FB Twitter

North Wing (Alvie House)

North Wing (Alvie House)

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


North Wing is an attractive, comfortably furnished two-storey wing with access to the grounds of Alvie House and Loch Bourne. Upstairs are 5 bedrooms, (double, 2 twins & 2 singles) & 2 bathrooms. Downstairs is a large kitchen with breakfast area, separate dining room & large living room with open fire, TV, DVD player, CD player & Wifi. There is also an additional WC on the ground floor. Laundry facilities are available in the basement of Alvie House. All linen is provided (except towels).

family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in the wing of Alvie house very much. The area of Kincraig is so beautiful. We had a family get together and others stayed in the top flat. The house was warm with lots of hot water and a lovely new bath/shower room had been recently fitted. On dull days the log fire was cosy with lots of dry logs to use. We didn't want to go home.

Trish from stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in May 2017


Stay at North Wing Alvie

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 20 plus year staying here. Do I need to say more? Everyone very friendly and helpful, accommodation perfect for a week of walking and cycling in the beautiful Highlands. Already booked for next year.

Liz from Henley on Thames stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 9 nights in April 2017


There every year, for 10 years.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If it's the kind of break you are looking for, then you won't find a better place/deal.
We go every year, we love it and will continue to go every year.
Best price out there by far for what you get.


Ryan from Fife stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in January 2017


A great place for an outdoor family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay; very warm and welcoming. It is an ideal place for get together of extended family - we used the top flat as well and had space - and hot water - for seventeen. I am already looking forward to coming back next year.


Anne from Kilwinning stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in October 2016


Space and grandeur

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long weekend in the North Wing with our three small children in July. The accommodation is gracious and spacious. It's not luxury but it is clean and comfortable, relaxed and homely. We enjoyed free roam of the wonderful grounds and the children adored exploring our wing, finding nooks and crannies to hide in and playing in the gardens.
There is loads to do nearby.
We hope to visit again soon.


Nancy from Lochwinnoch stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 4 nights in July 2016


Our eleventh year in the North Wing

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our home from home! We never tire of returning to Alvie. The North Wing is full of character and we particularly enjoy the large living room with it's open log fire. The large kitchen is also brilliant with it's large seating area.

John from Stockton on Tees stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in January 2016


After Festive Chillout

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here often, usually with friends, this time we took family members.
Every one enjoyed the stay and will be back next year.
Great value, peaceful


Arthur from Evanton stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in January 2016


A warm winter stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb location for a truly comfortable and relaxing get away. Walking on the hills above the house looking for mountain hares and watching as the hills emerge from the mists in the valley was one of our most memorable days.

Guest from Ashtead stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in December 2015


Enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a very quiet, relaxing place to stay I would highly recommend Alvie House.
Our family spent three nights in the North Wing of Alvie House and loved the peace and tranquility of this beautiful estate.
There were eight of us, five adults and three energetic children aged 9, 6 and 1 year. Very safe for the children who loved the estate as much as we did.
We were very well catered for and found the house warm, welcoming, clean and tidy.
I would not hesitate in making a recommendation.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in September 2015


A great base for a holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The North Wing is a comfortable part of a large country house. Alvie is a great base for an active holiday with many things to do on the estate as well as locally. The 2 km Alvie zip wire system is very popular - book ahead. There is riding on the estate and sailing on Loch Insh. We used a great butcher - Gow's - in Kingussie and Alvie raspberries are delicious. South down the A9 is the Dalwhinnie distillery (we booked for the tour) and serious retail therapy at the House of Bruar.


Guest from Sturminster Newton stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 10 nights in August 2015


Echos of a bygone age in the heart of the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely old manor house in the Highlands with great character. The servants' call board in the hallway reminds of the time when this house wes built. Plenty of room for a large family (we were seven). Whilst the kitchen is modern and fully equipped, the bathrooms retain an antique charm with bathtubs only - no quick showers for the landed gentry. Comfortable beds, but the years have not been kind to the sitting room furniture. The location - just a few kilometres from Aviemore - is perfect for exploring the Central Highlands. Highly recommended as a characterful alternative to more mundane accommodations.

Guest from Herrenberg stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 5 nights in August 2015


Delightful for long weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a terrific weekend. Location of the house is very special and there was so much space inside and outside. My only criticisms are that the beds are a bit tired and uncomfortable, same with the sofas! However we didn't sit down too much as there's such a lot to see and do nearby. I would love to book again, but feel free to buy better mattresses! Some family members missed a good shower, but the baths were a nice alternative. Thanks to the housekeeper for her warm welcome too.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in May 2015


Clean tidy and comfortable everything we expected

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most enjoyable stay weather mixed but plenty to do. Heating excellent and facilities spot on. The staff could not have been more helpful.

All in all I would thoroughly recommend the facilities to anyone.


Guest from Bournemouth stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in April 2015


Excellent Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an excellent weekend. Not much to put wrong with the place or the location.
I'd highly recommend this place to anyone as it's extremely quiet/private and has amazing views. It's not far into Aviemore either so easy to get supplies.


Guest from London stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in May 2015


Easter 2015

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming for over twenty years. Suits us perfectly. We walk, cycle, ski and enjoy all the facilities that the Estate offers. For us it is a home from home.

Liz from Henley on Thames stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 9 nights in April 2015


As usual we had a great week at Alvie.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accommodation again superb, spacious and very warm indoors due to the central heating being so strong, but some of the windows need repair to avoid drafts.

Guest from stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in February 2015


Our annual stay at Alvie House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Feb 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just returned from our tenth stay in the North Wing. It is a wonderfully comfortable home in the middle of a lovely estate and very convenient for a tremendous variety of holiday activities. I think this makes a great venue for any time of the year. Of course we will be returning next year!

Guest from Stockton on Tees stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in January 2015


Where I spend every January

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house, amazing owners and we go every year. Great value for money if you can get a full house. My huskies go every year and it's perfect for them too. Will be booking for next year soon.

Ryan from Fife stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in January 2015


Where I spend every January

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house, amazing owners and we go every year. Great value for money if you can get a full house. My huskies go every year and it's perfect for them too. Will be booking for next year soon.

Ryan from Fife stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in January 2015


Just what we needed

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely property, very well equipped, comfortable, and warm. The surroundings are beautiful and it's very quiet whilst being accessible from the A9 to Kingussie and Aviemore. The staff are outstanding and there are plenty of activities on-site for all ages and interests, as well as local attractions.

Guest from Salisbury stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in December 2014


Heating.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The heating system came from some form of wood burning unit outwith the house and we had no control over it. It had to be either off or on and the rooms got very warm. Even if we turned the radiators completely off the pipes round the rooms still got hot. Even at night the heating was still on.
The only other thing about our stay was that there was no contact from the people running it. The door was open and we had to leave the keys in the door when we left! If I had not needed to visit the Estate Office to ask something, we would have had no contact with anyone! No one asked us if we needed anything.


Guest from Perth stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 4 nights in October 2014


week long stay in excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed for a week in the house, with friends coming and joining us during the week. The accommodation is excellent, with everything that we could have needed, and the house owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed the family home feel of the house, without too many flashy trimmings, and masses of hot water and drying space for overcoats. Our friends took a few seconds to become acquainted with the naturally peaty hue to the tap water in the Highlands, but after a photograph, found the bath water extremely pleasant! We have already recommended it to others.

Guest from Yeovil stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in August 2014


our second home

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been returning to Alvie either just as a family or with friends for the sole reason that it remains our home from home. Wecoming + beautiful!

Guest from Inverurie stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 6 nights in August 2014


Gone Fishing

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal and beautiful location. Fishing was fab on the estate as we had full use of cant wait to return next year. Aviemore was just down the road and couldnt ask for anything better

Guest from Elgin stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 5 nights in July 2014


Lovely!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay! It was lovely and clean, plenty of room for everyone.
The only concerns was we overlooked that you needed to provide your own towels (as we travelled from Australia, it was not something we packed).
There was also no shower and the pressure/temperature was not consistent.
But otherwise fantastic!


Leisl from stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 5 nights in July 2014


Jun 2014 Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was fantastic will lots of room for all 8ea of us up for a family wedding will recomend to friends and family. Only minnor issue is that there is not a real shower and the bath water was not nice.

Guest from Peterhead stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 3 nights in June 2014


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are sorry that you experienced a problem with the water & thank you for bringing it to our attention. Alvie Estate is on a private water supply which is filtered/UV sterilised as required & it is tested regularly by Highland Council to ensure it is up to standard. We have found in the past that when we have wet weather, following a long dry spell, the water is often a darker colour (caused by the peat) & does sometimes contain particles of sediment that gets through the filters although the water is still perfectly safe to use. This is more prevalent if the property has been empty for a few days. The filters are changed regularly but we are not able to change the colour of the water. With regard to your other comment we are currently considering either replacing one of the baths with a shower cabinet or installing a shower cabinet in the downstairs cloakroom. Hopefully this will be done before your next visit. Meanwhile we are glad to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us & that you will recommend us to family & friends.

This accommodation is highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spacious and warm, well equipped and with good facilities. We booked it in conjunction with another flat in the same building and it proved an excellent base for our large party.

Guest from Stourport stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in May 2014


North Wing Alvie

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for 20 plus years, before children and with children. It is perfect for the whole family and we love it. Beautiful surroundings and very comfortable. Always walking/cycling and possibly skiing. So much to do for everyone. This year we tried the Zip wire and the Quad biking. Excellent. Would thoroughly recommend this. Great for the whole family.



Guest from Henley on Thames stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in April 2014


North Wing holiday gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying in the North Wing for a week in February for the last nine years. It is an excellent venue for a gathering of friends or family. It comfortably sleeps eight in pleasant bedrooms and has a large kitchen and living room that are both great socializing areas. The log fire in the living room helps to create a brilliant atmosphere, particularly on cold and windy nights! I can see us using Alvie House for many years to come.

Guest from Stockton on Tees stayed at North Wing (Alvie House) for 7 nights in February 2014