FB Twitter

MARAGDUBH

MARAGDUBH

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


This secluded farmhouse with woodburning stove is surrounded by fields and the hills are just behind it. A panoramic view of the glen with Schiehallion mountain dominating the skyline can be seen from the windows. This spacious house has two bedrooms, one has a king size fourposter bed and en suite shower-room, and the other has three single beds, two of which can be made into a superking. The bathroom is downstairs and has large bath, basin and wc. The sitting room has a sofa, a sofa-bed and easy chairs. So the cottage can sleep an extra one or two on the sofa bed. There is a spacious dining room and a galley kitchen. The garden is enclosed. It is ideal for a family or a group of friends.

Peace and quiet - pure bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic clean and comfortable farmhouse set in a perfect quiet and remote location. Water was from a private water supply but don't be put off it was the best water ever for making a perfect cup of tea, no additives here. Bottles of water are also supplied if needed but we didn't use them. Lovely views from the front door, ideal for watching the early morning sunrise with stags roaring in the distance (we weren't lucky to see them near the house but spotted lots on the night return journey from Rannoch Moor train station)and is also a remote area with no light pollution, perfect for late night star gazing. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Will definitely be returning soon. Thanks Beatrice

Sharon from Macclesfield stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 2 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Maragdubh. Glad you enjoyed your additive free cuppas while you were here. The views from Maragdubh are great with it being elevated and the weather was fairly good while you were here giving some nice sunshine enhancing these. Hope to see you sometime in the future.

Half term holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very comfortable. We had 3 small children with us and it was very suitable. Fantastic views and very rural. Will certainly stay on the Estate again.

Julia from Harrogate stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 14 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of Maragdubh. Happy to hear that it met your needs as a family and that you enjoyed taking in the Autumn scenery. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Highland Escape

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property in beautiful location, highly recommended.
Colour of water disconcerting, but plenty of bottled water provided for drinking etc.


Roger from Chelmsford stayed at MARAGDUBH for 3 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 53 days ago
Glad you enjoyed Maragdubh Farmhouse here on Dunalastair. The majority of our holiday cottages are on private water supplies and not on the mains. The water takes on the colour of the peat which it comes through, making it look brownish, this is common throughout Scotland. The water is however tested on a regular basis.

A great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maragdubh is one of several cottages belonging to the Dunalastair Estate just outside Kinloch Rannoch, and is reached via its own lane from the road to Trinifour and Calvine. It's in a really great private location surrounded by open countryside in an elevated position looking across to the magnificent Schiehallion that dominates this area. The property consists of two large bedrooms, one with an ensuite shower room, and a decent size lounge and dining room. The kitchen is small, and if you owned it you would probably extend it into the adjoining outbuilding, but it has all that you need and there's a utility area with plenty of room for your coats, boots etc. Outside, there's decent storage space, room for two, possibly three, cars, and a nice lawned area with tables and chairs to enjoy the view. You get a visit on the first day or so to check that you are OK, and any issues are dealt with immediately without fuss. The wood burner is great, and you get an initial supply of logs included in the rent. There's two general stores within a short drive, and two larger towns not that far away. We did not use the boats and fishing at Dunalastair, but that's another free option, and the area has plenty to offer, all of which is described in the guide material provided. Overall, it was an excellent stay, and a wonderful property.

Alastair from Liskeard stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 74 days ago
Thank you for lovely review of Maragdubh. Happy to hear that enjoyed your stay there taking in the superb views from the cottage across the valley to Schiehallion. Perhaps we will see you again in the future.

A perfect week in a perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Dunalastair but our first stay in Maragdubh. The cottage is perfect, wonderfully cosy and comfortable with stunning views of Schiehallion. Having decent WIFI was an added bonus since my husband works for himself and so needs to stay in touch with clients plus we had two teenagers with us. In fact we loved our time at Maragdubh so much that we've already booked it again for next year! Lots of lovely walks from the cottage, we especially enjoy walking past old Dunalastair house, it must have been a wonderful sight in its time and it's easy to imagine carriages pulling up outside the front door before heading off to the old stables. There were cows in the field around the cottage when we were there but they are beautiful creatures and cause no issues whatsoever, even our two dogs ignored them. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend Maragdubh to anyone who enjoys a peaceful setting and a comfortable cottage.

Kerry from Stockton On Tees stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 84 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay in Maragdubh. Happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair taking in the views and the walks around the estate. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

A warm cosy spacious cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was one of the best equipped we've ever had since renting cottages in Scotland (we started renting in 2007).
Very spacious, also very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the garden was well fenced off, but since there was no cattle in the field, our dog enjoyed the daily walks to the gate and back up again. She could run and sniff around everywhere.
The tumble dryer is also a big bonus.
We used the stove once on a wet and cold da and it burned really well and gave a comfy warmth.
The Henry did an excellent job with the doghairs!
We really enjoyed this cottage, it was very quiet, no neighbours, no streetnoise, no tractors, ... lovely to wake up with the view onto the Shiehallion.


Sofie from Kapellen stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 91 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and very happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us in Maragdubh, even your dog, who had the freedom of the field to play about in, sounds like she had a great time! You did a great job with Henry, you wouldn't have known there had been a dog staying..

It was the first time we visit Scotland and we fall in love with it.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything in the house was more than fine, very complete, we make daytrips to Inverness en Edinburgh. And off course toLochness. We loved the country and the people. And we visit Scotland nex year again.

William from Tegelen stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 91 days ago
Very happy to hear you have enjoyed your first visit to Scotland and your stay in Maragdubh. We are a central location making it possible to do day trips quite easily. Maybe we shall see you back on Dunalastair next year?

Lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location excellent and the welcome from Beatrice was really appreciated. Would recommend to anyone looking for peace, great views, lovely wildlife. Cottage comfortable but could do with a little TLC.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied 104 days ago
It was nice to meet with you and happy to hear you had a nice peaceful week here on Dunalastair taking in the views and the wildlife around. Maragdubh is scheduled for some maintenance over the winter period which should spruce it up.

Beautiful scenery but ....

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Safety issue: the estate manager placed a bull in the field which has the access track (not fenced off) to the cottage and two gates to open and close. Hope that this never happens to anyone else. Had to complain but will say that the estate was prompt in giving a full refund.

Guest from Orpington stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in June 2017


Rose replied 112 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We did apologise to you for a new staff member having made the mistake of leaving a bull in the field with the cows. You also complained about there being cows in the field surrounding the house but we do make it clear in the description on our website that this is sometimes so. The garden is quite secure so there is no danger from them. You booked through a farm holidays website so I assume you expected it to be a working farm.

Absolute Delight

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at Maragdubh over many years and it remains as delightful as ever.

Alan from Sevenoaks stayed at MARAGDUBH for 14 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied 118 days ago
Good to hear that you had yet another enjoyable stay in Maragdubh and hopefully we will see you back again next year.

Fabulous Views

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views from Maragdubh are fabulous and the position of the farmhouse and the surrounding garden make it absolutely ideal for visitors bringing dogs. If you like watching birds fill up the feeders in the garden and put bird food on the front garden wall, you won't have to wait long. A whole variety of birds will keep you entertained. The house itself has a well equipped kitchen, comfortable sitting room and a master bedroom with those wonderful views to Schiehallion.

The only negative is the house could do with a bit of sprucing up here and there, but honestly that is a minor issue and It wouldn't put us off visiting again nor recommending it to others.


Carolyn from Inverurie stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 153 days ago
Maragdubh does indeed have commanding views of the surrounding countryside and is well suited for guests with dogs having a secure garden. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the birds kept you entertained during your stay.

Maragdubh cottage at Dunalistair

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a fantastic relaxing week here with my husband and two grandchildren, and our dog Benji. Everything was fantastic and the boys loved the freedom. The scenery and wildlife are just breathtaking. You have everything provided for you, fully equipped kitchen, bedding,towels and even two starter bags of logs for log burner. Every bit of information you could ask for is at hand and if you need anything you just have to phone either the manageress or Rose the owner, phone numbers are given with booking. We visit regularly and have stayed in most of the cottages, each and every one of them have their own great aspects and can definitely say we have never had any problems with any of the cottages, we even take bird feeding stations with us to leave at cottages for the enjoyment of bird watching. Would definitely recommend a stay at Dunalistair a great getaway for everyone.

Wilma from Glasgow stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 210 days ago
Very happy to hear you had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair taking in the scenery and the wildlife and look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

A week of peace

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd time here. Comfortable and warm, views of mountains. Good base for the Highlands. Wifi worked well too! Perfect again!

Greg from Warwick stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied 216 days ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed another visit to Maragdubh. It is a nice cottage to unwind and de-stress taking in the great views across the valley.

Staying at Maragdubh

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage and surroundings. Plenty to do without leaving the area. good access for drives out of the area.

Robert from Seven Kings stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 230 days ago
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Maragdubh, it is a lovely cottage with great views. Good to hear you didn't have to venture too far to find things to do.

Cozy cottage in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week at Maragdubh. Perfect location for beautiful walks with gorgeous scenery. We will be back.

Debbie from Broxburn stayed at MARAGDUBH for 7 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied 258 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your week in Maragdubh, the weather was good for you most days letting you get out and about. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Brilliant rural escape

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and its secluded location with walking from your doorstep. The kitchens is really well stocked in terms of utensils allowing proper cooking and everything was very clean. It was perfect for us, our kids and the dog.

The wood fire and cosy sitting room were much enjoyed as were comfy beds and large old fashioned (deep) bath!

Little touches like milk in the fridge and tea bags on arrival, useful local info and a hello visit from Beatrice to check everything was OK were great.

We are very much looking forward to returning.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at MARAGDUBH for 3 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied 263 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh. It was nice to meet you all and I look forward to seeing you in the future.