FB Twitter

The Rock House

The Rock House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


The Rock House provides the highest level of luxury on the Isle of Harris. This intimate dwelling blends beautifully into the natural rock terraces. Visitors can enjoy the sporting offerings of Borve Lodge Estate, the wild Harris landscape or just chill in 5 star luxury. Whatever the weather, the Rock House is the perfect place to watch the Atlantic waves roll in.

Mini staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an experience in a beautiful location. The Rock House was very private with fantastic views from all windows. Well equipped kitchen and a lovely bathroom.
Well worth a visit and hope to return again.




A very comfortable holiday house with great views in a special location

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property for a couple looking to get away and enjoy a fantastic natural environment.

The Rock House is well equipped and comfortable for a couple.
The huge panoramic windows give you wonderful views of the Atlantic rollers breaking on a beautiful sand beach which is five minutes walk away.
The house is eco-friendly heated by underfloor heating from a heat pump together with a wood burning stove. It is snug and warm.
It has an amazing bathroom with a wonderful view from the loo !
The surrounding landscape and coastline is world class scenery - you just need to wrap up because it is often windy.




One of a Kind!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are repeating customers of Borve Estate, and always enjoy it to the fullest. The Rock House is a unique and beautiful property, well equipped and of a very high standard. It is perfectly located on the Isle of Harris and there is nothing you could ask for more. We would come back at any time. Thanks and all the best.



A TESTAMENT TO RELAXATION

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed our stay at the rock house enormously as the quality and location of this property is second to none with the peaceful benefits outweighing the lack of personable contact due to Covid.
We have been able to relax completely and not only enjoy the property but the beautiful Island of Harris where we have visited before but this time stayed for 2 weeks and it was definitely worthwhile.
We enjoyed our stay at The Rock House so much we have already booked for next year so have no problem in recommending this property to potential visitors.




Our very own “FLINTSTONE” house!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed by the size of Rock House. The web photos do not do it justice. The choice and quality of the furnishings , plus local bric-a-brac all add to a feel of luxury. We could have done with a small table for our champagne glasses while soaking in the bath! The position and views , as well as the local walks were second to none.

Finally Camille and her team were always willing and helpful, and we were glad to visit them and thank them personally.

Harris too was a very welcoming Island and we had a fabulous Burns Night at the Bay centre !

Thank you !




Hogmanay at the Rock House

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to the Rock House and as wonderful as the first. It is complete luxury and very tastefully and thoughtfully done throughout. The Borve team were extremely helpful before and during our stay,
We stayed for a week over Hogmanay, walking most days come rain or shine, Coming back to light the log stove and sit down to a chilled evening was the ideal end to a day.
There is a great community in Harris. Go out, get involved, and support it.
We will be back.




Stunning house, amazing views

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is gorgeous, thoughtfully decorated with local art, very clean and amazing views. Excellent communication.



Magical week at The Rock House

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Harris we had a fantastic week at the Rock House. Upon arrival we found everything to be in perfect condition and were warmly welcomed by the staff. The welcome pack of local goodies and sparkly stuff was much appreciated as was the supply of logs and kindling. The Hebridean weather was not always kind to us but it was a joy to sit in the comfort of the Rock House watching the waves crash on to a sandy beach not far away whilst the log burner kept as warm and cosy. A selection of good movies, books and games to helped keep us occupied on rainy days.

The location offers great opportunities for walking and local sight seeing (our favourite being the "coffin walk"). There are a few cafes and restaurants in the vicinity (all of good standard). Look out for the "eggs for sale" with honesty box just 200 yards along the road - excellent. Thanks to everyone at Borve - your service and kindness was much appreciated and helped make this a very special holiday for my wife and I. Would love to come back soon.




Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delightful place to stay. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t great, but returning to The Rock House (or staying in, in the wet), was so much part of the holiday we didn’t feel we were missing out. Spacious, well designed, comfortable, every detail thought of I would definitely recommend The Rock House to anyone looking for a home away from home on Harris.



Just a wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We’ve enjoyed a short but wonderful time in Harris, made extra special by the scenic location of The Rock House which in itself is just an amazing property. Sad that we’re off early tomorrow but sure to return!



A Golden Week

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Rock House for our Golden Wedding Anniversary and it was all we expected and more. It is an unusual shape with magnificent views across Borve beach and the hills behind. It is very comfortable and well equipped. Lovely to sit in the evening and watch the setting sun from the lounge or to listen to the bleating sheep. A lovely holiday home in a beautiful setting. We loved it.



The beautiful Rock House

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rock House is a magnificent place to stay. It is close to most things on Harris and has magnificent views in all directions. We were greeted by the delightfully friendly Carmel who easily orientated us to the house. The Rock House had everything we needed to afford us a home away from home.



A great time-out

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very unique and special with great views. Rock House has everything one needs with very thoughtful little details. Really enjoyed our time and fell in love with the house and the Island.



Gneissest Hebridean holiday house

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the way this house is built into the hillside incorporating the beautiful Gneiss rock, not just the outer walls but many internal features such as the hearth and shelving. On our first evening, to our amazement a Merlin, usually a very difficult bird of prey to see, landed on the rock outside the dining room window. We always enjoyed the view whatever the weather. An excellent place to easily reach many of the stunning west coast beaches. A thoroughly relaxing holiday in this luxuriously appointed house.



Simply stunning and so relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday property we have ever stayed at
Stunning design inside and out - spotlessly clean with super facilities




The rock becomes a gem.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a little gem of a place to stay. The house has everything you need for your stay, you only need to pack your clothes. Its easy to find, cosy and comfortable, and spectacular scenery from every window. Customer service is first class from initially being greeted at the house to providing witnesses for our wedding. Steep in the bath whilst admiring the view, wrap up in the bathrobe provided, light the log fire and watch the sun set over the beach with a slice of home made fruitcake from the tea tray. Its a quirky, quality property in a location which is very difficult to leave.



Our Third Stay at The Rock House

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is ideally situated on the west coast of Harris. The views from the living areas and bedroom are great, rolling hills and a beautiful beach.
The facilities are great, and the care package that they give you upon arrival is most welcome. (Check what you get, so you dont buy lots of things you dont need).
There is no Catch up TV option with their SKY package, so you might want to take some DVD's if scrabble is not your thing. (There are some DVD's provided).
Access to one beach is 100 meters, and two other beaches on foot within 20 minutes, and lots more in 15 minute drive.
Keep in mind everywhere is closed on Sundays. A special place.




1st Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the Rock House after calling the office when we got of the ferry so Camille could meet us to show around. And soon as we walked in she made us feel like home. The place is stunning everywhere you look. We had amazing weather but still spent lots of time inside just taking it all in and when log fire is on watching sunset over the beach it's what dreams are made off and will be going back for sure. Top class finishes everywhere 5 star luxury all over.



Stunning inside and out

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful unique house in a beautiful location. The finishing touches to the Rock House set it apart. The skills used are second to none from the finesse of the building itself each stone honed to perfection, to the inclusion of the beautiful rock within the house itself for feature furniture a very clever stonemason bringing the outside in. And the amazing carpentry on the doors and bed fantastic attention to detail, the doors are just fab. The bathroom is just amazing. Perfect place to go and recharge your batteries do as much or a little as you want. Cant recommend the Rock House highly enough. The perfect getaway. Thank you



Rock House is terrific!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extraordinary location and facility. Views don’t quit. Easy passage to all of Lewis and Harris. A good value for your vacation money. Oh, and service is terrific.



A magical respite

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having been to The Rock House for 9 days before, we felt our visit was too short. We expanded thi visit to a month.
The kitchen is a dream if you cook, the walking experience is amazing and their is that fabulous view,
Great place to decompress and enjoy,




We returned for the 3rd time.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A unique and beautiful home perched on a rocky heather hill was ours for an unforgettable vacation!
The views were unforgettably beautiful right from our windows. A walk across the road to the beach to watch the sun go down was a highlight among our daily adventures in the hills.




Unique property with wonderful view

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. The house had everything we needed for a comfortable and luxurious stay. Highly recommend!



Beautiful & quirky

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky property which was furnished to a very high standard. Love the huge windows giving uninterrupted views of the surrounding landscape & plenty of light, especially on duller days. Loved the use of natural materials in the house decor & the use of local art work. Great location for exploring south Harris.



Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely stunning place with incredible facilities - they had thought of everything and all products were of the highest quality. While on the expensive end of the scale, it was similar to other properties in the area and we felt it was worth it. From the photographs, we had thought it would be slightly more secluded than it was (you can see the road) but it still very private and with wonderful views and 2 minutes from the sea



Perfect honeymoon escape

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A faultless stay in this incredible dwelling, so close to the deserted beach and with all the support you could want from the customer service team. Neil was an excellent host away from the property and the little touches of gifts for our arrival finished of the most perfect stay. We will be back!!! Thank you x



Return visit to Rock House in Harris

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is just something else. We have travelled the world and just love the Isle of Harris and Lewis. There is no one there!
This is a do -not - a - lot holiday. Lovely walks and scenery all around.
We saw lambs being born end of April, walked on deserted beaches for miles, got rained on, but not much.

My wife and I have both read the trilogy by Peter May, so on this vist we did take a look at some of the land marks he mentioned, albeit, some are fictitious.

It is different, and very beautiful in a wet and cloudy way, but often the sun shines.




Uniquely perfect and blissfully peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning property and location, pure luxury. Every detail thought of for a relaxing, pampered stay. Could gaze at the sea all day, super comfy bed. Beautiful island to explore in any weather or any season.



Top place in Harris self-catering market

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Since it opened for use in 2013, The Rock House has maintained its position as the premium self-catering accommodation for two people in Harris.



A very special holiday in an outstanding place

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An unusual and very beautiful house in the most wonderful location. The standard of the furnishings and the cleanliness are both well above average (the property was spotless), and these along with the welcome from Lindsay made our stay a very positive experience. The provision of some local food specialties on arrival was a lovely additional touch.
The location of the house is exceptional, with wide views of the hills AND the sea- it feels like being a part of the landscape, but with the warmth and comfort of indoors. For experiencing the outdoors directly, walks on beaches and on hills are all easily accessible from the door, and for supplies fresh food is available a very short drive away.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Rock House to other guests, and have already enthused to our friends and family.




Never disappointing.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is not our first stay with the wonderful team at Borve Lodge Estate and won't be our last. The accommodation is always exceptional and the amazing views just add to the overall experience. The estate team are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to ensure our stay is as restful and enjoyable as possible.
Harris is a wonderful place to explore; even in late autumn we can find lots of things to do, especially walking on the often empty beaches and watching the wildlife. See you again in 2018!




Perfect solitude in a uniquely special haven

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning and unique both inside and out, every detail thought of and more for a real 5 * experience and staff really are exceptional, so helpful.

A real gift.




New to Harris

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a fabulous few days staying at the Rock House, the accommodation was stunning.... we were well looked after by the whole team at Borve.
Everything you could imagine you might need was there, a considerable amount of thought had gone into every detail .
Look forwards to going back !




Lovely location and lovely home for a stay to get away

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great time at rock lodge..
Beautiful views, warm home, well appointed..
Lindsay was very helpful and all was great..
The little goodies were lovely!

Points of note - they are small..

Smoke detector goes off even when you just open the oven which is a bit of a nuisance
Wifi is slow with a data cap - no ones fault and no complaints... just would be good to know in advance




Wonderful accommodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This unique building set into the rocky fields just above Borve Beach made for the perfect base to spend a week exploring the gorgeous Island of Harris & Lewis.
The ever changing view from the panoramic windows was a constant delight in whatever weather the atlantic chose to serve up and the calm quiet high quality design always made for the most comfortable living.




Rock House

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at the Rock House. The design and layout are absolutely stunning. The only issue we have is that, in common with all high quality accommodation on Harris, the cost is a bit on the high side.



What a find!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent first class self catering accommodation. True luxury
Incredible location. Not cheap but priceless




Harris delight

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This modern architect designed accommodation has every comfort imaginable - and blends in seamlessly to the surrounding countryside. It is hewn from local stone, with bleached wood floorboards (and under floor heating), a stone fireplace (not needed), a state of the art kitchen, and a spacious drying room. The bedroom, living room and dining area all have floor to ceiling windows from which to enjoy views of the surrounding countryside. And of course, there is a patio and outdoor picnic area - and did I mention the associated Borve beach with its white sands and turquoise blue water?. The welcome pack provided much of our food needs for our 5 night stay, and Steve and Linsday could not have been more welcoming or helpful.



Fantastic house in amazing location.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rock House lived up to expectations.First visit to Harris and we weren't disappointed.Fantastic!



A break from it all, apart from the Internet!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is comfortable living in an amazingly remote setting. The website information could do with updating as the provisions that are included are much than one is lead to expect. Property is 5*
Not a lot to do here, but that was the whole point.
Beaches are beautiful and landscape amazing.




Another Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, the team at Borve make every effort so that our stay was perfect and stress free. We look forward to returning later in the year.



March holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A luxurious holiday home in a great location. Warm, comfortable and everything you need for a break away from it all.



A very special house in a superb location.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very special house and perhaps more thoughtfully planned than any holiday house we have ever been in before. It is cutting edge technologically and has been designed by someone who really knows how people live on holiday and what they want. The kitchen is better equipped than many folk have at home and oh joy, sharp kitchen knives! We took a little time getting used to the heating zones but again it worked so well. There are areas for keeping climbing kit, outdoor equipment etc away from the utility area and that too could be shut away from the living area keeping everything super clean and the heat was kept where it was needed most. (We have gone home with many ideas.) Cleaning supplies were there in abundance which again showed forethought and there was a lovely welcome tray with local goodies. The Estate staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
The location of the house is a delight and it was a constant pleasure looking out to sea and the surrounding country. There is a perverse delight in looking at wild weather and being so insulated and snug. The next door house is designed so that neither house is overlooked. One comes to this part of the world for space- much appreciated!
This is a holiday house that actually is in reality what the pictures on the website portray! We enjoyed Harris very much and this house was a great contributing factor to what was a lovely few days.




Perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such lovely accommodation set in a stunning location. We had a very relaxing stay and plan to return



Great cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rock House is a great 'cottage' built in traditional style in a lovely location. Karen was excellent



A Beautiful Respite

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rock House was everything we were hoping for. A great location, a well equipped kitchen and beautiful decorated.
The staff, especially Karen was always available and helpful. We travel extensively, the Rock House was the perfect place to stay between a month in Italy and our new Adventure
From Amsterdam to Budapest. Home away from home.
We will definitely be back. Next time for a month.
Well done.




Wonderful holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rock is an outstanding building in a wonderful location.It has a luxurious and comfortable interior which provided everything we needed to a high standard.



Comfort and tranquillity in the stunning Rock House

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning house with everything you could possibly need. Although we used Croft 36 who provided cooked tasty meals for us daily preparing food would be a pleasure not a chore in the well equipped kitchen. All fixtures and fittings are of a very high standard and we were very impressed with the fabulous layout and design. It was wonderful to return after a long day driving/walking sometimes a bit damp and cold to a warm cosy house and somewhere to hang wet clothes and store muddy shoes. The views from every aspect of this lovely house are breathtaking and ever changing. We visit Harris regularly and will be very keen to return to the Rock House in the future.
We would only have one reservation about recommending the Rock House to our friends who like us are car enthusiasts and members of car clubs both Classic and Modern. The track to the house is rocky and it has weathered somewhat making it uneven and therefore grounding of the sump is a real possibility for low vehicles, as we unfortunately experienced in our Caterham 7. The other touring car we have has a slightly higher sump but the front spoiler is low and may also catch. We appreciate the topography of the area makes it difficult to maintain such a driveway but this has to be a consideration in our choice of accommodation when we are planning our driving holidays. At the moment we would only recommend the property to others if using the 'family' car or a 4x4.




How beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful stay we had. The Rock House was built with attention to detail - and love. We stayed at the Rock House two years before the present stay, and will return again.



Great Place For Honeymoon Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We picked this location for our honeymoon, accommodation is amazing, great place to just unwind after all the build up to our wedding. The view from the house is ever changing & you could never tire of watching it. The house is very well equipped & spotless. It's location is good for accessing the many wonderful beaches on Harris.



fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the accommodation and the location. 5 star, absolutely perfect.

Great little beach a short walk away and in the most wonderful scenery, we will be returning




Idyllic and high quality, but with a few oddities that belie its luxury

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and facilities of The Rock House are fabulous. The layout, facitities and support are fantastic.

And when we needed someone to check out the dishwasher, they sent someone almost immediately. (And it was our misuse of it, nothing was wrong with it.)

The kitchen is well planned, though it could use a few more bits of cookware, especially if you're going to self-cater for an entire week. The view from the dining table cannot be beat.

They oddly scrimp on shower gel, giving two tiny 'sample-sized' bottle-ettes?!?! I find this extremely odd given the luxury positioning and the infinitesimally small cost.

Perhaps because of the energy efficiency and renewal energy (heating) but there is hardly any ventiliation in the property. Which is very sad considering one of the glories of Harris is the air. You have to go outside to smell and sense it, which is no bad thing, but again for a luxury property my expectations are higher.

The bathroom is spectacular. Fabulous shower. Great Pullman sinks. I'm not convinced that they got the drainage entirely right.

Finally beware that that is no mobile signal and, we are told, there is a monthly allocation of broadband and if it's used, you are out of luck. While 'going feral' on holiday is often joyful, my partner and I are able to afford holidays at locations like this because we have jobs that occasionally require 'checking in'. As well, finding out things like ferry times, opening hours, etc, is important when on such a remote and beautiful place. So this was a rather big disappointment.

So, although we loved our time there, I cannot say it's great value for money, particularly with so many new and exciting places on Harris and Lewis, many with more bedrooms.




Architectural gem in Harris

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked The Rock House for our anniversary week. Nearly didn't as it doesn't take dogs (I can see why!) but decided to come anyway and bring our kayaks instead.
Built discreetly into the rock face, this place certainly has the wow factor. The interiors are artistic and tasteful - certainly to out taste. From the rowing boat built into the wall that lights up to the exquisite and thoughtful use of wood and slate throughout, the whole interior design pays homage to the land and culture around it. The bathroom is superb and looks amazing and there's loads of hot water too plus a beautiful looking but pleasingly functional bath, great wet room style showers and his and hers sinks. The loo faces the exterior of the building but as you don't see anyone, it really doesn't matter.
The artwork within the Rock is gorgeous and we sought out Nikolai and Beka Globe's place to purchase a ceramic piece.
Perched on s hillside, the views to the beach are great and we got access to the beach for a perfect kayaking spot.
When we arrived, the sun was beating down and has done for a week! Probably a little unusual for Harris but is has meant that the Rock House became the Green house! With its (controllable) underfloor heating and wood burning stove, keeping cosy would not be a problem but keeping cool was! We like fresh air in the bedroom but there are no openable Windows there so we slept with the doors to the dining room wide open. I recommend a big fan for Summer months to get the air circulating.
We've had a wonderful stay here.




Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation is perfect for enjoying the beauty of Harris,overlooking both a beach and open countryside, whilst blending in with the landscape.

The house is well designed,providing very spacious and luxurious accommodation for two.

The highlight of our stay was seeing an eagle fly past whilst we were having breakfast.

A very special place.

.





A truely magnificent place!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rock House was an incredible place to stay for our Honeymoon. Views to die for from every room, every comfort you could ask for and a real show stopper of a building. Totally made our stay on the island one to remember. Could not have hoped for more. Thoroughly recommended. We will almost certainly be back!!



Traumhaft!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sehr geschmackvoll und luxuriös ausgestattet! Es fehlte an nichts, selbst Beutel für Eiswürfel waren vorhanden. Einzig das Bett war etwas zu weich für uns :-(



New Year in Harris

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Harris, The Rock House was perfect - the log burner was much appreciated in the evenings. Thank you for a great holiday....



Peace, perfect peace.. !!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love our short visits to Harris to re-charge the batteries for our busy lives on the mainland.
The area is superb.. Only 20 minutes from Tarbert. The house is WOW... just perfect.. Everything you could wish for is there. Nothing is too much bother for the lovely people of Borve Estates to get for you. I would highly recommend this house.. It is like a 21st century Flinstone house full of all mod cons.. !! Just wonderful.. I will certainly return in the future. Everything is so tastefully executed.. We Loved it and we were very sad to leave.




October Holidays in Harris

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rock house is an amazing house in an amazing location. Perfect 'get away holiday'! An ideal location along the stretch of east coast beaches for watersports. We will be back!



Excellent house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The rock house is an excellent accomodation in a wonderful location of south harris. Equipped with everything needed, built in a sound standard and attractive design. It invites to relax and enjoy at home but also to stroll along the beaches and the whole island. We surely comeback again!



Relaxing break in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our break on the beautiful Island of Harris. The Rock House lived up to expectations. Looking as if it is built into the hillside the interior brought the outside inside too. Large windows enabled us to enjoy the scenery including a beautiful beach and the everchanging weather. A large stone fireplace, stone bookcases and beautiful artwork added to the scerentiy of the place.



Magical Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week on Harris staying in The Rock House.
The lovely wine & smoked salmon & other luxury goodies left for our arrival were very much appreciated, and a great start to the holiday.
Steve was very helpful with fishing with fishing information, and it was good to know that help was on hand if needed, but otherwise we had privacy and peace.
The kitchen & bathroom in The Rock House were excellent, and the furnishings and artwork wonderful. But the BIG thing was the view - awesome !
Want to live there!
Many Thanks




Magic

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accomodation with wonderful view.Best self catering we have ever stayed in.Total peace and quiet.Staff very friendly and helpful.Trip to Taransay was wonderful.
Shame the weather wasn't good!




Unique building on a beautiful island

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying here and we would recommend everyone to experience the Rock House and the Isle of Harris. The building has everything you need and the landscape is breath taking