FB Twitter

Baincraig Lodge

Baincraig Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Baincraig Lodge offers superb self-catering accommodation. This lovely retreat appeals particularly to those who enjoy rural surroundings with plenty of scope for relaxation as well as access to the many visitor activities in North East Fife and further afield in Stirling, Edinburgh and Perth.

The Lodge sleeps four, is centrally heated, double-glazed and beautifully presented. Situated on the lower slopes of a south-facing hillside, Baincraig Lodge is sheltered with lovely views across the Howe of Fife to Falkland and the Lomond Hills. Auchtermuchty village is just a short walk down the lane.

Baincraig Lodge is surrounded by farmland. Children can play safely in the grounds of the Lodge and enjoy watching lambs, alpacas and cattle. Adults can relax over a glass of wine watching the sun set in the west - or enjoy a movie indoors in the warmth.

All your family needs in an excellent location.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Deceptively spacious and ideal for a family of four. Excellent location with beautiful short drives to St Andrews, East Neuk Fishing Villages, Perth, Dundee, and beyond. Very good for accessing day trips to Edinburgh also. We found lots to do for our young family nearby - such as muddy boots farm and Cairnie Fruit farm - both having excellent outdoor activities and play areas.

We appreciated the quiet location a couple of minutes from Auchtermuchty and the lodge was exceedingly well equipped with many extras and comforts.


Guest from Conwy stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge in the beautiful Fife countryside which provides a true break from the noise of modern life. Loved watching the cows out back and the sheep and alpacas out front. You definitely need a car if you're staying here. The delightful village of Falkland is only a short drive away. The larger town of Glenrothes is also within easy distance for groceries and other supplies.

Lorraine from Snellville stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 18 nights in July 2016


Good choice!

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the lodge for a week in July as we had a wedding to attend in St Andrews. There didn't seem to be as many available properties for Fri to Fri as there are Sat to Sat (on our usual Agents' sites), so we were delighted to find Baincraig. Initially, when our son found and suggested Baincraig, I was a little concerned that it did not come from an Agent with the usual Agent's recommendations. I checked the reviews and decided to take the risk. Good move! The lodge was perfect and the proprietors most helpful. There is sufficient distance between the holiday lodge and the proprietors' home to ensure the privacy of all parties. The animals in the adjoining fields were a bonus: young cows and bulls, sheep and alpacas, a large hare and some birds I have yet to identify. There were three of us in the lodge but it would have been fine for four adults. The surrounding countryside is very pretty and walks available from the doorstep. The local organic farm meant it was 'home from home'. We happily recommend the property. Please convey our thanks to the proprietors from three very contented customers.

Wanda from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Peaceful spot, with wonderful views, well equipped and very clean.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view across the valley over a field of sheep and Al pacas was wonderful. Lodge is well equipped and very clean. Wifi works well. Owners very obliging. There were a couple of small maintenance issues (poor sound in bedroom tv, missing power supply for hifi after previous flood, broken stay on French doors requiring you to stand on chair to close). We were able to entertain my in-laws for a seasonal meal. They declared it "homely".

Richard from Romsey stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 6 nights in December 2015


Sarah Scarlett replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review, and for your useful comments about the maintenance issues. We will make sure these are sorted out straightaway. Best wishes, Sarah

Relaxing lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Its spotlessly clean and very well stocked. Its in a quiet pleasant and scenic position. The field nearby has some interesting alpacas and cute little black sheep.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 4 nights in October 2015


Just perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idea location for doing as much or as little as possible in the area. Lovely accommodation to just sit back and relax in. A helpful and good supply of books and brochures.

Alan from Arbroath stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Holiday at Baincraig

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying in Baingraig. We received a friendly welcome from Sarah . We immediately felt at home. Sarah and Alister had thought of everything that one may need on holiday. It was a great area to stay in and very peaceful. Great vista from each window, a constantly moving picture very pleasing to the eye. I would definitely stay here again . Excellent house and hosts.

Guest from Cork stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Beautiful cabin in Fife countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated up a farm track in the pretty village of Auchtermuchty, this cabin is ideal for some rest and relaxation. A car is essential in order to visit the nearby beauty spots of Falkland and Fife's fishing villages on the East Neuk. The nearest large town of Glenrothes is about 8 miles away.

Guest from Snellville stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 13 nights in March 2015


Our stay at Baincraig lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first impression viewing the online information was that the lodge/facilities looked fantastic and this proved to be the case. Everything you need for a short stay is provided including a welcome pack. Our stay was a short winter break and we hope to book in the summer to fully explore the area.

Guest from Carluke stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 4 nights in December 2014


Excellent Holiday Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A true "home from home". A super, well thought out and spacious lodge with absolutely everything you need for a short break and at great value too. It enjoys a beautiful, peaceful location with stunning views and is also ideally placed for discovering all that Fife has to offer.
Highly recommended.


Amanda from Gordon stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 2 nights in September 2014


A great place to stay in Fife!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Baincraig Lodge is a very comfortable lodge in a great location, especially if you enjoy walking and/or mountain biking. A 10 minute walk will get you to the local well stocked Co-op.

We had a warm welcome from Sarah and Alistair and also appreciated the welcome goodies in the kitchen. The accommodation is a good size for 4 people and is very well equipped. The kitchen has everything you could need and there are games, books and maps to cater for all needs.

The free wifi (good strength) and secure storage for our mountain bikes were a welcome added bonus.

We look forward to returning again soon.


Guest from Caldicot stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Clean & tidy accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Baincraig lodge was very clean and provided all amenities. Found it a bit close to the owners home for our personal preference as we like our privacy but otherwise no complaints

Guest from Southampton stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


heaven on earth

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a great stay in a superb cottage. The hosts were friendly and the cottage was better equipped than our own home :-) We truly can recommend this lodge for people seeking a home from home.

Guest from Berlin stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 14 nights in July 2014


A beautiful haven in Fife!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break at Baincraig Lodge. It is a lovely lodge, with everything you could possibly need provided and in a beautiful setting. The children loved having the animals in the neighbouring field coming over to say good morning! It is such a pretty and peaceful spot but excellent location to access a wealth of attractions. It was an excellent spot for us to venture out from and there were lots of things in the neighbouring towns and villages to keep up and the children entertained. Sarah was an excellent host and looked after us exceptionally well. Would definitely recommend!

Guest from Croy stayed at Baincraig Lodge for 6 nights in July 2014