FB Twitter

The Old Dairy

The Old Dairy

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Old Dairy is a delightful cottage for two, with plenty of original beams and a cosy, log burning stove for added atmosphere. It offers a really roomy open-plan living / dining area, furnished to the highest standard, plus a split level kitchen, fully equipped with everything you might require . The bedroom upstairs can be configured as twins or a super-king option and the ground floor bathroom has both bath and shower.

Fantastic Place, brilliant location brilliant set up!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Dairy! Fantastic service providing everything we could need for our stay upon arrival, with the door ready to open as we arrived. The cottage itself is beautifully kept and looks fantastic, also a bonus lots of wood for the fire was provided, something unusual to find! A truly great stay!!



Angela replied 88 days ago
We're so pleased you had a great stay in The Old Dairy and we hope to see you again.

Dream cottage by the coast.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Spent a wonderful week in a beautiful cottage in gloriously tranquil surroundings. The cottages are in a courtyard whose farm buildings have been converted into holiday homes to the very highest standard. Angela and John are friendly and welcoming hosts ( a lovely 'welcoming' tray on arrival) who are there to give advice but also respect their guests' privacy. The cottages are within easy reach of the many fabulous attractions of the area and guests are provided with ample information to aid their planning. We shall certainly return - and noticed via the guest book that many other guests do exactly that - many times! There can surely be no higher recommendation.




Angela replied 144 days ago
Than you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy and hope to see you again.

The old dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Field House Farm and High Barn cottages quite a few times now and am never disappointed. The cottage was very comfortable and clean with every you need at your disposal. Lovely hosts and privacy respected. Would thorough recommend .



Field House Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Field House Cottages for 9 years and we love it.The cottages,the owners and their team,the whole area never disappoints.We hope to continue going there.



Angela replied 179 days ago
It's hard to believe that you have been staying with us for nine years! We love to see you and look forward to your next visit.

A great escape

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic weekend we had in the Old Dairy! The cottage is great, very clean and cosy, great for chilling out if the weather is not nice outside. Great log burner stove and fantastic bed! Walks around the cliffs are lovely, and it was amazing to see so many birds! There are lots of things to see in the area and also this cottage is a great base to trips further afield like Robin's Hood Bay. We'll love to come back.



Angela replied 217 days ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy. After its recent makeover, everyone agrees it really is a lovely cottage

Short Break February 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation was home from home. Everything that you could possibly need and more. Fabulous!!!



Angela replied 278 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your February stay in The Old Dairy and hope to see you again.

Old Dairy Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable cottage owners very helpful and concerned everything was in order. Cottage in a very central location good area for walking.



Angela replied 328 days ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy earlier this December. As you say, the coast has some lovely walks nearby.

Peace ,warmth and comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the old dairy. Every thing is provided for a good self catering holiday. It is really clean and warm with good quality sheets,towels and furniture. We have stayed in another one of the cottages and found them both excellent, hope to be back next year



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We do hope you will return in the future to one of our cottages.

A peaceful stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and very quiet. Well located for services and scenic spots. Very comfortable. Much of interest in the area and excellent coastal walking opportunities.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy. We have many visitors, like yourselves who come for the wealth of walking opportunities.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at the old dairy. Home from home everything provided even flowers.
Well situated to visit many places. Pity pub not in walking distance.
Very clean quiet and relaxing,. Park for children to play. Only thing missing is hot tub.
Would definitely return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're really pleased you had a great time in The Old Dairy. We do have a pub own the road, well within easy walking distance, but being in the countryside, there are no pavements or street lighting. Many of our visitors walk along to it, but as the evenings get shorter it is more difficult in the dark. We have seriously considered hot tubs, but our courtyard setting does not provide the privacy required.

A wonderful break!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived stressed, left calm and refreshed. Always a wonderful, genuine welcome to a delightful cottage and grounds. Took a picnic and sat at a picnic. Table overlooking a very large 'pond' with delightful waterlillies. A few chickens came to join me but left hungry!






Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely comments. It's always a pleasure to welcome you back.

Lovely stay in August

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved The Old Dairy and the farm. The accommodation was perfect for a couple and 1 year old. John and Angela provided a travel cot, highchair and baby bath at no extra cost. The living space is big and very well equipped. The farm is lovely to wander around and check out the chickens and cows, with a nice play area too. Location is great, very close to the coast and loads to do. The RSPB reserve at Bempton Cliffs as fantastic as is Sewerby Hall and Gardens. We'll be back!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting a review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us in The Old Dairy, which we agree is a lovely cottage for two.

As lovers of nature and history, this was an ideal base

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a highly enjoyable week in the Old Dairy,which is ideal for a couple, everything you are likely to need for cooking and storage of your food is provided. The only thing we would have changed is the option to have the beds made up as 2 singles instead of the Super Kingsize that we specified. This is purely because the limited space in the bedroom means the bed has to be pushed up against one wall, which makes it awkward for one of you to get in or out of bed. That said,the bed is really comfortable. The Martonian pub, which is a 12 minute walk away,serves good quality food at reasonable prices and has a good range of beers,wines and spirits.It does get very busy on Friday evenings and Sunday lunchtime,as you would expect with the proximity of a large caravan park. Bempton village is a 25 minute walk away and the Cliffs are beyond that about another 15 minutes. A visit to the RSPB reserve is a must if you like Birds, an amazing experience. Bempton Railway Station doesn't have a ticket machine, so if you are planning to use it, get your tickets in advance or buy the Mobile Phone Barcode option. Sewerby Hall, Bondville Model Village and particularly Burton Agnes Hall and Gardens, a short drive away, are well worth a visit. To return to the comfort of the Old Dairy after a day out is a treat and you will not meet two nicer people than John and Angela. The "Welcome Tray" was an unexpected pleasure and most appreciated. Sitting on the patio, with a glass of Red, watching the Swallows swooping around was a great way to unwind after a long drive. A thoroughly relaxing week for both of us, a pleasure to stay on the farm.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and informative review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Field House Farm Cottages. Of course, the beautiful sunny weather was an absolute bonus. You certainly packed a lot into a week and, as walkers, found plenty of places to explore. We do hope you'll return one day.

A very pleasant week in the Old Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the farm easily thanks to clear directions. The yard surrounded by cottages is attractive with plenty of parking. The Old Dairy has a lovely living area and good kitchen, well equipped. We brought some household essentials with us, based on past experience, but didn't need them. The shower room is great too. The bed is a superking that splits into twin beds when required, but the bedroom is too narrow to accommodate it. We would have preferred a smaller bed that allowed access on both sides, but it was very comfortable. No need for an alarm clock - the dawn chorus did the trick! The location was perfect for us as we came largely to do bird-watching; Bempton cliffs and Flamborough Head are a few minutes away by car. There were plenty of other things to do in the area and Bridlington is very close with seaside facilities and convenient supermarkets. There are some nice eating places too. All in all we had a very enjoyable week and are thinking of coming again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for troubling to write your kind review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that your are perhaps planning to return.

A brilliant holiday in a fabulous place

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in The Old Dairy which more than lives up to it's profile on the website. From the warm welcome to lots of information on places to visit locally and further afield, we found everything we could want at the property and were made to feel very much at home.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Field House Farm properties to anyone looking for a holiday in the area.







Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your week in The Old Dairy. We hope visitors are always comfortable in their cottages and provided with plenty of information about the variety of things to do in the area.

A lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, quaint converted barn, with all the home comforts. I went to relax and get away from it all and this did the trick! Close to Sewerby village, and Bridlington so lots to do I and see.
I would definitely recommend a stay here




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy and enjoyed its comfort and the peaceful surroundings. Our proximity to the coast, whilst being in the countryside is a great advantage.

The old dairy

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal cottage in a fine location with very attentive owners. The bedroom although rather cosy was sufficient , while the ground floor accommodation was excellent.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Old Dairy. Our other cottage for two, The Turnip House, has a spacious en-suite bedroom which you might like to try if you were thinking of returning. The Old Dairy has, as you say, excellent ground floor accommodation. The bedroom accommodates a super-king bed, wardrobe, dressing table etc - everything you need - but, as stated in all our literature, it is smaller than bedrooms in our other cottages. We'd loved to have made it larger, but were not allowed to change the roof line of our beautiful Victorian buildings when they were converted.

Peaceful and comfortable retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts were very pleasant to deal with, helpful, and quick to respond to any queries. The accommodation was cosy warm, comfortable and quiet and well equipped for all our needs. A very enjoyable long weekend and I hope to get the chance to go back. I would certainly recommend it.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay but were sorry that your long weekend was shortened by difficult driving conditions on the motorway on Easter Friday. We hope you'll visit the north again, (without roadworks.)

Dairy Lea

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great retreat replete with cows, fields and peace and quiet. Although Bridlington wouldn't necessarily be everyone's first choice of base this location is perfect for exploring the moors, York, Bempton Cliffs, Whitby etc.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your positive review. We were delighted to meet you and very pleased you enjoyed your holiday in The Old Dairy. We hope to see you in the future, either at The Old Dairy or in one of our other cottages, either at Field House or High Barn.

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, with all those well thought out little extras to make the stay at the old dairy even more special... Thank you. Would highly recommend to anyone



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always gratifying to know visitors like yourself appreciate the little extra touches - thank-you for your kind review.

A three night stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was exactly "as it says on the tin".
Very comfortable lounge/kitchen area, bedroom a little tight on space.
The cottage was in a good position for all the places we wanted to visit.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your thoughtful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Comfortable stay at The Old Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at The Old Dairy. It was very well maintained and comfortable although we would have liked a firmer settee as we suffer from bad backs.
We like to give the car a rest when on holiday so were pleased we could walk and use the bus and train to visit various places.
The owners were very helpful and friendly.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review of The Old Dairy. I am sorry you found the sofas too soft for your taste. I do wish you had told us during the week. We have a supply of high backed Windsor armchairs which we import into a cottage for use with visitors suffering from bad backs. My husband, John has back trouble and always seeks a firmer sofa than one I am comfortable with, so we understand completely. If there is a next time, please request firmer seating.

Lovely old dairy!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at The old dairy and loved it even more than the 1st. Plenty to do in surrounding areas easy access to all resorts and helpful guides available if you're not sure what to do or where to go. Accommodation is faultless, all mod cons. Would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Lisa for your wholly positive comments. We do hope that, as indicated, you will stay with us in the future.

The Old Dairy

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My second visit to this lovely cottage. Nothing was too much trouble, even though I arrived way early for the 3pm book in time, the staff cleaned the cottage so that I could settle in by 1pm, very much appreciated as I wanted to make the most of my time at Field House Farm.
The homely feel of the cottage makes me feel relaxed straight away, just what is needed from a holiday.
The location is lovely with good walks all around and also lots of interesting places to visit.
Can't wait until I can come again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is sometime since you wrote your review and I apologise for not responding sooner. We're delighted your second stay with us was as pleasurable as the first. As an early arrival, I'm glad our housekeeping team were able to accommodate you in good time.

The Old Dairy 23rd May 2015

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week in the Old Dairy, the cottage is cosy, comfortable, rustic and clean offering everything you need from self catering accommodation. A negative for us, (But this is just personal choice) we would prefer a walk in shower cubicle rather than a shower over the bath, this would make the bathroom a little more spacious. We are regular visitors to the East Coast of Yorkshire this Farm is idealy situated for visiting numerous places. We have thoroughly enjoyed our second stay in the cottage and hope to return again maybe trying a one of the larger accommodation and taking our daughters who would also love it.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Andrea for your review posted earlier in the year. I do apologise for not responding sooner. We are in agreement with you over the bathroom arrangements in The Old Dairy and plan to change the layout this coming winter to allow for a large walk-in shower.