FB Twitter

PORTERS COTTAGE

PORTERS COTTAGE

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.4


Large detached cottage set in its own grounds with summerhouse and patio area to rear. Superb loch and mountain views from all around. This lovely cottage features a large kitchen dining area, 2 large doubles and one twin room, large bathroom with seperate shower cubicle, utility room and extremely large Living room. All mod cons.

Estancia estupenda

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Buena localizacion, dueños muy amables y casa absolutamente acogedora, amplia y comoda. En un paraje precioso en el que se respira paz. Lo recomendamos!



3 Couples, 3 Sports Cars!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to base for exploring. Spacious and comfortable accommodation. Creggain Inn a stroll away.



lovely holiday pity about the weather!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break,catching up with our previous neighbours and friends. We had awful weather unfortunately but that didn't

really spoil the holiday. Great to see Jim and Julie again




Great place for a family holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Porter's Cottage is a lovely, spacious place to stay in a fantastic location. The accommodation is nicer and bigger than it looks on some of the photographs. Family owned, very welcoming and relaxing. The summerhouse with comfy chairs and spacious veranda is an extra bonus - great for having a barbecue. Walking distance to Creagan Inn - also very friendly with good food.

Maybe one or two small improvements could be made - check on small kitchen utensils - small sharp knives etc. are needed. Extra charge for towels is maybe a bit old-fashioned these days - better just to provide these and add the cost on.

A bit more info on what is provided would be helpful eg need to bring toilet rolls, kitchen roll, dishwasher tablets, extra tea towels and so on. Some cleaning materials should be provided if guests are asked to do some quick cleaning before they leave.

Overall we had a really lovely holiday and have recommended your new motorhome spaces to our friends already. Thank you for a great stay.




A relaxing week

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very homely and everyone had a good time exploring the area and relaxing in the evening.
Phone signals limited and wifi only in the games room but we found this was a good thing.
owners and staff friendly and helpful.
thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would not hesitate to come again.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed for two nights. Location great, local pub/restaurant fab.
Cottage was very nice and spacious.




Very good location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nous sommes très satisfaits de ce séjour.
We are very satisfied with this stay : cleanliness, customer service, comfort, condition... We recommend this property to others.




Julie Weir replied 73 days ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Porters Cottage. Hope to see you again some day.

Great cottage very well located and excellent value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great for families or group of friends. If you have a bike the cottage is ideally placed for cycling



A la decouverte de lecosse

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nous avons passé 2 nuits a appin hollidays et nous avons adoré!! Tout confort, tout est a dispo dans le logement qui est parfaitement propre et bien amenagé, spatieux... Le proprietaire est fort sympatique! bref on le recommande sans probleme.



Reasonable accommodation but disappointingly poorly maintained

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This cottage has so much potential: situated next to a beautiful loch, with great sights near by, in a peaceful lodge-park. However, the accommodation itself was tired and in need of much attention. There were stains on the carpet in the lounge, and missing edging strips and grout in the bathroom. The window in the kitchen was broken and had a half-inch gap where it wouldn't close properly. It was also on an electric meter, which meant it cut out at one point. Overall, great potential, with a bit of love!



Our West highland wedding.....

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed somewhere for our wedding guests to stay over the weekend and found this little gem of a place right on the waterside of loch Creran..
The lodges have all been recently refurbished and have front facing patio views of the loch. The double and twin bedrooms are perfect for families and friends alike and kitchen is well stocked for self catering... We stayed in the Porters Cottage which is a 3 bedroom house beside the lodges which gave us more room for all the girls to get ready on the morning of the wedding...
Jim & Julie couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming and made us feel like we were 'at our aunties'...
We would definitely recommend this place for couples, families or large groups.
Creagan Inn is within walking distance for excellent food and drinks...
Thanks again Jim and Julie xxx




Julie Weir replied 96 days ago
So glad you chose us to act as lodgings for your wedding guests, everybody had a fab time and the weather was behaving on the day. Thanks for the review it means a lot.

Warm and friendly welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a warm welcome from Jim and Julie. Lovely stay in a warm and comfortable cottage. Peaceful area and easy to get around.
We've loved every minute of our stay. We've been visiting for years and feel like we are visiting friends rather than renting a lodge or cottage.
Fab site. Can't wait to return.




Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Two nice days in this house this September. The location is really awsome. We're a family (2+3) and we enjoyed Porter's Cottage.



Julie Weir replied 306 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.

An excellent weeks stay once again.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with everything you need for a comfortable stay. the views are fantastic, both out the front and back and the decking area really finishes the front outside area off. The summer house is also a fantastic outside space, especially when hiding from midgies! All the bedrooms are comfortable with appropriate decor and the bathroom is also well equipped with walk-in shower and a bath. The kitchen is a lovely space for cooking and eating, again well-equipped (maybe a slightly better tin-opener is needed tho?!) and with fab views out the front and side of the cottage. We had a wonderful weeks stay, our second consecutive year, and can't wait to return again soon.



Try new things, be happy & enjoy life

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Appin for 7 years now. First we stayed in the lodges and then moved on to the cottages as our family expanded. The location is brilliant but it is Julie and Jim the owners who make it that extra bit special. If you want to forget the hassle of day to day life, relax and enjoy beautiful scenery then this is the place for you. We can't wait and will be booking again next year. Horse riding round Castle Stalker, long walks along the Loch and a short drive to Oban where you can shop, eat or take a boat ride to see the seals.



Lovely, spacious cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all very much enjoyed our stay at Porters Cottage. All the rooms were spacious and comfortable. It was very handy having a washing machine and tumble dryer too, especially after long days out in the mountains! It's in a great location for those interested in walking, climbing and watersports. With Port Appin only a few miles down the road, there is easy access to the Isle of Lismore and exploratory boat trips to go wildlife watching, plus a wonderful seafood restaurant (The Pier House) to boot!

The owner, Jim, is really friendly and more than willing to offer his help when required, eg. when your tooth decides to try and ruin your holiday by giving you grief! Jim was brilliant in helping arrange an appointment on that same day at a local dentist!

The one and only negative thing I will say is that we could have done with there being some hand soap in at least one of the bathrooms upon arrival...fortunately we weren't too late to get to the shops, so it was no big deal! We were a little unprepared with some bits, like hand towels and tea towels, however, these were easy to come by, as there are big supermarkets in Oban and Fort William, neither of which is too far to drive to.

Considering I suffered with toothache and my partner got a stomach bug, our stay was lovely and we felt very welcomed.




Porters Cottage, a few little things would make this great.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice stay at Porters Cottage, very spacious. We have booked another 2 week stay there later in the year, so we are far from dissatisfied. Upsides are location, the access to the local region, well appointed bedrooms, very nice kitchen. Downsides, the two sofa's in the living room need professional cleaning now. They have done some work and need attention. The patio doors in the living room also need serious attention as there seems to be a little subsidence in the door frame area, they can hardly be used. Small issues that would make this cottage really great.



Enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back if we were holidaying in the area.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was warm, comfortable and very well equipped. The outside area was lovely and there was plenty of space but we didn't use it because of the midges. We had our eighty year old mother's with us and they loved it too, although they did find the settees too low, that said there were other chairs there to use. The seat pads on the large settee could do with restuffing. The mattress on one of the double beds was a bit lumpy but Mr Weir said he had bought a new one. I would have liked a mirror in the bedrooms but there is a mirror in the hallway. The cottage was clean and spacious and the scenery was stunning. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. If you were going with young children they would need to be well supervised as there is no fence at the back of the property.




Lovely location in a cottage with history

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Myself and my family did enjoy our stay in the porters cottage. The place is a good size for 4 and in a nice location with views of the loch. It feels very private and separated from the rest of the site. The downsides that we found we that it was a little hard to find assistance on the site as the reception is rarely manned. On arrival this made it a little different as we had to wait for someone to spot us walking around to get some assistance. Ian was always helpful if you could find him.

As for the cottage it is very close to a busy road which can be a bit noisy but we got used to that and it was useful when going out. The place is and old building and does need a bit of tlc. One thing that annoyed my wife was the lack of wifi in the place. With the only wifi available from the games room a short walk away. On ee there was also no 3G signal. The things I did enjoy was the location and found it interesting that it was build on an old railway station. The original station in still standing behind the porters cottage.

The food in creagans pub a short walk away was also worth the visit. All in all for the price we payed it was worth it for the location and the accommodation.




Weekend visit from 3 June to 5 June.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location, value for money. The mattresses need upgrading for better comfort. Bathroom needs a bath mat. Some hand towels would be ideal and just a few more basic things in the kitchen.



Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Porters Cottage to be very cosy and comfortable during our week's stay. There is a pleasant garden which we took advantage of. It is ideally situate for Oban and Fort William and we were never short of places to visit or eat out. Jim and Julie Wear were most welcoming. We would have no hesitation in recommending Appin Holiday Homes.



Just beautiful home away from home

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay, a home away from home, very clean and comfortable Julie is very helpful, and the Cregan Inn is walking distance and lovely place for an afternoon drink or dinner. Wish i lived in Scotland would go more often.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Appin holiday homes, they really are a home from home . we were very well looked after by Jim, and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend to friends and have already organised a return to this fantastic place.



Winter Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy in the end, two small things. The shower did not drain fast in the end and we think there was a mouse in the roof. We heared it on the last night. But there are small things. Very happy, great people and great location. I would 100% come again.. Thank You!!!!



Long weekend visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and a great sized cottage. Very well equipped. Would definetly recommend a visit and may in the future have another visit. This is an ideal base for some lovely sight seeing. 30 mins your in glencoe or oban another 5 your in Fort William




Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Porters Cottage for a week in September 2015. The cottage was fantastic as was the weather. We will be booking for next year. Jim and Julie make it a pleasurable stay to.



Porter's Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Appin Holiday homes with my husband and two boys during our August trip to Scotland and London. It was our first time in the U.K. During our 16 night trip we stayed in several hotels, inns, and B&Bs. Porter's Cottage at Appin Holiday homes was the unanimous, hands-down favorite of the entire family. Despite being in such a convenient a location just a short drive from Glencoe and Oban, it’s extremely peaceful and relaxing with absolutely stunning views. The street was quiet and there was no noise at all at night. The relaxing feel is helped by the hosts Julie and Jim, who were smiling and helpful from the moment we stepped through the door. They were a wealth of knowledge regarding the surrounding area and the hike they recommended in Glencoe was perfect! The cottage itself was spotless, comfortable, and so well equipped. The cottage even had a fabulous patio area with a fireplace and grill. There was also a game room with wifi, lawn chess, and a laundry room on the property. We hope to make it back to Scotland and if we are so lucky we certainly know where we will be staying!



A lovely cottage in an amazing location.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location well placed for the west coast and Islands. The accommodation was spacious, well equipped and comfortable.
The customer service was helpful, prompt and friendly. It was a lovely cottage in a beautiful location and we had a relaxing and
thoroughly enjoyable holiday with something for everyone. We even got good weather - amazing !




A great base

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Quirky but roomy cottage. Centrally based to explore both Oban and Fort William areas. Plenty of out door space for able children to run, play and explore. Wifi only available inside the games room cabin. The local pub, the creagan inn is only a 5 minute walk away and serves wonderful food and drink with amazing hospitality. The cottage owners were extremely relaxed and very hands off and left you alone to enjoy your space. Helpful when needed though. Would return without hesitation.



A great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at porters cottage. The first time 40 yrs ago for our honeymoon, the on the 20th and recently the 40th anniversary. Every time our stay has been delightful, the improvements to the cottage have made it an amazing place to stay in an amazing setting.



Porters cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay. Very good inn nearby. Great opportunities for walking and cycling. House is tastefully furnished and well equipped. Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday.




Brilliant for groups spread across a couple of units

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 lodges and Porters Cottage. The whole affair was very easy, the owners were friendly and accommodating in the run up to our stay and the place had a very relaxed feel. We (just) managed to squeeze everyone into the living room of Porters Cottage for drinks on the last evening but the pub is only a short walk away and served great food (also very friendly and accommodating of our group).

My only (very picky) complaint was that the hot water had little pressure which made washing up a slow affair (only mattered when we weren't using the dishwasher).

Overall, a brilliant stay. Thank you very much :-)




excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, we stayed at Porter's Cottage and we were delighted with the quality and location. Highly recommended. The kids loved the rope swing and play room.