FB Twitter

Top Flat (Alvie House)

Top Flat (Alvie House)

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.6


Top Flat has some of the best views in the house, south facing, over looking Loch Bourne towards the Cairngorms and Glenfeshie. This apartment is on the top floor of Alvie House and has 5 twin bedrooms, drawing room, dining room, fully equipped kitchen, including a dishwasher, 2 bathrooms & an additional WC. All linen is provided (except towels), laundry facilities are available in the basement of Alvie House. The apartment has a TV as well as dvd & cd players. Wifi signal is available from Alvie House.

Family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I organised a get together for family members. Some stayed in the top flat and they found it very comfortable and well kitted out.
The rooms were a good size-mainly single beds but everyone was very comfortable. The flat has a lovely large dining room for us all to eat together. A great holiday with lots of activities on the estate and near by.


Trish from stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 3 nights in May 2017


A lovely place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were an extended family group staying in the top flat as well as the bottom one. We had a great week. The top flat is well appointed, clean and spacious.
Despite being a noisy group with lots of young children we were made to feel welcome. We enjoyed exploring the grounds of the Estate and the wider area.


Anne from Kilwinning stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 7 nights in October 2016


We have been visiting Alvie for over 30 years it has never failed to please

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue to a stay in the Cairngorms with a group of people. In our experience second to none.

The house is stunning with great views of the mountains and good accessibility to the area being just off the A9.



Paul from Preston stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 8 nights in April 2016


Alvie is great

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, spacious, old-fashioned (in a very nice way). Kitchen isn't great, but easy to work round that given the excellent dining room. No showers, but massive claw-footed baths and plenty of hot water. Very chilled place.

Jennifer from Aberdeen stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 7 nights in April 2016


Our first visit

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really pleasantly surprised by the amazing amount of space and lovely atmosphere of the Top Flat. The website and description don't do it justice! It was a great space for a group of families, and also dog friendly. Everybody we met who works/lives on the estate was really friendly and we hope to come back again.

Ailsa from stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 5 nights in February 2016


Our eleventh year in the Top Flat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have booked the Top Flat along with the Nirth Wing for many years to accommodate our merry band of old friends. The last thing we do before we leave is to book for the following year. The large dining room and the open fire in the very comfortable living room are two of the brilliant features of the flat.

John from Stockton on Tees stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 7 nights in January 2016


A short summer stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The top flat at Alvie House was the perfect place for my family. I delighted waking up each morning to the view of the pond and its beautiful setting. On the other side of the flat those bedroom and the kitchen got to look up onto the heather laden hills on this region. The flat was nicely furnished and comfortable. The walking in the estate is amazing. My children went riding at the Alvie stables and enjoy that several times over the week stay. We also did the zip lines which we highly recommend for the young and older set.

The question I always ask prior guests of a rental I am considering is would you go back. Without question, I would rent the top flat at Alvie again in a heart beat. It was delight to stay there and I am looking forward to returning here on my next trip to Scotland.

The only thing I would do differently next time is I would preorder my Tesco groceries for delivery for the day of my arrival.

Alec


Guest from stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 9 nights in August 2015


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were in Aviemore for the Stopover Festival 2015. The Alvie House Top Flat was the best value for money, when most places had increased their prices the top flat was very reasonable. The flat easily accommodated our party of 7. Note that there are no showers, but there are two baths that fill quickly with hot water. The kitchen was stocked with all the pots, pans and crockery we needed. The location is well known to the local taxi company and is handy for getting to and from Aviemore. Its also ideally located for a variety of outdoor activities.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 4 nights in July 2015


Great Easter break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I read several reviews before I booked and took on board the one about getting your shopping delivered by Tesco.
This turned out to be really useful. It arrived on time and the driver commented that most of the stuff we had ordered would not have been available at the local Tesco in Aviemore, and that he had come from Inverness.
Other people have commented on the lack of showers.
I normally shower, however having a good soak in a bath after a long walk was bliss!
We had 8 people, there were 2 baths, plenty of hot water and they filled really quickly, so we had no problems.
Certainly enjoyed all our walks and even some skiing!
A great Easter break helped by the good weather (18C in Dalwhinnie!).


Guest from Gloucester stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 5 nights in April 2015


Visit 20-23 March 2015

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As previously we took the whole house for a family weekend. Ages ranged from 9 months to 73. For some of us it was our 4th
visit, some the 3rd, some their 2nd and some their 1st.
With a record like this it is obvious we love the place. We all have great memories, relaxed, informal and the kids can run more
or less as the like (they need watching around the lochan) and plenty to do in the area. The zip wire for one is a must.
On top of this the house is clean, comfortable and well appointed without being in anyway overwhelming. A proper home from home.
So far as this family is concerned, it is highly recommended.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 3 nights in March 2015


Gracious Living

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first moment of deciding to stay in Alvie House all the through e-mails, payments, contact with the owners and our experience of staying there it has been a joy. From the uber efficiency of the office staff, the friendliness of the owner to the kind and helpful maintenance men who helped take our luggage and shopping bags up for us. The house itself is warm and welcoming with flowers waiting for us. Everything we could need was there and the fire laid just awaiting a match. The flat is large with plenty of space for the ten of us and a wonderful huge dining room table seating us all for meals... Nothing like sharing a delicious meal in ith friends round a table then decanting tot he living room and a glorious fire...

We are already looking to return next year.
I would recommend Alvie House to anyone wanting to stay in the Highlands.


Guest from Aviemore stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 3 nights in March 2015


Eleventh visit to the Top Flat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Feb 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've had another brilliant holiday in the Cairngorms and the Top Flat is a firm favourite with all of us who stay there. The staff are very approachable and try hard to make sure we have everything we need. Alvie is such a brilliant location for a Cairngorm holiday and I'm sure that we will continue to stay here for many years to come.

Guest from Stockton on Tees stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 7 nights in January 2015


2 Nights

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Extremely dated, so much potential. Very disappointing.-------------------------------------------------------------------------///---------------------

Alan from Kirkliston stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 2 nights in October 2014


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments which we cannot agree with. We honestly feel that you chose the wrong type of accommodation for your group. Your group appeared to be inebriated & noisy for most of the weekend that you stayed with us. You used inappropriate language & disturbed other residents in the House & we are sure that you would have been more suited to hotel accommodation in a different location rather than the tranquil setting of Alvie Estate. You will note that other reviews for the same property have a completely different view to yours.

Great place

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views of hills and loch. Plenty of space. Great base for a holiday. There is so much to do within walking distance on the estate including the zip wire which is a great thrill for almost any age. Will definitely go again.

Guest from Sturminster Newton stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 10 nights in August 2014


Eccellente stay in august

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay enchanting place.
I online recommend more attention to tell the story of the Family and the place. World ben interesting for foreigners


Guest from Roma stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 4 nights in August 2014


Fantastic Easter with a mixed group

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Large spacious bright clean! Everything was organised so well they provide everything you need. Fantastic location to explore Cairngorms then a log fire and board games in the evenings.
Only single downside absolutely no wifi at all which made planning trips very hard if you need the internet for anything. Five days no internet is hard but I think you can cope- we managed with teenagers who usually live on Facebook! No one switched on their laptops to check email etc which was a plus in a way too. Do online tesco delivery before you get here and that's food sorted ! A shower even hand held would be great but bathrooms were clean and big. All in all top marks from a family of grand parents aunts uncles and kids!


Renu from London stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 4 nights in April 2014


11th Year at Alvie

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 11th Year at Alvie. Fantastic base to explore the beautiful countryside.
The men played golf at Kinussie and had a great time. The ladies went for a walk enjoying Loch Eilean and we also went for a spa session at the McDonald hotel on the Sunday.
This was a 3 day break but I would thoroughly recommend this for families and for week long stays.
The staff are helpful and we plan to return next year.
Thank you Alvie. The Riley's Morris's, Laws and the Strachan's. xx


Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 3 nights in March 2014


Review of our decade of holidays at Alvie.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a week in the Top Flat each February for the last ten years and it is my favourite holiday if the year. It is comfortable, rather than 'posh' but is an ideal venue for a family gathering or for a holiday with good friends. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for skiing, cycling, walking or whisky tasting! Whatever the weather we always gave a great time.


John from Stockton on Tees stayed at Top Flat (Alvie House) for 7 nights in February 2014