FB Twitter

Clayhanger Lodge

Clayhanger Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Perfect country barn

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everthing we had hoped for. A beautiful barn in a perfect location. Excellent position on the coast within easy reach of Abbotsbury, Lyme Regis, Poole, etc. Very comfortable with everything thought of. Superb walks straight from the door.

David from Colchester stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied 14 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review, we truly appreciate you taking the time. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Clayhanger Lodge and had everything that you needed. We hope to welcome you again soon to explore even more of what the beautiful Dorset countryside has to offer

Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our latest stay in Clayhanger Lodge. Everything about it is lovely from the spacious accommodation to the amazing views.
It is such a peaceful location, a calm oasis far away from busy towns.
We liked it so much we have already booked for next year!


Lynda from Romsey stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied 24 days ago
We are so glad that you found Clayhanger Lodge to be an oasis of calm. We also wish to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We look forward to welcoming you next year and hopefully for many years to come.

Could be amazing but falls short on the detail!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Clayhanger Lodge is an amazing property - it has a stunning location and has obviously been renovated with great care and attention to detail. However, the ongoing maintenance and cleaning of the property lets it down. What is most disappointing is that almost every issue I had with the property has been raised in previous reviews. Clearly if the owners/managers of the property cared enough they would respond to the reviews! When I am paying for a luxury property I expect that level of care.

Most importantly the blinds in the main bedroom are unacceptable. They are made of very thin paper and provide no block to the light in the mornings. In the summer you can not fail to be woken by the glaring sun as soon as it comes up, even with eye masks as we had.

Secondly, the bedrooms and stairs are carpeted with a light cream carpet. If you are going to make this choice you need to replace it regularly or have it industrially cleaned every year. Otherwise it looks tatty very quickly - which it does. A better option would have been wood flooring (as elsewhere) and rugs which you can clean/replace regularly.

Thirdly, the property needs a more thorough clean. A proper bit of elbow grease would dramatically improve it, for example, clean the windows, brush away the cobwebs around all the doors, wipe the skirting boards, change light bulbs which have blown, fix the dripping toilet in the main bedroom ensuite. The first thing you notice is all the finger marks all over the glass doors. As soon as we opened the back door we walked into a cobweb with lots of dead flies in it - it had clearly been there for some time. The property had clearly been cleaned but it had been a quick, not thorough, clean.

The property is stunning! It is being let it down by the way it is being looked after!


Sarah from London stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Jasmin replied 24 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate all feedback and i can assure you that we will be looking into the matters you have raised. I am so sorry that you feel that the level of care was not up to scratch, i have passed your review onto my manager so that we can try to make any improvements necessary. We are delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful surroundings of Clayhanger Lodge hope that you will return one day.

Heaven!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heaven! It's our 4th year - and we hope to continue going for many years to come. A very special place.

Guest from Teddington stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied 24 days ago
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that you find the Clayhanger Lodge as special as we do, and we look forward to welcoming you for many years to come.

September getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, brilliant if you're looking for peace and quiet. Loved the surrounding views of the countryside and sea.
Windows of the Cottage need a good clean. Blinds in the master bedroom downstairs really do let a lot of light in even at night. Sofas comfortable but looked like the cushions hadn't been taken off and re plumped so they looked a bit sloppy (as though they'd been sat on previously and just left as they were). Some cups were still dirty and a wine glass had lipstick stains on it. Also, big black hair on one of the bath mats. Maybe things just need a closer inspection before new guests arrive?
However, still a beautiful Cottage in the type of location we were looking for. Love that it's detached and that the beds are huge!


Sarah from Newent stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


Jasmin replied 24 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad that you enjoyed the tranquility the area has to offer and had a relaxing break. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you encountered and i can assure you we will be looking into the matters you have raised. I truly hope that despite these hiccups you will return to Clayhanger Lodge again.

A great barn conversion in a fantastic location.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn has been converted to a good standard & is well equipped, only missing a wine cooler & lobster crackers!
It's in an ideal location for walking the coastal path & has great sea views. It was great to be able to bring our dog & there was a boot room & cleaning facilities to ensure the outside was kept outside. Abbotsbury has some good attractions and it was a nice surprise to receive a discount for staying at Clayhanger.
We enjoy seafood, so it was a bonus to find that Sally next door ran a business delivering a fantastic plateau de fruits de mer.
Our only slight gripes were that there was a lot of cobwebs & the windows weren't very clean, but you're in the country next to the sea, so I guess that could be excused. The bed in the master bedroom was really uncomfortable & really not of up to the standard of the rest of the property, but I'm sure the property managers will address this now that they have been advised it's an issue.
The customer service was great, I found them to be very helpful.



Nick from Bath stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Kerry replied 47 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your last minute stay at Clayhanger which I am delighted to hear was enjoyed despite not being Turkey! I am sure that Pepper enjoyed her time with you all besides the sea. I am sorry to hear about the cobwebs and windows which have now been addressed, the sea air does keep the window cleaner very busy! I have passed a wine cooler and lobster crackers request to the Property Manager who is also investigating the master bed. Sally just started her business this summer so I am pleased you discovered it and enjoyed seafood feasts from Sally's Fish Camp. We hope that you and your family choose to return to Abbotsbury in the future, we are currently renovating a 6th barn which was used in the 2015 movie Far From the Madding Crowd. It is a charming thatched barn built in 1798 located 1 mile east of Clayhanger Lodge that will have 3 ensuite bedrooms and an inverted layout to take advantage of the glorious surrounding countryside.

Lovely cottage in the perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Clayhanger lodge in July, its a stunning location and the views are amazing (even when it rains) The lodge is immaculate, its furnished with exactly what you need for a family holiday and comes with a much needed welcome pack with tea and coffee. The beds are comfortable and having a unsuite in each one was fantastic. Abbotsbury is a great place to be based when seeing West Dorset, you have two pubs and a tea room 2 miles from Clayhanger which makes eating out easy and there is a handy guide to all the local amenities in the lodge.
The only negative is that the blinds in one of the bedrooms are extremely thin and delicate, and let the morning sun in, not great for a lie in. Would happily recommend staying here.


Sinead from Dorchester stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied 80 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a descriptive review. You paint a clear picture of the barn and surroundings which will help other guests make their booking choices. Clayhanger is exceptionally well located and our most indulgent property. We are delighted that your family enjoyed their stay and could see the beauty of their surroundings despite the rain. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Our new barn conversion will be open in 2018 and the bedrooms will be darker (Merry Hill Barn has arrow slit windows). It is located 2 miles east of Clayhanger and will have inverted living to take in the landscape through floor to ceiling picture windows. The barn was used in the filming of the 2015 movie Far from the Madding Crowd and will have 3 ensuite bedrooms.

Wow!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is amazing. Beautifully decorated with a very comfortable, stylish interior. Attention to detail blew us away, making our stay just perfect. The outside space is fantastic too. Location is so peaceful but very close to the lovely, friendly Abbotsbury. And the children's farm and playbarn a couple of miles down the road was a great bonus for us as we have a 3yo to keep entertained. All in all, I just can't fault this place. Perfect.

Kelly from Corsham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Kerry replied 89 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clayhanger Lodge. It is our most indulgent and spacious barn conversion with a very special location high above Chesil beach with easy access to the SWCP. We hope you return and if you do, we are currently renovating another barn further down New Barn Road (towards Portesham) called Merryhill Barn which will be equally comfortable, peaceful and stylish.

Very comfortable Barn in lovely location. We had a great holiday. Thank you ! We would retur

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable Barn in lovely location. Approach road could do with a bit of maintenance !! Extra reading lamp in
the sitting area would be a great help too! We had a great holiday and Luxury Dorset Cottages could not have been more
helpful. Thank you !


Juliet from Birmingham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied 108 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Clayhanger Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 1st trip to Dorset and stay in Abbotsbury. I have passed on your feedback about the farm track and reading lamp to my Manager. I will keep you updated with news from Merryhill Barn which we hope to have ready in the Spring of 2018. I look forward to your return to one of our 5 (soon to be 6) luxury Dorset cottages.

Lovely property in a tranquil location - far from the madding crowd!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not fault any aspect of this property and its location and had a lovely stay in this beautiful and unspoilt part of Dorset. Despite staying during the hottest June week since 1976, the property stayed remarkably cool indoors and there were often pleasant see breezes to keep us cool outdoors. The views from the raised patio and grounds generally were stunning and it was great to have the SW Coastal Path very nearby meaning we could enjoy a number of walks straight out of the door.

Clayhanger Lodge is very well appointed and spacious but still manages to maintain a very homely feel. We would certainly expect to return again in the future, as we enjoy the peace and quiet it offers but also found it an excellent base for exploring the wider area.


Colin from Bewdley stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Kerry replied 112 days ago
Thank you for your five star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a detailed review which will help future guests make their decision to stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed Clayhanger Lodge and its special location. It is our biggest and most indulgent barn and enjoys a lovely spot high above the Fleet Lagoon. We hope you return to Abbotsbury and if you do, you might like to try our newest barn conversion Merryhill Barn which was used in the 2015 movie adaptation Far From the Madding Crowd. We are almost 3 months into the conversion and hope to welcome guests for the 2018 season.

Things to consider

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We expected luxury accommodation and were disappointed. The two huge settees are the most uncomfortable things to sit on as your legs can't reach the ground. The cups, glasses, plates etc. are located in a lower kitchen cupboard which means you have to stoop to reach into the cupboard to get them. The property is marketed for those with restricted mobility but none of the bathrooms are suitable. It would be to the benefit of the owners to have one of the down stairs bathrooms with a walk-in shower. The location was lovely and there are some great walks which means no driving. The property was not as clean as expected with dirty skirting boards, cobwebs on the walls and rafters of the upstairs bedroom. More information concerning recycling would be useful as the requirement in Dorset was not the same as where we live. Luckily for us, but not for them, the refuse truck broke it's axel while collecting waste from the lodge so we were able to discuss recycling with the men while they waited for a repair truck.

Guest from St Leonards-on-sea stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Ben replied 122 days ago
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday. Clayhanger Lodge normally receives very good reviews and we receive very few complaints. We appreciate feedback and will closely look at the items you have highlighted.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Location for families and dogs. Easy walking to Abbotsbury with the Children's Farm and Swannery, two pubs and shops.

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied 136 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clayhanger Lodge which does boast a lovely spot high above Chesil beach. The next barn conversion we are working on further east of Clayhanger Farm should be open for guests in 2018. Merryhill Barn will also have 3 ensuite bedrooms and is situated in a quiet and secluded location but only 2 miles from the heart of the village. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully located and appointed, Clayhanger Lodge has everything you could wish for in a holiday home.
Spacious, with wonderful views of Chesil Beach, the Fleet and the sea.
Excellent customer service.
Highly recommended.


Guest from Romsey stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied 153 days ago
Thank you for your five star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in September. Clayhanger Lodge is our biggest and most indulgent barn conversion with a very special location in beautiful unspoilt Abbotsbury. We have just begun the conversion of another barn a few fields to the east which will also have 3 ensuite bedrooms and was used in the filming of Far from the Madding Crowd.

Clayhanger Lodge - very comfortable with incredible views

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now taken Clayhanger times. Each time I am blown away by it's incredible position and views. It's close enough to Abbotsbury to not feel totally cut off, but far enough away that you're really away from everything. The beds are huge and incredibly comfortable, the kitchen is fantastic if you like to cook and there are great walks to do from the house so you don't really need to use a car all weekend! It's also incredibly warm too. There is one room that because it was a farm building has odd windows and therefore the blinds are very thin - so not good for sleepers that find the light tricky. There's lots to go and see nearby; Chesil beach, the swannery, go and eat crab at West Bay or at Weymouth - book it asap, you won't regret it.

Martha from London stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


Kerry replied 168 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful and thoughtful review. Clayhanger is our biggest and most indulgent barn conversion with 3 super king ensuite bedrooms in 350sq m of floor space. It has a very loyal following of guests who consider it their 'home away from home'. We are so pleased that you have already booked again for 2018 and look forward to welcoming you back. The Club House at West Bexington is now open and offers fine dining, exquisite seafood, original 1930s decor and glorious sea views. Definitely one for your next trip! And when the bespoke blinds are renewed, I have passed your comments on about having a thicker/darker fabric.

A wonderful week in Abbotsbury

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday at Clayhanger Lodge. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with good quality linen and furnishings. Very comfortable beds! The view is wonderful, across fields of cows out to to the sea. The ground floor double bedroom with windows all down one side is especially good.

We had a week of sunshine and blue sky so felt very lucky!


John Robert from Nottingham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Delightful holiday in outstanding location with the most comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, providing very comfortable accommodation with stunning views of the surrounding countryside and Jurassic Coast. Three en suite bedrooms, open plan, spacious living accommodation and a terrace overlooking the sea were ideal for holiday living. The beds were amazing and we christened them "marshmallow" beds - white, comforting and light! A superb base from which to explore the many delights that Dorset has to offer including the Swannery and Sub-tropical gardens in Abbotsbury, both of which are beautifully presented. Feeding time at the Swannery is a delight. For food lovers Dorset is "food heaven" with particularly delicious seafood. For walkers, the coastal path is on the doorstep.
Booking was an easy process and Kerry provided an enormous amount of helpful information regarding restaurants, things to do and where to visit. Kerry's help continued during our stay and her enthusiasm and knowledge of the area were invaluable.


Sue from Wilmslow stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 14 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 195 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review which will help new guests make their holiday cottage decisions. You did pick the biggest, best and most indulgent barn with the most special location and I am delighted that you loved your stay. You thoroughly immersed yourself in all things Dorset and it was a pleasure helping you plan your 1st trip to Dorset. You experienced so much in a fortnight and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the Autumn...by which time The Club House at West Bexington will be open for more delicious seafood!

Beautiful property with lovely views.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property and location, this was our second visit to Clayhanger Lodge and once again had a lovely break, big thank you to Kerry who was once again most helpful when booking.

Karen from Shepperton stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 208 days ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed another break in our luxury Dorset cottages. Clayhanger is as indulgent and spacious as East View Barn is homely and cosy. It is wonderful that you enjoy both the biggest and smallest in equal measure. We look forward to welcoming you back for more seaside breaks on the Jurassic coast or cosy chocolate box country cottage breaks inland.

Love this place!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Clayhanger Lodge and yet again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The converted barn is such a great space. The three all en suite bedrooms are perfect for our group as is the location - straight onto the coastal paths or a short walk into the beautiful village of Abbotsbury. We love the 10 mile walk from the village to Burton Bradstock to The Hive - an understated looking cafe serving the most wonderful fish. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Fleur from Bath stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 223 days ago
Thank you for your five star fabulous review! We really appreciate you taking the time to describe the property and location. You certainly make the most of all your stays in Abbotsbury (and Melbury Osmond!). The Hive is truly scrumptious and they are currently renovating another property in West Bexington which will be similar but less understated! It will be called the Club House and offer fine dining by reservation, due to open at the end of April 2017. We very much look forward to your next trip with family or friends.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Clayhanger Lodge. The accommodation was superb and very well equipped.
The bedrooms were excellent all with ensuites.
The location is amazing with fantastic views to Chesil beach and the sea beyond.
Very tranqil and relaxing.
We hope to return.


Guest from Romsey stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for painting a clear picture of the property and location, which really is very special and a lovely surprise for those who come for the 1st time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clayhanger Lodge and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Top quality service and accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal for 3 generations of family. Plenty of space, quality furnishings, kitchen. Everything we needed. Great to walk over the hill to Abbotsbury and Swannery

Pat from Bromley stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that your premature arrival was able to travel down to join you and that all 3 generations enjoyed the holiday you planned. Clayhanger Lodge is our biggest property with the biggest beds and a very special location so we are pleased that you all enjoyed it and hope you will return again in the future.

A great Week !

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We selected Clayhanger Lodge because it fitted our needs for a relaxing stay in a lovely area of Dorset, we could not have made a better choice it was perfect in every way and would strongly recommend it to others ,

Jeremy from Shifnal stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that Clayhanger Lodge was such a perfect place for you and your family. It really does have a very special location and is our most spacious barn conversion. We hope to welcome you back in the future for more Jurassic fantastic holidays in Abbotsbury.