FB Twitter

The York Hop Store

The York Hop Store

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Charming city centre luxury apartment, situated in historic brewery conversion, retaining many original features including its own Victorian crane! The apartment offers two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a stylish kitchen/dining area, delightful living space and secure courtyard parking for one car. Generous complementary Yorkshire Produce hamper which showcases local foodstuffs. Only the shortest of strolls to York Minster, the apartment couldn't be better placed for York's attractions, and yet is tucked away in a tranquil, medieval backwater.

An ecxeptional holiday let.

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay was perfect. I could not fault anything. It was only a short stroll into the center of everything and yet it was quiet in the evenings when all the pubs were emptying.
One evening it was a little chilly but only took ten minutes to heat up thanks to the underfloor heating, so it would still be a perfectly comfortable break even in midwinter.




Angela replied 4 days ago
So happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely apartment with a very generous welcome hamper. Very well equipped and cosy. Spacious bathrooms and lovely comfy beds. In a quiet location, but minutes from the Minster. Onsite parking was brilliant, in fact never used the car once we arrived as everything was in walking distance. Enjoyed the Minster, railway museum, the Treasurers House, the Castle museum and of course tea at Bettys mmm... and of course a bit of retail therapy for the ladies. Just a short break this time but would love to come back and stay longer.



Angela replied 8 days ago
It's very pleasing to know that our apartments in York provide the 'perfect' break. Thank you.

Lovely situation

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here numerous times and always have a wonderful vacation. it is clean, comfortable and so convenient. As oldies, we can tour the city and always return to the apartment to rest those weary legs because it is so centrally located. Great time as usual



Angela replied 50 days ago
So glad you had another enjoyable stay. We're always delighted to know you are coming back.

Weekend break to york

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a 5 star stay ! Two minutes from York minster , we have been to York a few times and we now wouldn't stay anywhere else. Fantastic .



Angela replied 59 days ago
We're so pleased you liked The Hop Store. We like to think it ticks pretty much every box for our visitors.

What a find!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, well appointed apartment, all mod cons including lift.
Have already recommended to friends!
Thank you




Angela replied 70 days ago
Thank you for your super review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store. We think it's a really special place.

Excellent Apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hop Store is an excellent and well appointed apartment located. Although located right in the heart of York it is in a very quiet location ensuring a peaceful and relaxing stay. York Minster is just a minutes stroll away as are the local shops for immediate needs. Equally you are not far from a hugh selection of bars, restaurants, bistros and other tea rooms so once you are settled you can forget about about using the car for a while left in it's gated allocated parking space..



Angela replied 83 days ago
Thank you for reviewing The Hop Store. We're delighted your visit proved to be such a success.

Delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a charming cottage right at the heart of the old town. We will be booking again when we can get the time.



Angela replied 98 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you are able to return to York.

Tooo warm

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at the Hop Store, still a beautiful place...only problem was it was a hot weekend and the underfloor heating kept kicking in, especially on a night!!



Angela replied 110 days ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your second visit. The underfloor heating can be adjusted and we are always happy to be contacted for any help you might need, with this or any other matter, during your stay.

Great accommodation for 4 within City wallls

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped & quiet base for many places of interest nearby, theatres, shops & good cafes/restaurants/pubs all within walking distance via quirky cobbled alleyways.



Angela replied 113 days ago
We're so pleased your stay at our apartment in central York was a success.

Second visit.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable. Location couldn't be better and the car parking is such a bonus. As is the welcome hamper! We'll be back.



Angela replied 126 days ago
It is always lovely to have returning visitors. Thank you for your very positive review.

Our Hop Store stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy staying in the Hop Store. Very quiet but perfectly situated for stays in the centre of York. Safe parking is a bonus. We're already looking forward to going back, and thank you for the welcome hamper!



Cannot wait to return

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very easy to locate, only 15 minutes walk from York Railway station or a short taxi ride. Light airy and very comfortable apartment close to all amenities. The welcome hamper was gratefully received. We loved this so much that we booked to return in September whilst we were still on the first visit.



Angela replied 165 days ago
We 're delighted that your 1st visit went so well that you have already booked your second. Thank you for a lovely review.

York Hop Store

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really excellent apartment in a brilliant location just inside York city walls. We could walk everywhere and really enjoyed walking the walls and visiting the Minster.



Angela replied 181 days ago
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store and liked it's central location.

Great location on a great pedestrian dominated City!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat and location are excellent, the City has almost eliminated motor vehicles from the Centre and the flat is at the start of that zone and it makes the whole experience a joy, so calm and relaxing in every respect. Great shopping, eating and city walking on your doorstep.



Angela replied 191 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. I would agree that York is a superb city to see on foot. It is almost completely pedestrian within the city walls and that makes sight-seeing a joy.

Roll on our next visit!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As wonderful as last time!
I'd argue, that there is no better self catering in York!
The welcome hamper is such a generous & thoughtful gesture too.




Angela replied 201 days ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again to our York apartments.

Beautiful, comfortable apartment right in the centre of York.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We traditionally have a weekend away close to Christmas with friends and decided on a city break for a change this year.
York Hop Store was ideal for our needs. A tasteful, comfortable apartment with two bathrooms and lift access.
It has a really welcoming feel to it, helped by the very generous and useful welcome pack full of lovely local products. So many establishments now provide nothing at all.
The location could not be bettered. Very easy walking distance to the Minster and shops. The parking space is a real bonus in the middle of York. We did not need to use the car at all during the weekend.
There are a huge amount of restaurants in York but as this was the weekend before Christmas everywhere was very busy.
We enjoyed shopping for ingredients dinner at the Shambles market and the apartment was very well equipped for eating in.
We would have no hesitation recommending this apartment and will definitely return.





Angela replied 268 days ago
Thank-you for taking the trouble to write such a detailed and positive review. We're delighted you enjoyed your December stay in The Hop Store. We think it is a special place. York is really lovely throughout the year, but especially festive at Christmas time. Wishing you a Happy New Year.

York Hop Store

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Hop Store is a wonderful place to stay in York. There is safe gated parking, but we did not use our car during our stay. Everywhere seems to be in easy walking distance - shops, eating places, museums, the Art Gallery and most of all the Minster.

The Hop Store is well furnished, well kept and very clean. It was a relaxing, enjoyable stay.




Angela replied 308 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed another stay at The Hop Store and had a relaxing stay.

A short stay but as good as always.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An almost silent street in the middle of the superb city. A lucky find which we always look forward to going back to. We enjoyed our stay.



Angela replied 326 days ago
So pleased this visit lived up to the standard of your previous stays. We look forward to having you stay again in 2017 in the Spring.

York fix

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always very happy with the accommodation. You need to be made aware that some of the crockery and cutlery were soiled even though they had obviously been through the Dish washer,This we remedied by adding salt which we also did in the Malt house.I also took it upon my self to fix the toilet seat in the Bathroom as it was very loose and unstable using tools provided in hall cupboard.None of this in anyway detracted from our stay.Finally the reason we did not comment in the guestbook was we had already packed our pens and also did not want these petty negatives to encourage other of your more pedantic visitors.Lol.Kind regards,Roy.



Angela replied 335 days ago
Thank-you for your very helpful review. We will remind our cleaners to add salt to the dishwashers on a regular basis, as this is easily overlooked. Many thanks for fixing the toilet seat - how wonderful to have such a handy guest! We're most grateful that you turned your hand to DIY on your holiday. Our thanks.

Ladies only

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this is the third time we have stayed here, as always it was very comfortable and being behind York Minster very handy for everything



Angela replied 353 days ago
We are always delighted to welcome back returning guests and appreciate very much a second or third review from you.

Comfortable accommodation for four in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delighted with the comfort of the accommodation in a perfect location central to York features; welcome pack a special and appreciated extra with high quality local produce



Angela replied 352 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store. The location so close to The Minster and the comfort o f the apartment work together as a brilliant combination Our welcome pack is particularly popular and we try to showcase local businesses as much as possible.

position, position, position.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This apartment would have to be in the best spot in York.Go out and turn left and walk for 200 yards and you are immediately at York Minster. Go out and turn right, walk 100 yards and you are at the Shambles. The most amazing thing is that the street itself is not used by tourists and stays quiet both day and night.



Angela replied 365 days ago
Thank-you for highlighting to others the position of our two apartments in York. We agree with you that you can't find a more central, tranquil spot. It is absolutely ideal for visitors.

Simply wonderful!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I first read about The Hop Store in a magazine (Sainsbury's?) years ago and thought it looked amazing and so unique. We have talked about it several times but timing never quite worked. Then, early June, I came across The Petrifying Well and really wanted to visit - asked my husband 'where is North Yorkshire?' (I'm American, but have lived here for many years and have never grasped the geography) and he rolled his eyes and said 'almost Scotland'. Then he followed up with 'but that place you keep going on about staying is in North Yorkshire'. We looked and were amazed to find the August bank holiday weekend available! So we booked it.

I cannot say anything that has not already been said about the property and the owners. Simply superb! Spotless, everything to a high standard, wonderful area, lovely owners. Everything about our stay was wonderful and how fantastic to walk out of the property and be right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of York. Having a car parking space was wonderful and so nice to have the freedom to go out and about without worrying if we may struggle to park when we returned.

All the little touches in the flat were so thoughtful. If you order takeaway from deliveroo, have a look for a discount code in the drawer under the toaster. I loved the other little items you might find yourself in need of that lived there, too.

It may be a bit more expensive than other properties, but it was worth every penny to us. First truly relaxing weekend we have had in many months.

We loved York very much - hope to come back some day and could consider moving there when our working days are done. I very much believe that the property added so much to our stay - I can't imagine considering anywhere else if we should find ourselves in the area, and we will certainly check if the owners have properties in any area we visit in the future.

Thanks for such a wonderful stay!





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We think our two apartments in York are pretty special and it's lovely to know our view is shared by our visitors.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at the Hop Store in York. Apartment could not be better in appearance and housekeeping with all necessary conveniences. Loved the open doors and aspect and above all the central location. Not only right near the minster but surprisingly in a very peaceful and pretty quarter.

All four of us had a memorable stay and are already missing it. Thank you for providing a superb apartment.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you so enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store. We like to think it has everything you need for a perfect city break - superb central location and great facilities.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over a weekend with 2 teenagers. The apartment was spotless, beautifully furnished & well-equipped.
The location was excellent - just 5 minutes from the hustle of York but on a quiet street.
Welcome pack was the most generous we've ever had.
Can't recommend the apartment highly enough - we would certainly return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your stay in The Hop Store was a great success and hope you will return in the future

Great vacation

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very conveniently located for a stay in York. Relaxing and comfortable, Just perfect. We enjoyed our stay very much as usual and will certainly return again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Perfect location in York

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at the Hop Store, we love the location with the bonus of secure parking. The apartment is very comfortable, well equipped and well maintained. There is a very high quality welcome pack too. I am always sad to leave, and look forward to our next visit!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We do indeed hope that you will return to The Hop Store and we thank-you for your kind review.

A perfect location for exploring York.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a quiet spot in a busy area, very near the Minster. Excellent facilities with a bathroom for each bedroom. Also a lift which is very helpful for those with mobility issues. Highly recommended.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We couldn't have phrased it better. The Hop Store certainly is a perfect location for exploring York.

Lovely Break!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property has been on our "to stay at" list for a long time - so glad we finally got there!
A lovely apartment - faultless
Will certainly be making a return trip!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you finally managed a stay with us and that it lived up to your expectations. We hope to have you stay again.

Superb

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've stopped in York a number of times and this is the best apartments I've ever stopped in. Its ideally located in the centre of York, but when you are in the apartment its hard to image, as its so quiet. The apartment is clean and comfortable and has every thing you need, a real home from home.I couldn't fault it, brilliant. I will definitely stay here again when I visit York.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for such a super review. We're delighted you have found us and sincerely hope you will stay with us again. We think our two apartments are pretty special, as do our guests.

Fabulous apartment in a superb position just a stone's throw from the Minster

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hop Store and were sorry to leave. The apartment is beautifully appointed and in a perfect position right in the centre of York and even has its own parking space!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for writing your positive review of The Hop Store. It's position so near the Minster, with the courtyard parking makes it a really special place for visitors

Can't fault this accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and a comfortable, spacious apartment. Generous welcome pack and fully equipped kitchen (although great restaurants minutes away). This is my second stay at the York Hop store & my daughters 4th visit. So much to do in York and this time included watching the Mystery plays in the Minster:- brilliant!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your latest stay in The Hop Store lived up to your expectations and we hope you will return. The Mystery Plays in The Minster are of course a wonderful experience.

Returning visit

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at the Hop store. The flat is lovely, we enjoyed some warm weather while we were there and took advantage of opening up the big windows overlooking the Minster and it's such a great location you don't need to worry about noise. It is easy to get anywhere in York from the apartment, but it's so nice to be able pop back there for a rest (and some refreshment from the fabulous welcome hamper) whenever you feel like it. We will be back!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Last minute break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in York many times before but the Hop Store means we will never be able consider any other accommodation! Premier Cottages can always be relied on and this is up there with the best of them. We have every intention of visiting again and recommend wholeheartedly. Many thanks.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always really good to know that our visitors find the accommodation we offer entirely to their taste. Our aim is to provide the very best holiday accommodation so we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Hop Store. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Nice place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable apartment in excellent central location with secure parking. Quite well maintained. Some areas not well cleaned, though. Wonderful welcome hamper, far exceeding expectation. Easy to follow directions. Promised phone call on arrival never materialised.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your comments. They are very valuable to us. I am truly sorry you found cause to rate the cleaning as average. We take great pride in presenting our two apartments in York in pristine condition. If you read all the other up-front reviews for them both, you will find that they rate consistently in the top category for cleanliness. We have just returned from a short break, but I can assure you we shall be following up your observations with our staff in York.

Brilliant short break in the Hop Store in York

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic short stay. Close to everything in York. The Hop Store perfect for two couples. The added bonus of the lift for elderly parents was very welcome. Father, as an ex policeman, appreciated the great security for an inner city stay. Everything inside was in really good condition for what is obviously a popular choice to stay. Lovely spacious bathrooms - again having two and sharing with another couple - major bonus. Really good value for money and super welcome pack. Choice of eatery experience for us was the tapas and sherry bar on the corner of the street - as locations went could not have done better. We are already missing the views of the Minster. Hopefully will be able to rebook in the near future - would not now stay anywhere else in York.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you and your parents enjoyed your first visit to our Hop Store apartment in York and express the wish to return. We very much hope you will do so- we are fortunate to have a lot of repeat bookings, with regular visitors.

What's Not To Like

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location, location, location, this is a lovely holiday let in a what is a fantastic location for the city. I struggle to say anything negative about it, we’ve stayed there three times now and if we go back to York again it will be four.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased to you had you stay three times with us at The Hop Store and very much hope you will return in the future. Thanks for your positive review.

Sanctuary in the heart of York

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
York is a wonderful city, its heart being the Minster - one of Europe's great buildings. Just round the corner is the Hop Store, a peaceful sanctuary close to the city's busy centre. A sanctuary with parking, what's more, and, in York, that says a lot!

We've stayed in the Hop Store (and its next-door neighbour the Old Malt House) several times. For us, it's ideal: warm, comfortable, clean and stylish. We like the contrast between the up-to-date furnishings and fittings, and the sense of ancient York just outside.

We've already booked our next stay.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for taking the trouble to review The Hop Store now that we have installed the means to give reviews on the internet. As returning guests, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your last visit as much as the others. We look forward to your return.

Beautiful York

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location. Spotless lovely flat fitted with everything you need for a wonderful break in beautiful York. Extremely friendly owner, phone call a lovel touch.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted your stay in The Hop Store fully lived up to your expectations.

Just great

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is hard to find anything but good to say, I highly recommend this apartment. A couple of picky things: we had friends staying in York, so eating together was OK, but maybe a couple of fold-up chairs would be good; and a chest of drawers in the double room would be very useful. Other than that, please keep it just as it is, we last visited in 2011 and were relieved to find the standard was just as good, thank you.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your second stay in The Hop Store as much as the first in 2011. You must have been some of our very first guests. Thank-you for the two pointers you made. I'll certainly see if I can find a set of chest of drawers that blend well with the other furniture. Storage of fold-up chairs is more of a problem. We are careful to maintain the highest standards, and, from your comments, feel we have succeeded. Hopefully, you'll return again.

Lovely property. Could do slightly better on preparation.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely property close all that York has to offer. Access was easy, parking arrangements great and first impressions excellent. My only issue was that beds were left unmade so we had to make the beds. Not an onerous task but for a property of this class I would expect everything to be made up



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank -you for kind review and for alerting us to the omission about the bed-making. This is something we will follow up immediately, as all beds should be fully prepared before our guests arrive by our housekeeping staff.

This is the place to stay in York!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in many hotels in York but the Hop Store beats them all with the added benefit of a fab location and free gated parking in the courtyard right in the centre of York. Beautiful and quiet accommodation kitted out to a very high standard with a welcome hamper to the bargain. We highly recommend the Hop Store having now been back a second time and looking forward to our third when we next visit this wonderful City. Be in no doubt this is the place to stay!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your excellent review. It's always very pleasing to have guests that return to our properties in York. We agree that the location can't be bettered and we're delighted your stay in The Hop Store was a happy one. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Pre Christmas Break in York

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Following our fantastic stay in the Malt House in August we decided to return, but this time, to try out the Hop Store. We were NOT disappointed.
A first class apartment with great attention to detail. Very clean, warm, peaceful & restful and comfortable.
We had everything that we needed.
Very generous welcome hamper greatly appreciated.
Found the modern lift a great asset when transferring luggage.
The Christmas tree and decorations, which were lit for our arrival, was a very nice gesture and most welcoming.
We are already thinking about our next short break in the beautiful city of York for 2016, but have the added dilemma as to which of these two excellent apartments to choose. Maybe two breaks would be the answer.
Have already recommended these apartments to family & friends.
Thank you.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad you like The Hop Store as much as The Malt House - and, I agree, it is a difficult choice as to which one to choose. We are delighted you returned so soon and enjoyed your pre-Christmas break. I'm sure evensong in The Minster lived up to your expectations.

A magical stay in York

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for reviewing The Hop Store and for awarding us a maximum score. We're delighted you had such a lovely time - York around Christmas time is indeed a magical place.

PERFECT!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been enjoying a week in the wonderful city of York now for the last 17 years & have tried a variety of self catering accommodation. Without question, this apartment is the VERY best we have stayed in! Every element of it was perfect; spotlessly clean (I always take a packet of dettox wipes & this is the first time I didn't need to use them); the beds were very comfortable; the location of the apartment was superb (love hearing the Minster bells); the apartment was very well equipped & the welcome hamper was a wonderful touch too.
To suffice, we have found something truly wonderful & we very much look forward to returning & staying in this perfect place.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review of our apartment. We are delighted you chose us, and so pleased to be labelled 'perfect' - that is our aim with each and every set of visitors. We look forward greatly to your return to York.

Great visit

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hop Store was extremely comfortable, and outstanding to be next to York Minster and have a parking space too. Had a lovely stay and only walked into the brewery crane twice! Highly recommended accommodation.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store. We agree with you that its proximity to The Minster is one of its greatest assets. Thank-you for recommending our accommodation.

THE place to stay in CENTRAL York

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We aarrived early-yet were allowed in!
Lift not working-fixed within the hour!
Spotless;well kitted out with a very comfortable sitting room.
Fully fitted kitched/dining area-a home away from home.
Surely should be an extra star for somewhere this good.
And behind the Minster in the centre of town.We will be back.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. We certainly hope you will return in the future.

High Quality Well Located Property

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well situated contemporary property handy for shops and places to eat. The double bed in the main bedroom was not of the same quality as the rest of the fixtures and fittings.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for taking the time to review The York Hop Store. We are glad you enjoyed your short break in the apartment and found it to be well appointed and enjoyed the location in our quiet, unspoilt part of the city, so close to The Minster.

city centre break

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
myself wife and daughter stayed for a week in the hopstore .brilliant location for the town.really great apartment easy to find and nice and comfortable.if you want a stay in York this is the place for you . we are returning in march next year as we don,t think we can find a nicer place .



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. It's very heartening when our visitors book a second holiday as soon as they get home, as you have. We look forward to your return in March next year.

A lovely weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an incredible weekend staying at The York Hop Store with family. The place was spotless and immaculately finished. The location could not have been more ideal. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm really delighted you enjoyed your weekend break in The Hop Store. We think it's the perfect spot for a short stay in York and we're glad you liked it too!

The icing on the cake

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful apartment in a great location and an ideal Base from which to explore the city.

The apartment itself was full of character, yet modern, incredibly clean. Very warm and comfortable. We were provided with a welcome hamper full of goodies on arrival and received a call from the owner to ensure all was ok. We felt very welcome and looked after and would definitely recommend this apartment to friends and family.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review of The Hop Store. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and were warm and comfortable. We too love the character of the apartment - a good mix of old building and new interiors that seems to work very well and please our visitors.

The York Hop House

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location only minutes from the Minster, in fact it is visible from the lounge.

Excellent to be able to park.

Almost perfect - only criticism was the level of dust.

Would certainly book again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your review, Tessa. Your comment concerning the dust was difficult to understand, as coincidentally, myself and a team of two others had been in the apartment the previous day, doing a 'deep clean' of all the areas. We particularly paid attention to the high beams in the ceiling area and vacuumed them all, in each room. I can only think that having spent all day there cleaning throughout, dust in the atmosphere must have settled during the night, because we left it in pristine condition. When I rang on Saturday morning to check everything was fine, you indicated that there were no problems whatsoever.

beautiful accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
perfectly set in York, excellent amenities and a home from home...thank you York Hop Store definitely will be back ( for longer next time)!! What a wonderful 50th birthday weekend!!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased The Hop Store provided you with a great place to celebrate your 50th birthday weekend. Congratulations! We look forward to welcoming you again.

High praise

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay in the Hop Store (we stayed in the Malt House first time round). If anything, this is even better than that because it's all on one floor and there isn't quite the struggle up the steps with baggage, but they're both so good it's hard to put a pin between them. The setting is superb - right in the heart of ancient York, but quietly hidden away. The apartment is stylish, very well appointed and comfortable (though we think the beds in the Malt House are better - a more recent acquisition?). We come to York regularly because we have family here. This is the ideal home-from-home. For holiday visitors who come just now and again, we'd strongly recommend the Hop Store as an excellent place to stay. The hamper of goodies was just right!

(PS: There's a new combination lock on the smaller gate to the street, which locks after dark. What's the key code??? We had to use the main gate to get in!)




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. Just for information, the key code has remained the same on the pedestrian gate, but will change shortly. I will inform you of the change before your March 2016 visit.

Perfect place to stay in York

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent one week in this lovely apartment in York. Travelling by car, a parking space was essential. Even if you don't need it, I would highly recomment this apartment. It is bright, immaculately clean, very confortable, quiet and in a perfect position. We could not have wanted anything more.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted that our apartment fully lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your time spent in York.

A weekend visit to York

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two couples enjoying York's delights for a weekend thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Hop Store.
The directions were spot on, the location just inside the walls gave easy access to everything that York had to offer.
The flat was clean and very well appointed giving all one could wish for. The complimentary Hamper was delicious.
We can full heartedly support this venue.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Your very positive review of The Hop Store was much appreciated. Thank-you.

A wonderful flat in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our city break in this gorgeous flat - fantastic location with a parking space meant we were completely car free. The spec is very high and the flat was spotlessly clean. I cannot recommend it highly enough. We loved having the full length windows open to enjoy the view of the Minister's Chapter House. Very happy visitors!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We know how much our visitors appreciate being able to park their car in the courtyard and then forget about it for the length of their stay. We like to have 'very happy visitors' and hope you are able to return.

Great location, lovely apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well-appointed apartment in a central location, very close to the Minster. On the second floor, reached by a lift, this is in a converted brewery.There is a small and pretty courtyard garden with table and chairs for shared use. The rooms are spacious with lots of light and decorated in contemporary style. A welcome hamper contained locally-produced goodies, along with fresh milk, home made apple juice and cold beer in the fridge. A top choice.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Kay for your very positive review of our York apartment. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Can't go wrong

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation in an historic part of this vibrant city,excellent lift access,comfortable beds,well equipped for meals in,excellent tapas at the end of the street.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Hop Store and hope you will return to this lovely city.