FB Twitter

Tweed Cottage, Paxton

Tweed Cottage, Paxton

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 54 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Tweed Cottage is set in the heart of the conservation village of Paxton. The cottage is Ideal for a single guest or a couple who love a quiet retreat. Close to the rivers Tweed and Whiteadder there are lovely walks for a dog and spotting wildlife. The historic town of Berwick-upon-Tweed and the coast of Berwickshire and Northumberland is only five miles away and is Holy Island a short drive. Close to a welcoming pub.
Ideal for short breaks

Short Break in the Borders

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage has been very well restored. The location is good for North or South access especially the coast. Short runs to excellent dog beaches. Not having a garden attached does bring some late night challenges if dog needs out. Would recommend it.



Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable well equipped cosy cottage in a very quiet village. Hosts attentive.
Area steeped in history. Only 10minutes drive to Berwick; a quaint walled town ,20mins to wonderful Holy Island; excellent 360' viewing tower, lots of coastal walks & beaches.
Local pub with good food-walking distance.




Location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely quaint cottage, very comfortable and has everything you need. In a very quiet location. Pub just across the road is excellent. Would definitely visit again.



Christine replied 61 days ago
The cosy cottage has lovely walks in the nearby Paxton House, gardens and along the river Tweed so its ideal for a quiet stay. When you return you will receive a 10% discount at any of our four properties

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage with very helpful owners who have made sure there is everything you will need. Beautiful surroundings and great pub!



John Ward replied 112 days ago
Thanks for that lovely review! Tweed and Paxton are lovely places to stay. We love having our places and do hope you'll come again soon. BBC Scotland has been having a great series about the Tweed, "The River" just recently with great pictures of what happens at Paxton on the river - you'll really enjoy that!

Relaxing Autumn break in this gem of a Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
ideal cottage for two and our dog and well equipped Super walks in nearby Paxton House and welcoming pub in the village. Highly recommended



quiet gem

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a lovely cottage in a wonderful area......cottage had just about everything you could ask for and a welcome pack to shame other places...thanks again



Tweed Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A dinky little cottage, very comfortable and well-equipped. Own parking space a bit tricky , but ok after a few manoeuvres.
Lovely little village , lots of country walks and good pub close by.




Christine replied 153 days ago
Thanks for the review. Yes there are lots of lovely walks around, along the river bank or through the hills but everyone loves the coastal walks. come again and receive a Returning Guest discount

Dekightful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage in very quiet, appealing location. Ideal for a weekend getaway. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there.



Christine replied 154 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I know that you love this area so we hope that you will return

Tweed Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My stay at Tweed Cottage was very pleasant in great spot .just one wee problem with the heating could not get it to work .
Am sure if we called the owner they could have fixed it but we just put small fire on it was ok




Christine replied 173 days ago
Thanks for the review. In August the boiler needs to be switched on before the heating works. I wish you had phoned us to get advice and we would have been delighted to come over as we only live five minutes away. Do come again and receive a Returning Guest discount at any of the properties

4 day break in Paxton

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booked last minute , wanted somewhere in or near Berwick on Tweed ..
To our luck we found this cottage .
Absolutely perfect for what we needed as a couple. Clean , comfortable , lovely shower, peace and quiet and very near to the A1
Beautiful places to visit around within half hour drive and Berwick which is 10 mins away has great supermarkets .
4 days not long enough ,this area is a hidden gem if you like to get away from cities and. enjoy walks . Get a good map and see the area . Paxton house was such a l;ovely place to walk to from the cottage, lovely gardens down to the picturesque river Tweed and onto Chain Bridge . .
Strolling around Berwick just great , walking the Walls and taking in the sea view .
We would definitley like to come back




at home

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we appreciated a lot this cottage where we felt as in our home. The owners organized a warm welcome with nice presents to start our stay. We enyoyed too the very good food in the restaurant of the only pub of the village. Paxton is a good place to visit easily the borders, the village is very quiet but very closed of the main roads.



Lovely stay in Paxton

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely visit to Paxton, quiet location and easy to visit Berwick, the holy island etc. Cottage is Compact but sufficient for 2 people with everything you need. The cross in does lovely food also. Sofa wasn't to my comfort but apart from that we enjoyed ourself!! Our cats were also welcome at the cottage which was nice!



short break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
everything fine , but garden area whilst we knew garden was several yards from cottage it didn't invite you to go and spend some time in it (needs a bit of a tidy up) would stay again though .we do prefer to spend time relaxing in gardens in the evening .so this is just a personnel opinion



The Paxton Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is ideally situated to get to the Paxton House Music Festival, I walked there and back if the weather was fine but drove if there was rain. This was my second year the only slight flaw was the dishwasher was out of action so had to revert to hand washing - how terrible! ! I hope to be back next year.



Christine replied 235 days ago
Thanks for coming back for a second visit. The cottage is ideal for the lovely grounds and riverside walks at Paxton House. The dishwasher is now repaired!!

A nice experience.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0

A lovely little cottage in a good location with a very friendly pub nearby.
Well thought out accomodation with everything you need fit amazingly into the compact space available. Very clean and comfortable and the welcome pack was a very nice touch. Lots to see and do within a short driving distance. The small garden would provide a nice spot to sit out on warm evenings if it were given some much needed attention and why does the bathroom sink need to be so high?




Christine replied 235 days ago
Thanks for leaving your review. The garden has been sadly neglected with the rainy days we have had through July. I wonder if Alan Titchmarsh is available to help out. The sink is positioned at the standard height according to our plumber.

Holiday in Northumberland

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for exploring the beautiful Northumberland countryside and coastal beauty spots. Cottage was in a quiet location, clean, tidy and well equipped. Great place to return to after a full day of walking and exploring this wonderful area. Hosts John and Christine on hand by phone if needed and welcome basket a nice touch.



Christine replied 261 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave comments on your holiday. I am very pleased that you liked the area and the beautiful scenery inBerwickshire and Northumberland coasts and found the cottage peaceful and relaxing

A COMFORTABLE STAY IN A VERY PRETTY LOCATION

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tweed Cottage is a compact, cosy and very nicely appointed place to stay, ideal for a weekend away. The owners were very friendly and helpful, both before and during our stay. Paxton is a lovely village, the neighbours were pleasant when we met them walking outside, and supermarkets at Berwick are just a few miles away by car. We would happily book again with Border Holiday Homes.



Christine replied 271 days ago
Thankyou for your amazing review. I think that you gave all the really positive attributes of the cottage and the area. do come again and remember to ask for our returning guest discount

Ideal for two people and a dog.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Tweed Cottage. The owners are lovely people and Mr. Ward gave us some excellent tips for places to visit, as well as telling us the best places to walk the dog. The cottage is tiny but very comfortable and it had everything we needed for a long weekend, plus various locally-produced treats including beer, jam, eggs and soap. I was particularly glad of the soap as I forgot to pack shower gel. Another nice touch is that there is a cafetiere and ground coffee provided, something we really appreciated as neither of us drinks instant coffee. We found the cottage absolutely ideal for our needs, however it's worth noting that the stairs are narrow and quite steep, as you would expect in a Georgian cottage, and it might feel cramped if you were staying with a dog larger than a labrador. All in all, we were very happy with our stay and will definitely consider staying there again, or in one of the other properties, next time we visit the area.



John Ward replied 280 days ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay. 3 hundred year old farm workers cottage is a wee bit small by modern standards but we love it & enjoy staying there ourselves with our lab. who is much bigger than yours! The village itself helps by being dog friendly so do hope you'll come again.

Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needed somewhere to stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary ( we did not have a honeymoon as we needed to get back to feed the chickens) and was struggling to find somewhere when this popped up. Although we have been regular visitors to the borders, we have never been to Paxton village but the cottage filled the need for me, my wife and the wee scabby dog (only joking, see Connoly D.I.V.O.R.C.E. ) for a short stay.
Well impressed with the cottage, and with a good pub / restaurant within staggering distance not to mention plenty of walks for the W. S. D. what more can you say. Liked the village, so much so that on the Monday morning we checked out the estate agents in Berwick. NOTHING.
Got me mega creep points with the wife especially as she got to go to Chirnside chippy for her battered haggis supper which we ate in the shadow of the Jim Clark memorial. Just for the record, I stuck to fish and chips.




Tweed Cottage May 2016

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a sweet little cottage 'made for two' and was ideal for our three night stay. The interior decor is tasteful and the area is very peaceful and relaxing with nice local walks. In addition it is a good base for exploring Northumberland plus only one hours drive to Edinburgh or 45 minutes by train from Berwick. As other reviews have previously mentioned the garden is not attached to the property which adds to the quirky charm of the place - however the garden is in need of a spruce up as the grassed area is more weed than lawn and the seating is very tired and in need of some tlc - otherwise its a pleasant space to enjoy a morning coffee or an evening drink. The food in the local Cross Inn was delicious and the property owners kindly offered to book us a table ahead of our stay which was great.



Christine replied 307 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. As you probably noticed we have replanted the small beds by the house and have resurfaced and widened the drive in order to provide a cycle shed. The grassed area has been reseesed but inevitably the old weeds push through first. When the grass is longer it can be cut and weed killer applied. All the new lavender plants should make a nice scented edge and I hope the various clematis will add colour. I agree the garden furniture need replacing. Do come again and you will receive a Returning Guest Discount at any of our properties

Excellent holiday cottage, one of the best we have enjoyed.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, well equipped, easy to use therefore very relaxing. Carefully chosen furniture and fittings enhance the experience.
Warm and cozy, with a lovely welcome pack of locally sourced goodies ranging from eggs to soaps. Good parking and perfectly located for exploring the whole area and coastline. Good shopping in Berwick.




John replied 328 days ago
It is terrific that you like Paxton so much that you are thinking of buying in this area. We will gain a lovely neighbour but lose a lovely guest. come again soon

We enjoyed our stay at Tweed Cottage. would come again.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Tweed Cottage. Would recommend this cottage.eveything you need was there. The only slight downside was the garden wasn't attached to the cottage.



Christine replied 355 days ago
When you return to Tweed you will see the new driveway and the refurbished bedroom, and the new suite in the lounge. The garden will still be 25 yards away however - one of village cottages idiosynchronsies

happy holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cracking little cottage in a great wee village. The village of Paxton is just far enough out of Berwick but not that far, with beautiful countryside all around. The cottage is compact witha clean modern interior, making it comfortable and cosy.
Lovely owners with a great manner. Would highly recommended staying.




a short break in border country

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
did not know what quite to expect from the location, but have to say was not dissapointed. the cottage was compact, but had everything you could need for that much needed break. it was a little quirky, and that made it all the more interesting. and very homely. the local paxton estate and grounds is a real gem , and the walks along the tweed ( the chain bridge ) made exploring o
n foot a must. Berwick is the only real place for shops, but its only a short drive , or a couple of hours on foot along the river.




Quiet break in the Borders

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is small, but has everything needed. It was warm and comfortable for a February stay. Although there are no shops or amenities in Paxton it is only a short drive to Berwick for supplies. It is a shame the local pub is closed for refurbishment currently as this would have added to our enjoyment of the holiday. The parking space and garden being separate from the cottage is not ideal.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. We are really looking forward to our local pub reopening in April. They have engaged an excellent chef. The parking space is being resurfaced next week but it will still be 25 yards from the house!! one of the village idiosyncronies

Cottage in Paxton

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm and welcoming tiny cottage that has everything you'd need. Comfortable living and bedroom with beautiful en-suite. Dedicated parking very close by.



Christine and John replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased that you liked this cottage and found good walks for the dogs. The parking space is having a major upgrade next week. Come again please

Tweed cottage Paxton

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent! Highly recommended. Comfortable and well furnished with a clever use of space.
Welcome basket was a lovely touch. Bathroom with walk in shower was fantastic.




Christine and John replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for takingthe time for a review. Though this is a small cottage we have tried to provide all that a guest may need. Do come again and get a Returning Guest Discount

Excellent location and accomodation

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and very well equipped. Ideal for a cosy weekend (or longer) break for two.

The owners contacted me to make sure everything was OK and even popped round to see me even though they had only just returned from their own travels. Unfortunately I was out, but it was a nice gesture anyway.

The cottage is very well equipped, and is lacking nothing that I can think of. It has been fitted out to a high standard and is immaculate

The parking space, which is further down the lane, could do with a "Tweed Cottage" sign. I arrived when it was very dark and raining and there are two spaces. I parked in the farthest one and hoped it was correct (it was).




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and booking I am so glad that you like the cottage. You mad an excellent comment about the need for a sign by the parking space. I will arrange it asap

Lovely cosy cottage for a couple xmas stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic little modern refurbished cottage. One main living space and ensuite bedroom. Superbly cosy and quiet. Lovely little village not far from A1 to get to all the sites of northumberland!



John replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Christmas. There's lots more to see so please come again. Happy New Year

A comfortable Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have used Border Holiday homes now for a lot of years and it shows how much we enjoy staying with them as we keep returning .We will hopefully be returning again early next year .



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you both again and thanks for the review. I hope that you will like the new carpet and curtains when come again. Have a good Christmas

Lovely wee cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in this lovely wee cottage. It has everything you need. Well equipped kitchen including dish washer. Comfortable bed. Good size bathroom.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
John and I are delighted that you loved our wee cottage. It is ideal for a couple, and the village and surroundings are delightful. I look forward to the renovations in the pub being complete and reopening soon

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in this gorgeous little cottage in beautiful surroundings.
There was nothing this little cottage never had, comfortable and cosy. Would definitely go back.
Took our dogs for long walks in the Paxton Estate, going a tour of Paxton House is a must.




christine replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad that you liked the cottage and found good walks for the two dogs. I do hope that you will come again. We have two other cottages that are dog friendly. Thanks again for writing this lovely review

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very clean comfortable little cottage. made welcome by owners lovely stay please t little village. close enough too big town about 15 mins drive for everything you need



A lovely bolthole in the Borders

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our only regret is not being able to stay for longer! Tweed Cottage has been thoughtfully renovated and is appointed with enough of all the right things we needed for our long weekend stay in the Borders and Northumberland. It was beautifully quiet in Paxton and surrounding area, but close enough to the A1 and other main roads to get places for days out. If you appreciate lovely old cottages and understand the simplicity of a compact space with a lovely bathroom, useful kitchen and comfy bed and living space, this is recommended.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you liked our Tweed Cottage in Paxton. I do hope that you will come again and the pub renovations will have been completed

A near perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is only a 20 minute or so walk to Paxton House for the concerts, again all excellent. The accommodation suited me fine and I would like to book it again for next year if circumstances permit, short of living in Paxton House itself it could not be more convenient.



tardis cottage with all you need

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we arrived at the cottage and all was as it promised a welcome basket of local produce was welcome as well as the cleandliness of the cottage itself.every thing you need cooker dishwasher a microwave toaster and washing machine large screen tv and also one in the bedroom with wi fi included
Our dog made himself at home whilst unpacking took place ,a short drive into Berwick Approx 4 miles to local supermarkets Asda Tweedside or Tesco on the outskirts are easy to find too.
Paxton is a quiet village but at the moment is bereffed of a pub but I believe this will be remided soon
As a lovely touch the owner Christine finally caught up with us to say hello before we left as we were out every day touring so missed her but we did get a call on our first day hoping all was ok .
overall would we stay again that is a Yes




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your very appreciative words. The work on the pub is expected to finish mid September. We have all missed the food and the real ale but there are some excellent pubs in nearby villages fortunately. Do come again.

Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect little cottage in a lovely village in a gorgeous part of the world. We were greeted at the door, given local eggs, biscuits, juice and fudge. If you are looking for a base from which to explore the Borders and Northumberland Tweed Cottage is perfect.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your terrific review. Your words will be very helpful in encouraging visitors to the beautiful Border and to Tweed Cottage. Thankyou

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The area nearby is very beautiful with wonderful beaches at berwick and the farne and holy islands close by.
The cottage was lovely with much care taken over little homely touches.




Christine and John replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your thoughtful review. We love visiting the Farne Islands too as the birds are interesting,particularly the puffins

very enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage, fully equipped for 2 people. Ideal location for exploring the areas history and many small towns, or visiting the stunning countryside and beautiful coast and beaches.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your positive comments about the cottage and the area. Being so close to Paxton House, gardens and the river Tweed means that there are always lovely walks nearby

Cosy, compact and convenient

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Tweed Cottage, a pleasure to stay off longer in a area we too often pass through. Lovely beach and inland walks - definitely worth a revisit.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your short break and thought the area was interesting and the cottage was comfortable and clean.. Do come again

A fabulous location to spend a holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the cottage, it had everything provided that we needed. A lovely welcoming basket was a very nice touch. The area itself is spectacular with plenty to do and see. We were so lucky with glorious weather.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Your comments are really appreciated by us and by prospective guests. You were fortunate to have lovely weather too. The daffodils in Paxton House gardens have been really magnificent this year

Absolutely fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tweed cottage is beautiful. It's well appointed with every modern convenience you could wish for. Christine &John, the owners are on hand to help with any query you may have. It is close to the lovely town of Berwick on Tweed where there are a variety of shops. The scenery is beautiful. There is a local pub in the village which at the time of writing we haven't usef, but will probably do so before we continue our holiday. Tweed cottage is situated down a very small lane and it has its own parking space which is a bonus. Paxton is a pretty village, there are no shops though which isn't a problem because Berwick is so close. We have had a very relaxing few days here. It will be hard to tear ourselves away.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your lovely review. I know ou visitors value comments from genuine guests. Do please come again to this or to one of our other cottages

An excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent stay -

Owners could not have been more pleasant, helpful or welcoming:

The cottage is a credit to them - it is clean, tidy, well presented, and the best equipped cottage we have ever stayed in, with copious quantities of towels, kitchenware and the like. The location is excellent, less than 10 minutes drive to the A1; and 15 minutes from Berwick, which has 3 x supermarkets, a fuel station and a large selection of shops, banks and a couple of cafes.

Other reviews state that the cottage is small, which it is, however we did not find this an issue at all during our week long stay, in fact the cottage was bigger than we had been expecting.

We visited lots of places in Northumbria and the Borders, and also did some cycling (Paxton is adjacent to national routes 1 and 76, and also the Tweedway. There is also a coastal path nearby for shorter or longer walks by the sea.

All in all, an excellent stay. We would certainly stay in this cottage again, and would wholheartedly recommend it to others.





A very clean, well looked after cottage, with most equipment you could require

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very good, clean cottage. Most equipment you could require was provived. Local pub did good food and allowed dogs in the bar area where you could eat. No shops in the village, but Berwick not that far away with a number of supermarkets. A great area to stay with good beaches and Castles a plenty.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. It is appreciated. It is a pity that the village shop has gone but ,as you say, it is only 3 miles to the full range of shops in Berick and only five miles to Chirnside. We do now have a mobile bank coming on a Tuesday so that's good.

Tweed Cottage, Paxton Village

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped and comfortable holiday accommodation in an attractive village setting. An ideal base for exploring other parts of the Scottish Borders and Northumberland. Highly recommended.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree that it is an excellent base as you are close to the coast and within walking distance of the River Tweed and Paxton House. I hope that you will visit again.

Small but perfectly formed

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage very well equipped, it had all we could possibly need. The owners were on hand as we arrived to help and to give any information on the area, walks and where to shop etc. Once we had settled in we went to explore the beautiful country side close by. All in all a very good experience



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Tweed. We try to provide all that may be required and I think that the reopening of the old fireplace has made the cottage more characterful. WiFi is up and running now at all our cottages. Hurrah

tweed cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
lovely village very friendly people very quiet area
cottage was ok but we were a bit disappointed in it
it needs decorated and updated in lounge area .
rest of cottage was fine .
except the smell of damp as you walked in to cottage
garden area not that good as it is away from cottage
parking area next to garden small and over grown
cars go up the lane past the cottage door fast
so if you have a dog or not you really need to be very careful
before you step out the door .
cottage was ok but not for us .




Lovely well equipped cottage in quiet village of paxton.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival at cottage first impression was "this is really nice" lovely welcome basket with Scottish Fayre. Cottage has everything you require, also shower was "brilliant". Location excellent for beautiful beaches, woodland areas for dog walking. Places we visited were Berwick on Tweed, Holy Island, Seahouses, Bamburgh, Eyemouth which are all 10 to 30 away. Overall we had a lovely time with our dog and hope to return soon. Enjoyed our stay, many thanks.



John Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review! Christine and I do our best to make each place good to stay in but very individual - we're a "couple" too and we have a very active dog! We love the Borders and the sea and make a point of staying in all our places every year.

Do Not understand the Question

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately our stay was cut short , due to being involved in a car accident.

We booked from Friday to Friday, but the accident happened on Tuesday.we then returned home.

The few days were at the cottage were very peaceful and enjoyable, weather was just starting to improve,
that was the day we went home.

The cottage was very nice indeed, every thing you required was supplied to a very good standard,
lovely size television if you were inclined to watch in the evenings. the shower was excellent , the best
we have seen in hired accomadation in fact.

We would recommend the holiday cottage to people we know.

Thank you both, Christine and John




Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
It was very kind of you to take the time to write a such a nice review after your unfortunate car accident and that you have fully recovered. I do hope that you will be able to come again to the area and stay at one of our cottages. Our new ground floor apartment near the beach in Berwick will be available very soon.

Perfect cottage for 2 in the perfect location for the coast and the border towns beside the Tweed

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay in this cosy cottage. Quiet village, but very close to all areas of interest both north and south of the border. Well equipped with a lovely welcome pack of local produce. The owners are very close by and are keen to ensure a good holiday. Excellent information provided in the cottage.



Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. John and I are delighted that you found the cottager so comfortable and loved the area. We wish you well in your search for a home of your own in the Border region. Please do come again.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time staying in this cottage. It is conveniently located to visit many interesting places, like Rosslyn Chapel and Jedburgh. The cottage is small, but wonderfully equipped, with many special touches. The welcoming basket with local products was very sweet and there were already some basic supplies available (milk, eggs, etc.). When booking a cottage we are used to bringing our own towels and linens, but that wasn't necessary here. We loved the wonderful smelling fluffy towels. On the day that we arrived, the owners weren't able to greet us in person, but they asked a friend to come check in on us to ask if everything was okay, which was very thoughtful. Throughout the cottage the owners have taken great care to make our stay as nice as possible, for which we were grateful. This is a great place to relax and if we ever wish to visit this region again, we'll make sure to check if this cottage is available.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you liked the cottage and the historic Scottish Borders. Sorry that we didn't meet with you but hope to see you at one of our other cottages in the future. Thank you for your kind comments.

Cosy up in the Borders

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very attractive cottage in a charming village. Great shower, comfy bed and even a dishwasher for two. Great Sunday lunch in local pub. Nice walks.



A great base for visiting the borders.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 days in Tweed Cottage, Paxton. Cottage very comfortable. Everything you need for a relaxing time. The owners John and Christine were very welcoming. The local 'basket' was full of local of delicious produce.
Would definitely recommend this cottage and this part of Scotland.




Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
This area is especially attractive andeven more so at this time of year when the Autumn colours are at their best.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your break

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought Tweed Cottage was lovely and found it larger than we expected. The owner was there to greet us and give us helpful advice on our arrival. He told us how to find dog walks close to the cottage. Where the path to the Whiteadder was and the best walks round Paxton House grounds. There are also lots of leaflets in the cottage giving details of local attractions. The cottage is well decorated and there was plenty of room for us and our large dog. We especially loved the bathroom with the large shower. The table set for a meal made the cottage look very welcoming when we arrived.

When the local pub was shut we went to the Salmon in East Ord, only a short drive away, for a meal. Dogs were allowed and the food was excellent. It wasn't the time of year to sit outside but there is a garden area when you get the weather.

This is somewhere we would stay again if we are visiting the area.




Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to give a review. The area is good for walking a dog, and there are a number of welcoming pubs within a short drive where tasty food is available. We hope to see you again one day soon.