacas and some small horses,,so folks if you need a escape from the hustle and bustle of cities this is the place for you ,,,a car would be better to have for sightseeing and if eating out ,,but it is possible to get everything you need there delivered so not a problem,,

Robert from Frasrburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 5 nights in November 2015


We were away on a girls hen weekend.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic time at the house. The facilities and cleanliness of the house was fantastic. The hot tub was great for us as we spent a lot of time relaxing in this in the evenings. Would definitely recommend this to family and friends. The house is wonderful.

Lorraine from Musselburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in October 2015


Relaxation at it's best

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing weekend of blissful rest and relaxation celebrating my sisters birthday! Would highly recommend to friends and we hope to be back again. Xx

Nicola from Aberdeen stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in September 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend and do hope you will visit Airhouses again.

Extended family holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found Airhouse to be a little gem in the Scottish Boarders, all family members from three generations loved their stay and would gladly recommend it, and all are hoping to come back soon.

Roger from Clacton On Sea stayed at The Capercaillie for 7 nights in August 2015


Fantastic house!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay was fabulous! The house is amazing, extremely spacious and well equiped. Extra touches like slippers & gown were great! The kitchen had absolutely everything. The hot tub was fab as was the BBQ hut.
We loved being able to feed the ponies, alpacas, pigs and llama!
Location was good, half hour drive to Edinburgh. Carfraemill was great for family dinner - only couple of minutes drive. Overall a great stay and we'll be back!


Sharon from Aberdeen stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in July 2015


Lovely anniversary stay :)

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time celebrating our first wedding anniversary at the Capercaillie. Below are some of the positives;
*Carol was very accommodating in helping us with our booking & Martin was very helpful in taking the time to come over the explain how the hot tub worked when we arrived late due to traffic.
*The breakfast pack was a really nice gesture that we made good use of.
*Spending time with the animals was one of our highlights, especially the Shetland ponies that we could see from our living room. We loved that we could feed the animals and they all seemed very happy & content. (Ben was our favourite)
*We loved that we had total seclusion yet only a one and a half hour drive from Glasgow & we felt completely left alone which is what we wanted from our break.
*We were really impressed by the house itself, particularly the well equipped kitchen which my husband (a chef) was in his element in & the hot tub.

Having a small smart car is the only reason we have not given a five for location as I was quite nervous on the drive from Oxton to the farm which was quite rough in parts, however I'm sure a larger car would have no problem. We would really love to return & have already recommended The Capercaillie to our friends.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in July 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Capercaillie. Glad to hear to kitchen was enjoyed and the breakfast basket. The ingredients are all local and the meat from the butcher in Lauder. The Council road from Oxton has now had the grass verges trimmed which makes it easier to see, and it feels wider, which may have helped you. However, please do mention any problem if you visit Airhouses again as we would have been more than happy to collect you from the village. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

First Class Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Capercaillie certainly has the WOW factor. Spotlessly clean, stylish furnishings and so well equipped. The views are wonderful with ever changing light and it is a great place for walks and wildlife spotting. The tranquilty of Airhouses makes it a lovely place to return to after a trip to Edinburgh or the coast, all of which are easy to get to. During our eleven night stay the property was serviced twice which we were very impressed with and the breakfast hamper on arrival is excellent. We have no hesitation in recommending Airhouses, it is mosr definitely a place we will return to.

Andrew from Oswestry stayed at The Capercaillie for 11 nights in June 2015


First Class Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Capercaillie certainly has the WOW factor. Spotlessly clean, stylish furnishings and so well equipped. The views are wonderful with ever changing light and it is a great place for walks and wildlife spotting. The tranquilty of Airhouses makes it a lovely place to return to after a trip to Edinburgh or the coast, all of which are easy to get to. During our eleven night stay the property was serviced twice which we were very impressed with and the breakfast hamper on arrival is excellent. We have no hesitation in recommending Airhouses, it is mosr definitely a place we will return to.

Andrew from Oswestry stayed at The Capercaillie for 11 nights in June 2015


had a great time

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all had a fab stay at the capercaillie for my mums 50th. The place is gorgeous and everything we wanted. However we were dissapointed that when the music was playing and it was apparently too loud that the matter was dealt with a bit hastily. There was no discussion or even ringing of the doorbell. A lot of people were just offended and shocked at the way you came in and started slamming doors and turning the music off as people were getting changed and sleeping etc I realise it obviously was too loud if you heard it but thought it was a bit of an overreaction. Couldn't fault the place at all and the incident didn't ruin our stay as we all continued to have fun regardless. The breakfast pack is a lovely touch and the bbq hut and hot tub are gorgeous . Thanks again

Karen from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in June 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would respectfully point out that it was the second time you have been advised that music could be heard outside. All the doors were wide open and the music was incredibly loud. We closed all the patio doors as we were unable to turn the music down as it was coming from your own equipment. We could also not make ourselves heard by any of you. No one was getting changed, 8 of you were in or around the hot tub and two were in the living room. Eventually someone from outside came to see us and we explained the position yet again about music being heard outside. The music was so loud that it could be heard in the village, which is over 2 miles away. Our web site is very clear about music outside being unacceptable at any time. This is out of consideration for other guests and our abundant wildlife. We try to provide everyone with a relaxing and peaceful holiday. However we are delighted that you enjoyed the house, the hot tub and the BBQ hut.

Friends Yearly Get-Together

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house, didn't get chance to use the hot-tub but had a lovely evening in the BBQ house. Comments were made re paying for extra toilet rolls if needed, also penalty charges if leaving late on the departure day which we felt was very early. I think some of the party felt there were a lot of unnecessary rules.

Guest from Wakefield stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in June 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful Capercaillie. The BBQ hut is a fairly new addition and very popular. I understand that 9.30 can seem a little early for checking out but unlike a hotel, we have the whole house to clean not just one bedroom. To have everything ready, including the hot tub and the BBQ hut, by check in at 4.00 pm we need that amount of time plus 6 staff. Even just a half hour delay in checking out can cause problems. However, depending on the day of check out there is an option to enjoy a later check out time. Once again many thanks and we hope to welcome you to Airhouses again at some time in the future.

A great 5 night break in wonderful surrounding.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Capercaillie.
The house and grounds were immaculate, the views spectacular and the animals engaging.
A visit to the local pub where we were made very welcome and even given a list home by one of the locals simply added to our enjoyment.


David. from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 5 nights in June 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the beautiful Capercaillie. We hope you will visit us again at some time in the future and again, thank you.

Quite and relaxing weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay here was lovely! The house is fabulous, the photo's on the website really don't do it justice. The living space and kitchen was big and fitted the 8 of us nicely. The bedrooms were all lovely too, and the beds were very comfortable! The bathroom had a high finish too. The highlight was the BBQ hut and the amazing hot tub!

Thank you having us to stay. Will definitely be back.


Angela from Edinbugh stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in June 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review and this is much appreciated. We are delighted you will be returning and look forward very much to meeting you all again. Once again, many thanks

50th Birthday family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and lived up to every expectation - an amazing setting and fantastically comfortable house that accomodated our every need. BBQ hut was a new addition which we loved. we will be back FOR SURE.

Guest from Inverkeithing stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in May 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted that you made a second visit to the Capercaillie and that the BBQ hut was enjoyed. It certainly seems to have been a popular addition. We very much look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future. Again many thanks

Magical weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a stunning house with everything you could ever think of needing. We used the hot tub and BBQ hut during our stay. Celebrated my 40th birthday early with 9 friends here recently and we will all be back.

Jenny from Wishaw stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in May 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely heading - magical weekend - thank you and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We do hope to welcome you back at some time in the future. Again, many thanks

Unrivaled peace & Quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the ease of booking, to the regular email updates from Carol & Martin, to our fabulous weekend stay in a fantastically well equipped home SUPERB!

Guest from Dalkeith stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in April 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review which is greatly appreciated. We do hope you will be back at some time. Again, many thanks indeed.

Ethel from Edinburgh

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house had everything we required which made our stay a great experience.All furnishings of high standard.Very tranquil setting and calming with the animals roaming around.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in May 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will all be back to Airhouses again at some time in the future. Again, many thanks indeed.

30th birthday and Hen Party Celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were absolutely amazed by how beautiful the lodge and surrounding area were. The facilities at the lodge were fabulous. It is within walking distance of oxton and the local pub, which was very welcoming. We really had the most wonderful weekend, and we were so sad to leave.

Katie from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in April 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to see you all again at Airhouses. Again, many thanks.

60th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Eight adults and two children stayed in the house, wanted everyone together for this occasion, my son also celebrated a birthday while we were there. The house was ideal for this more than enough room for us all. Hot tub and BBQ hut were excellent. Would love a return visit. Found the 9.30 check-out time rather early no time for a leisurely breakfast on our last morning.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at The Capercaillie for 3 nights in March 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed the Capercaillie and do hope you will return. The BBQ hut is proving very popular at all times of the year. We are looking at ways round the check out time but it is such a huge house to clean to in the short time between changeovers. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Many thanks for taking the time to give such a positive review.

Perfect for a hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The capercaillie was perfect for a hen weekend. The house was stunning and very comfortable with everything you needed. Bedrooms were lovely and the hot tub was fab. Stunning views too.

Emma from Glasgow stayed at The Capercaillie for 2 nights in February 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a positive review. The Capercaillie is very popular for "girlie" weekends and we are now working with various companies, such as beauticians, therapists, boot camp specialists, etc. so that we can offer even more. We hope to see you all again at Airhouses at some time in the future.

February at Airhouses

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit to Airhouses, our first to the Capercaillie. It is an extremely comfortable house to stay in, just a pity that it was too cold for the hot tub! Martin and Carol have ensured that everything has been thought of to make your stay as happy and comfortable as possible. There is lots to do in the surrounding area but it is also nice just to chill out! We stayed in The Ramsay on our last visits and the comfort and attention to detail was the same there.

Guest from East Yorshire stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in February 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you again at Airhouses and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Capercaillie. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review and we hope to see you again at Airhouses. Photo

February at Airhouses

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit to Airhouses, our first to the Capercaillie. It is an extremely comfortable house to stay in, just a pity that it was too cold for the hot tub! Martin and Carol have ensured that everything has been thought of to make your stay as happy and comfortable as possible. There is lots to do in the surrounding area but it is also nice just to chill out! We stayed in The Ramsay on our last visits and the comfort and attention to detail was the same there.

Guest from East Yorshire stayed at The Capercaillie for 4 nights in February 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you again at Airhouses and we are delighted that you enjoyed the Capercaillie. Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review and we hope to see you again at Airhouses.