FB Twitter

Culls Cottage

Culls Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
5.0


Culls cottage is a beautifully restored cottage dating from 1670's. A perfect combination of old world charm with all the modern conveniences of today. It has a contemporary, relaxing feel with a palette of white and neutrals. With an inglenook fire, underfloor heating and goose down duvets, it is snuggly in winter and in summer the large garden is a haven to enjoy. The property has off street parking. The Guardian newspaper chose it as one of the five coolest cottages in The Cotswolds.

Cosy cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, cosy cottage, beautiful garden, very clean, extremely well equipped, fantastic customer service.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cull's Cottage is situated in Southrop, a quaint Cotswolds village. The cottage itself is very nice, its well-maintained and very comfortable and the kitchen has absolutely every utensil you need. My wife loves cooking, and she was impressed. Moreover, we were lucky with the weather as the sun was out almost every day!



Peaceful Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Culls cottage many times and It's always a pleasure. The garden is beautiful and the cottage very comfortable. We love the eco friendly focus and the considered way the cottage is furnished and presented. For those who want to stay connected we found the broadband an added bonus, with impressive speeds given the rural setting. There is a fantastic pub within walking distance (the Swan) with a great menu, quality ingredients and cooking to match. Culls also has a lovely wood fire to accentuate the cosy cottage feel when the evening draws in. Great place.



A wonderfully relaxing stay in a fabulous cottage in picturesque countryside - perfect UK getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Culls Cottage; thank you to Chris and the team. The cottage is gorgeous and welcoming and we felt at home the moment we walked in. It is in a perfect Cotswolds location with beautiful surrounding villages. We will definitely come again!



Anniversary weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Culls cottage was a wonderful location for a celebration weekend with friends. The cottage is beautiful and kitted out just as if you were at home. We really enjoyed the lovely garden and having the various seating areas outside. Dinner at The Swan in the village was excellent. South top is charming. All in all a perfect combination! Highly recommended.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed just three nights at Culls Cottage. It's a beautiful cottage with a stunning garden. Sadly the weather was cold and inclement so we were not able to enjoy the garden, but it's idyllic, with lovely garden furniture in a few different places to help enjoy the best bits of it. It's been well designed and planted beautifully.

The cottage is also lovely, although I personally found the furniture/furnishings too modern for the era of cottage. For a cottage that purports to be eco I would have thought that old/antique furniture would have fitted the brief and the character of the cottage better. Nice thick traditional curtains, squishy sofas, indulgent beds, feather pillows and muted colours would look amazing in Culls Cottage, but that's my personal opinion.

The toiletries and champagne was a nice touch, as were the flowers in many vases dotted around. To meet the eco credentials though I would have also liked to have seen no light/air coming in (=heat escaping) around the back door (add draught proofing etc) and despite the cottage being listed there could be secondary glazing on many/all of the windows (I know as we have it in our listed cottage). An air source heat pump would also work well with the under floor heating, and give the owners the RHI income.

The bathrooms were very nice as was the kitchen. Sadly we were working so we spent very little time in the cottage itself. However, we did spend a lot of time exploring the area which is stunning. Dinner at The Swan in Southrop was excellent and I can also recommend the Five Alls at Filkins.




Chris Burton - Owner replied 206 days ago
Thank you for your review Sarah, it is always good to hear from guests. I am sorry the weather wasn't more accommodating for you to be able to get out in the garden much. I hope that the weather didn't spoil your Classic Car event. I do take on board your comments about the furnishings - however we do market Culls Cottage as a contemporary designed space rather than the traditional Cotswold style. I feel that there is a great choice of traditionally styled properties in the Cotswolds so I chose to offer an alternative which is more in keeping with my own style and taste. The website's many photographs show our interior design style. Our furniture is all sourced from sustainable sources and we use natural fabrics wherever possible in keeping with our eco-accreditation and values. While feather pillows are enjoyed by many they do raise issues of allergy reactions and so we have chosen to offer guests hypo-allergenic pillows. Regarding our Eco Accreditation, we are audited each year by Green Tourism and have held a Gold award since we opened. Eco-friendliness is a never ending job and often things are a trade-off between practicality for our guests and the counsel of perfection. I agree a heat source pump would be lovely but sadly funds don't run to that at the moment but we do buy 100% green electricity and have countless other energy and water efficiency savings. Re the heat loss through the windows and doors. We want the cottage to be as light-filled as possible hence we chose white curtains. But the curtains are all thermally lined to minimise heat loss. Cutting drafts out from the cottage could be desirable but we do need the cottage to breath, which is why we have chosen to not hermetically seal it. Our lime plasterwork survives better when we do have some air circulation. Great that you managed to try The Swan and The Five Alls, they are both excellent food pubs. I do hope we can welcome you again, hopefully in the summer months so that you can get the full benefit of the garden and thank you for all your comments. With very kindest regards Chris

Lovely cottage in Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and luxurious cottage, with beautiful garden, in stunning location. The owners should be proud. Lots for adults and kids to do nearby. Made for a special holiday.



Beautiful village and delightful cottage and garden

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a wonderful short break and just sad it couldn't be longer. Beds were comfortable, kitchen really well equipped, bathrooms spotless and the garden is glorious. The communal space is quite small for 5/6 people but the good sized garden is wonderful. Village is beautiful as is the surrounding countryside. Choose a sunny day to walk across the fields to Eastleach for lunch at the Victoria Inn. Chris is so helpful. We do hope to return... for longer next time!



Perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Culls cottage team were very accommodating and helpful.

The cottage is beautiful and comfortable and very well stocked with all the essentials - we would love to return when we're not working to fully appreciate it!




An ideal holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break at Culls Cottage which was warm and welcoming on our arrival. When we lit the wood burner in the evening this added to the cosy ambience. Everything we could ever need was already provided, so much attention given to detail, fresh flowers everywhere - even in the superb bathroom and the shower room. To open the curtains in the morning and see the lovely extensive garden is a delight - we even caught a glimpse of the first snowdrops pushing through. The Swan is recommended for dining out but we equally enjoyed cooking our own meals in the well equipped kitchen. Southrop is a lovely village and also within reasonable driving distance we were able to enjoy time in Oxford with lovely shops and the Ashmolean Museum, Lechlade on Thames, Witney and the Cotswold Wollen Weavers at nearby Filkins. We know there is so much more to see and do and so a return visit is a must. I highly recommend this first class holiday accommodation.



Faultless Cotswolds stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Culls Cottage as a getaway weekend break. Not that a weekend was enough to take in the area and the pubs/restaurants, the easy walks and the lovely villages. Try the stroll to The Swan, five minutes' walk rewarded with great food, wine and beer. Thames footpath at Lechlade was a super walk on crisp sunny day. Burford town has amazing high street of beautiful old buildings and a classic, proper, butcher...Castles.
Cottage had all we needed to cook our dinner. Hooray for proper sharp knives in a self-catering cottage. We will come back likely in warmer months to lounge in inviting garden.




Comfort in every sense

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in a picturesque village, this cottage provided an ideal base for our family's pre-Christmas escape. It is a soothing place, comfortably furnished and fully equipped yet retaining its character. The location was ideal for us, permitting easy day trips to Bath, Oxford, and Stratford in various directions. We also had brief, very nice experiences with nearby Thames Path segments and farm markets, which could fill a stay in their own right. And the lovely garden behind the cottage made us wish to return in a warm season as well.



Booking for a wedding weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked both Culls Cottage and nearby Chestnut Cottage for the weekend of our wedding at Stone Barn. Both cottages were perfect for the occasion - each near a village pub so we could have dinners with our respective families and friends the night before with plenty of parking.

Culls Cottage is both cosy and light and very equipped with everything you might need for any eventuality! The owners had kindly put out some dried lavender from the garden to burn in the woodburner and more than enough logs were supplied to keep the fire burning all evening. The owners were also incredibly accommodating with the additional bedding and have been incredibly helpful in the retrieval of a bluetooth speaker which was accidentally left behind.

The cottage is expensive but the amenities, beautiful location and quality of service all justify the cost. Thanks very much for having us - we will definitely be looking to stay again!