FB Twitter

Tigh Grianach Cottage

Tigh Grianach Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


A 4 star spacious modernised self catering croft holiday cottage with a large private garden, enjoying breathtaking panoramic views of Loch Etive and Ben Cruachan.

Our memorable holiday staying at Tigh Grianach Cottage in Oban

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say, our stay in Tigh Grianach Cottage was amazing with our family the views just took your breath away. The cottage was gorgeous and not far from to the centre of Oban.

The owners of the cottage were lovely so kind and very helpful and the touch of shortbread, homemade chocolates etc plus fresh yellow roses waiting for us on our arrival and biscuits also for our dog Breagha.

Samantha @ West Coast Cottages was so helpful and gave us a lot of information before our stay we visited some lovely places and our favourite restaurant Waterfront at the harbour superb food & service plus I am gluten free etc and they had a separate menu heaven. Local Shellfish at the pier was amazing you stand beside wooden tables and you are given fresh local cooked fish.

A visit to Isle of Kerrera is a must and only 5mins on the ferry.

Loved Oban and our cottage and would recommend to stay you will not be disappointed.

Thank you West Coast Cottages and the owners a truly memorable holiday.

Duncan, Michele and family plus our wee dog Breagha x



Michele from Inverness stayed at Tigh Grianach Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A great first visit to Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tigh Grianach Cottage was situated in a lovely position overlooking the mountains and Loch, the owners were very pleasant and made sure everything was in excellent order. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay the weather was perfect specially ordered!!!
The Loch looked different in all the different lights of the day.


Anne from Kettering stayed at Tigh Grianach Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Hogmanay in style

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Tigh Griannach and we loved it even more than the first, especially now there is an ensuite in the second bedroom. This cottage is really looked after and has such a homely feel. It is spacious and clean and the views are to die for. I could literally sit at that window seat all day. Our dog Ollie loved lying in front of the fire after a busy day exploring. The location is great and only a couple of minutes drive to the nearest pub (defo recommend Oyster inn) and only 15 mins to Oban. The owner Isobel and her husband are lovely and really want you to enjoy your stay. We had a fantastic New Year and will definitely be back again.

Joanne from Bury stayed at Tigh Grianach Cottage for 7 nights in December 2016


GREAT LOCATION

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful situation looking up Loch Etive towards Ben Cruachan with warm and comfortable facilities. Great location, great landlord, great facilities, friendly cattle - pity about the lousy weather!!

Les from stayed at Tigh Grianach Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Tigh grianach stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
overall we had a good time during our week at this cottage. Thr were however some points that I feel could be improved upon.

1 There was a main road right out front and cars/trucks came past at speed. There was no gate so with small children we couldn't just put them outside to play unsupervised. That reduced my enjoyment and ability to relax.
2 The photo suggests the cottage has character, but it has none. This may sound like a quibble but actually for me it was a bit of a disappointment. Perhaps a log burning stove, or walls that are any colour except magnolia would help.
3 The landlady only turned up once, to ask for money to cover electricity (which is an extra). I had no sense of how much this was going to cost (no visibility) so asked the letting agent and was a bit surprised when I got the bill as to the actual amount.
4 To give customers a real sense of welcome it may be a nice idea to have a little welcome pack - some tea bags/coffee/milk, a bottle of wine etc. The cupboards were absolutely bare when we arrived late with our young family and I would have been happy for a cuppa.

Having said all of this there were some great aspects:
1 The location/view was excellent. I loved waking up every morning and looking down the loch. It looked different every day. It was a gat springboard to exploring islands and peninsulas. Also useful to be near Oban for provisions and the swimming pool (good on the inevitable wet day).
2 The land lady's husband was very friendly and helpful in making us a BBQ. Amazing what he can do with some scrap metal and a welder!

I hope that is useful.

Best wishes

Daniel


Guest from York stayed at Tigh Grianach Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016