FB Twitter

1 Wester Delfour

1 Wester Delfour

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


1 Wester Delfour is a semi detached Victorian farm cottage overlooking the farm fields and woodlands of Alvie. Tremendous views of the Cairngorm Mountains, good access to the Monadhliath hills directly behind. All linen is provided (except towels).

Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms (double & twin) and a bathroom with shower, WC & wash basin. Downstairs the kitchen is fully equipped including a dishwasher & washer/dryer; there is a separate dining room & living room with multi-fuel stove. The cottage also has a television, dvd & cd players & WiFi.

A relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend stay at 1 Wester Delfour in November. The cottage was clean, fully equipped and remote - just what we wanted. The log-burner within the sitting room was the highlight, with plenty of wood and coal being available. The beds were comfortable and kitchen had everything you needed.

To make it a 5 star attraction the water pressure within the shower needs to be fixed as if you want to hot shower the pressure is poor, especially if you want to wash longhair. While the Guest Book contained lots of lovely walks a clearer map of the estate showing various available walks would have been handy and some prior warning as to the colour of the water would have been helpful.

We would certainly recommend the cottage and hope to be back in the summer time.


Darrell from Dunblane stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in November 2017


A beautiful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked 1 Wester Delfour at the last minute. Two of us had been before with family over one New Year in the past.
Very welcoming, clean and very cosy, the only problem was there was not a lot of or confusing information in regards to the heating, there appeared to be three different systems! We all felt that needed to be rectified to avoid confusion, the wood burner was fab though! Other than that, the cottage was very well equipped, in a really lovely peaceful and quiet location. .
Were visited by two frogs in the property, they were so tiny!
Just be aware that at the present time, there are a lot of road works on the A9, so please follow the signs for Alvie Estate, as we just remembered it being off the A9 and in the end went about 5 or so miles out of our way! Ah well!


Andrea from Bradford stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in September 2017


Improve the kitchen..

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Year after year, the tableware changes: 2017: no more small glasses to drink a wee dram and globally lack of a lot of things if you want have some guests. All the frying pans are deformed (round bottoms). Electric hot plates are very very old, and need more time to be hot than to cook... a chance for the electricity supplier.
Chairs in the bed rooms are pretty, but so old and so shaky!
But we know that next year every thing will be ok!


Guest from 4900 Doue La Fountaine stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 29 nights in August 2017


Summer Break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
An excellent short stay in a beautiful part of Scotland. There's plenty to do for the whole family. The cottage was great, and luckily the weather held out for us. Everyone enjoyed themselves and had a great time

Paul from Corby stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in August 2017


Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was my second stay at Alvie and as enjoyable as the first my first stay included my Father who has now passed away and he had visited Alvie twice previously, this visit included my two son sand a grandson so four generations of my family have stayed at Alvie.
I will visit again and recommend Alvie to friends and family


Sue from Halifax stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in August 2017


5 day break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful stay. The cottage was beautiful and in an amazing location. We did some amazing walks and just seeing the deer roaming around was amazing.

The cottage was fully equipped with everything you could need. We would definitely stay again xx


Guest from Northampton stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in July 2017


Alvie

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great time at Alvie Estates. I world recommend to others. The animals were a relaxing diversion. ..

Virginia from Las Vegas stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in July 2017


Es ist unser 2.Zuhause geworden.Hier kann man richtig Entspannen und sich erholen.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir kommen immer wieder gerne hierher.Der Urlaub ist sehr entspannend.Das Team vom Alvie Estate ist sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich.
Danke füt die schöne Zeit.Ich komme seit 1992 hierher und es ist jedesmal super.Danke!


Wolfgang from Stapelfeld stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 10 nights in June 2017


Brilliant week

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at No1. Beautiful, peaceful location. Cottage is well equipped and we are enjoying the upgraded sofas! Kitchen has everything you could need. So much to do in the area; we still haven't run out after 14 years.
Another brilliant week.


Russell from Draughton stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2017


Short stay at Alvie

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful few days at Alvie as always. Such a beautiful place. Cottages always perfect. Customer service excellent. Another very successful visit, have been visiting for years.

Claire from Pimlico stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in June 2017


3 wonderful days

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had family over from Australia so thought a 3 day break would be good.
We had a wonderful time, going out each day exploring and returning to the cottage was just what we needed.
The cottage is well equipped and the fire was a great touch and made it all the more special. I would recommend staying here even if you are looking for a quiet retreat.


Linda from Pumpherstone stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in May 2017


A week in the Highlands in late April

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are familiar with the Alvie estate having been residential tennants in the past. The location of the Delfour cottages is superb, having open views across the Spey Valley to the the Cairngorm mountain range, with the top of the funicular and the Ptarmigan visible on clear days several miles away.

No.1 is pleasantly furnished, though I understand improvements are being made to the seating arrangements, which will be welcomed by those whose joints are 'getting on'. The cottage is warmed with electric radiators and a Wood Warm multi fuel stove in the living room, and is likely to be even better with a new central heating system currently being installed (April 2017). We had a bit of a hunt to find the water immersion switch, which is located behind the microwave in the kitchen, but when switched on did not illuminate the pilot light. The cottage documentation also referred to a switch on the floor of the double bedroom cupboard in which the water cylinder is located. There was no switch there but a fuse box instead. However, all was well as soon after the kitchen switch had been turned on, hot water emerged in plenty. The kitchen can get quite cold in winter, and closing the door into the dining room improves the situation for the rest of the house. But the multi fuel stove makes up for it in spades! A good area of garden surrounds the cottage, and there is a new secure fence around all. The main doors front and back are old and characterful, and the tiniest smear of butter on the catches does wonders for their ease of closing.

No.1 is undergoing improvement, though still remains a great favourite with repeat guests on a yearly basis. Look also at No.4 - that too has the same accommodation, with more comfort within, though lacks the security (dog wise) of an all round garden.


Derek from Much Wenlock stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in April 2017


short break in Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent small comfortable cottage for 2/4 + dogs . Stunning peaceful situation over looking Cairngorm mountains. Large well enclosed garden. Freedom to walk in vast estate. staff pleasant and friendly.Easy access Aviemore area
Already booked to go back.


Guest from Kirkcaldy stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in April 2017


My stay at 1 Wester Delfour, look forward to my stay every year, quiet location, great view/scenery.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, love the comfort of the cosy lounge with improved sofa. The double bed is sooo uncomfortable I end up with a bad back every year, customer service friendly and very helpful .

Mark from Bristol stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in October 2016


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
As usual, our stay at Wester Delfour was very pleasant.
We have been surprised by the new désign filled up with hearts ;there is no accounting for taste, but...

The team is very kind and attentive to the residents.



Pierre from 4900 Doue La Fountaine stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 28 nights in August 2016


Short break away

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location away from everything but close enough to town to pic up supplies or go for a meal. Staff were all very courteous and friendly people. Looking forward to another trip up next year.

Mark from Finchampstead stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in September 2016


10th time at Alvie

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 10th visit to this property. Nice to see the updates including new fencing, various electrical items and decoration throughout making it even more of a home from home. I believe a total upgrade of the heating system is on the cards for this year. So that just leaves the mattresses to replace!!

Having had incredible weather this year we were able to do some activities in the area we had not managed before. That's the amazing thing about The Cairngorms...even after so many visits, there's still so much to explore and enjoy.

Looking forward to visit no 11 already!


Russell from Draughton stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2016


booked a long weekend stay at Alvie and I wished I'd booked for longer

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
first stay at Alvie and with the duelling of A9 started I found it a bit difficult to find it due to signage however once we got there it was great The cottage was comfortable and very private and I liked the key being in the door on arrival so no fuss and felt safe place to be. The fenced in garden was ideal as I have a dog but we were spoiled for walks safe walks on hand. Some bits of the access road to the cottage could benefit from attention due to large pot holes other than that no complaints about upkeep of estate.
We didn't use any of the activities as had come to run the Newtonmore 10 mile road race and only there for a long weekend but would recommend staying here to friends with families as good value for money and good location to investigate north of scotland
As keen hill climbers we're looking to book the cottage again to walk some of the fantastic surrounding hills


Mandy from Edinburgh stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in March 2016


A Peaceful Break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had, once again, a lovely time. The cottage, as always, is warm and comfortable no matter how cold and windy the weather is outside. The office staff are always willing to help if you have any problems and you are always made to feel welcome.
Been visiting for years, sure will be back soon.


Sally from Basildon stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in February 2016


A Winter Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love staying at Alvie and love the area and the situation of this cottage. We have not been at this time of year before and this may be the reason for us having a few quibbles as we spent more time in the cottage. The beds were comfortable, the cottage was well equipped, it was all clean and we were warm enough, but the sofa seat cushions need renewing and the lighting was dim.. There was a generous supply of logs, but the stove was hard to manage because of the poor state of the bottom grill (we have a wood burner at home so know how it ought to operate). The crockery is rather scratched and worn and this together with the rather stern list of charges for breakages in the visitor information doesn't create a good impression. The estate roads seemed also to be worse than usual with potholes that made us .uneasy about driving in and out.

Very sorry to make negative comments but am intending to be helpful as I would like to feel confident in coming back and continuing to recommend to others.


Dot from Penrith stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in November 2015


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We take all comments on board and do our best to make amends where possible. We have asked the Maintenance Manager to have a look at the stove & arrange replacement grates. We are currently looking into replacing the cushions on the sofas and we are also looking at new lighting, possibly directional lighting although we would like it to be in keeping with the cottage. Unfortunately at this time of year the Estate roads do deteriorate; you may be glad to hear that there are plans to tar more of the Estate Roads over the next few years. Meanwhile thank you again for your comments & we hope to see you back at Alvie in 2016.

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have been coming to Alvie for about 25 years and still enjoy our stay.

Maybe the kitchen/dining room door could be fixed so that it closes properly to keep the heat in the dining room.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in November 2015


Escape to the highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the cottage I think the 525.00 we payed was down to the holiday season and the location not the standard of the cottage the garden fence was in a poor state we couldn't let our dog out as the fence had sectons missing we repaired it with chicken wire and cable ties so our dog could spend time outside the road to the cottage was full of pot holes the cottage it's self was cosy but could do with some money spent on it the location is 4 star the cottage is 3 star standard .

Steven from Kinglassie stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2015


Escape to the highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the cottage I think the 525.00 we payed was down to the holiday season and the location not the standard of the cottage the garden fence was in a poor state we couldn't let our dog out as the fence had sectons missing we repaired it with chicken wire and cable ties so our dog could spend time outside the road to the cottage was full of pot holes the cottage it's self was cosy but could do with some money spent on it the location is 4 star the cottage is 3 star standard .

Steven from Kinglassie stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2015


A week in the Cairngorms

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a good time at Wester Delfour. Really good location. Great views and walks from the house, and really near the Cairngorms. The fire is brilliant (and lots of fuel provided).

Guest from Cambridge stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2015


Really nice place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is cosy and perfect for a stay in the cairngorms. Plenty of coal and logs for the mid-summer nights!
Great views, over the Spey valley and the mountains, really peaceful. Our 2 yr old loved the sheep, horses and cows visible from the cottage. Fantastic location for all the outdoor activities in the area.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in June 2015


dog dirt in grass

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0

really like the people on the estate , quaint cottage , have stayed there for a good few years - main problem in last two times we have stayed has been grass on lawn 5" high and some dog droppings not cleaned up ! it would be nice to sit out at the bench in garden without your wellys on .


Guest from Ardgay stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2015


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your latest stay with us. We can only apologise if the garden was not up to our usual standard. However, I can confirm that the grass and garden were attended to earlier in the week and are now up to standard. Having looked into the matter it appears that the grass cutting was not done the previous week due to an emergency maintenance problem elsewhere on the Estate which unfortunately took precedence. You will be aware from previous visits that we like to make contact with all our guests during their stay. We did attend the event on Sunday but unfortunately did not catch up with you. Finally we hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

1 Wester Delfour Cottages Review

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My friends and I had a good weekend, the cottage was comfortable and very well equipped. The log/coal burner was great, we had it on for a couple of hours in the evening which made the sitting room cosy and warm whilst we relaxed with a glass of wine! The elevated position of the cottage looking towards the Cairngorms was lovely with views up and down the Spey Valley. We were surrounded by wildlife - horses and deer in field next to cottage and 3 hens were regular visitors at the front door. My only criticism would be that when the toilet was flushed it was extremely noisy but overall the view from the bathroom window made up for this.

Guest from Stenhousemuir stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in June 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 9 of the past 12 years. It provides a comfortable, homely and ideally located base for enjoying the Cairngorms National Park. The growing list of activities available from the Estate Office adds an extra dimension. We have previously tried the Zip Line Park (great!) and this year we had a go at Archery which was well organised and very enjoyable. I thoroughly recommend the Alvie Estate for a highland holiday.

Guest from Draughton stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2015


Return Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 20 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a brilliant stay at Wester Delfour, we love it and will return later in the year.

Guest from Workington stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2015


Sam from Bristol

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Home away from home, lovely and cosy and warm, beautiful views and comfy beds.
Everything we needed

This is annoying that there is a minimum characte count as I have nothing more to say!


Guest from Bristol stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in April 2015


home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always i thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Alvie. I brought my 84 year old dad with me who absolutely loved it and is talking about a summer visit. Maybe we will

Anne from Dundee stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in January 2015


good for a getaway weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed for 2 nights at a weekend in November. I liked the solitude and quietness of the location. The adjacent cottage was empty and there were 2 other cottages next door, but I didn't see anyone whilst I was there, which I loved. Lovely views from the house, east facing. I enjoyed the wood burning stove in the living room. Storage heaters aren't my favourite form of heating - the dining room was a bit chilly but we ate in the living room, and of course it got quite hot in there with the stove. It was a good bolthole for a getaway weekend but easy access to all the activities and shops at Aviemore and I would use it again.

Guest from Callendar stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in November 2014


A lovely country cottage stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Dec 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our visit. Only slight glitch was the roads leading to the cottage had a lot of potholes. But overall would recommend it to friends for a lovely relaxing stay.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in November 2014


Stay in October

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay once again and will return again next year, home comforts but wish for a larger sofa each time we visit.
Beautiful location, love it


Guest from Bristol stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in October 2014


two weeks at 1 wester Delfour

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second year staying at 1 Wester Delfour and it was so peaceful and the cottage is
Very clean and so homely. You have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable.
There is a dishwasher and a washer dryer which helps.The walks are to die for and the
Wood fire is just what you need if its not so warm at night.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 11 nights in July 2014


Stay week No. 27 at 1 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jul 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All in all, we are very sastified with the stay and with the Cottage. The cleaning of the cottage was excelent, and the surrundings was green and very nice too.

Guest from Odense 5 stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in June 2014


A week at 1 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an enjoyable week in the cottage. The setting is wonderful - scenery breathtaking. Wildlife on the doorstep. The cottage was warm and cosy but we were lucky with the weather. But there was a good supply of wood and coal for the fire if we needed it.
The kitchen was fully stocked with all we needed. Fridge and freezer fully functioning as was the dishwasher. There was one small leak in the bathroom but the estate staff were on the job.
It would have been nice to have a BBQ supplied because we did have the weather to use one. However we got round that by using disposable BBQ's.
Shopping was no problem there is a good Tesco in Aviemore.
The staff were very friendly and were there if we needed them. There was also all types of outdoor activities available.
The area is full of things to see and do and wonderful walking.
We will certainly return.


Guest from Burley, Oakham stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2014


Back to Alvie

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 9th time staying at 1 Wester Delfour and we were not disappointed. The estate is a wonderful place to relax and the surrounding area provides lots of interesting things to do. David, Sarah and the estate team could not be more helpful and are genuinely committed to guest satisfaction... no that should be delight! Try the Zip Line..exciting and exhilarating.

Guest from Draughton stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2014


my stay at 1 Wester dalfour.Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been spending my holidays at this cottage for a number of years. This time was the first time in summer months. I'm normally there in January. As always i thoroughly enjoyed my stay, it was great seeing green fields and trees and the new lambs were so funny to watch. And I will continue visiting as often as i can.

Anne from Dundee stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 6 nights in May 2014


Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to Alvie and it was just as good as I remembered it. Cosy and homely especially with log fire at the end a day's walking. Just feels like home from home although there was a problem with shower leaking on the last day and a couple of light bulbs needed replaced but did not spoil stay and I would come back again as soon as I can.

Guest from Doune stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in April 2014


Excellent place to stay any time of the year

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is great in the winter the log burner and heating will keep you as warm as toast. in the summer the garden is a peaceful place to relax and chill out after a long day walking in the beautiful countryside that surrounds it.

Guest from Basildon stayed at 1 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in February 2014