FB Twitter

Park Cottage

Park Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Park cottage is one of our most popular cottages, having evolved from what was a traditional two up/two down stalker’s cottage probably dating from Victorian times. There is a secluded, sheltered garden surrounded by fields and immediate access to the hill behind the house. All linen is provided (except towels). Upstairs are 3 bedrooms (Double bed, Twin Beds x2), bathroom with bath, WC & wash basin, Downstairs, living room with open fire, pine lined Dining Room with log stove, fully equipped Kitchen including dishwasher, washing machine/tumble dryer and drying room. Additional Bathroom with shower, WC & wash basin. The cottage also has a TV, dvd & cd players & WiFi.


A very comfortable highland cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant and well equipped, open fire with wood provided, all mod cons and great views of the estate.

Angus from stayed at Park Cottage for 3 nights in November 2017


Hunting

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first time Staying in park cottage and we loved it. We were 6 people so plenty of rooms and good space.

Your are here surrounded with mountain all around us. Great wiew every morning.

We Will be back


Leon from 4050 Skibby stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


A wonderful stay at Alvie

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Great Grandfather was the Manager at Home Farm for more than 40 years and my Grandfather worked on the farm for more than 20, so I was really looking forward to a trip to the Estate as part of a bigger trip to Scotland (we live in Australia now) with my children and other family members. We stayed at Park Cottage which was in a beautiful location, very spacious and cosy with a fireplace. The kitchen had everything we might have needed. I can thoroughly recommend the cottage to others.

Trudi from Mount Martha stayed at Park Cottage for 3 nights in March 2017


Everything was Absolutely great!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall great experience. Apart from the roadworks on A9, which hopefully be over very soon, everything else was absolutely awesome.
I'll go again very soon, hopefully this summer!


Mehyrar from Edinburgh stayed at Park Cottage for 4 nights in March 2017


Excellent Christmas stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and spacious cottage. New heating system made it even better for our Christmas stay. Kitchen very well equipped.

Emily from Dollar stayed at Park Cottage for 8 nights in December 2016


very nice place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place to stay. Needs more pans to cook if you are cooking. Very clean and updated. Don't care for all the zip liners walking by.

Ed from Belmont stayed at Park Cottage for 8 nights in October 2016


Problems during our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had some problems with the oven (electricity and fuse) making it impossible to use the oven correctly.

We also had to face problems with the evacuation of the water of wash-machine.

The oven was replaced and the problems of evacuation of the water solved.

The shed used for the falcons was dirty and full of garbage and charcoal, that we had to clean. We would like to have a clean pen another year. To our request, electricity was provided with a portable led-lamp..


Patrick from 1315 INCOURT stayed at Park Cottage for 28 nights in August 2016


Park cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Alvie estate and park cottage. While the cottage could do with a little update here and there it had everything we needed. Lovely location and secure garden was fantastic for our dog. The staff for the activities we booked were very knowledgeable and helpful.

Claire from Thurso stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Brilliant...

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place. The house is brilliant and really well equipped. Wood and Coal in the living room with the fire already set - attention to detail like that REALLY helps.

Can't say anything at all bad against it. It's an old, charming and character filled house which was cosy and comfortable. The wood-pellet boiler is super efficient and got the house warm in no time.

Kitchen is very well equipped and there is LOADS to do. No light pollution at night so we star gazed to our hearts content.

Enjoy your stay if you chose to go to Alvie. We (5 of us) certainly did...


Ewan from Fortrose stayed at Park Cottage for 2 nights in February 2016


Park Cottage is a real escape from the fast lane.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Park Cottage has 3 cosy bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The kitchen has every utensil you need to cook with and the dining room was a lovely place to dine in. Loved the open fire in the lounge. Great location, superb views and walks. Hope to return to try out the zip wire. Garden wasn't fully enclosed our dog could slide under the gate. But really no problem, we kept her on a long lead, there are so many walks off the lead right on your doorstep.

Fiona from Aberdeen stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in December 2015


Park cottage in October

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in stunning surroundings. Loved feeling remote but with easy access to Aviemore and all the cycle trails. Had some lovely runs straight from the four of the cottage right into the hills. Plenty of activities to do on the estate itself. Staff were very helpful with bookings. Zip wire was fab!
The cottage was clean and homely. Just remember towels!
Would definitely recommend a stay here and we plan to come again


Philip from Stonehaven stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Nice cottage for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice cottage, very very quite. A bit far from the shops (20' by car).
The condition was OK, some small malfunctions, but these were quickly adressed by the friendly personell.
When we arrived, there was no one that came by to give us some explanation. But when we could reach someone at the office, they were very friendly.
I can recommend the zipline activity on site.


Guest from Leuven stayed at Park Cottage for 9 nights in July 2015


Nice and excelent location in the middle of nowhere.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is excelent for for us as hunters with a good wiew over the landscape and to the hills. Just as it shall bee!
The people in the office and the stalker are all helpfull with a good level of service.


Guest from Odense 5 stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Great Location

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great Location, Traditional Style Cottage with all the facilities, had a great time here. The fire place is the high point of living room, completes this picture perfect cottage. We couldn't enjoy some of the activities on Estate as they were full so advice to book before hand well in advance.

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Park Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


excellent value

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very comfortable and warm. The views are wonderful including grouse and deer. we had a wonderful time and intend to return soon.The location is so handy for The Wildlife Park and Landmark.

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Park Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


Here for a wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here prior to and following our sons wedding, the reception was held in Alvie House. It was all fantastic and the memories will stay with us for ever. The main house was just amazing and it ensured that the day was something really special.Heidi was so helpful and always had a smile on her face, all the staff were great.

Park Cottage was comfortable and warm and had everything we needed. The view from the window was amazing, the mountains, the daffodils, the pheasants, lambs and grouse............The only minor point is that the sofa in the sitting room is a bit lumpy and could do with an upgrade but otherwise it was a lovely place to stay.

We would definitely return and recommend.

Thank you
Chris, Michael, Ben, Tim, Rod and Matt


Guest from Bournemouth stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Christmas stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed over Christmas this was a very well equipped cottage as we had 2 small children would suggest a fire guard for the living room but other than that a perfect stay five stars

Emily from Dollar stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in December 2014


An ideal place to go for both peace and quiet and lots to do.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Park Cottage in Alvie Estate is the best pace I have ever found for a holiday that allows peace and quiet to relax on days when you feel like it, and activity packed on days when you feel like something fun to do. The cottage is cosy and has a lovely log fire for when there is a chill in the air. My family love all the activities available on the estate, especially the zip wire, archery and clay pigeon shooting. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. I would recommend Alvie Estate for any duration of holiday, whether it's a weekend break or a fortnight.

Guest from East Kilbride stayed at Park Cottage for 14 nights in July 2014


Everything was fine.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was fine. Nice house in a nice country side, quite close to the next big street. My daughter also enjoyed the horse riding. All in all, very good.

Guest from stayed at Park Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


Recommended to other guests, but needs some TLC

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is in a wonderful location and is actually a nice building that's well equipped as a holiday home, but it is a bit dingy and grubby and could really do with a coat of paint. I would stay there again, as it is very convenient, but lighting the stove and the open fire even in summer was essential to try to lift the feeling of damp neglect and try to add some cheer. The other problem was the water - It wasn't just peat stained, it was so full of sediment that children wouldn't get in it to bath and it left a thick, grainy residue in the bottom of the bath. We didn't risk drinking it or using it for cooking and used bottled water instead. The downstairs shower gave hot water once and then didn't work again! That all sounds quite damning and perhaps gives the wrong impression - I feel that all these problems could easily be fixed and as I've said, the location is wonderful and I would stay there again.

Guest from Cupar stayed at Park Cottage for 2 nights in June 2014


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry that you didn't find the property up to standard but are glad to hear that you found the cottage well equipped & that you would stay with us again. Thank you also for bringing to our attention that the shower has stopped working properly, we have arranged to have this repaired/replaced immediately. With regard to the peaty water, Alvie Estate is on a private water supply which is filtered/UV sterilised as required & it is tested regularly by Highland Council to ensure it is up to standard. When you notified us of the water problem on departure we did fill the bath with water & we found the problem had considerably reduced. We have found on odd occasions in the past that when we have wet weather, as we had during your few days with us, following a long dry spell, the water is often a darker colour & does sometimes contain minute particles of sediment that gets through the filters although the water is still perfectly safe to use. The filters are changed regularly, however we have changed them again this week as a precaution. Whilst they do remove majority of the sediment they do not remove all the colour from the water. Even properties on mains water supply in the whole of the Kingussie area have commented that water appeared to be “dirty” the weekend of your stay. Painting & maintenance is an ongoing throughout the year in between guests; this year the property is due to have a wood pellet central heating system installed & painting where necessary. We take on board all your comments & look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday once again at Park Cottage where i lived as a child. We enjoyed walking round the estate, horse riding, a great day out at landmark and the cairngorms. We enjoyed the log fire in the cottage. We will be back soon.

J from Glasgow stayed at Park Cottage for 3 nights in May 2014