FB Twitter

Creel Cottage

Creel Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 105 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Creel cottage is a comfortable cosy cottage sleeping up to four, with a Dowling multifuel burning stove and central heating.

The open plan L shaped kitchen/ lounge/dining area has leather settees, flat screen TV with DVD player, WIFI, and a lovely oak dining table and four chairs, with some DVDs, board games, toys, books and magazines. There is a Dowling “Firebug” multifuel burning stove for which we will provide kindling, wood or coal for those cosy nights inside with that relaxing toasty feeling.

There is a well equipped kitchen with, quality cutlery, glasses, bowls serving dishes, ample crockery along with microwave, coffee maker, and modern black dishwasher, washing machine and a fridge/freezer. There is a fan assisted oven with electric hob, extractor fan, DeLongi matching kettle and four slice toaster, and coffee maker.

You can prepare a tasty dish with the view of the sea, and sound of the waves as the tide rolls i

Fabulous short break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous short break in a gorgeous location - the freshly baked cake and warm kettle on arrival was such a lovely touch. House was beautiful and comfortable



Sue replied 3 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we are glad our guests enjoyed their short break down here at Ross Bay.

Another great week at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had another wonderful week at Ross Bay, this time in little Creel Cottage, which is so warm and cosy for an autumn visit. Very comfortable with everything you need. Even at this time of year, the view through French doors straight out on to the bay is to die for and I loved the open plan main room. Sue has taken such trouble to think of the little things as well as the bigger ones, including of course the yummy welcome cake and ice cream! Stayed in the newly refurbished Cheeseloft last year, which is beautiful and very spacious - great for larger groups/families - but Creel is also really lovely. We even had a grey seal visiting in the bay one day, along with the usual suspects - herons, curlews and oystercatchers. Happy memories!



Sue replied 13 days ago
Great weeks, and happy memories are what we think holidays are all about so its lovely when our guests have them and tell us about them! Its been a busy week with the wildlife in the bay, and I actually saw the seal sitting on the rocks too - sometimes we can be too busy to stop and look! Thank you for this lovely review.

Judy creel cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely short break, brilliant welcome by owner, and cosy cottage many thanks. End of Ophelia storm was interesting!



Sue replied 25 days ago
Short breaks in the Autumn months are sometimes just enough to enjoy. Storm Ophelia put in her appearance with gusty winds and splashing waves - nice to stay indoors and watch!

Just perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Creel Cottage. From the moment of arrival - the cake, the welcome message, meeting Sue - it felt a special place to be. It is a great base from which to explore the region, but wherever we went it was always a pleasure to get back and have a drink on the balcony, or just sit in the recliners and take in the view. You certainly feel 'away from it all' here; what’s not to like?



Sue replied 31 days ago
"Just perfect" is a great title for this review thank you so much. We are pleased our guests enjoyed their stay and looked forward to returning to the cottage after days our exploring the region.

Nice stay in a rural location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent for looking at the dark sky.
We enjoyed the comfort even in partly wet and windy weather.
We took some nice dark sky pictures...




Sue replied 35 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, we have certainly had some dark skies and some of the lovely pictures taken by our guests are displayed on our website blog.

Baby's first holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time visiting Ross Bay and baby's first holiday! We had such a fab week and filled it with lots of different activities and days out. Sue was on hand as we arrived to welcome us and of course a big tasty chocolate fudge cake and local ice cream! The cottage overlooks the beautiful views of the bay and the someday firth. The cottage had everything we needed and more. Sue was very kind to accept a shopping delivery for us too which made life so much easier with a little one! She really does go the extra mile for you. The cottage is in a great location which lots of places to visit only short drives away. We can't wait to come back again, until next time!



Sue replied 49 days ago
It is lovely to have a family with their first baby stay for their first holiday together - we are so pleased that they enjoyed their time with us and in the area, as it is a memory which will be there forever. We look forward to seeing them again.

Henry and Kate's stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault anything. We are holiday cottage veterans and in every aspect Creep Cittage was the best we have ever stayed in ,welcome,comfort, location, comfort, cleaniness, everything.



Sue replied 77 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, its lovely to say that Creel Cottage was the best cottage our guests have ever stayed in. We look forward to seeing them for their two week stay next year.

Brill time at Creel Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely refreshing stay at Creel Cottage with better weather than anticipated, great time on the beach, lovely walks with Bella our Estrela and a wonderful view. Thank you Sue for your service, hospitality and delicious chocolate cake!!



Sue replied 83 days ago
A brill time is what we wish for our guests to have when they stay with us. Good weather always make a brill holiday better! Thank you for this lovely review.

Relaxing holiday at creel cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at creel cottage was relaxing, and the cottage had lovely sea views. the cottage was spotless, and the beds very comfortable . There were lovely walks from the cottage, and lovely beaches nearby. On arrival we were greeted to a lovely cake with ice cream in the freezer. We enjoyed our stay that much we have booked for next year.



Sue replied 90 days ago
Thank you for this great review, which we really appreciate. It is comforting to know that our guests enjoyed themselves and are coming back next year, we look forward to seeing them again.

All good

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time here; lots to do & a lovely setting. Spent time in the forest & at the beaches. Kircudbright has lots of nice things to see with an good range of traditional & arts shops.



Sue replied 105 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. We are glad that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and the forest experiences, along with some lovely beach time, a relaxing time for all.

Pure relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay and twice as nice as last year (we stayed 2 weeks this time). Beautiful location and cottage immaculate. Everything provided to enable us to have a relaxing time. Even the wildlife co-operated with deer walking along the beach and then past the cottage. The only thing that could improve our stay was good weather and guess what - it was glorious! Will definitely be looking to return next year.



Sue replied 110 days ago
Thank you for this great review, it's perfect when the wildlife cooperate! We are so lucky to share Ross Bay with lots of wildlife, both for us and our guests to enjoy. We look forward to welcoming our guests back again and hoping for some more nice weather too!.

Beautiful cottage, idylic location, if you like to get away from it then this is for you!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage, very clean, well equipped & comfortable in a perfect setting. If you want to get away from it all then this is for you. Lots to do in the area.



Sue replied 112 days ago
Thank you for this super review, we are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their first stay with us, and their first stay in Scotland.

A good time at Creel Cottage...

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel cottage is perfect if you want time away from the hustle and bustle, it is quiet and peaceful with walks from the door. The owners are helpful and keen to make your stay enjoyable.
My advice; take your wellies to explore the muddy bay, a good map and if possible visit Marrbury smokehouse at Carsluith for a wonderful meal.




Sue replied 139 days ago
A good time is what we want our guests to experience when they stay with us at Ross Bay, so we thank them for giving us this lovely review of their stay.

Its like travelling back to home.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another amazing stay in Creel Cottage at Ross Bay. As always, the cottage was in an immaculate condition when we arrived and our cake 'the best ever'! Met by Sue with her usual warm, friendly greeting. She had filled our fridge with our earlier Tesco delivery and the wine was chilled just right. Thank you Sue. We have travelled extensively over the years and I believe you will be very hard pushed to find somewhere so beautiful, calm and relaxing as this. This was our 4th visit and we have another 2 planned. Wish we could be there more often. See you all in August.



Excellent cottage in enviable location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage over looks the water and has been renovated with taste and style.Excellent cottage very comfortable and clean. Helpful Owners on site. About 5 miles from Kircudbright which is well worth a visit.



Sue replied 146 days ago
Thank you for writing us this delightful review, it says a lot in a nutshell!

Wish we were still there!!

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Creel cottage. Whatever the weather it does not disappoint, views to die for in a peaceful setting. It's the ideal place to relax and unwind with plenty of options to see and do if you want too. A proper home from home nothing is too much trouble. Counting the days till next years holiday already and Sue's homemade cake.



Sue replied 171 days ago
Our guests wishing they were still staying with us, that is a lovely review to have received, thank you. It is amazing how much the view can change from the cottages whatever the weather and there is always something to see or watch with the ever changing tide. Our surrounding area has so much to offer our holiday guests that they really are spoiled for choice when choosing a day out! We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Relaxing in Creel Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Creel Cottage and our fourth at Ross Bay Retreat which I believe speaks volumes in itself. It is two years since our first stay in Creel Cottage and it was everything that we remembered and more. One of the sofas has been replaced by two Stressless reclining chairs to make the beautiful view even more relaxing and the electric shower has been replaced by a much more vigorous one linked to the biomass boiler to ease the aches and pains you may succumb to if you explore this beautiful area. The cottage is exceptionally clean and comfortable with all that you need for your stay, Sue, the owner, is always welcoming and always on hand if you need anything and the cakes, ice cream and the warm kettle are a real treat for when you arrive after a long journey. Add to the comfort the beautiful area with its magnificent coastline and forests both with very good walks and the abundance of wildlife what more could you ask for - oh yes, some sunshine - well we had that as well.



Sue replied 195 days ago
Thank you for this amazing review. It is pleasing that a return visit to Creel Cottage after two years lived up to expectations. We do try and keep our cottages modern, upto date and make improvements where and when we can so it is really nice that our guests notice. It is a great area in which we live and with the perfect sunshine spell we are having at the moment......happy days!

Ross Bay Retreat - a heavenly haven

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Creel Cottage for a week in April - our first time but we are already planning a return visit as we enjoyed it so much. The cottage is delightful, absolutely spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated without any clutter. Sue (and Philippa) certainly have an eye for detail and this was expressed in the furnishings and the little finishing touches that all came together to make the cottage so welcoming and cosy. Everything that one could possibly want, and more, was provided and it is one of the best equipped self catering establishments we have stayed in. Sue's welcome was warm and friendly - the perfect host - and her chocolate cake was absolutely delicious topped off with Cream o'Galloway ice cream, a winning combination.

It was lovely to see the newborn calves and the other animals on the farm and to wake up to the birds' dawn chorus. Also the clear night skies with no light pollution gave perfect views of the stars - magical. The area is a wildlife paradise and we loved seeing the roe deer strolling along the beach in front of the cottage. Views from the balcony across the bay were stunning and we could have stayed there all day. However, we did venture further afield and discovered that as there is so much to see and do in the area a return visit is definitely necessary.

Thank you Sue and our very best wishes to you and your family.




Sue replied 203 days ago
This is a super humbling review, thank you so much. There is not much I can say really, except we are extremely pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and appreciated the cottage, Ross Bay and the surrounding area. It would be lovely to welcome them back to explore more of what Kirkcudbright has to offer.

Extremely high standards all round excellent location and owner is the perfect hostess.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again Creel Cottage has delivered in every aspect. The location and facilities of the cottage are perfect and the fact dogs are made so welcome is a pleasant bonus. Sue the owner is always available to assist should this be required but otherwise you are able to come and go as if it was your own home. A perfect home from home particularly for dog and wildlife lovers.



Sue replied 203 days ago
Thank you for writing us the super review, we are really pleased that our guests and their dogs enjoyed their time with us again. The wildlife around the bay is great at the moment, with red kites, herons, cormorants, roe deer, and owls which have all been seen from the cottage balconies.

Rossbay retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love this place a real place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet and the view of the sea. We feel really relaxed here. Thankyou Sue for a lovely weekend see you in may .



Sue replied 241 days ago
Thank you for writing us this lovely review, relaxation, peace, quiet, calmness watching the busy waves sneak in and out. Look forward to welcoming our guests back in May.

February break in Kircudbrightshire

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel cottage was very comfortable and the location superb, we have already booked another week at Ross Retreat.



Sue replied 259 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review for Creel Cottage. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their February break and look forward to welcoming them back.

Very professional in every aspect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are lookink for a taste of paradise look no further than Ross Bay Retreat the area has stunning views and the most fantastic sun rises your ever likely to see. The accommodation is first class the owners are very profesional people with a touch of class throughout very friendly and helpfull who could ask for anything more will be back asap



Sue replied 273 days ago
Fantastic sunrises and sunsets are in abundance at Ross Bay and they are a delight for us and our guests to see and enjoy. We thank our guests for this super review and look forward to seeing them again.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was ideal for a quiet family holiday. I went with my husband and 5 month old baby girl. We had a great time chilling out and going walks. Sue was lovely and her chocolate fudge cake was amazing.



Sue replied 277 days ago
Sometimes just a short break away is all you need to recharge your batteries in the peace and quiet of Ross Bay. We thank our guests for their lovely review for their enjoyable stay.

Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Creel Cottage. It was beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Sue was so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be back!



Sue replied 339 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, it always means so much when our guests wish to return to stay with us at Ross Bay.

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ross Bay Retreat is a wonderful place to stay! We stayed in Creel Cottage for 4 nights and were greeted by a warm cottage, a warm kettle, chocolate fudge cake and ice cream in the freezer! And as for the view, wow, the view from the cottage is amazing! The cottage was beautiful - well furnished and very clean. We had a lovely few days and would recommend Ross Bay Retreat as a place to stay when you want to get away from it all. Thank you.



Sue replied 350 days ago
Thank you for writing us this lovely review, we are really glad our guests enjoyed their stay and look forward to seeing them again soon when they feel the need to get away from it all!

First time user

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a first time user of holiday cottage accommodation and an individual currently employed in the holiday leisure industry, providing similar accommodation, I have to say the entire experience, from booking to departure was smooth and totally enjoyable. The accommodation provided was absolutely superb, spotlessly clean, and the welcome (particularly the fresh baked chocolate cake) was awesome! We remained warm, comfortable and thoroughly satisfied throughout our stay and left relaxed, batteries recharged and keen to book another break at some point in the future. Well done all concerned.



Sue replied 357 days ago
It is really pleasing that our guests enjoyed their stay particularly as it was their first self catering holiday. We like to try and run things smoothly so it is rewarding that our guests found our whole workings, of booking, communicating and stay enjoyable. Our biomass keeps the cottages cosy which is just what is needed after a walk on a cold and frosty November day!

Simply the best

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate, cosy, superbly equipped, in an absolutely beautiful location, its hard to see how this cottage could be bettered. The welcome is second to none and we couldn't recommend this cottage too highly.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for this super review and great recommendations are always appreciated.

Beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel cottage is a lovely place to stay. Warm and cosy on November evenings and chilly mornings and a magical place to wake to the sound of seabirds and the sun rising over the Cumbrian mountains. Beautiful walks from the cottage with the sea all around you. Wonderful cake and icecream to welcome you and Sue was the perfect hostess, warm and friendly without being instrusive. A wonderful week.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, it sounds so idyllic and really makes me smile. It is so rewarding when our guests have a wonderful week and have made Ross Bay memories forever.

Like being in another world

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is by far the nicest place I have ever been. The spot is amazing and the accommodation is fantastic and spotless. Sue is so hospitable and even made us a beautiful chocolate cake for our arrival along with delicious ice cream. The residence is decorated beautifully with everything you need. Would not hesitate in recommending this place and will without doubt be returning. If you want beautiful surroundings and a clean, homely place this is for you. Sue is a lovely lady and will make you so welcome. Thanks for a lovely holiday.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We really like the review title, as the locals in Borgue say "Out of the world and into Borgue!" We aim for our guests to enjoy their holiday in beautiful Dumfries & Galloway and try to provide great accommodation as a base, so its pleasing to accomplish our aim! Thank you for taking the time to give us this super review.

Could not believe our luck!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Ross Bay and the first in Creel Cottage. As before, we walked in and could not believe we were so lucky to be staying in such a lovely cottage in such a brilliant location! Facilities in the cottage are excellent and very well thought out. Location really good for both walks from the door and also driving to other Galloway locations. Sue's welcome and her home made cake make guests feel very cared for. Thank you!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Its really rewarding to receive a review like this - thank you for taking the time to write this for us. We are fortunate with our location, the other local surroundings and visitor attractions in the area. The nice weather always adds to making a great holiday.

a week at creel cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at creel cottage. It was every thing we expected and more. .we had a very warm welcome and fudge cake from Sue. It was the place to relax and watch the tide go in and out. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. You could not find a more comfortable well appointed cottage. We all went home totally relaxed. Great value for money









Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Everyone enjoys a value for money break away and we are pleased that our guests did just that..... relaxation and enjoyment are what holidays at Ross Bay are all about! Thank you for this lovely review.

Another fabulous rest

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another great stay at creel cottage, no need to venture far in the car , plenty of walks from the front door . Best weeks sleep we've had all year. Loved it. Will return soon



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. Rest, walks, and good nights sleep - that's what holidays at Ross Bay are all about!

All good

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage, great location, very comfortable, good wifi, lovely cake on arrival, all good thanks. Can recommend Kirkculdie fish and chip shop Polar Bites, the Scottish night & Port Patrick. Don't bother with Stranraer. Wigtown good for books. We'll be back 8-)



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for our review - it sums things up nicely! We have so many great things in our area and are grateful to the Kirkcudbright Summer Festivities team for all their efforts and hard work to make Kirkcudbright a brilliant place to visit.

Absolutely fantastic cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage is fab - so comfortable and tastefully decorated with lots of lovely touches -delicious homemade choc cake on arrival plus local ice cream in freezer!Views across Ross Bay breathtaking and saw seals, roe deer and red squirrels - truly magical. Sue and David made us so welcome - thoroughly recommend!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this super review. It is perfect when our guests can spot the local wildlife. We have a roe deer living in the wood at the end of the garden with two young ones, and there are several other groups of deer in the wooded areas around the farmland. The seal can be spotted occasionally in the bay but is a little shy this year!

excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where to start, Ross Bay was beautiful, the views were perfect and the peace and quiet was heavenly. The cottage was so comfortable, we really enjoyed staying there, and Sue and family could not have been kinder and more welcoming.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely simple review which encapsulates your stay here with us for the week!

Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage has everything you need for a truly wonderful holiday. It is spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm, and beautifully decorated with lots of thoughtful touches to add to your relaxation. The living room has a small balcony which looks out over the fabulous Ross Bay, just metres away, where you can sit and hear the curlews calling and watch the tide sweeping in and out. There are lovely walks to take right on the doorstep and other bays to visit (if you need to!). The nearby harbour town of Kirkcudbright is pretty and interesting and has a lively arts scene (as well as an excellent fish and chip shop!). We loved our holiday and thank Sue and her family who ensured we were well looked after.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a superb review and review title - thank you very much. Our guests contentment and happiness on holiday is important to us, so it is great when they have a good time. We are pleased that Creel Cottage is providing accommodation for our guests to enjoy the great views and explore our wonderful area and all it has to offer.

A little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we loved the location and the cottage. Waking up to the views is fantastic. Very well equipped and very clean, we didn't need anything except good weather (which we were actually quite lucky with) The owners are very friendly and provided lots of information regarding the surrounding area. Had a fantastic time and we will definitely return.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. Living here at Ross Bay, we too enjoy the location and views with the ever changing tidal scene, which is always better with sunshine!

Pure relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and location were all we could have asked for. Lovely quiet location and the cottage was amazing. The photographs, although good, do not do it justice. To be honest there is nothing that we would want changing. Will definitely be trying to re-book for next year.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review. It is lovely to read that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and rebooking guests are a pleasing attribute for our efforts!

Beautiful place, lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super week at Creel Cottage. Fantastic view, extremely well equipped, clean, dog friendly accommodation. Sue very friendly and welcoming, chocolate cake excellent and a thoughtful touch. We will return.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A review title which is lovely makes us really happy. Thank you for giving us this super review of Creel Cottage, and it would be great to have these guests return to visit us again at Ross Bay.

Our happy place.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly greeted by Sue on arrival. A home baked chocolate cake and locally made ice cream was waiting for us. We had previously arranged a delivery from Tesco and that had, very kindly, been unpacked for us.We stayed in Creel cottage which is perfectly positioned near the beach. Sun shining through the double patio doors in the morning and on the garden at the rear later in the day. Sitting on the terrace at the front watching the tide come and go is so peaceful. Having expressed interest in the farm, Sue and her family went the 'extra mile' to involve me in some activities. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We came home calm and relaxed and immediately booked another visit!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Our happy place is a lovely review title and make me smile inside. Our aim is for our guests to feel happy, enjoy their stay and leave feeling that they "have been away from it all". It is super when our guests book a return visit which really tells us they enjoyed their stay!

Fabulous Cottage, Amazing View!!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage was way beyond our expectation even though I had viewed the website many times before my visit, nothing prepared me for the moment we walked in and opened the French doors. The view was out of this world, unspoilt and idyllic.

We have stayed in holiday homes for the past 16 years and this is by far the best accommodation we have ever had. It is well designed with comfortable with quality furnishings, there is everything you need for the perfect stay. Sue and family were most welcoming and the homemade chocolate fudge cake is just “heavenly”

There are plenty of places to visit within a short drive, there are still some I have to do and the town of Kirkcudbright is a must, it has everything you would need and everyone was so warm and friendly. The area is very dog friendly with lots of coastal path and walks.

This was the best most relaxing holiday I have had in years and the gorgeous weather was a bonus. I don’t know how I found this gem of place but I am just glad I did; I loved it that much I booked for next year at the end of my first week, I can’t wait to come back, to admire the view watching the world and the local wildlife go by.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday with many happy memories!!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this amazing review! It is very satisfying to feel that we have made someone's holiday with us special and that they have gone home with some happy memories. It is really satisfying that they are booked to return next year. We do live in lovely part of the world, which can be enjoyed by many.

Heavenly retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful views really comfortable cottage home from home. Sue and family make you really fill at home and special it's just a magical place. This was our 4th visit and look forward to many more.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a lovely review - thank you very much. It is nice and reassuring when our guests enjoy their return visits, and we enjoy welcoming them back. We are having a great spell of weather at the moment which always makes holidays that extra bit special!

Amazing place to visit

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning views and a peaceful and tranquil place to stay. local places within a short drive away for for everything u will need for your stay. Once you visit you will definitely return.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review which says things simply! It is wonderful that our guests have said "once you visit you will definitely return".

A superb cottage on a farm and next to the sea, what more could you want?

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Creel Cottage for a week, with our son and his family next door in the Dairy House, which proved to be an ideal solution to a multi generational holiday. Sue could not have given us a warmer welcome, showing us around with evident pride in the beautiful holiday homes she has created. It seems that she has thought of every piece of equipment one could need, and the decor and furnishings were perfect for the seaside location. The biomass boiler meant the cottage was always cosy with plenty of hot water for baths after some rather wet days out, with delicious chocolate fudge cake and ice cream to enjoy while watching the tide rise and fall. Ross Bay is ideally located for visiting a variety of family friendly days out, Laggan Outdoor, Cream O'Galloway, Threave Castle, and a lovely walk between Rockcliffe and Kippford. This is an area of Scotland often missed by visitors heading for the Highlands, we will certainly be recommending it to friends and family, and especially Ross Bay. Thank you so much Sue and family for sharing this beautiful spot.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this superb review. The title gives us pride and we are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay in our cottages. They enjoyed exploring the beautiful local area and experiencing some of the activities on offer around here which we are so lucky to have. We appreciate recommendations of our cottages, and the great area of D&G!

Excellent, peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Creel Cottage, most comfortable self catering cottage we have ever stayed in. Sue and David are excellent hosts and treated us like old friends. The cake was simply delicious, as always, and we have booked again for next year. No words can describe the setting, brilliant week, can't wait to go back.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are really enjoying running our self catering cottages, and getting to know our returning guests. It is nice to be able to bake a cake especially knowing the guests for whom you are baking and thinking of them!

why go anywhere else?

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely in a wonderful location, there is so much to do, but it's such a good place to relax and do nothing. Sue and Dave are very helpful and friendly. Reading the visitors book shows that almost all the visitors return time and again, and we are no exception.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This review has a wonderful title that makes us happy and proud - thank you so much. Our guests enjoy staying with us and exploring all that our area has to offer, and there is so much we are really lucky. Look forward to seeing these guests back again in September.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we have had a wonderful week spent at Creel Cottage, everything was perfect as always.
We were lucky to have excellent weather as well, and enjoyed being out & about and taking relaxing walks on the beach, which delighted Ciara, our Border Collie. So thanks to Sue & her family for making our stay so enjoyable and for that all important delicious cake & ice cream.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It is delightful when our returning guests find "everything perfect as always". It gives us pleasure and pride that guests staying with us can enjoy the cottage, and from there take advantage of all that is on offer around us. All that we ask is that our guests book the nice weather!

Wonderful Memory

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a joy to stay at Creel Cottage it offers every thing you could want and a view that is out of this world at night the stars shine so brightly. Thank You Sue and family for all your hard work see you in May.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this super review, and we are really please that these guests enjoyed their stay again. We certainly do have some dark nights with many stars to see. We look forward to welcoming them back again in May.

A lovely restfull week

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you sue and family we really enjoyed our holiday shame the weather wasn't a little better .I really enjoyed looking around your cottages I loved your décor ideas and a look around your new one good luck with it im sure it will be beautifull.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased to have provided a restful New Year get away stay here at Ross Bay, although the weather has been wet, windy and battered most of the UK at some point over the festive period! We have made a start on our third and last cottage so new ideas are always a help, trying to keep things to a high standard, good quality, without being exactly the same..............

Here Again for Christmas.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were here again this time for Christmas. Once again thanks to the whole family for another fantastic week. Especially the Christmas decorations and presents. Weather has not been the best but have still had a great time with a very welcome cake. See you at Easter.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see these guests again for Christmas. We really enjoyed decorating Creel Cottage for their arrival and buying a present or two for under the tree! The time just seems to go by so quickly but we look forward to welcoming them back to Ross Bay around Easter time.

Wonderful host, Wonderful place, Wonderful week

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful, cosy, spotlessly clean, comfortable, well equipped and has the best view out on to the bay. A massive Thank you to Sue, you and your family must have worked so hard to create something so lovely, your fudge cake is out of this world and a lovely bonus to the cottage. Even though it was December, we had sunny days and sitting on that balcony (albeit in a coat) with the warmth of the sun on you with a cuppa in hand was good for the mind, body and soul; it truely fits it's name 'retreat'. The surrounding area is beautiful and there's lots to see, however we were just happy taking in the views, wildlife and peace all from the comfort of one of the best cottages we've stayed in.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for this lovely, humbling review. It is super that our guests have really enjoyed their December stay with time to relax, unwind and appreciate time just looking out from the cottage, watching the world go by!

Creel Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an immaculate, well equipped cottage. It is warm and comfortable and the service and hospitality second to none. The location is absolutely perfect for peace, quiet and relaxation, but it's only a 10 minute drive from Kirkudbright with a good choice of shops, pubs and restaurants. This was our first visit, but it definitely won't be the last.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this super review. It is really pleasing that time spent at Creel Cottage has been time enjoyed, and enhanced by the experience of our local Kirkcudbright. Great that these guests have now booked their return visit for 2016!

Our little piece of heaven.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again thanks to Sue and family for a fantastic week of peace and quiet. Our little piece of heaven. Look forward to seeing you all again at Christmas.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Christmas is now not far away and it is great to have our guests returning to spend time here at Ross Bay over the festive period. Time to look for decorations and tinsel, along with Christmas cake and a favourite tipple.

Loved it!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed for a long weekend with my daughter and granddaughter. The cottage is lovely, and so relaxing. There is a swing seat outside, overlooking the bay, where you can sit and listen to the seabirds and admire the view.
We were lucky with the weather - it was sunny and mild - but if it had not been as nice there are games, jigsaws, and books, a T.V. and a DVD player, and of course the view of the bay, and the lake district in the distance.
Sue is really kind and helpful, she made our stay that extra bit special, and her chocolate cake is to die for!
There are some great walks nearby.
One day I will stay here again, even though I live in the local town!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. Relaxing and unwinding seem to be most enjoyed at Ross Bay wherever our guests have travelled from, and super weather is an added bonus in October! We try to go that little bit further and like to welcome our guests and try to make their time at Ross Bay one to remember.

Another fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd time here and we keep coming back because we just love everything, the cottage,location,tranquillity, the sea view, all the lovely places to visit and Sue 's delicious chocolate cake.
We have had a wonderful week and enjoyed beautiful sunny weather as well, which was a bonous!
Already looking forward to coming back next year!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are extremely pleased to receive this lovely review from these guests who have now stayed three times and are booked for next year. It gives us warmth to feel that our returning guests are still enjoying their time at Ross Bay, along with all Kirkcudbright has to offer.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay warm and comfortable cottage everything you need. The view across the bay is just magical.Sue is a superb hostage nothing is to much trouble . We have booked two more visits what more can I say.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review. It is always rewarding when our returning guests enjoy their stay and book to come back again. We are enjoying meeting some interesting people from who we can learn and actually call friends. It is nice making the welcome cake when you know who it is you are making it for!!

perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is a real delight. The owners go out of their to make your experience a happy one. For anyone wishing a quiet secluded holiday, this is the ideal location. fabulous views.
Highly recommended.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review. We feel privileged to live down here at Ross Bay, and we enjoy sharing it with our holiday guests and it is perfect when they enjoy their stay.

A perfect week

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to relax and unwind. plenty of lovely walks right on your doorstep. Accommodation absolutely spot on. Will definitely recommend to others and will surely return one day



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review title, it makes me smile when I think of putting the cake on the side and the kettle on ready for our guests arrival hoping that they smile when they walk in the door and peep round the corner to see the sea through the French doors! Recommendations are appreciated and return visits super.

Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Creel Cottage for a week whilst our son and his family stayed at Dairy House. The cottage had everything we wanted and more, and we had some enjoyable walks beside the Bay, as well as day trips out. We were very much taken with Kirkcudbright itself, and enjoyed visiting Broughton House in particular. A highlight was our visit to Portpatrick and drive back through the Galloway Forest, and our day out in Kippford and walk to the viewpoint at Knockbrex near Carrick, but we most enjoyed the views when touring Ross itself. We appreciated Sue's kindness very much, and did enjoy the chocolate cake. We hope to return!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is simply a lovely review, which reflects the great place where we live, and all the places there are to visit, with things to see and do only at short drive from Ross. It was lovely to have three generations staying in our cottages, taking advantage of together holidays with the freedom for that peace, and quietness in separate cottages when the time called!

Great cottage in fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Creel cottage. It's location is fantastic.

We parked the car up at the beginning of our stay and spent the whole week exploring Ross and doing a spot of fishing.

The cottage was very clean and the attention to detail was excellent. The owners had obviously put a lot of thought into furnishings etc. The chocolate cake and ice cream were also a welcome treat.

We certainly plan to return in the future. Highly Recommended.









Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review. It is lovely that our guests have spent time exploring around Ross during their stay, as there are lots of things to look at, and just to be able to switch off, relax and look out to sea from indoors or out. Sea fishing off Miekle Ross seems to satisfy the appetite of many fishers both on holiday in the area, or the locals. We are pleased that the cottage and our welcome were appreciated , and we would welcome our guests return.

A lovely relaxing week away

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage away from it all, but near enough to the lovely town of Kirkcudbright and well placed for touring the area. Excellent weather for sitting on the balcony, sipping wine and watching the sea roll in and out. Scotland was extra Bonnie for us!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a brilliantly thoughtful review which grasps it all in a few words, it reiterates what a super area we are situated in, in the bonnie Kirkcudbrightshire district of the South West of Scotland - thank you.

Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place and an amazing welcome. Cottage was ideal for our needs beautifully clean and tidy with all eventualities catered for. Sue is very welcoming and helpful I would fully recommend this location and we will definitely be going back. Thank you



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, and we are pleased that our guests find Ross an amazing place to stay. It is really nice that guests are pleased to recommend a stay here and also that they wish to return!

another brilliant holiday at ross bay.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second year at Ross bay. Both cottages are exceptional. Great location, lots to do. Our boys age four and six had a great time. Lots of excellent beaches nearby. Plus gardens, castles, countryside and wildlife.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this super review. We are extremely pleased that the second stay at Ross Bay was as good as the first and pleased that our second cottage has been enjoyed as well. There are a tremendous amount of things to do, places to go, and lots to see around the local area for everyone, which make holidaying here and living in Kirkcudbright special.

Stunning View!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location to unwind, that good we have just booked two weeks for next year!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A super simple review which means a lot to us, thank you. We are really pleased that these guests have already booked to return for two weeks next summer. We agree that the views and location are stunning, (we may be bias though!) and pleased that our guests can unwind when they are here which is one of our most important aims.

simply the best

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is faultless it's clean /modern /comfortable the view from the veranda is fabulous .sitting on veranda in the evening listening to the sound of the sea literally feet away watching deer swimming in the bay totally relaxing creel cottage is by far the best we've stayed in we were made so welcome by owners and sue and dave and the cake on arrival was delicious hmmmmm



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a super title to a review - thank you so much we are really humbled! It is rewarding for us when our guests make the most of staying with us and enjoy beautiful Kirkcudbrightshire. The balcony is relaxing, and what is the chance of seeing deer swimming across the bay whilst sat out listening to the sound of the sea? We couldn't have arranged it! We always think a lovely cake and ice cream with your favourite cuppa is the perfect way to start your holiday here at Ross Bay.

Lovely retreat in beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage lives up to the description in the brochure. Location is stunning - footpaths start from the door. Warm welcome from Sue. Excellent retreat in a lovely part of the country.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A lovely review which says it just as it is, thank you for taking the time to write us this review to show what a lovely area we are situated in with great walks all around.

Early Summer at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I enjoyed a week of fabulous sunshine which enhanced the sublime position of Creel cottage. It is a bird and nature lovers heaven. Sue and David were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed being informed of the day's events on the farm, which ranged from shearing sheep to building a duck pond. We will be back soon.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. I just hope we didn't have an early short summer though! Our new wildlife photographic folder (given to us by some previous guests) shows some superb pictures of the wildlife which can be seen near the cottage, and a short drive away - it really is amazing. We are always busy on the farm with something - the sheep are now clipped, and the ducks enjoying a dip in the new pond!

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At Creel Cottage you feel very welcome and at home. When you arrive there is a delicious chocolate cake to welcome you and Sue is a perfect hostess. You can always ask her questions and she really wants to make sure that you have a perfect stay. The cottage itself is modern and has all the convenience you need, such as modern kitchen equipment. But the absolute best thing of this cottage is the excellent view over Ross Bay. You can walk on the beach and have breakfast at the balcony, or, with extreme weather (as we had one night), warm yourself at the wood burner while watching the waves hit the cliffs. The area is perfect for country and coastal walks. All together we had a lovely stay and hope to come back some time.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this excellent review. Our aim is to provide home from home comforts with the added bonus of super views across Ross bay whilst you sit on the settee or out on the balcony. There is always something different to see with the varying tide and weather. We hope that a chocolate cake and a warm kettle kick start your relaxing holiday at Ross.

Awesome beyond belief

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can not fault this beautiful place.... Honestly sulked when I had to go home ... By far the best place we have ever stayed ... Comfort ,cleanliness , hostess Sue was fantastic. I am still in awe of Ross Bay and Creel Cottage .. Would tell everyone , but I am selfish and want it all to myself hahahaha....Absolutely loved it and will return as soon I we can....
Thankyou sooooooo much to Sue and David ,the Luckiest people I have ever met... Brilliant place to stay xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review. It is lovely when guests have enjoyed it so much that they express it so well in a review. It makes us proud of Ross Bay and the area in which we live because it really is beautiful, and we would be thrilled to have these guests back for a return visit.

Good value for money

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable and well appointed cottage with very attentive owner, who dealt promptly and efficiently with the only problem we had during our stay.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time review your stay. Comfort is one of the things which we considered important for Creel Cottage so it is great that these guests had that experience. Typically over the bank holiday weekend we had an electric shower breakdown! Fortunately, I was planning to change the shower from electric (which was only a year old) to one which would run off our biomass heating system (later in the year), so this just brought things forward, so now with increased water pressure we have a more invigorating shower to offer!

Peaceful and quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the view. No cars and very few people. Sue made you so welcome and her chocolate cake is to die for. We really did'nt want to leave.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we don't get many cars down this way (the ones we do usually come for a look), which makes it quite quiet down here at Ross Bay so the views and scenery can be enjoyed relatively uninterrupted! I am glad that my chocolate cake is a hit - it took quite a bit of refining but I enjoy making them with the next guests in mind. We look forward to seeing these guests again later in the year and next May also!

Creel Cottage over Easter

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage is a wonderful, warm, relaxed home from home, with great views over the Solway to Cumberland. This was our second visit and we are looking forward to coming back at Christmas.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to have these guests back for 2 weeks over Easter, and we are delighted that they are returning for Christmas.

Brilliant week in Creel Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very clean and comfortable and was very well equipped for all our needs. It is set in an beautiful location overlooking Ross Bay so that you can enjoy watching the tide coming in from the comfort of the settee or balcony - ideal for relaxing. There are so many lovely walks and places to see in the area that we didn't have time to see them all so we have booked a return visit. Our holiday was made even better by having brilliant weather. Thank you Sue and Dave for making holidays like this possible and the little extras never go amiss.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this super review. We are pleased that time was enjoyed both down here at Ross Bay and in the area. It is really nice when guests book to come back and stay, we have met some nice people and enjoy having the cottages for people to come and enjoy.

Great hoiday in Creel Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfully relaxing week in Creel Cottage and were very sad to leave. Perfect cottage in a great location.
My son said the bed was like sleeping in a cloud.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely review, particularly as the weather during the week was not the best! It is really nice when guests are sad to leave, it gives us some reassurance that they have enjoyed their stay in Creel Cottage and in the area as a whole. We feel that the expression of the bed being like "sleeping in a cloud" creates a feeling of calmness and relaxation!

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superbly presented and equipped cottage, and just the right amount of attention from the owner. I couldn't make sense of the shower, but this simply didn't spoil our stay. Indeed, I'd forgotten how invigorating a bath can be.
The views of the bay from the front of the cottage are beautiful.
Overall, a lovely place and very, very good.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We do try hard to present Creel Cottage well, and I have been busy looking for the "little things" for Dairy House next door. I really enjoy meeting and greeting guests when they arrive for their stay, showing them in et cetera and letting them know that we are just up the lane if they need anything, or they will see us around and about the farm. I always try and see guests before they leave to wish them well and a safe journey home. The electric shower - it has an eco setting for which the running temperature needs to be a little warmer, and a normal setting which seems to need to run a little cooler. I do hope in time to change the shower, from an electric one to one which runs off the biomass heating system but it is only a year old at present. And the views, well they are lovely except when there is a sea mist like today and you can't see much!

Ross Bay Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd stay at Creel Cottage, and once again we had a wonderful few days, even in March the weather was kind to us and we also saw the eclipse! It is such a peaceful relaxing place and with those beautifull views from the balcony you couldn't ask for better! Fabulous choclate cake too which we managed to eat between the 2 of us in 3 days!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this lovely review, the weather was perfect with some warmth and sunshine, and the eclipse to top it off! We are extremely lucky with the views and scenery both here at Ross Bay and in the Kirkcudbright area. It is really pleasing that these guests have booked to return later in the year - their third visit!

Second visit.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second visit, it was just as good as the first, and hope there will be a third visit. Sue and her family manage to make our stay very pleasant.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
As we are approaching our 1st year anniversary of opening Creel Cottage (23rd May), it is great that we have had some guests returning for a second visit, and it is really pleasing that we have had a couple book for a third time. As always we would be pleased to welcome back previous guests and look forward to meeting new ones.

Wonderfully relaxing, peaceful and a home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on a cold and grey Friday afternoon and our first impressions of Creel Cottage were excellent. As we walked through the door, we noticed how warm and cosy it felt inside. The cottage is much more spacious than we were expecting - plenty of room for us both, as well as our two dogs.

The cottage is beautifully decorated in a coastal theme, which we loved, and is very comfortable. It was lovely to be able to sit on the sofa beside the log burner and watch the bay as the tide came in and went out. It's amazing how much the sea changes the view.

There's plenty of room in the kitchen and the cupboards contain practically every piece of cooking equipment you could think of - brilliant for making meals instead of eating out all the time. The one thing I would recommend is a decent bottle opener. We are 'real ale' lovers and prefer decent beer over wine, but really struggled to open our bottles with the one on the corkscrew.

The weather was against us on several days and, where we'd normally feel a bit 'stir crazy', we really enjoyed the peace and quiet. Being able to relax was just what we needed.

The dogs loved the yard at the back - it was perfect for them as we could let them out to play without putting them on their leads.

The bed was fine... Not as comfortable as we hoped, but that might be because we're used to a king sized bed at home. I don't think a bigger bed would fit in the room! It wouldn't put us off coming back though.

We absolutely LOVED the homemade chocolate fudge cake. It was delicious, and we felt sad that we couldn't eat it all! I hope it didn't go to waste.

Halfway through the week, we decided to start planning our next visit and we were disappointed to find that the cottage is almost fully booked for the rest of the year. So many lucky people with a treat instore! :)

Before we left, we were treated to a sneaky peek at Dairy House - the decorators, plumbers and joiners were all hard at work and doing an amazing job. The house looks amazing and will be just as comfortable and welcoming as Creel Cottage.

So, thank you, thank you, thank you for an amazing stay!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and share your holiday experience at Creel Cottage. The weather has been a little hit and miss over lambing time, sunshine and showers. I will put a decent bottle opener on my shopping list as recommended, and bear it in mind for Dairy House next door! What can I say about the bed? It is a really tricky one as everybody has different preferences regarding mattresses, I went for a Laura Ashley bed and mattress in the hope of striking a balance for the holiday cottage. Really pleased that the homemade chocolate cake was a hit - it took several attempts and family tasting sessions to finalise my own receipe which I am pleased with I have to say!! I am glad that the stay was amazing and thank them for their comments on Dairy House, which I am hoping to open soon.

Creel Cottage, Ross Bay, Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage ticks all the boxes and more. We have no hesitation giving this place top marks.
Wonderfully situated in spectacular scenery - bird watching from the comfort of the sofa!! The owner -Sue, goes the extra mile to ensure that everything is spotless and prepared to welcome guests to Creel Cottage and the freshly baked cake, warmed kettle and fresh eggs were the 'icing on the cake'. Would highly recommend.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review of Creel Cottage. So many birds were seen from the cottage whilst these guests were staying and kindly they are all noted in our wildlife spotting / visitors comments books for others to look out for when they stay. We had the great delight of the solar eclipse here this morning, the partial eclipse was amazing to see although so very bright. The sea glistened out in the bay.

Great accommodation in peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a very relaxing few days at Creel Cottage. We booked on the spur of the moment, having decided to take a short break. Creel Cottage seemed ideal; the location was perfect, the information on the website great and the photos of the accommodation very impressive. With everything on one level, it was just right for the 87 year old member of our party. The booking process and communication throughout couldn't be faulted, and, from the outset, Sue seemed very friendly and approachable. Our arrival at the cottage didn't disappoint. It was very welcoming, warm, exceptionally clean, and with a freshly boiled kettle and amazing chocolate cake waiting for us, we immediately felt at home. Sue knocked on the door shortly after our arrival to say hello and have a chat. She and her family have worked so hard to make the cottage such a lovely place to be.The soft furnishings and finishing touches, not forgetting the extras such as the toiletries and fresh eggs, just added to our comfort. The view from the lounge, especially first thing in the morning, was beautiful. Most mornings we woke up to the sun shining through the clouds onto the sea; we have taken some amazing photos! It is a great base for all sorts of activities, walking, bird-watching, fishing or simply relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet at any time of year.
Thank you so much!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this fabulous review - what can I say? It is quite humbling but really pleasing to receive such a comprehensive review and it does make all our effort worthwhile. It is so nice when guests arrive and enjoy their stay here at Ross Bay, and it is great for us to meet lovely people who visit Ross Bay.

Quiet Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage is a must for anyone looking for peaceful, quiet place to relax and unwind. The view from the cottage is magic.
Sue and her family go that extra mile,just to make sure your stay is perfect.
I enjoyed it so much,I've booked for a return visit later in the year.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Peace and quiet yet lambing time is here and hotting up with twins and triplets all over, ferrying the sheep and their new born lambs to fresh fields in the quad bike trailer. Calving has just commenced, snowdrops, crocus, and daffodils popping out. Spring is here!! The sunshine really makes things extra special down here at Ross Bay, as it does when our guests book to return.

Amazing place!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, clean comfortable and very modern. A wonderful spot to watch the tides or have a lovely walk, and a really warm welcome from Sue and family, the complimentary chocolate cake was wonderful!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We are really pleased that the cottage was enjoyed, along with the cake. We have had a few high spring tides to watch, some calm and some on the rather rough side - great to see!

wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely great cottage, well equipped and lovely decoration. Location is fantastic, a walk around the coast from the door is a must. Great cake and friendly owners!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, it is lovely to hear that the cottage is being enjoyed and the beautiful scenery and coastline taken advantage of. As we are currently renovating and refurbishing our next cottage Dairy House, the decoration, equipment, furniture and soft furnishings are at the forefront of my mind so it is nice to have positive encouragement.

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely time exploring Dumfries and Galloway, and Creel Cottage was an ideal base for this. Very comfortable, lovely clean accomodation, had everything we needed. Very secluded and peaceful, yet only a short drive from Kirkcudbright. Although we stayed in winter we were lucky with weather and woke to a beautiful sunrise on our first morning. All on all, a fantastic holiday in a wonderful cottage, many thanks :)



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review. It does make all the hard work worth while when guests stay and enjoy not only the cottage, and it's surroundings but also exploring Dumfries & Galloway. It really is a beautiful part of the world with so much to offer visitors to the area, and those of us who live here alike.

Snowy January Weekend at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage in spectacular location
Peace and quiet away from the maddening crowd
I hope to go back there sometime
I would love to live somewhere like that permanently!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. It is nice that the cottage, and it's location are appreciated. We like to try and keep things as peaceful and quiet down here at Ross Bay as we can, but sometimes the cattle and poultry like to put on a song as farm life never stands still. We have had our sheep scanned, and lambing will be starting in mid - late February and into March - lets hope the weather warms up a little!

Well worth a visit!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 2 week stay at Creel Cottage over the festive period. Sue, David, Stephen and Philippa were fantastic hosts, made us feel very welcome and provided lots of useful information on walks and dog-friendly pubs. The cottage is very well equipped and in a beautiful setting.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We certainly enjoyed decorating the cottage for Christmas, and indeed enjoyed our first Christmas at Ross Bay. The weather was mixed, some sunshine, some rain and plenty of wind! New Year came in and we look forward to 2015 at Ross Bay, renovations and refurbishment is underway in Dairy House, we will be welcoming new guests, and looking forward to meeting previous guests again.

A warm welcome and beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we wanted, warm and cosy and perfect for us and our 2 young sons. Sue made us feel very welcome with lots of lovely little touches and an incredible cake! I would fully recommend Creel Cottage.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We are really pleased that our biomass heating system is keeping Creel Cottage as cosy as guests would wish. A great feeling to be returning to after a brisk walk in the blustery winds which can be experienced around the coast. It is nice that our little personal touches are appreciated so our guests know that they are valued and we want them to enjoy their stay at Ross Bay.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the privilege of staying for a short weekend break. We were welcomed professionally and Sue was a very pleasant and hospitable hostess.

We have recommended Creel Cottage to everyone we know.

The scenery and Costal Walks were amazing.

Excellent accomodation and decorated to an very high standard.

We would love to visit again.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A short blustery weathered break, with walking along the coast and cliff tops then returning to a toasty warm Creel Cottage and lighting the wood burning stove! We love to listen to the sea roaring even just walking along the lane around the bay with the dogs, watching the waves crash against the rocks. We received our 4* rating from Visit Scotland recently so that was pleasing as it is when guests feel like they would like to return to Ross Bay.

A Stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful location with stunning views from the cottage. Walk out of the door into beauty and wonderful walks overlooking the river Dee estuary and Ross lighthouse island.
I had a marvellous hostess/ owner Sue who made me very welcome with homemade sponge and warm kettle. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable,with good quality equipment.
I would recommend it to anyone




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We do feel that Ross is a stunning and welcoming location but we could be bias! Enjoying the beautiful outdoors whatever the weather down here is never tiring as there are different things to see all the time. We are glad that Creel Cottage is being enjoyed as holiday accommodation and lovely reviews are always pleasing

Why can I not give more than 5 stars?!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say? This places is sublime. Great hospitally, nice decor, great facilities, comfy bed, stunning location, and amazing value. 28 stars out of 5!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this super review, and we are really please that our guests enjoyed their holiday with us at Ross Bay. Feedback is extremely helpful as we are considering furniture, décor et cetera for our next holiday cottage Dairy House - thank you.

friendly and fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed by the owner and during the stay Sue and her family were friendly and helpful, especially when we asked for information about the local area. Walking into the clean well decorated cottage I saw the view of the sea it was wonderful, then I noticed in the kitchen, the biggest chocolate cake I have ever seen. I am pleased I found such a good place for a holiday.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are constantly learning about the area ourselves, and many of our guests give us information and feedback on places they have visited whilst staying with us which is really helpful. It is always pleasing when our guests enjoy their holiday at Ross Bay, and I do enjoy making the welcome cake - hoping it will please!

Wow, a real retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, our first impression lasted all week! A beautiful location with the cleanliness and comforts of home make this a superb cottage. The view from the french doors will take your breath away every time. Sue, David and family have made this a real retreat.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It is lovely to receive a great review like this, and I have to say I do really enjoy cleaning in Creel Cottage on a Friday in preparation for the next guests, and hoping that the view takes their breath away as it still does mine!

A wonderful week in Ross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Creel Cottage Ross Bay and we were very fortunate with the weather as the sun shone all week.
Our lovely hosts, Sue, David, and family were welcoming, warm and helpful. The cottage was very comfortable and there was everything there that you could need, with thoughtful little touches and of course the wonderful welcome of Sue's amazing chocolate cake! and Stevens fresh eggs.
The walks around the bay were lovely and our little dog Woody particularly liked her free runs on Brighouse Bay. It is an easy walk from the cottage or you can drive and park there. We visited Kirkudbright, Castle Douglas, Gatehouse of fleet and Wigtown, all towns having their own character and all being easy to park in with plenty of cafes, pubs etc. some even dog friendly. It was lovely to always be within a few miles of a beach.
We will almost certainly be returning there as there are so many interesting places to visit in the area. We may also try and relax a bit more as it is the sort of place you really can retreat to and do nothing.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
The weather has been brilliant this summer with lots of sunshine and heat. Our dogs too love the walks around Ross Bay, and now even though the nights are drawing in it is lovely by moonlight. I have several favourite local cafes which are great for lunch along with pubs / restaurants for supper. It would be lovely to welcome our guests back for a return visit in the future.

Relaxation in a fantastic area

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, great location and wonderful hostess. A lovely touch was a massive chocolate cake waiting for us. It was delicious and it would have been rude not to have eaten it all!!!!!!! Fully recommended as a place to stay for a relaxing holiday. We will certainly consider going back. A big thanks to Sue and Dave



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this lovely review. We feel relaxed living and working here so it's great to share with others. The weather this season has been perfect to take advantage of the great places and things to do in the area.

Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel Cottage was a perfect base for us. Sue and family have developed and run it with heart, and it shows. We relaxed immediately and felt a million miles from home (even though we could see it over the water). Kirkcudbright is a vibrant and welcoming community. The beaches were beautiful, loads of choice of safe off road mountain biking routes, and plenty to do on not so good days. Sue's cakes, the new calf, Cream o'Galloway and laserquest at Galloway Activity Centre have been voted the highlights, in that order ! Booked for next year already.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We have tried to put our heart and soul into Creel Cottage and making it a welcoming and relaxing place to stay. Luckily there are lots of great beaches nearby so we are all really spoilt for choice! My cakes - great they are at the front of the list - chocolate fudge cake and Victoria sandwich with fresh cream and strawberries, my family love tasting any new receipe ideas I have so its a treat for everyone. We were at the Galloway Activity Centre at the weekend and the kids enjoyed, archery, seal sliding and kayaking - my husband and I enjoyed a rest in the sunshine. It is really pleasing that we have received a repeat booking for next year, thank you.

Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in August with two young children. Great cottage overlooking the sea. The owner is friendly and helpful.
Brighouse bay beach (half a mile away) is great for sandcastles etc. Lots of nice walks around Ross.
There are some indoor family activities locally (ice cream factory, chocolate making etc) but as we had good weather we visited lots of castles, gardens and beaches. My children loved threave castle as you have to ring a bell to summon the ferry boat. The gardens at Threave estate (castle douglas) and Broughton House (kirkcudbright) were lovely.
From our experience, Ross bay is a great place to stay with children, but I would also recomend it for grown ups too.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a super review thank you. An action packed holiday was had by these guests who made the most of all the great local activities and places to visit. Threave castle and gardens is on our list of places to visit, as it is such a long time since we were last there.

Simply wonderful - if you want peace and quiet this is the place to go :)

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ross Bay Retreat is exactly 'what it says on the tin'! So peaceful and tranquil - we had a fabulous week. Days out to Laggan Outdoor, Galloway Wildlife Conservation Park, Cream of Galloway, Brighouse Bay, Auchenlarie Beach, Ross Island and Sandgreen Beach - oh, and many an hour idled away simply watching the tide roll out ... and roll back in again! Cottage is light, airy, immaculate, beautifully decorated and the views are exceptional; on a clear day you can see across to the Lake District. Sue and family are amazing hosts - brought us fresh farm eggs and field mushrooms which we had for breakfast on the balcony. It truly is a special place, we left with heavy hearts and are already planning our next visit.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this great review! We, as a family visited Laggan Outdoor Activity at the weekend and went on the segways - we had great fun. It is lovely to hear that a return trip is being planned, and we have an abundance of apples and plums in the orchard at present just getting ripe so we can pass some along to the guests in Creel cottage this week. The hens and ducks have had an unpredictable laying season this year for whatever reason so some guests have been overrun with eggs and others have experienced a more scarce supply!

The sun always shines in Ross Bay!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and I spent the first week of the school holidays down at Creel Cottage.Trips to the chocolate factory , a beautiful meal out in Gatehouse ,crab fishing and scottish nights in Kirkcudbright ,barbecue on the Bay.The weather was amazing...Sue even provided the sun every day! Haha.We spent our days relaxing at the Dhoon beach which is only 2 minutes down the road .It really is beautiful...as is Sandgreen again only 15min drive.But the view at Ross Bay is spectacular. .I could look at it all day..you just instantly switch to holiday mode as soon as you arrive.The hospitality of Sue and her family was fabulous as usual and made our stay awesome (as my daughter would say!)..Thanks to Sue for lending me her bike too...lovely place for a wee cycle.It truly is a pleasure to stay at Creel cottage which is why we will be back again next year!:-)



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this super review. We are so lucky where we live as there are so many beautiful places to eat, visit and explore a short distance from Ross Bay Retreat. It is pleasing that Creel Cottage is an appealing place to stay as a base and wonderful to have guests booking to return next year.

Great view, lovely cottage, great hosts and the best ever chocolate cake - what more could you ask?

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fab week at Ross Bay Retreat. From the moment we arrived to a warm welcome (and a stunning chocolate cake) to when we waved our lovely hosts farewell we had a ball. Not only is the cottage lovely with a view of the Bay that is beautiful, but it's a great part of the country for almost anything you can think of. We like to walk and there are loads of great land and sea walks from the front door. Most evenings we took a donder along the bay, taking in the full moon and the serenity.

There are castles galore, towns, tea rooms, bookshops, gardens, wildlife, fine local produce - all you need for a perfect holiday. We had good weather most days but there's lots to do if it rains. High spots included Ospreys at Threave Castle (and the gardens and house at Threave are superb, a walk there and back to Brighouse Bay and the artists's house, Glasgow Girls exhibition and Scottish night on Thursday in Kircudbright square.

Oh and we've fallen in love with Belties, who could resist!




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review both for us, Creel Cottage and Kirkcudbright. It is fantastic when people really appreciate the area and all it has to offer as locally a lot of effort goes into providing entertainment and things to see and do. The Scottish nights are a credit to the Summer Festivities organisers and to show our support and appreciation we have donated a 4 night break at Creel Cottage as a prize for the raffle on the Tattoo night later in August. We are really enjoying running Creel Cottage as a holiday cottage and I enjoy baking the welcome cakes!

my review

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very lovely family run cottage, amazing location. Very nice indeed, not much else to say, but since it is asking me to complete 120 characters, I am just using up the words here



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, it's great when someone travels so far for a short break and appreciates the super location of our farm.

What a break!!

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, perfect cottage, perfect hosts! It has the lot, irrespective of if you want to huddle away indoors for a week or head out and about on a walk, a bike ride, a kayak trip or heading somewhere in the car. We'll certainly be booking Creel Cottage again in the future and will be looking forward to another fun packed adventure when we arrive. Cannot recommend highly enough the cottage and its location!!



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a super review thank you. It was great to see kayaking out on the bay, and lovely to hear that people find there is so much to see and do locally around Kirkcudbright.

Fantastic cottage and area.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage exceeded expectations as the photos do not do it justice – it’s a bit bigger than it looks and the views are even better – watching the tide come in very early morning was perfect. Everything in the cottage was thoughtfully planned for a great relaxing holiday. Walks from the door were good – plenty of birds, butterflies and wild flowers within a few paces, saw a fox, and a deer with fawn just across the fields and saw porpoise off Balcary Cliffs. The country and coast is beautiful and the quiet local towns cater for all needs. Cally Gardens was special; small but a lovely experience.
Sue and her family were very welcoming; we had a fantastic welcome cake and Stephen’s free range hens’ eggs were delicious. The locals were notably friendly too. Try the Galloway Lodge at Gatehouse of Fleet and The Old Schoolhouse at Ringford for lunches, and Polarbites in Kirkcudbright was excellent for fish and chips. We would willingly have stayed an extra week but another lucky family had booked the cottage.




Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What can I say about this review? Thank you so much for this lovely review which not only sums up Creel Cottage but the farm wildlife and great places nearby for us all to enjoy. We really enjoy making our welcome cakes which use our own (Stephen's) free range hen eggs!

A lovely cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday at Ross Bay Retreat. The cottage was lovely and it had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Sue and her family were very welcoming. The location is truly stunning.



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It really makes our hard work and effort worthwhile when we received lovely comments like this and we have contributed to a family having a lovely holiday whilst staying with us at Ross Bay Retreat. Thank you.

Rossbay Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Creel cottage, where we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It is such a perfect location with a great view from the veranda on to the bay. The cottage itself was immaculate and very tastefully decorated.
Once you have been there you will want to go back and you will know why it is called Rossbay Retreat.




Sue Dale-Sunley replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, we are really pleased to receive such a lovely comment.

Just back from an amazing weekend....we didnt want to come home! in fact my daughter wanted to move

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Creel cottage is in a beautiful location over looking the bay...the views are to die for even on a dull day! The cottage itself is tastefully decorated ..stunning infact with a real homely feel to it . It has everything you need with plenty space.The minute you arrive you feel relaxed in an instant! Kirkcudbright is only a 10-15 minute drive ...chocolate factory 5mins...Cream of Galloway (amazing ice cream and outdoor play!) Ten minutes. Plenty of walks and beaches around.Sue and her family are superb hosts making you feel welcome immediately and are there to ensure your stay is a 5star experience..Rossbay retreat..the name says it all..it is certainly a retreat where you can most definitely escape from it all!. My 11yr old daughter says........"it is epic..there are loads of things to do and I cant wait to go back in the summer holidays! "



Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review - we have tried really hard to make Creel Cottage a real holiday home.