FB Twitter

BRIDGE COTTAGE

BRIDGE COTTAGE

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Very secluded cottage by the water with its own boat. It sleeps 4 in two bedrooms and the rooms look out to the water. There is no TV but there is a dvd player and there is no wifi either. In spite of this, it is our most popular cottage because of the peace and quiet and surrounding wildlife, and the fact you can use the boat at any time (weather permitting). The walk behind the cottage to Macgregor's Cave is a must-do.

Feels like coming home

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again we had a lovely stay at the Bridge Cottage. Which is become ,after so many years of visiting, as our second home.When we arrive for the holidays it always feels like coming home. We can't get enough of this cottage with his stunning location and the wildlife around it. . It's like a fairy house in a fairytale forest.

Jos from Sint Joost stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 28 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. Bridge does seem to have its regulars, coming back year after year like yourselves it is a very popular cottage. The peace and tranquility there set on its own makes a very special place.

Amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place. Didn't want to leave, can't wait to go back. Living without wifi.....what a joy......

Tracy from Nr. Cullompton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied 35 days ago
Thank you for your review. Bridge Cottage is an idyllic place for those who want to get away from it all.

What place,

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bridge cottage is equipped with the things you need, its very clean and so peaceful and relaxing,it's location for us was almost perfect it won't be to everyones taste as it is so secluded and private,the view out of the front windows changed every time you looked it. With the different shades of blue,grey and greens, and due to its location the amount of wildlife you see is unreal,

Nigel from Nuneaton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied 60 days ago
Thank you for your nice review and pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Bridge Cottage. It is the place to go to get away from it all and take in the views looking up Dunalastair Loch.

Amazing place!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Had everything you need and could have happily moved in. Only regret is that we couldn't stay for 2 weeks. Love the location and saw plenty of wildlife. We'll definitely be returning in the future.

Therasa from Basingstoke stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 84 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Bridge Cottage and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Sounds like the wildlife did not disappoint and we look forward to seeing you back sometime in the future.

Bridge Cottage Dunalastair

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of the most beautiful locations we've ever encountered, and the cottage itself was just perfect for our 9 days stay. Manager of the estate Beatrice created a warm welcome and directions to the cottage were excellent - they needed to be because it is out of the way somewhat. Our opinion is that if you want a break from the crazy outside world, where the scenery is breathtaking, the wildlife plentiful, and the solitude healing, then the Bridge Cottage is your destination.

Robert from Figtree stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 9 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied 90 days ago
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Bridge Cottage and it was lovely to meet with you. Bridge is a very popular cottage and its location appeals to many along with all the wildlife that visits.

Lovely remote cottage with own boat.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything excellent apart from the shower. Only take baths if you go here as shower is only a hand one and not meant for using as a proper shower as it covers the bathroom with water and takes ages clearing up.

This is the only gripe as cottage lovely, remote and very comfy and also has the added advantage of own boat for sole use of Bridge Cottage guests.

Great for dogs too as easy walk along lane to cottage beside loch - no traffic of course.


Kenneth from Tiverton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied 126 days ago
Happy to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time in Bridge Cottage. It is a retreat for many who enjoy getting away from it all. The bathroom, with its coombed ceilings makes it difficult to put in a shower however we will certainly look at how we can improve this.

Bridge Cottage - Peace, Tranquility and a haven for Wildlife

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is one of the most relaxing places I have ever stayed. The cottage is secluded, through a gate at the end of a long driveway which runs along the shore of Dunalastair Loch. Beautiful views down the Loch from the front of the cottage, the river runs past the side of the cottage with a small woodland at the back. At the other side of the cottage, there is a path which leads to McGregors Cave, a nice short walk. The property is clean, comfortable and relaxing and the wood burner fantastic for a cosy night in. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might require including a washer and dryer. Beds are comfortable and warm with extra blankets for colder nights. If you are looking to get away from it all, for peace and tranquility and/or love wildlife, this is definitely the cottage for you. The only noise you will hear, is the sounds of nature. There is no light pollution, so on a clear night, stargazing is a must. There are red squirrels playing in the woodland at the back door of the cottage, otters in the river at the side of the cottage, deer roaming on the land within the gate of the cottage, fish jumping out of the water, buzzards and kestrels flying overhead, smaller birds on the bird feeder at the front window, owls and bats in the evening and if you are up early enough, or go for a walk in the evening you will see the mountain hares. There is no TV (bliss) and limited mobile signal (even more bliss), although if you really need it, a short walk along the drive towards the gate will give you full signal. The village of Kinloch Rannoch is about a mile down the road and has a store if you need supplies There is a lovely cafe with good food and fresh home baked cakes which also sells beautiful handmade gifts, books and cards, there is a gallery and the Dunalastair Hotel in the village square which serves food. There are many nice gentle walks in the area, both hill and forest, but if you are looking for something a little more energetic, there is a Munro, the Schiehallion, which is five minutes drive from the cottage. A relatively easy climb most of the way, but a proper scramble at the top which is completely covered in boulders. Unfortunately we were surrounded by cloud at the top, so no views....pick a good clear day. There is a rowing boat provided at the cottage if you want to fish or just go for a paddle around the Loch or down the river. We take our own kayaks so have never actually used the boat, but it's there for you to use if you want. This was our third year staying at bridge cottage and still remains at the top of our list of best holiday cottages. If you just want to get away from it all, this cottage is the place to be.

Kathryn from Glasgow stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 133 days ago
Happy to hear that you had another enjoyable stay at Bridge Cottage and you managed to see the Red Squirrels again. It truly is a special place with all the wildlife it attracts and the views up the loch. I will hopefully see you again in the future with it being your favourite.

Seclusion and natural charm

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge Cottage is secluded without being too remote, and wonderfully peaceful. The cottage is warm, comfortable and well-provisioned, and has a large front window where you can lose hours just watching the weather and the light change across Dunalastair Water and the surrounding hills. The artlessly natural garden is full of birds and red squirrels (make sure you bring food for the feeders with you to avoid being guilt-tripped by the chaffinch who checks them hourly, and can't quite believe it if they're empty!), and we spent hours just sitting in the garden watching them.

Taking out the rowing boat was excellent fun, although it turned out to be a mistake to try to row up the loch against the wind. It's much easier to go from side to side. Our labrador proved not to be a keen sailor - she preferred to splash about on the little beach by the jetty. One's own personal loch must be a labrador's idea of the perfect holiday.

Walking in the area is very good, especially around Rannoch Station. We also did lots of forest walks (Carie, Allean) on warmer days because the dog gets too hot out in the sun, and the shady birch and Scots pine paths are better for her. Don't forget the midge spray though.

Aberfeldy is a pleasant little town, with nice tearooms, shops and an excellent delicatessen that does ready meals if you don't feel like cooking. It's also quiet, in keeping with the peaceful solitude around Dunalastair and Rannoch. In comparison, the crowds in Pitlochry were a bit of a shock, although the sense that there were crowds was a very relative one that only served to emphasise how quiet the forests and hills once you head away from the A9 corridor.

We certainly hope to return to Bridge Cottage to do all the things we didn't quite get around to this time.




Catherine from Grantham stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied 147 days ago
Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Bridge Cottage, it is indeed the cottage people seem to choose to get away from it all without being too remote as you point out. It is very popular and folks do return again and again and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Return to Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another 2 weeks spent in the peaceful surroundings of Bridge Cottage. We had a very pleasant stay. Managed to catch a fish on the loch, after many failed attempts. Wildlife plentiful, Roe deer in the garden and lots of birds. We will be returning next year to this very special place.

David from Church Stretton stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 14 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied 168 days ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the peace and tranquility in Bridge Cottage it truly is a magical place. Good to know you got your fish eventually and the wildlife kept you entertained. See you next year!

A well earned rest at Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time booking one of the cottages on Dunalistair Estate. The really positive reviews and being booked well in advance peaked our interest. We seemed to have all four seasons in the four days but this just made the landscape all the more dramatic.

Inside, with a log fire burning, we enjoyed the comfort of such a beautiful cottage. There is a lot to be said about not being able to access wifi or your phone. With the distractions of social media out the way you bring to take notice of the beauty of simplicity and the wonder of nature.

We were there for 4 days but plan 7 next time!


Thomas from Glasgow stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 4 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 241 days ago
I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit at Bridge Cottage. It is the place to be if you want to get away from it all. Look forward to seeing you again.

Stress free at Bridge Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been here many times now and it is still amazing, the location, cottage, views, fantastic.
De stress here for a week and you won't be disappointed.


Margaret Jane from Jedburgh stayed at BRIDGE COTTAGE for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied 245 days ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Bridge Cottage, and good to know that you have gone home feeling de-stressed. It was nice to meet with you and look forward to your next visit.