FB Twitter

Springbank House

Springbank House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


SPRINGBANK stylish self-catering holiday house..................in the shadow of Ben Cruachan. A relaxing yet imposing granite-built house standing majestically over the picturesque village of Taynuilt with views to Loch Etive. This fine Victorian house dating from 1885, with lots of character and original features, sleeps up to 8 in comfort. It is set in mature gardens to lose yourself in.

Springbank House

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Springbank House in January (our party consisted of me, my husband, our three children and our two dogs. We only have one regret, which is that we didn't book for longer!

My first impression on entering the house was how clean it was. It was truly immaculate and extremely well presented. The bedrooms were warm and inviting and the pillows were amazing!! Combined with the tranquility (the house is set back from and elevated above the main road. We didn't hear any traffic whatsoever and had the benefit of amazing views) I genuinely had the best nights sleep in longer than I can remember. There were plenty of bathrooms too (the kids loved this fact, as did I) one of which was particularly opulent (and therefore quickly claimed by me!!). Beautiful. We came to Springbank House because we just wanted to relax after the hussle and bustle of Christmas and New Year and yo not have to do very much and at Springbank House we were able to do just that because it was so well equipped. We had stocked up on necessities on the drive up but in all honesty needn't have bothered. The house was so well stocked - even had a supply of basics (tea, coffee, sugar, oil, spices) some of which may have been left by previous guests but rather than throwing perfectly good supplies out, they were left behind for other guests to use and enjoy and / or replenished by Sam and her husband who do a wonderful job running the business and literally couldn't have done anymore to make us feel more welcome. The kitchen was also fully stocked with utensils, there was a fantastic washing machine and dishwasher, a pulley for dying clothes and a separate utility room, which made a perfect (and very warm) sleeping place for the dogs. The dining room was stocked with Tunnock's tea cakes too, which the children loved and are now huge fans of!

The house was a little cold when we arrived as it had been empty for a few days although to be fair to Sam and her team the heating had been turned on for our arrival, which was amazing and very welcome. We lit the coal fire on the second day and bought a sack of coal for further fires (this was more for effect as the house quickly warmed up) so if you like coal fires, I would recommend grabbing a sack of coal en route. We will do that the next time as we will most definitely be back! I can thoroughly recommend Springbank House.


Heather from Edinburgh stayed at Springbank House for 4 nights in January 2017


Great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay. We are 8 walkers/cyclists so we found it very convenient for our activities. Great views from the property with local amenities handy and further afield Oban shopping was excellent.

Mike from Leeds stayed at Springbank House for 7 nights in December 2016


Very pleased with our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at Springbank. It was a very cold weekend and the house was well heated and had an open fire in the lounge.
It's a well equipped house and very comfortable.
A couple of small points.The two radiators in the two front lounges could do with being upgraded.The small lounge particularly as the open fire was unusable.


Peter from Largs stayed at Springbank House for 3 nights in December 2016


Springbank House

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Springbank to be very comfortable and accommodated our family of four plus my Mother and father in-law with ease.
The location was excellent, looking out over the Loch down the valley beyond. There was lot's to do in the area and I highly recommend the Staffa tour as a must do while in the area. Springbank has ample grounds to wander in and the area was very quiet and peaceful.
On the down side there were no locks on the bathroom doors and we found a lot of fluff under the main bathroom bath which blew out from underneath when we opened the window but these things are easily rectified. Overall I would definitely recommend Springbank as a base to discover the Highlands and Lochs. It is a lovely old house full of character.


Neil from Bath stayed at Springbank House for 7 nights in August 2016


Discovering Scotland

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0

Excellent stay in this beautiful house very well equipped. We spent a beautiful holiday week , which allowed us to discover Scotland and enjoy the comforts of home for a rest . A highly recommend .


E from La Brionne stayed at Springbank House for 7 nights in August 2016


Excellent stay in a superb house

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Springbank, it is full of history and atmosphere, furnished with excellent taste and offers a great view (amazing sunsets)! We passed a wonderful week there and felt very welcome, the right place to enjoy Scottish atmosphere and to relax, we found great books and games and films there, so even on rainy days we had plenty to do.

Robert from Vienna stayed at Springbank House for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely House and garden

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 6 adults. The house was easily spacious enough and a mix of old and new, lovely original fittings mixed with modern. Kitchen is perfect for cooking, we did more here than in any other holiday house we have stayed in. Excellent range of equipment. A lovely new dining room which linked onto a utility room where you could dry walking gear, and included an extra fridge which was a good store for all the wine and beer. Three bathrooms and 4 bedrooms upstairs were immaculate and towels and linen were of a high quality. All in all the house was a delight but what I wasn't expecting were the amazing views...you could lay in bed and look out over Loch Etive, or lay in the bath and look out over hills and trees. The garden is beautiful too...but not enclosed so we spent a lot of time shouting on our dog :-).

Marion from Earlston stayed at Springbank House for 7 nights in June 2016