FB Twitter

New Barn Cottage

New Barn Cottage

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
76% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.7
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.8
Location
4.4
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
3.9


A beautiful and tranquil rural retreat right next to the Queen Elizabeth Country Park.

One double bedroom.

away from it all

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. location perfect for a restful break away. handy for Winchester. other i read say that the shower is too small but i managed alright and i am not a skinny model.



Thankyou for this little bit of heaven !

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, peaceful, comfortable place to stay. Thankyou to the people who share these wonderful places with us, away from it all !
Great walks on the doorstep and great places to eat in the village . Hope to come back !




A week in New Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was perfect for what I was after. Quiet location, in the edge of some walks, easy drives to areas of interest and ease to Isle of Wight.

Cottage was clean, comfy and had everything required. Loved my weeks stay !




A most relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything met expectation at the cottage next to the wood... Having read the reviews regarding the shower, we have no issues not being overly large - lots of hot water & heating as needed - we slept like logs. We enjoyed excellent meals at pubs around the locality and enjoyed lots of walks around the QE park. We loved Winchester but didn't get as far as Chichester which is high on the list for next time (our son lives 30 mins away). What would have made the cottage even more perfect for us, would have been if there was somewhere outside where a puppy could romp safely such as a closeable gate at the front or enclosure to the rear just for the cottage - as the beautiful gardens flow around both cottage and owners house - despite the suggestion that we would be welcome to walk the gardens, we didn't feel we could as we hadn't met the owners & didn't wish to impose. Overall a good find but resolving the last point is an important one for us for next time. The only other suggestion would be some sort of fireplace or wood burning stove to make the cottage more "cosy" visually.



Jusr what the doctor ordered!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect antidote to our hectic and chaotic work lives. The property was ideally set and provided all we needed for a truly relaxing break away from it all. So many walks and footpaths to choose from in the immediate area and even direct from the front door. Really enjoyed the wildlife- saw deer and buzzards up close on a daily basis. Waking up to sunshine streaming through the bedroom window and the sound of birdsong was perfect.



A very quiet and peaceful location. Many walks just from the front door.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very spacious cottage, very quiet with Petersfield near by for shopping and meals. Many walks possible just starting at your front door.



Beautiful Buriton

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have been to New Barn Cottage...we love the tranquil surroundings and the village, plus Petersfield is close enough for shopping etc. The main draw for us is the walking and the beautiful pool area.
Whilst the cottage is not luxurious it is adequate for our needs: dog friendly, quiet, good position for the coast, and on the edge of Queen Elizabeth Park which offers great walking.
Our main criticism (as last year) is that the windows are dirty inside and out...and the steps and small patio area and entrance need a good clean. This would give a much better first impression and would not take long. Other reviews do mention the small shower but this does not bother us....we will be booking for next year.




Great Location, nice pool, cottage need some TLC ( tenderness , love, and care ).

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage is at a very nice location, and we enjoyed the Woods & pool.
Big living, good warm water shower.

Sadley there are some "minor" things we did't like.
The chair in the living is dirty, with a greasy part ( head ).
Some plants over grow the cottage, you can't use the stone stairs ( in one hour, a gardener will fix it).
Very small place to sit in the garden of the cottage, ( gardener ) and close to the oil tank (smell).
Very simple garder chairs.
Upstairs it's not for long people, small shower, angle roof.
No hooks for towels, no good mirror in bathroom.
No tray for soap in tight shower, toilet seat loose.
No good lock at het back door, when you leave it open, a cat get in your cottage.
The gate next to the cottage is not to open or closed, ( no working bottom hinge rust, loose from wood ),
( you need some times the gate, when your locked out).

I think with a little bit of TLC, you can add one more STAR.

Would you recommend this property to others? not at the moment.




New Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Comfortable cottage in a quiet location close to the picturesque village of Buriton. For walkers this is an ideal location with plenty of footpaths accessible from the cottage. For touring by car there is easy access to major routes. The only negative comment is the size of the shower at the property, if you are a large person you would probably experience some difficulty using this facility. A bit of a let down in an otherwise well appointed cottage.



Great place for peace and quiet.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very good place to relax in peace and quiet. The owners are friendly and helpful, as are their cats. The cottage is nicely situated close to the A3, though you wouldn't know it, and a short drive from Petersfield which is handy for places to eat and buying in supplies. The only slight criticism is the shower. We found it a bit awkward to get in and out of it. May I suggest and outward opening door. Apart from that it's perfect.



kitchen tap

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
the taps needed fixing to the sink,a large mirror would be useful.THe cats came in and were very loving.



New Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Spacious and well equipped cottage with some thoughtful touches. Beautiful location, very relaxing, I would happily book this property again.



Value for money when in search for an standard cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Arrival was ok, heating didn't work but was minor problem as the time-clock was set incorrectly.
The cottages is located in a very nice area and great for hiking and travel to e.g. Portsmouth.
The cottage is clean, kitchen area nice and enough space and equipment.
The bathroom is seriously small, small shower area and missing mirror.
We realized ( when we made the booking) the cottage was without an actual open fire but is missed...
Overall heating very good, enough power outlets available.
If I would be the owner, I would spend a bit more time into the decoration.. as this can be improved.
No network connections, calling can only be done via WIFI - Whatsapp good WIFI connection.

Overall, definitely value for money.




Andrew Gardner replied 290 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback. There is little we can do about the size of the shower. Anyone who struggles with their mobility or has a larger physical frame would not find it suitable. The cottage enjoys a great location right beside the Queen Elizabeth Country Park and in the heart of the South Downs. The downside or upside depending on your view, is there is limited network coverage as a consequence, however the WIFI is good as you have noted. We're really pleased you found it good value for money though and maybe see you again sometime.

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A great little cottage in the middle of nowhere.....there can't be too many locations as good as this while being so close to the A3, A272 and a fast mainline train-line. We stayed here for a month in-between house sale and purchase and it was a delight. Own private driveway and what felt like personal access to the queen Elizabeth park for great walks. the red Lion pub was a great walk on a Sunday. Lovely views and the cottage is generally well stocked with all the utensils etc you need. YES, the shower is small but I quite enjoyed the challenge and there was loads of hot water. Bed/mattress could be improved and an enclosed area in the garden would be easier for dog-owners.



New Barn Cottage 2

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was a return visit to New Barn Cottage having stayed there earlier in the year. Our only criticism remains the pretty cramped shower facility, which is a bit of a challenge. Rest of the cottage is well equipped, and nice to have central heating as the mornings / evenings had started to go chilly. Would still recommend the house.......



Could be better, shower very restricted and bed uncomfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was reasonable, kitchen and equipment good, sitting room with good tv and wifi however the bed was and rather uncomfortable and would benefit from a better quality mattress. The shower was extremely restricted, fortunately my husband and I are slim and not over tall, I think that anyone of larger proportions must have found it impossible.
The external sitting area was small and dark and damp receiving no sunlight at all, exacerbated by the shrubbery being overgrown and need of a good but back




rural cottage....

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Two people and a dog....... Unfortunately no enclosed garden for dog so she had to stay on lead in small back overgrown garden space and was unable to let dog out at front because property fronted on to road. Property details stated "use of owners swimming pool" - slightly difficult as the pool was actually in the owners back garden (right next door to holiday cottage) which didn't appear like that on the photos provided and the cover was on pool all the time. Cant imagine many people cavorting around in a pool that is in a strangers garden and I think that should be made clearer on property details...Never met owners who were away part of the time. Cottage adequate but very rural - no local shops and pub a long way away so car all the time. Not quite the special break we thought we were going to have and would only recommend to people who really want to be cut off from everything .....



Andrew Gardner replied 350 days ago
We are sorry that the garden did not quite work for you with your dog. We do not advertise the cottage with an enclosed garden although the area is very rural. The swimming pool is shared with the owner who is very happy for guests to use it. It is never a case of being overlooked by the owner when the pool is used and he will always make it available to any guest who would like to use it and he totally respects their privacy. I am sorry that you were not led to believe this would be the case.