FB Twitter

The Old Cheeseloft

The Old Cheeseloft

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Old Cheeseloft is a comfortable spacious two storey dwelling, sleeping up to five, with a Sumo Dowling multifuel burning stove, and central heating throughout, by means of radiators and underfloor heating downstairs, and radiators upstairs.

Aperfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fifth visit to Ross Bay with a further three already booked.What more can I say!!!A fabulous cottage with amazing views bettered only by the chocolate cake that sits invitingly waiting for you on arrival..A warm kettle and a welcoming smile from Sue and her adorable family make you more than at home.We fell in love with this area when we first saw it and you will not find better accommodation or a warmer welcome anywhere.



Sue replied 31 days ago
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it makes us really happy that our guests return and feel a home from home, along with planning return stays with us in the future. The beautiful area in which we live is always a draw to return we are sure!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Ross bay was fantastic, the house, views, walks, the hosts and luckily for us the weather.
Can't wait till we go back.




Sue replied 45 days ago
Thank you for this delightful review, short and simple, the weather always makes a good holiday even better! We look forward to our guests return.

Fantastic holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage in a brilliant location. Very clean, spacious and well equipped. The cake and ice cream were a welcome treat. We have already booked our next holiday in the cottage. We have also recommended the cottage to friends and family.



Sue replied 51 days ago
Thanks for this super review, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, treats and the location, and look forward to welcoming them back!

We will be back

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Ross Bay retreat and once again it was brilliant. The view from the properties is stunning and everything was spot on. We will be back



Sue replied 56 days ago
Thank you for this great review, we like the phrase "everything was spot on!" Look forward to your return.

We thought the best couldn't get better...

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
..but it just has. We had an amazing stay in The Old Cheeseloft. The cottage is beautifully furnished and kept, the area is amazing and the country was waking up for Spring - we saw hares, red deer, red kites and numerous birds, and that was just from the balcony! Friends were staying in Creel Cottage and they fell in love with the area as we have. We bumped into a Galloway Wild Foods foraging tour on Carrick Shore which was fascinating, and did a printing course at Kirkcudbright print studio. Sue's chocolate cake, and the warmth of the whole family's welcome are wonderful - to be honest, you'd come back just for the cake...



Sue replied 65 days ago
What a review to have received - thank you so much. Springtime is rather special at Ross Bay, we have an abundance of wildlife along with the new farm life, lambs and calves! There is always plenty to see both at Ross and lots to see and do locally too.

I will return

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been before, and I will go back again, I am already looking forward to my next visit. Can I say more? ,



Sue replied 94 days ago
Short, sweet and to the point. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, see you again soon!

Weekend retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rossbay is a wonderful place to relax we love waking up and seeing the sea. The cottages have everything you need and are really well maintained and they are lovely and warm. Truly a place to relax.



Sue replied 140 days ago
Thank you for this super review, we like the title of a weekend retreat, that short stay away to recharge your batteries on the darker winter months, enjoy some peace at Ross Bay.

Warm, winter hideaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I love to give feedback to service providers and the like... and often do it whether they ask for it or not! I rarely have no little nugget of constructive feedback for improvement. Not here though..Sue has thought of everything...it is perfect.
My top tip...pack your flip flops and t shirts whatever the season...the heating system is incredibly efficient...I was baking in sheepskin slippers and a fleece!




Sue replied 170 days ago
Warm, winter hideaway - we really like the title for this review for The Old Cheeseloft. Thank you for taking the time to write us this review and we are overwhelmed that our guests thought that it was perfect - we do like to try hard though!

A very Happy New Tear

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thus was our third visit to Ross Bay Rettreat this year, although our first to the Old Cheeseloft. What has brought us back to these unique cottages, so beautifully situated is a) the warmth of the welcome by Sue, the owner, who is never faraway when you arrive. The heating was on, the kettle boliled ready for a cup of tea to have with the homemade cake and local ice cream. As it was still the Christmas season, the house was decorated, complete with large, lit tree with presents underneath; b) a cottage which can be described, not as a home from home, but as a home you dream about living in some day; c) the magnificent, unspoiled view of the bay and, when there are no clouds, the awesome night sky, seem in the darkness which is a rare occurrence in these times.

We had taken over by this cottage and the next Door Dairy House for a family New Year celebration. There were 11 of us, including 5 active children and everyone remarked on the privilege of being together in such a beautiful place.

With so many happy memories we can now begin to prepare for our next visit tto Ross Bay Retreat in June!

















Sue replied 175 days ago
Thank you for this superb review to kick off the 2017 season. We are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their New Year celebrations down here at Ross Bay. It is always a delight decorating the cottages for the festive period and buying some presents with the hope of making someone smile. The great weather we have had down here have meant walks galore and great star gazing opportunities. Look forward to seeing you again in June.

location location location

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful, well equipped cottage in absolutely amazing location. Very helpful owners. Would love to stay again in the near future.



Sue replied 183 days ago
A little break away before Christmas, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ross Bay. A chance to relax before the big day! We thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review and look forward to seeing you again.

A Real Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect away from it all retreat - perfect for dog owners - plenty of walks from the house,
and facilities for hosing down Fido outside after a muddy walk




Sue replied 220 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We like to think of it as a quiet retreat, walkers paradise and pooches welcome, so that all the family can enjoy some time away!

Ross Bay Retreat -the perfect antidote to life's stresses

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You know as soon as you arrive at The old Cheeseloft that you are a welcome guest and not just another customer. Owners Sue and her husband farm next door, and no sooner have you reached the door then Sue appears carrying a homemade cake and a tub of local ice cream. We stepped into the recently converted, professional designed house which was to be our home for a week. It took some effort to go and explore the area, so reluctant to leave the cottage. The view over Ross Bay was constantly changing and my wife and her friend settled themselves in window seats and painted.

The Old Cheseloft is one of 3 indivually designed cottages, all possessing that subtle touch of luxury which you are reluctant to jleave. The area, though, is worth exploring There are walks, beaches and, for me, Kirkcupbright, 4 miles away is a gem. It has become an artists' town but retains the charm of its past, and fishing boats are moored in the harbour. There are now large stores but enough small shops to keep a browser happy for a week.

This was our second visit this year to Ross Bay Retreat and our 2,daughters and their families are spending new Year there. We have booked for next because I know I shall be ready to Retreat again. Warm welcome, cosy,comfortable cottage and beautiful vistas sum up our stay at The Old Cheeseloft. I almost forgot to mention the spectacular night skies, awesome with no light pollution to mar the view,





Sue replied 227 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this brilliant review. We are really pleased that our guests feel a personal welcome from us on their arrival as we try hard to make all our guests feel special and individual. Its very rewarding that our guests return to stay, and tell friends and family about their stay with us at Ross Bay. Look forward to getting the Christmas decorations up!

Absolutely lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Ross Bay. The house is even better than the last one! Stunning location, fantastic house, nice and warm with beautiful furniture, fittings and decor in every room. Sue and family are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at home. Seeing the deer almost every morning having her nibble of grass at the front of the house was brilliant! We will be back soon! Thanks again Sue.



Sue replied 232 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this humbling review. It says so much, means so much to us, and makes it very rewarding. The deer playing her part is something so special down here at Ross Bay. See you again soon.

Holiday hide away

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent time we had here relaxing great place to unwind so much to do if you are active or chill out watching the tide coming in and going out hope be back again soon



Sue replied 239 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We like the phrase holiday hideaway, we are just out of the way at Ross Bay yet Kirkcudbright is only a short drive away. Hope to see you again soon too.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday at Ross bay, the cheeseloft was absolutely fabulous. The view was spectacular and everything about it was very relaxing. Probably the most relaxing holiday ever. The cheeseloft is very comfortable with everything you need even ice cream in the freezer! We will be back as soon as possible.




Sue replied 253 days ago
Location, location, location and relaxation, relaxation, relaxation is the aim of a stay at Ross Bay! We are please that our guests enjoyed their stay in The Old Cheeseloft and look forward to welcoming them back.

Always a joy

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0



On Monday, 10 October 2016, 17:45, IRENE MCGIVERN wrote:


Staying at Ross Bay Retreat is always a pleasure.Just when we thought things could not get any better we find The Old Cheese Loft.Sue has really excelled herself here and the results are breath taking.Like homing pigeons we just keep going back.A warm and genuine welcome, boiling kettle and to die for chocolate cake is your first introduction to your chosen property and things only get better.Listening to the waves as you snuggle in bed, beautiful walks, a beach close by.Animals, great pubs and lovely shops. Pure perfection.




Sue replied 258 days ago
Homing pigeons is a great expression for our returning guests to use! It is comforting that our guests have enjoyed staying in our other cottages and still enjoy returning to Ross Bay. The sound of the sea and the breeze along the coast make for a great walk, or wildlife spotting. Thanks for this super review.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week at Ross Bay Retreat, it's our 4th visit in the last 10 months and won't be our last. The. Cottages are always excellent and Sue and her family are delightful and can't do enough.



Sue replied 268 days ago
We always try and look after our guests and try and make their holiday special. It is great that our guests appreciate our efforts, and lovely when they return. Thank you for this lovely review.

very good

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and area, Sue is very helpful and her family so friendly, nothing is too much trouble.



Sue replied 269 days ago
Thank you for this lovely simple review which makes us smile!

A fantastic cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Cheeseloft surpassed our expectations, which were high having viewed everything on the website. The location is quite wonderful with glorious sea views (in all weathers!) from the front, the fantastic balconies to sit on and the curlews and herons on the beach just outside. Sue has furnished the cottage with lovely calm colours and the latest, modern fixtures and fittings and there's lots of space. We couldn't have been more comfortable and the fact that you can take your dog with you is just perfect. We loved it - and will be back!



Sue replied 282 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this splendid review. Our aim is to try and exceed our guests expectations and it is delightful to achieve. Listening to and seeing the local wildlife is a privilege and a great experience which we hope our guests relish.

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the Old Cheeseloft for a week in August 2016 - such a beautiful cottage - there has been so much attention to detail with everything - from the fabulous decor and furnishings and sumptuous bed linen to the luxury soap and hand wash in all the bathrooms Added to this the location is stunning - fantastic views out to sea and the countryside around is teeming with wildlife! Cannot praise the Old Cheeseloft highly enough.



Sue replied 303 days ago
It is very rewarding to receive such a lovely review, as we do try our hardest to make our guests feel welcome and cared for during their stay! It is perfect when our guests have time to stop and appreciate the countryside, seaside and all the wildlife just tootling around.

Another great stay at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We discovered Ross Bay a couple of years ago and decided to try out The Old Cheeseloft this year, we were certainly not disappointed. What a beautiful place to stay, it has everything you would need, plenty of space and is spotless. It is obvious that a lot of thought, time and effort have gone into creating such a fabulous haven. The furnishings, fixtures and fittings are all top quality, it is obvious that Sue takes pride in each house and rightly so. We enjoyed the homemade cake, which was amazing, and coffee on the patio with the children (safe and enclosed garden and patio) and a glass of wine in the evenings looking out over Ross Bay. If you are looking for quality accomodation with beautiful and peaceful surroundings with plenty to do near by this is the where you need to be. We enjoyed it so much we took some time out on our last night and booked for next year!! Thank you for a wonderful stay Sue and we will see you next time xx



Sue replied 309 days ago
This is a lovely review for The Old Cheeseloft which is just up and running. We have tried to make each of the cottages slightly different but similar, and really enjoyed thinking of our guests, previous feedback and ideas when we were planning it all! We hope that our guests can arrive, relax, unwind and enjoy their stay with us so it is perfect for us when they book a return visit.

Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time in The Old Cheeseloft, we have stayed in The Dairy House previously, the properties are excellent Sue thinks of everything her customer service is second to none, we always have a restful and lovely time.
We love the area the countryside is beautiful and Kircudbright is a very friendly town with everything you need. We are in The Old Cheeseloft again for a week in September, our fourth visit in ten months so I guess we must like it.




Sue replied 339 days ago
The Old Cheeseloft is just up and running so we are extremely please to receive such a lovely review from guests who have stayed with us before. We like to try and make our guests feel welcome and their happiness during their stay is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming our guests back again later in the year, and wonder which cake they may wish to sample on this visit?

The loveliest place we will ever stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had wonderful holidays in Creel Cottage and Dairy House (returning to Dairy House later this year) and are struggling for superlatives to describe The Old Cheeseloft. Each cottage at Ross Bay Retreat has its own character, and is perfect in its own way. Sue and family have worked wonders with the Old Cheeseloft. It is like staying in a luxurious show home, which manages to feel very welcoming, with everything you need for a perfect holiday thought of, including of course delicious chocolate cake!
The three cottages are very much secluded from each other, and the bay is such a tranquil spot that it's easy to relax really quickly. We settled in immediately and had a great break! There's loads to see and do locally if you can tear yourself away from watching the sea and the wildlife in the bay, and loads left on the list for next time!




Sue replied 360 days ago
We are bursting with pride at our first review for The Old Cheeseloft. When we look back to that empty shell at New Year and read how our guests have enjoyed their stay 6 months later we are pleased with the result. We have tried to have differences in our trio of cottages but maintain the same quality, along with a slightly differing style and theme. Our area is so great for exploring with many superb local attractions for guests to visit, and experience then return to Ross Bay to reflect, relax and idle the time away.