FB Twitter

The East Wing

The East Wing

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


The East Wing was the former guest wing of Noddsdale House and now is a delightful and very characterful holiday home for up to 4 people.

Best beds. Noddsdsle lead the way in quality bedding.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When travelling away from home, a comfortable bed should be number one priority. Noddsdsle 10/10. Two minutes in the car to town or sea. Charming hosts. Lovely well kept grounds. Everything spotlessly clean. All aspects score 10/10



Jane replied 186 days ago
Thank you for your great review - so glad you were comfortable!

Beautiful property in a fantastic and tranquil setting

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in a fantastic and tranquil setting, perfect for exploring Largs, Isles of Bute, Cumbrea and Arran.



Jane replied 201 days ago
Thank you for coming back! Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Ayrshire holiday 2016

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A holiday stay that has the wow factor! Jane's home is a brilliant mix of the older, quieter, comfortable British way-of-life combined with modern facilities. Its 'get away from it all' but not remote. Superb grounds for wandering around and only a few minutes drive into Largs for shops, restaurants and tourist facilities. Not to mention, close proximity to the many ferry ports for the Firth of Clyde islands - we managed 4 trips in our 7 day stay.



Jane replied 241 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and managed so many ferry trips too....excellent!

A stunning property in a beautiful setting with a very warm welcome.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a lovely week in the East Wing at Noddsdale House. From the initial emails to those received since coming home we have been made to feel welcome and almost like friends of the family. We were greeted warmly by Jane and Elsbeth (daughter and mother) and Jane showed us round the property and explained everything to us. There was milk in the fridge and a plate of delicious shortbread and flowers on the table. The property is spacious, beautifully furnished with period pieces and pictures, but with a modern and extremely well-equipped kitchen diner. The bed is very comfortable with a firm mattress and extra pillows and blankets if needed and there is lots of storage space for clothes in the bedroom. The shower over the bath is powerful with plenty of hot water, and there are big bath sheets as well as smaller towels. The kitchen is as well equipped as mine at home, maybe even better, and we appreciated the dishwasher. The owners have also provided lots of little thoughtful extras, such as a torch and a pair of binoculars by the front door. The gardens are beautiful and there are great views from the lounge and gardens across to Great Cumbrae. We watched the ferry going to and fro from the ferry port at Largs to Great Cumbrae, and when we visited Great Cumbrae we could pick out the roofs of Noddsdale House amongst the trees in Brisbane Glen. Largs is easily accessible and there are also great walks to be had from the front door of the property. We had rain for 4 of the days that we were there but with such a beautiful and comfortable place to stay (and the Olympics on TV) we didn't feel too hard done by. We would love to return and shall be recommending the place to friends.



Jane replied 248 days ago
Thank you so much Lindsay! It was lovely to meet you both and really glad you enjoyed staying in the East Wing.

Very comfortable, cosy and welcoming

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay and Noddsdale has become a home away from home. The East Wing is extremely
Comfortable and well equipped and the hosts are very welcoming . We will be back for a third time




Jane replied 282 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to your next visit!

A lovely place, in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place, in a beautiful setting, with lovely owners. This was our second visit, and is unlikely to be our last. Make sure you take the Old Largs Rd if you are coming via Greenock - it is stunning.



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you James! I hope you do manage to come back sometime. We look forward to it.

Peter from Walton On Thames, Surrey

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third time here and what can we say - the attention to detail is excellent, the East Wing is beautifully decorated and furnished and the kitchen is very well stocked.
The fresh flowers and home made shortbread are lovely touches.

We look forward to our next visit!





Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you again and thank you for your enthusiasm!

Honest Accommodation in Lovely Garden setting

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Noddsdale East Wing is honest accommodation in the side wing of this grand home. Jane was very easy to deal with in the booking and stay process and it was lovely to meet Elspeth. Set in a beautiful garden our stay was quiet and comfortable as were the bedroom and furnishings of the main living room. Whilst well equipped, Jane's plans to refurbish the kitchen etc. will only enhance and unify the amenity. Thank you for the warm welcome.



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
You are kind - thank you so much. We enjoyed meeting you briefly and the kitchen is in the planning!

5*

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The East Wing has everything, and more, you need for self catering. It is elegantly homely, so much so, we felt like VIP guests !

A memorable visit. Would love to return.




Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much - we are so glad you felt at home!

A friendly, comfortable apartment in lovely gardens.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely five days here - weather couldn't have been much better! We found it easy to get to a range of places from the house. The location is good - close enough to Largs for restaurants and shops but far enough away to feel you are out of town.



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and hope to see you back one day!

East Wing

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most important point in every cottage: the bed is wonderful
This property is excellent to stay at rainy and at sunny days. Stunning view from the sitting room to the sea. Well located outside the town, but close enough to get fast into it.
Everything you need is there!




Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Very glad you had a comfortable time!

Noddsdale Review

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Noddsdale was an excellent place to stay during our trip to Scotland from America. The setting was stunning, with rolling green hills, flowers everywhere, and a beautiful cottage to view it all. The location was great with about a 2 minute drive to town. The cottage was picturesque inside and out. They had everything you could of think of that you'd need and want, and very spacious. Our favorite room was the living room where we enjoyed the fireplace at night with a book - very cozy. The cottage was very clean with comfortable beds. And, Jane was a wonderful host who had excellent communication throughout the trip planning, during, and after. She really made us feel welcomed in a new country. Wonderful place to stay and would love to come back some day! We highly recommend!



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much - it was lovely to meet you both and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Noddsdale.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one night, and loved it. It is a lovely place in a beautfiul setting. Moreover, the communication from the owners was fantastic - including email contact before our stay to enquire after our needs (resulting in the provision of a birthday cake and other supplies). Highly recommended.



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! We are glad we could help make the birthday celebrations special. Come for longer next time!

Wonderful character in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us stayed two nights on a stormy weekend in June. The East Wing is steeped with character and you feel at home from the moment you arrive. We were greeted so warmly and nothing was too much trouble, or hadn't been thought of. Tennis rackets tucked into the stand in the hall and courts in the grounds, a perfectly equipped kitchen and the fire in the amazing sitting room was ready for a match to be struck. Outstanding views from the windows and the azaleas were a sight to behold. However, we would feel equally as happy here snuggled up in the depth of winter with the fire lit and a good book. Just don't book when we want to be there, for we most certainly will be back!



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much and we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend. We look forward to your return visit!

Top-notch!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The loft is beautiful (especially the woodwork) and we loved the fireplace! Really is a great place to relax and de-stress. Overall it is top-notch!



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you liked it and enjoyed the calming qualities!

A place younwill want to return to

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Noddsdale is a gem located in the hills of Ayrshire a few short minutes from the beautiful town of Largs. In the sunshine it sparkles, and when the weather turns it is a welcome refuge. For someone who began his life in Scotland, visiting the UK feels like coming home - and Noddsdale is a big part of that."






Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. So pleased you feel the way you do!

An excellent place to stay in Ayrshire

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the East Wing at Noddsdale Estate. The owners were so thoughtful and made us feel very welcome.
The apartment was extremely comfortable with everything needed for 2 people. The lounge room was a delight and we spent a lot of time here.
The location just out of Largs was perfect for touring the area and visiting Glasgow. We would highly recommend Noddsdale Estate and plan to return in 2016.




Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you were happy in the East Wing and that you plan to return - excellent news! Many thanks.

Very charming location and friendly landlords, peaceful and wonderful view on the firth + landscape

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location in detail corresponding to the informations in internet. All the facilities in the house are functioning. The landlords are markedly friendly and supporting to make the stay comfortable. House and landlords are likewise charming. This location can be recommended without exception.



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you all and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Noddsdale - East Wing

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent stay in really comfortable accommodation. The location meant that within an hour’s drive we could be at most of the area’s places of interest, yet was far enough from the town to provide complete privacy. Easy to relax in the beautiful garden and we were made to feel truly welcome throughout our stay at Noddsdale. Genuinely a winner !



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Very glad you found us and enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Great stay. Many thanks!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a super place peaceful and beautiful. I would recommend it. Many thanks............ ....................................................,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! We are so glad you like the East Wing and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

charming place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Noddsdale house with our two sons. The house was very well set up and the kitchen was especially easy to use with all of the things I needed provided. The furniture is very nice and it is immaculately clean! highly recommend it



Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is good to know!