FB Twitter

Cologin Farmhouse

Cologin Farmhouse

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Five large bedrooms, two ensuite, two family bathrooms, cloakroom, lounge, dining room, farmhouse kitchen, patio and south facing garden.

10 graduates on a reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything suited are needs perfectly. The house was the right size with a good number of bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped and we did most of our own catering enjoying convivial meals around the dining room table. The Barn was a bonus when we had longer days out with little time for cooking. The area provided lots of excursion possibilities and it was convenient to be just out of Oban but close enough for ready access to shops and ferries.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent. Good food, good beer and friendly staff



Mike from stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in March 2017


Wonderful Place

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Linda for 5 fantastic days in your wonderful house. We´d been 8 people (2 adults and 6 teens) and we had enough space for all of us. The kitchen is a dream!!!!! Stunning place!
I´m German and I hope I could give you an impression of the Cologin farmhouse with my very special English...

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Yessssss! Finger licking good food and veeery friendly stuff! The last evening they opened the Barn especially for us!



Karen from Wittingen stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 5 nights in February 2017


Disappointed

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Nov 2016
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We found Cologin Farmhouse dirty and in need of a total refurbishment. All the floors downstairs were filthy. The dish towels provided were disgusting. Soft furnishings were also in need of a wash/dry clean. Two lamps did not work and an overhead bedroom light. On arrival I had to ask for a bulb for the sitting room lamp as it was missing. Our rental for a weekend was £770 and for that price I expected soap dispensers in all of he bathrooms (we had two!) and a lovely and a lovely, clean house. We were given no key to the house.

Another issue was the water supply. It went totally off, as it is a private water supply, on the Friday night and was not on when we vacated the house on Sunday at 11am.
Our complaints were recognised and we given a total refund....for which we were grateful.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The Barn had no water as well.

William from Arrochar stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in November 2016


Nice place to be based for a week of exploring Oban and the isles

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bedrooms were comfortable , bathrooms clean and adequate , sitting room was perfect but outside of farmhouse was a bit unloved and untidy with rubbish around. Would be useful if a set of basic instructions were included for the various appliances , dishwasher, washing machine central heating and hot water controls. Kitchen area was great for a large group but lacked essential items for group catering , such as non stick frying pan, sharp knives for cooking , chopping boards for vegetables and raw meat , fish slice, enough full cutlery for a group of 11, large serving bowls would be useful as would the following, milk jug , water jug, tea towels and it would be useful if there was a bit more attention to detail prior to guests arriving. When we arrived the dish washer was still full of waste water and many of the cooking pans and cutlery required thorough washing before we could use them. Jim the owner and manager was very helpful and friendly and dealt with any issues very quickly and professionally.

Brian from Lochgilphead stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2016


Oban holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The family enjoyed the offered upgrade from chalet to farmhouse accommodation. The house was very roomy, particularly the kitchen, which seated 7 and bedrooms were generally well furnished and comfortable.
If I may set out the minus points, then the hot water storage system (one hot water tank) on such a large house is not adequate. In my opinion, the hot water immersion temperature control is set dangerously high. Our 3 year old Grandson, was found naked in the bathtub, wrestling with the hot water tap, which we had deliberately turned of with some force. Had he succeeded in turning on, or if an older sibling had run the hot water, then severe scalding could have occurred.
One double upstairs bedroom would have benefitted from a chest of drawers, as our smalls had to remain in our suitcase.
Games for children, ie chess etc. are incomplete, so unusable on the rainy days, therefore better removed.
The downstairs bedroom ensuite door handle and snib (does not align) require the attention of a joiner. Both Granddaughter and I received very sore fingers, when trapped between door handle and door jamb. Solution - move door handle to correct position.
Upstairs showerroom shower head needs to be removed and cleaned as partially blocked, therefore restricted flow inadequate. Toilet seat loose and requires adjusting/new fittings. Would suggest fitting lock to upstairs bathroom door to ensure privacy. Please note that the aforementioned comments are intended for Linda's assistance.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We stayed approx. 10years ago, when menu included red Thai curry, spicy prawns etc. Menu boring for adventurous diners, therefore Oban preferred.

Duncan from Abernethy stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2016


Linda Battison replied 281 days ago
Thank you for your detailed feedback and suggestions. It's difficult to make structural changes during the summer season but we will certainly look at moving the door handle this winter. I have turned the immersion down for the hot water - as the 4 showers are independent of the hot water tank it should be more than adequate for the two bath tubs. I am so glad that you still enjoyed your holiday.

A stay in the farmhouse.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse is a great place to get away, lovely and relaxing. The space is fantastic for a large family holiday. Would stay at Cologin again for a break.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Lovely relaxing place for a meal or drink.



Heather from Buckhaven stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2016


Group of SCUBA divers in for a very comfortable week

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant accommodation, only 5 minutes drive from Oban, and 10 minutes from the local dive centre, very convenient for us.
-Big, clean rooms with comfortable beds.
-Ample bathrooms for everyone, even with 9 of us getting up and going to bed at the same time.
-Central heating meant we were always warm and dry.
-Plentiful car parking space.
-Nice views.
-Barn bar good for a cheeky drink or some food when time was lacking.
-Large kitchen so cooking for a host of 9 was again no trouble.
-Help provided when needed.

Only con is that our wifi seemed to stop working toward the end of our stay, however the site wifi was still available so we weren't lost at all.

Highly recommend, photos on the website don't do it justice!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Meals very good range and value, served quickly and a large number of beverages available considering the size and remote location.

Christopher from Chorley stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in June 2016


excellent holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 24th visit to cologin ,testiment in itself and can't wait to return.great food and wonderful atmosphere. The scenery is magic.the local fishing is excelled .Charlie Verdon

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
great



C from Rathtrum stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in June 2016


A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Cologin. We stayed in the main house which was spacious and had all the important facilities. The setting proved to be perfect for our group - three families with six kids in total and a dog. In the mornings and evenings, the kids and dog played in the children's play area, in the garden, around the stream or on the grass while the adults relaxed, ate or had a drink at the bar. The site is isolated and surrounded by hills which make it private, secure and peaceful. Each day we went out exploring the area - there was plenty to do within a short drive of the site. The staff were always friendly and helpful.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great ales on tap, food was good hearty pub food with local specials.

Jon from Dolgellau stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in May 2016


A cosy haven in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lerags is such a special glen, beautiful walks for all ages and abilities, so much to see and so many friendly faces. The farmhouse is so comfortable, and if you can't be bothered to cook or fancy a glass of fizz it's right next to a great pub!

Julie from stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in May 2016


family break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family break to celebrate my husband's retirement from work and were very pleased with Cologin Farm. We had 2 dogs with us and they were well catered for with great walks and no concerns about them in the farmhouse as it was wooden floors so worked well. Would recommend any time.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good and helpful staff.



Jeanette from Denny stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2016


Scotland at its best

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was ideal for all of us but especially my 94 year old father who cant climb stairs. It was a fabulous week and garden birds were a treat to watch on the feeder we put out. Its so convenient having the brilliant Barn Bar next door. My only disappointment was the fishing. After bringing all my trout gear up on the train, with eager anticipation of a fresh trout for breakfast, I found the path to the loch virtually impassable with deep slippery mud and water for half a mile or so. It was actually quite dangerous for a lone walker in such a remote place. You cant change this, i know, but it would be worth saying wellingtons are essential most of the year. I never did get to cast a fly.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The Barn was brilliant. Staff so friendly and helpful, food good and varied and real ale top class. Special thanks to Mary and the Team.

David from stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2016


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry about the path to the loch - Scottish Water have contractors re-fencing the Water pumping station and their only access is by quad up the track from our farm. I have spoken to them about the state the paths are in but with such a wet winter it is inevitably going to lead to some damage - I had not appreciated how muddy the path was and will definitely advise our guests that wellies are necessary! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and next time we will make sure you get up to the loch to fish - perhaps on the back of our quad!

A great climbing week

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group was seven men for whom the 5 rooms provided 3 singles and two twins. There is an abundance of showering etc facilities which was welcome when we all returned together. Plenty of space and whilst no specific drying room, the kitchen boiler and plenty of hanging space ensured this was not a problem. The hosts' willingness to be last minute flexible over unforeseen arrival and departure times was much appreciated. None of us has any complaints and several asked for their thanks to be passed on. An unexpected addition was the bar with good beer and meals next door which was open at the weekend.

Anthony from Oldham stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in February 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Dec 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent break , great value for money ,the farmhouse was really homely and fantastic facilities ,the barn was great for food and drink . Hope it will be available for next year thanks again

Garry from Glasgow stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in December 2015


Fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked up for a few nights away with my wife, 2 very young kids, my parents and my two dogs. We were looking for peace and quiet in a rural location.
The farmhouse was immaculately clean, very big and all the beds were comfy. The house was warm on arrival and stayed toasty while we were there.
The site was really well kept and the pub, which was a 30 second walk from the house, was well stocked, had good ale on tap and was friendly. Even my 2 black labs were made welcome and had a ball until closing time! The location is even better as although it's rural and hidden, it's only 2.5 miles away from Oban.
We had a great time and will definitely go back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good and friendly. Hampshire and Isla the blacks labs loved it!

David from Callandar stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in October 2015


A family short break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

House looks a bit dated particularly outside, but it is an old farm house, so no real surprises.
It has all the amenities you would ever need and has plenty of room and is great for the dogs.
Also worth noting that phone signal is poor dependent on network, great if you don't want contacted but they have wireless which works perfectly.
Scenery and location is a joy and be prepared for a walk if you want to go fishing in the loch as its a good 25 mins up hill to get there.

Overall the visit was great and the whole family really enjoyed it and it is only a short drive to the centre of Oban

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar has a really good warm and friendly atmosphere, the prices are very reasonable and the staff were great. If you want to eat I would pre book as it gets very busy, they had musicians in on the Sunday when we were having dinner which was a great touch.

Paul from Bathgate stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in September 2015


Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in the Cologin Farmhouse a few times now and it is a wonderful place. The scenery is beautiful and there are loads of tings to do in the local area. We visited some of the Islands this time using the local ferries. All the people were friendly and helpful. Sleeps 12 people conformably so it a great way to catch up and spend time with family and friends.

Very relaxed and we all have a chance to unwind.

Would definitely recommend.


Diane from Wirral stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in August 2015


Cologin Farmhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cologin Farmhouse is a good quality and well appointed holiday home. The position is good and it is particularly useful being adjacent to the Barn restaurant. Our family enjoyed their stay there very much but we have the following suggestions for improvements.
1. It would have been useful to have had an introduction from the owner or manager on our arrival.
2. The taps in the kitchen were difficult to turn on and off.
3. The dish-washer did not always clean the dishes 100%.
4. Simple, basic instructions for the oven would have been helpful.
5. Dealing with rubbish was a chore and the overall system could be improved.
6. The heating system is complex and difficult to control.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The food was of a high quality, the atmosphere was enjoyable but the service was very slow.

Guest from Fortrose stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2015


Colligin early July 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house with much space to accommodate ten easily, and perhaps more. Good fire and barbecue, which was used, very comfortable house.
Slightly outside of Oban so a car is required to get around.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
yes, good food.



Guest from Glasgow stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2015


A great place to stay for large groups

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had booked for a group of guests coming for our wedding. They loved it! Perfect for large groups, plenty of seating, great barbeque area outside, lovely comfy beds, modern and at the same time holds a great amount of old farmhouse charm.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Barn Bar is amazing!



Guest from stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 4 nights in April 2015


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such positive feedback. I am so pleased your group enjoyed their stay and of course delighted that you also chose to get married in the Barn Bar at Cologin! Wishing you and your new husband a long and happy life together - we are thrilled that you will remember us at every anniversary.

cologin farmhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cologin farmhouse was great for our family holiday. Everyone had a great time.
The house felt very homely & although it was clean and well kept we didn't feel anxious having young children with us.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the barn.
We hope to come again.
Janet

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
good food, friendly staff & able to cope with our large group with no problems.



Guest from Stonehaven stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2015


A great family holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cologin Farmhouse is big - there was plenty of room for the eight adults and five children in our family group. The kitchen is well equipped with an Esse range as well as a cooker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, toaster etc. The dining room comfortably seated all of us. The comfortable lounge has freesat tv and there's WiFi for £10 a week - there seemed to be no mobile netwaork coverage around the area but there's a landline phonebox.next door.
There's a nice little playpark for the kids and the area is quiet and safe. We had a great comfortable week's family holiday there and can thoroughly recommend it.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We ate in the Barn one evening and the service and food were great. Had drinks another couple of night- good atmosphere and there was an ad hoc group of musicians one evening

Guest from Cupar stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in October 2014


holiday stay at Coligin

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was very well kept and the set up of the barn being so close was great. The staff were very helpful over our stay in fact i left a wallet and passport behind. When contacted they were very helpful in finding and returning these items to where i had moved on to. Since our stay several friends have booked up for weekends in the future with their kids and families. Close to Oban but with onsite facilities including live Scottish music and great food in the pub and a play area for the kids.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very nice food was well presented and live music some nights.

Guest from Paisley stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in September 2014


It was a lovely farmhouse, kitchen was fully equipped and we enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had booked the farmhouse for a family holiday, the space and number of bedrooms was ideal. I was slightly disappointed that there was only 1 game and we had to go into Oban to buy some, our group isn't into jigsaws which were available. The location was ideal, close to Oban but in a rural setting, we enjoyed several walks. everyone we met was very helpful and friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would recommend the farmhouse to others.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We had 1 meal, it was good wholesome food.



Guest from London stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in August 2014


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry you did not find enough games in the farmhouse - there is a whole trunk of them in the Barn Bar for guests of all our properties to borrow as they require. I will make sure our welcome folder is updated with that information - sadly we don't leave games in our properties now as too many are packed along with the luggage! Having a central supply seems to work much better, but of course that's not much good if you didn't know where to find them! Glad you enjoyed the house - it is very popular with many repeat customers who appreciate it's size and homely character.

Cologin Farnhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Really think this property is overpriced for the area.
We paid for the wifi then could rarely use it as it rarely worked.
Complete lack of information in property as to where things were, bins etc. We finally found sheets of paper with some info on it, this was in a mess in between the games boxes. Ideally this should be checked and on view in hall for each new client.
We had trouble drying washing. A clothes airer and washing line would be handy!
Some of the bathrooms had no working locks, not ideal when you have different family groups sharing!
We had to clean quite a lot of the oven dishes and trays before we could use them.
The dishwasher made the dishes even dirtier!!!
Oh and maybe better signs as to where the reception is, got a wee bit fed up with folk coming to our cottage door cos they thought it was the reception!
As an extended family, we hire holiday cottages every year in different areas of Britain. Cologin was the most expensive, we normally pay around the £10000 mark for 5 bedrooms during July so to pay £16000 we were expecting something special, sadly this was not worth the extra money. The site looked tired and messy.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Dalgety Bay stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2014


Oban family boating week

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Farmhouse and found it was perfect for our purposes. There was plenty of room- and loads of bathrooms which were much appreciated after a long day at sea. We had a bit of difficulty with some of the kitchen appliances, but overall rate the accommodation very highly. It was also great to find a place which allowed us to take our dogs.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Isle of Lewis stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 7 nights in May 2014


Great property and location. Disappointing response to our feedback at end of stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Rooms are comfortable and the layout is fantastic. Lovely surroundings . Idyllic , secluded situation but close to main roads for other local attractions. Well equipped for the number of people with well appointed patio. As a group of friends we found the accommodation very suitable with regard to the layout of the bedrooms and number of bathrooms. Kitchen well equipped however, gas hob needs a little care and attention,( which we will mention to the owners before we go). The Barn Bar next door has food , which we did not try, but really handy if you don't want to cook or drive. No noise at all was heard from the bar in the house. Super dark skies for star gazing.
Post Script to the above which we drafted at the end of our stay before loading up the car to leave.
Before leaving we brought some matters to the owners attention which had caused some nuisance value. We were though disappointed with the owners response. She dismissed feedback about bedroom curtains not screening out daylight effectively (on very large bedroom windows) as insignificant. For us, being woken at the crack of dawn on a non-work day / having a relaxing weekend break was pretty unwelcome. If you wouldn't like this either this may not be the best property for you. I should say though that I found this in the bedroom I slept in and don't know about the others. We also had problems with the water being scalding hot and then too cold as a result of having turned the water tank off because it was unusably hot. The owner explained that the water was usually heated by the 'Esse'? and the inference was that this would have provided comfortable temperatures. Suggest it would be worth checking in advance / on arrival to know what you need to do to avoid problems with water temperature. Similarly the heating controls were not clear, which meant we were too hot at night and we also found the oven controls unclear (this included a chef among us) which meant we had a very late dinner one evening, missing the music night in the barn as a result!. All of which we had taken in our stride, without major concern. We would though have hoped for a better response from the owner and assurance to address for the future. In the absence of which, although it was otherwise a good property in a great location we are unlikely to return or to recommend without giving the above information.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Dumbarton stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in April 2014


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
The curtains are fully lined and good quality! All of the bedrooms face East and we have never ever had a guest complain about waking up in the morning to sunshine! As you have said in your review the problems that you had with the water temperature were due to someone in your group changing the settings - which cannot be done when the Esse is on. We take all feedback seriously and as soon as you had departed we had the plumber out to check the water and heating system and he could find no faults with it. I am not sure why you had a problem using the cooker as it is a very simple oven, but we are considering putting a larger cooker into this property as in the summer guests do request that the Esse is turned off - which leaves just one oven in the kitchen. There was a problem with the gas hob - the rings had not been put back on properly after cleaning. As we live on site, any issues such as this could have been resolved immediately. I am of course pleased that you had a good break despite everything and I do hope you will return to Cologin in the future.

Great property in need if a little updating

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Mar 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great property but could do with a deep clean and a few things fixing. We were here a year ago and the same things are still broken. I would say in the current condition thus is good 3 star property but not the 4 stars it claims.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Hawthorn stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 3 nights in February 2014


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback - it is an issue that we are aware of, however, trying to get access to the farmhouse which has proved an incredibly popular letting property has meant that some things have had a temporary 'fix' and we have now scheduled a major refurb for this spring. Part of the problem appears to be too many folk staying in a house that is not designed to accommodate more than 10 adults and this season we will be more rigourous in enforcing this condition as it does mean that the wear and tear is worse than it should be. I hope you enjoyed your stay at Cologin and the next time you visit you will see some improvements!

Home from home!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our sixth year here with our family. We love location in Glen with pub next door. The children love the music session on Sunday afternoon. The house is needing a bit of upgrade. one or two beds getting " tired " and there are a few minor repairs needing done. However everything a family requires for cooking, showering and comfort are here. We will be continuing our yearly trip for many years to come. Looking forward to next year already.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Dundee stayed at Cologin Farmhouse for 4 nights in February 2014