FB Twitter

Argyll Mansions

Argyll Mansions

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Set in the heart of Oban with stunning views over looking Oban bay & the Islands of Kerera, Mull & Lismore, Argyll Mansions is one of Obans most prestigios 19th century charactor buildings, ozzing charm & elegance. you will not be disappointed staying in our luxury three bedroom apartment, with everything on your door step from Obans many renouned seafood restaurants in the Town & surounding area known as "seafood Capitol of Scotland" to its many curio shops & streets to keep you busy & entertained.

Amazing view!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is very spacious with wonderful views across the bay so even if it rains there is also something to look at. My favourite spot was sitting in the chair in the bedroom window watching the amazing sunsets and the mountains of Mull in the distance. The furnishings in the apartment were very stylish and there was everything we needed. The location was good in that it was only a stumbling distance from numerous restaurants and takeaways and also close to the ferry. Unfortunately the road outside is very busy and if like us you sleep with the windows open, it was quite noisy. There are other apartments above and below and the people upstairs were quite noisy too but it may be that we live in a detached house in a rural setting so are not used to people living in close proximity.
The climb up the stairs would not suit anyone with mobility issues but it certainly kept us fit. The free parking is quite a distance from the building and in theory there is a max stay of 24 hours but nobody seemed to check. We actually found that making use of the parking in the street between 6pm and 9am was useful if you were going out during the day but beware there were traffic wardens lurking if you didn't put pay and display.
The ferries across to the Isles are very reasonably priced, especially if going by foot and we fell in love with the tranquillity and wildlife when we went on a nature tour with a local guide.
A welcome pack would have been nice, particularly some milk as it's a long walk down the stairs to the shops.
We really did enjoy our time in Oban and will be back.


Cheryl from Lower Swell, Glos stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in May 2017


Great location, beautiful apartment.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is exactly as advertised--upscale furnishings, luxury linens and a fabulous view of Oban Harbor. The building was constructed in the early 1900s and has beautiful architectural features, a modern kitchen, and comfortable furniture. There are great restaurants across the street and it's just a short walk to a supermarket.
There are 70+ stair steps to the apartment which may be a challenge for some and it's a bit of a hike to the public parking area but the apartment itself more than makes up for it.

The owners are really helpful and easy to work with. We highly recommend Argyll Mansions.



Charles from Atlanta stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in May 2017


Review Family Hoesen

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The mirror in the bathroom was to low and the entrance to the shower is difficult for old people. Also some more lights in the living room and dining room to get more ambiance. Maybe a Nespresso coffee machine in the kitchen. Overall rate of our stay was very good. Well done.

Johan from Hoogezand stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in April 2017


Relaxing time

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful apartment everything you could need for a lovely holiday. Amazing views and so handy for Ferry's, restaurants , shops etc

Anna from Golspie stayed at Argyll Mansions for 4 nights in April 2017


Argyll Mansions

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent apartment, just let down by the long staircase needed to climb to get there. Beautiful Views

Guest from Carnforth stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in April 2017


First trip to Oban

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed three nights with our teenagers at Argyll Mansions. The location could not be better as long as you don't mind the stairs. What a view and all of the town's amenities and ferries to mull and islands are right on your doorstep. Hiring bikes from Oban Cycles and a sunny day cycling around Kerrera was a highlight along with some excellent meals. We would love to return. Sam was very helpful through booking and gave some great tips for eating out.

Gillian from Largs stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in April 2017


Best accommodation ever!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a pleasure to stay at this beautiful, clean apartment in Oban

Clean, functional. No complaints atall!

So central. We wanted to move in!


Louise from Oldham stayed at Argyll Mansions for 2 nights in April 2017


Wonderful views!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the owner Colin really helpful and this is accommodation of a very high standard. The property has truly uplifting views out over Oban harbour, with the gentle hills of the island of Kerrera in the forefront and the mountains of Mull and Morvern further afield. Great to watch the impressive and iconic Calmac ferries coming and going from the harbour. This is accommodation that makes a stay in Oban great whatever the weather.

Elizabeth from Glasgow


Elizabeth from Glasgow stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in December 2016


Beautiful stay but noisy rooms!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our first impression of this apartment was - 'oh no! we have four large suitcases and all these stairs to go up!' Would have liked to have known this especially as my Mum has bad knees. Once we got into the apartment we found it to be a beautiful and very spacious place to spend a few days recovering from our trip and catch up with family. It was a very comfortable place to stay with great views. However being on the waterfront means the property was very exposed to wind. The windows were not the appropriate ones for the property and they whistled loudly all through the night and at times sounded like a train. It was the same in all front facing rooms and meant we had broken nights of sleep. It also caused plaster to fall off the walls and ceiling. This was such a disappointing feature of the property as everything else was so good! The house was lovely and warm and very clean. We would recommend this property if we knew the windows has been fixed. I think the owners need to stay in the property to fully understand this problem.

Emma from .london stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in January 2017


Lovely, spacious apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, spacious, well equipped and comfortable apartment on the third floor overlooking the harbour. You can sit by the window with stunning views and watch the ferries coming and going, and it's right in the town centre within seconds of shops, bars and restaurants. Owners were very friendly and helpful during the booking process too. The only slight downsides are the pay and display parking outside, and the lack of a lift in the building so in all honesty it's a bit of a slog up the stairs with your luggage. However, these are only minor inconveniences and the location and quality of the accommodation more than makes up for them.

Guest from Burnley stayed at Argyll Mansions for 4 nights in December 2016


Ubicacion inmejorable y un apartamento encantador.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Un apartamento magnífico con unas vistas espectaculares. Muy bien ubicado en el centro del paseo marítimo y muy cerca de restaurantes, tiendas, etc. Si volvemos a estar por la zona no dudaremos en volver a alquilarlo.

Guest from Malaga stayed at Argyll Mansions for 1 nights in November 2016


A great place to stay in Oban.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Argyll Mansions offers a nice view on the harbour and hustle&bustle of ferries&islands. Shopping & restaurants are at the doorstep. The apartment is located on the 3rd floor (no elevator so a bit of a climb with the luggage), spacious, cosy, all the luxury you need. We were here in the month of November and on our arrival the apartment was already heated (nice!).

Filip from Humbeek stayed at Argyll Mansions for 2 nights in October 2016


Oban trip

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great central location minutes from the ferry port, lovely big master bedroom and living toom, property is light and bright and welcoming.
Property didn't have a welcome pack which we were disappointed by, we had expected basics like tea/coffee/milk/sugar to be provided on arrival.
Toddler high chair was great but the cot is a very basic travel cot, ok for the odd night but not for extended stays.
Overall happy with the property and would recommend.


Lisa from Edinburgh stayed at Argyll Mansions for 2 nights in October 2016


Fabulous apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent apartment wonderful views extremely comfortable we had a wonderful time in beautiful Oban a big thank you to Colin.

Joan from Darlington stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in September 2016


Location Location Location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our break at Argyll Mansions.
The apartment was very clean and comfortable, very well equipped.
However,for us the best feature of Argyll Mansions was the location with beautiful scenic views of Oban Bay even the rain could not spoil this scenic view.
Also ideal location for all tourist attractions,no shortage of restaurants or your doorstep,also very convenient for travel by public transport.
Would definitely recommend.










Mary from stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in September 2016


Superb location. Highly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A superb place. Everything you could need in a holiday rental. Wonderful to wake up to stunning views and some superb sunsets too. If you are OK to walk up the 3 floors then confident you would enjoy a stay here as much as I did. Would definitely return when visiting Scotland again.

Sarah from Knebworth stayed at Argyll Mansions for 3 nights in September 2016


an enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good looking appartment, stairs to appartment not for the unfit, felt healthier leaving then on arrival. Great views from the windows of the bay and the busy harbour area with the coming and going of the shipping of all shapes and sizes. Oban an excellant base for viewing the surrounding area. Good would consider staying again.

Sheelagh from Clitheroe stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in September 2016


An excellent apartment: extremely comfortable with a beautiful view and perfect location.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was perfect in every way. Even though it rained (almost) continuously during our stay, the apartment and its view were so wonderful that curling up near a window with a book was a treat. A perfect 'hideaway'.
Word of caution for heart patients: there are 72 stairs to climb before reaching the apartment - your reward at the top.



Valerie from stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in June 2016


Great place for family holydays in Oban

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat is very nice and warmful.
The location is perfect.
The Bedrooms are large as well as the living room.
The kitchen is very convenient and fully equiped.


Antoine from Roquebrune stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in August 2016


Good Location

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Thank you for the nice Appartement. The kitchen was very usefull und clean.
Please let future customers know, that there ist no elevator and the appartement ins on the third floor.


Nicole from stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in July 2016


Excellent stay- Beware of Parking!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent base , good accommodation, friendly extremely helpful property manager. No complaints whatsoever regarding the accommodation.
Parking is problematic in Oban town centre but helpfully advised where appropriate free parking was available. However due to my own error I believed parking on a Sunday was free and received parking fine at car park next to accommodation. Had bought ticket for the period prior to 6pm on the Saturday. Moved my car Sunday but ticket already issued. Attempt at appeal sadly fell on deaf ears from the council and payment was taken from my enclosed cheque! Discussed this with tourist researchers on the last day of my stay who were incandescent with rage as they had also received o parking ticket that day, despite being advised where to park by a traffic warden!!


Janice from Glasgow stayed at Argyll Mansions for 7 nights in July 2016


A superb stay

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I just cannot think anything that we would have wished for more. A beautiful and well organised apartment! aasa asanas asas asana asanas asanas asanas asanas assess asanas asanas edfe asdferf sadsdeef sadswder asdwrere asasdere asdeef asdef asdsfefe dffkdkff. I don't wish to write more, you should not make this obligatory.

Martti from Helsinki stayed at Argyll Mansions for 2 nights in June 2016


Recommended accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a self-catering flat overlooking the harbour in Oban and only a 2 minute walk away from the ferry terminal (I recommend the 3 Isles Tour of Mull, Staffa and Iona).

Parking is very poor in Oban. We had to park the car a good 15 minute walk away. The free car parking is not ideally located and the drop off points to the flat were all taken up. There is a handy car park 1 minute away from the flat but you do have to pay for this.

The flat is spacious and bright with a great living room and large dining room and comfortable bedrooms. The 3 flights of stairs may prove to be too much for some but is fine for most people. The benefit of this location though is the great views of Oban bay, Mull and Kerrera. Shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes are all nearby. I would recommend the Oban Whisky Distillery tour as it is next door to the flat and is a great way to spend an hour or two.



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Argyll Mansions for 5 nights in June 2016