FB Twitter

Clayhanger Lodge

Clayhanger Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Things to consider

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We expected luxury accommodation and were disappointed. The two huge settees are the most uncomfortable things to sit on as your legs can't reach the ground. The cups, glasses, plates etc. are located in a lower kitchen cupboard which means you have to stoop to reach into the cupboard to get them. The property is marketed for those with restricted mobility but none of the bathrooms are suitable. It would be to the benefit of the owners to have one of the down stairs bathrooms with a walk-in shower. The location was lovely and there are some great walks which means no driving. The property was not as clean as expected with dirty skirting boards, cobwebs on the walls and rafters of the upstairs bedroom. More information concerning recycling would be useful as the requirement in Dorset was not the same as where we live. Luckily for us, but not for them, the refuse truck broke it's axel while collecting waste from the lodge so we were able to discuss recycling with the men while they waited for a repair truck.

Guest from St Leonards-on-sea stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Ben replied 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your holiday. Clayhanger Lodge normally receives very good reviews and we receive very few complaints. We appreciate feedback and will closely look at the items you have highlighted.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Location for families and dogs. Easy walking to Abbotsbury with the Children's Farm and Swannery, two pubs and shops.

Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clayhanger Lodge which does boast a lovely spot high above Chesil beach. The next barn conversion we are working on further east of Clayhanger Farm should be open for guests in 2018. Merryhill Barn will also have 3 ensuite bedrooms and is situated in a quiet and secluded location but only 2 miles from the heart of the village. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully located and appointed, Clayhanger Lodge has everything you could wish for in a holiday home.
Spacious, with wonderful views of Chesil Beach, the Fleet and the sea.
Excellent customer service.
Highly recommended.


Guest from Romsey stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Kerry replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your five star review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in September. Clayhanger Lodge is our biggest and most indulgent barn conversion with a very special location in beautiful unspoilt Abbotsbury. We have just begun the conversion of another barn a few fields to the east which will also have 3 ensuite bedrooms and was used in the filming of Far from the Madding Crowd.

Clayhanger Lodge - very comfortable with incredible views

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now taken Clayhanger times. Each time I am blown away by it's incredible position and views. It's close enough to Abbotsbury to not feel totally cut off, but far enough away that you're really away from everything. The beds are huge and incredibly comfortable, the kitchen is fantastic if you like to cook and there are great walks to do from the house so you don't really need to use a car all weekend! It's also incredibly warm too. There is one room that because it was a farm building has odd windows and therefore the blinds are very thin - so not good for sleepers that find the light tricky. There's lots to go and see nearby; Chesil beach, the swannery, go and eat crab at West Bay or at Weymouth - book it asap, you won't regret it.

Martha from London stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


Kerry replied 52 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful and thoughtful review. Clayhanger is our biggest and most indulgent barn conversion with 3 super king ensuite bedrooms in 350sq m of floor space. It has a very loyal following of guests who consider it their 'home away from home'. We are so pleased that you have already booked again for 2018 and look forward to welcoming you back. The Club House at West Bexington is now open and offers fine dining, exquisite seafood, original 1930s decor and glorious sea views. Definitely one for your next trip! And when the bespoke blinds are renewed, I have passed your comments on about having a thicker/darker fabric.

A wonderful week in Abbotsbury

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday at Clayhanger Lodge. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with good quality linen and furnishings. Very comfortable beds! The view is wonderful, across fields of cows out to to the sea. The ground floor double bedroom with windows all down one side is especially good.

We had a week of sunshine and blue sky so felt very lucky!


John Robert from Nottingham stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Delightful holiday in outstanding location with the most comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, providing very comfortable accommodation with stunning views of the surrounding countryside and Jurassic Coast. Three en suite bedrooms, open plan, spacious living accommodation and a terrace overlooking the sea were ideal for holiday living. The beds were amazing and we christened them "marshmallow" beds - white, comforting and light! A superb base from which to explore the many delights that Dorset has to offer including the Swannery and Sub-tropical gardens in Abbotsbury, both of which are beautifully presented. Feeding time at the Swannery is a delight. For food lovers Dorset is "food heaven" with particularly delicious seafood. For walkers, the coastal path is on the doorstep.
Booking was an easy process and Kerry provided an enormous amount of helpful information regarding restaurants, things to do and where to visit. Kerry's help continued during our stay and her enthusiasm and knowledge of the area were invaluable.


Sue from Wilmslow stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 14 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 79 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review which will help new guests make their holiday cottage decisions. You did pick the biggest, best and most indulgent barn with the most special location and I am delighted that you loved your stay. You thoroughly immersed yourself in all things Dorset and it was a pleasure helping you plan your 1st trip to Dorset. You experienced so much in a fortnight and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the Autumn...by which time The Club House at West Bexington will be open for more delicious seafood!

Beautiful property with lovely views.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property and location, this was our second visit to Clayhanger Lodge and once again had a lovely break, big thank you to Kerry who was once again most helpful when booking.

Karen from Shepperton stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 92 days ago
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed another break in our luxury Dorset cottages. Clayhanger is as indulgent and spacious as East View Barn is homely and cosy. It is wonderful that you enjoy both the biggest and smallest in equal measure. We look forward to welcoming you back for more seaside breaks on the Jurassic coast or cosy chocolate box country cottage breaks inland.

Love this place!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Clayhanger Lodge and yet again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The converted barn is such a great space. The three all en suite bedrooms are perfect for our group as is the location - straight onto the coastal paths or a short walk into the beautiful village of Abbotsbury. We love the 10 mile walk from the village to Burton Bradstock to The Hive - an understated looking cafe serving the most wonderful fish. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Fleur from Bath stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 3 nights in March 2017


Kerry replied 107 days ago
Thank you for your five star fabulous review! We really appreciate you taking the time to describe the property and location. You certainly make the most of all your stays in Abbotsbury (and Melbury Osmond!). The Hive is truly scrumptious and they are currently renovating another property in West Bexington which will be similar but less understated! It will be called the Club House and offer fine dining by reservation, due to open at the end of April 2017. We very much look forward to your next trip with family or friends.

Clayhanger Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Clayhanger Lodge. The accommodation was superb and very well equipped.
The bedrooms were excellent all with ensuites.
The location is amazing with fantastic views to Chesil beach and the sea beyond.
Very tranqil and relaxing.
We hope to return.


Guest from Romsey stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 4 nights in September 2016


Kerry replied 262 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and for painting a clear picture of the property and location, which really is very special and a lovely surprise for those who come for the 1st time. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Clayhanger Lodge and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Top quality service and accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal for 3 generations of family. Plenty of space, quality furnishings, kitchen. Everything we needed. Great to walk over the hill to Abbotsbury and Swannery

Pat from Bromley stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied 310 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are delighted that your premature arrival was able to travel down to join you and that all 3 generations enjoyed the holiday you planned. Clayhanger Lodge is our biggest property with the biggest beds and a very special location so we are pleased that you all enjoyed it and hope you will return again in the future.

A great Week !

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We selected Clayhanger Lodge because it fitted our needs for a relaxing stay in a lovely area of Dorset, we could not have made a better choice it was perfect in every way and would strongly recommend it to others ,

Jeremy from Shifnal stayed at Clayhanger Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Kerry replied 315 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that Clayhanger Lodge was such a perfect place for you and your family. It really does have a very special location and is our most spacious barn conversion. We hope to welcome you back in the future for more Jurassic fantastic holidays in Abbotsbury.