FB Twitter

The Byre

The Byre

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Byre is popular with young families and couples. It offers two bedrooms: one twin, one double, a family bathroom with bath and shower over and an open-plan kitchen/ dining/living area. The Byre can readily be used by two, as the master bedroom, bathroom and living space are all on the ground floor. Lovely open views .

Lovely week

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had another lovely week in the Byre. We can't fault anything, Angela & John are the perfect hosts and we'll be back again.



Angela replied 53 days ago
So pleased you enjoyed your latest stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Idyllic ! !

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed a really lovely holiday, we love the Byre Cottage, the farm is so nice and private and the staff are all so delightful, this must be our sixth visit and the people next to us have been thirty-five times, so something must be right.
All being well, we will be back




Angela. replied 53 days ago
We feel more than pleased when our guests give us such lovely comments as yours. We do hope to see you once again in the future.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week here. Clean comfortable accommodation, great high quality beds. The kids loved playing outside on the play equipment and wandering down to the pond. Very quiet meant great nights sleep. Owners were lovely and helpful. Would recommend for a lovely family holiday.



Angela replied 73 days ago
We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay,

Enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I enjoyed our stay. Cottage would benefit from more equipment in kitchen. I.e. ovenproof earthenware.



Good accommodation, pleasant surroundings on the farm and in easy reach of many interesting places.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely return to this cottage again, the owners were very attentive to all our needs and seemed genuinely concerned that if we needed anything then all we had to do was ask. Superb location for all the popular tourist attractions.
This really highlighted all that is best in Yorkshire, both the people and the scenery.




Angela replied 123 days ago
Thank you for your very positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in The Byre.

Lovely week

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week in The Byre. We've stayed at these cottages many times and we're never disappointed. As always the cottage was spotless, warm and very comfortable. Field House Farm cottages are in a great location making them an ideal base.



Angela replied 207 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed another week in The Byre and hope to see you again.

A very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well appointed and very comfortable. They were able to provide a stair gate for our 2 1/2 year old which was very important to us aswell. The play equipment was also very good and we were able to walk around the farm which our son enjoyed a lot. The location was very peaceful and within a nice setting and we were not very far from local amenities. We would stay here again.



Angela replied 216 days ago
We are very pleased that the three of you enjoyed your stay in The Byre this Easter.

A lovely peaceful break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from the perfect December break in our warm and comfortable cottage.

We had everything we needed, lots of lovely walks and fresh air (Sewerby Hall was a great place to visit) and a peaceful, pretty place to come back to when the nights drew in. It couldn't have been better.

Many thanks for a lovely few days away.




Angela replied 350 days ago
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend

Relaxez vous !!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This visit was our second this year, we are never disappointed, lovely location, very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, everyone is so helpful. High standard accommodation. We would definitely book again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first and hope to see you again

Another lovely stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at these cottages in both The Turnip House & The Byre for the last 3 years and this won't be our last visit! We always thoroughly enjoy our holidays and the hosts John & Angela are always very friendly & helpful too.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting your very positive review. We're always delighted to have you returning to stay with us.

Superbly equipped cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our weekend stay with our two grand daughters except for the wet weather. The shower is not ideal for young children and the wash basin is too high and we suggested to the proprietor to provide a stool on the bathroom. The collie sheepdog is old and young children need to be wary as he is free to wander on the site.
We all enjoyed a visit to an indoor attraction just 2 miles north of Filey called Scarborough Fair which is run by volunteers with an array of old restored cars,motor bikes, tractors and steam organs and penny slot machines and old fairground rides suitable for all ages.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind and thoughtful review. We will be placing a small step stool in the bathroom, as we think that is a very good suggestion. The weather let you down in a summer that has largely been gloriously sunny.

Could live here, we loved it

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is beautiful. Ideal location for walking and a short drive from Bridlington and Flamborough. The layout was well thought out and had everything we needed for our stay. I liked the fact there was coffee, tea, milk, biscuits and toiletries to get us started, good if you have forgotten anything. The beds were very comfortable and bedlinen was good quality. The wifi was good, very handy as I couldn't get a phone signal indoors. I would recommend to anyone.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting such a favourable review. We're delighted The Byre lived up to your hopes and expectations.

Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic time. Great location and plenty to do within short car journey. Filey and Bridlington beaches are fantastic for the Kids. Martonian Inn is a 10 min walk from the cottage. Cottage itself is excellent, nice size and very comfortable beds. Looking to go back next year.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in The Byre. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Fieldhouse Farm and hopefully not our last. The Byre is a compact cottage suitable for a couple or a small family. We took our grandson away with us and it was ideal. The accommodation is very comfortable, lovely comfy bedding huge walk in shower and everything you might need provided, even down to the cling film in the kitchen. The outside play area for young children was well used by our grandson. Attractions such as Sewerby Hall, the beach at Bridlinglton and Bempton Cliffs are not too far away if you don't want to travel far and the location of the cottages is in such a beautiful peaceful spot it made for a very relaxing holiday.



ANGELA replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your very positive review. We hope to see you back at Field House Farm Cottages in the future.

Very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very pleasant week at the Byre with my elderly parents and 9 year old son. The cottage is cosy and clean, characterful and charming yet well equipped with a modern kitchen and shower room. The surrounding farm is lovely. In the Byre you have views across green fields from all rooms. My son, who is used to living in the suburbs of Paris, particularly enjoyed seeing the cattle, sheep and hens, as well as playing in the garden and on the swings which are just opposite the Byre. The cottage has an outside seating area which has direct views onto the garden, playground and fields.
Sewerby village is a short drive or bike ride away. We enjoyed Sewerby Hall with its zoo and walled gardens, and the model village is definitely worth a visit. Bridlington town centre is not much further... we had several sunny days on North Beach and, when the weather was less kind, my son really enjoyed the climbing wall and pool with slides at the new Leisure Centre. Crabbing at Flamborough Head was fun too. There's plenty to see and do in the area for all ages.
Angela and John are welcoming, friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The cottage has everything you could possibly need, including a good selection of books and games. All in all, a very enjoyable place to stay.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your thoughtful, positive and very detailed review of your stay in The Byre. We're delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday in this lovely area and found pleasure in the many things on offer for both young and and not so young.

Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely setting. Cottage just what we expected. Attic a little bit cramped. We would go for a bigger property next time.
Enjoyed the peace and quiet and the easy access to so many lovely places.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're delighted you intend to stay with us again. Your next choice seemed to favour Hind's Cottage, which you were shown around. The Roost is also a possibility. They are both very generously sized properties. The Byre is a very popular choice with couples or young families.

A Chillaxing Break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to this idyllic place, Cottage perfect! Location perfect! Site perfect! Such a warm and friendly place. Lovely part of the country. Never disappointed. Will definitely return. Utopic!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is always very gratifying to get returning visitors, so thank-you for staying with us several times. Your review was much appreciated by us all.

Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at these cottages many times now and will continue to do so as they're superb! Spotlessly clean, everything you need in a cottage and so lovely & warm. On this occasion we stayed in 'The Byre' and once again we were very impressed.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're always so pleased to welcome back returners.

Perfect Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family weekend at Field House Farm for my mum's 70th birthday, we stayed in three of the cottages Ostlers, Hinds & The Byre. What more can I say that I haven't said already. My hubby and I have been staying at Field House for about eight years and we keep returning, this time we came with all the family and they loved it too. Angela and John are very welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. The Farm is in an excellent location for walking and wildlife and close to so many attractions whether you want to walk or drive. We love it and will be returning to this lovely place on the East Coast.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was our pleasure to see you back at Field House. We're delighted your family party enjoyed the weekend

Last minute Valentines break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just wanted somewhere to chill out and relax after a busy working schedule, and we found it here.
Has everything you need - close enough to the seaside but nice and quiet too, a thoughly lovely venue - highly recommended.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your last-minute break with us at Field House in The Byre.

When can we visit again?

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Field House Farm Cottages and we would not hesitate to recommend them. Their location offers a perfect base to explore the seaside coast from Scarborough to Bridlington and beyond. The cottages really are home from home, just bring yourselves and everything else is taken care of. Our 7 and 5 year old sons love exploring the farm with morning visits to Harry the bull before popping to see if the chickens had been busy laying eggs,



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for writing such a super review. We're so glad our enjoyed your recent stay in The Byre. We think it's a great cottage for a family, (only recently upgraded last Autumn, ready for the 2016 season.) And, it's lovely that the boys enjoyed their visits to the farm animals. We look forward to seeing you again.

A short autumn break.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay here, everything is perfect for us. Location, accommodation. There are many places to visit which we did. Flambro', Bempton, Filey, Scarbro', Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby, all in all, ideal.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're always delighted when our guests make return visits. I'm so glad you like both the location and, of course, the accommodation of The Byre. We very much hope to see you again. thank-you for your kind comments.

Fabulous Field House Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot think of enough superlatives to describe Field House Farm Cottages. Over the past ten years we have regularly visited, either as a couple or as a family staying in various cottages on this farm. Every time we leave we cannot wait to return !



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
You are always so generous in your praise - thank-you. Of course, it gladdens our hearts to have you back to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Byre is an excellent base for discovering the area, warm and welcoming on chilly nights, a real pleasure to come back to at the end of the day. The farm is very quiet, clean and tidy.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Julie for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many guests remark on the lack of noise from traffic etc and love the peaceful setting of the cottages.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday in safe,clean and wonderful surroundings. This is one of our favourite places we go to be peaceful and recharge our batteries. We really recommend it



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Your review is a wonderful recommendation. Thank-you

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely set of cottages,excellent hosts.
Cottage was clean and well presented.
Location is quiet and close to Sewerby.
Super little play park for children.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Byre. When the children have a good time, the grown- ups can relax too!

Highest Quality Self Catering we have experienced

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High quality evident on arrival - welcome pack a lovely touch and all property and grounds immaculate - warm welcome from owners who clearly want you to get the most from your stay. We took bikes and were really pleased with the cycling we were able to enjoy right from the doorstep - in fact the car stayed parked up! Another bonus was the facility to keep the bikes under cover in a secure area. Very close to Bempton Cliffs where we experienced brilliant photography opportunities with Steve Race from Yorkshire Coast Nature.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased the cycling side of your holiday was a success. Your comments concerning the cottages at Field House are really appreciated

Relaxing holiday at Field House Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Field House Farm. We like it because of it's location close to the places we like. Bridlington Flamborough and Bempton. It is secluded and perfect for a good relax. We had just celebrated our Golden Wedding and needed the rest. People make good businesses and John and Angela, James and his family and the rest of the team made our stay. Nothing too much trouble. The secret pond, the cattle and sheep make sitting outside with a coffee early in the day a real treat. Thank you all.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Ken for your very kind remarks concerning our properties at Field House. Like you, many of our visitors particularly like the location - so close to Flamborough, Bridlington and Bempton, but private and secluded.

Setting: idyllic. People: friendly. Baa-lambs: cuddly.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a working farm, but you get to experience the less smelly, and less industrial, aspects of modern farming: the lambkin-and-calf variety, not the slurry-pond or the giant combine-harvester ones. Also available for inspection are a pond with ducks, and (at any rate in early June; remember, spring arrived late in 2015) house-martin nests full of cheeping chicks, pheasants, bunny-rabbits, and the odd hare. The pond is fenced in and there's a play area too, so generally this farm is child-friendly, although as there is free access to barns, etc., smaller kids would need to be supervised outside. The staff/family were very friendly and always helpful, but not at all intrusive. The Byre itself is fairly small, and is best for a couple or a family with one or two older kids, as the twin-bedded bed-room is right under the rafters, and there's only one bathroom (with an over-bath shower, but a very good one). The place is extremely quiet, despite all the farm activity and the wild-life, and very well-appointed, and our only problems were caused by my husband's being over 6' tall (so that he kept bumping his head and other portions of his anatomy), plus a bit of noise late one night from the people next door (not repeated) and not enough shelf-space in the bathroom (and poor cell-phone reception, but that has nothing to do with the Byre per se). Lots of useful info is provided about local shops, attractions, etc. (the rubbish-disposal instructions were a little hard to follow). There are shops nearby, including a farm shop and a large co-op, and it's only 10 minutes' drive into Bridlington, where we were visiting family. If we go back to Brid, we plan to stay on this farm again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your detailed and honest review of The Byre. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay this summer. We try to be as family friendly as a working farm can be, but always make it plain that young children should be supervised at all times when they are outside, (as we have three sheds around the farmyard with machinery, tools, tractors and other vehicles - all in everyday use.) We always accompany our young grandchildren, even though they are familiar with their surroundings. As you note, The Byre is the most modest of our cottages for four (and is priced accordingly.) If you do return, as you say you might some time in the future, The Roost, Hind's or Ostler's Corner would be my suggestion.

A pleasant stay in The Byre.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had just one minor quibble - the washbasin in the bathroom was just at the end of the bath and cramped in the
corner- and the tap in the middle was fixed making it difficult to rinse one's face!! The plastic beakers kept falling down
when we put our toothbrushes in them- and lack of shelf space, particularly for our two toilet bags.
Possibly the radiator is in the wrong place?
The towels etc were extremely good also the bath mats.And bedding etc. excellent.
The central heating was excellent, we were never cold and we really appreciated that we could control it.
Once in Wales we were always cold as the owner never turned the heating fully on and was turned off every night
even when we experienced cold weather.
We had an excellent few days even though the weather was terrible. And we will definitely stay again.
It is not often that owners are so considerate.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry to have taken so long to reply to your review. We have had a very busy summer and time at the computer has been limited, so I am catching up now! We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests, as it is very valuable in helping assess how to improve our guests' experience. Your comments concerning the bathroom chimed with our recent thoughts about improvement to The Byre. The bathroom in The Byre is being lined up for a revamp this Autumn/Winter, so all your comments were noted fully. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again.

Holiday at the Byre

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the Byre with our Border Terrier Jeeves,It was exceptionally clean and very well presented. The cottage had everything you needed for a five star holiday. Thank you to our hosts.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Rosie for your kind and positive revue. The Byre is the only one of our cottages where we occasionally accept a small dog, so I'm glad it fitted the bill for you.

The place need a bit of updating

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay was ok the location was ok, the Byrne needs a bit of updating in the bathroom area and another toilet would have been good with having 2 young kids but it was the only cottage left and my mistake for not reloading this until after.



John Foster replied more than 1 year ago
Do we laugh or do we cry? We finally get around to letting the general public see the (nearly always) glowing reports that our guests leave and the very first review on the system is a criticism! We are obviously disappointed that this family’s expectations were not met and this review was the first we knew about it. They admit that they had not properly researched what was on offer and had, thus, expected facilities that were not actually available. Our web site gives very accurate descriptions of all our cottages. The Byre is our most modestly sized cottage, priced accordingly and, thus, is very popular with a loyal following. We think it unfair to describe it as tired. It has benefited, 18 months ago, from an extension to the living space with picture window, a new entrance/hallway, new heating system and redecoration. More improvements are in the pipeline: fitted bedroom furniture is being made whilst I write and the bathroom is earmarked for replacement this Autumn. We are upset by the cleanliness score. The Byre has scored 100% for cleanliness on the last two Visit England inspections 2013 and 2014 and received 4 Star Gold ratings. I am confident in our staff and their continued high standards.