FB Twitter

Benfield Cottage

Benfield Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Benfield Cottage is a mid terrace cotswold stone cottage built at the turn of the 18th century. Grade 2 listed, it forms part of Chipping Campden's world renowned High Street. The front door is approached via the original cobbled passageway from the High Street. The interior has been sympathetically and tastefully modernised to integrate Cotswold character and charm with 21st century comfort. A wood-burning stove occupies the lovely inglenook fireplace in the sitting room and all soft furnishings are co-ordinated and high standard. There is full gas central heating. The enclosed south facing, split level courtyard garden is a real bonus. There is undercover storage for bicycles. Sleeps 2.

Fantastic relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long day of walking it was lovely to be greeted with a homemade cake, flowers and hotcross buns. The cottage lived up up to all our expectations, the log fire was lovely to have on a cold evening. Everything in the cottage was of a very high standard and we would have loved to have stayed longer. We walked and cycled straight from the cottage door, making visiting local villages easy as well as justifying visiting the local tea shops!



Our 5 week stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 weeks whilst builders were at our home in Campden. We had a comfortable stay and our occasional needs were attended to promptly. The only problem is that parking can be difficult at week ends. We thoroughly recommend Benfield Cottage.



A perfect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After the craziness of Christmas, my husband and I really wanted to escape London over New Year and we could not have found a more perfect little set up. The cottage's location is perfect for anyone looking to go for long country walks, drink large glasses of red wine and eat incredible food. We parked up on the Friday and did not touch the car till a week later, everything was within walking distance. Visually Chipping Campden is a stunning village, it is full of amazing dog friendly pubs which all serve high quality food at responsible prices. The walks around the village literally take your breath away, tourist information was particularly helpful in helping us find new route to explore.

The cottage itself was as if it as just been pulled from a John Lewis ad, everything is considered from the Roberts radio to the bee themed glasses, high end bedding to the gorgeous leather chairs. Many days it was hard even to leave, with the fire blazing and a mug of hot chocolate it was pretty perfect. Everything was super clean and felt like home from home.

Our house keeper was really lovely too and was on hand when we had a few troubles with the internet.





Romantic xmas break.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was a perfect choice , we had expected a decorated xmas tree to place our pressie's but there wasn't one as stated, as it was the festive season it took the edge off what was our first ever xmas break away !.



Beautiful cosy cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was in the ideal location for us to have a quiet few days away whilst being able to access the local pubs and restaurants. It was a beautiful cottage and thoughtfully finished so that we had everything we might need. All the little extras like the cake on arrival and toiletries made it even more special.



Relaxing Cotswold break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage is located right on beautiful Campden High St. Very cosy and comfy inside,log fire if needed. Excellent amenities available locally, good pubs and shops for all your needs,
Highly recommended and good value accommodation. Would stay again !




Perfectly beautiful/Great location

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I fell in love with Benfield on-line. Walking into this cozy, well appointed cottage fulfilled our hopes.
The living room was comfy and we found we ate meals there by the fire. Also perfect for an evening glass of wine! Wonderful stove for evening warmth and ambience with all necessary materials available. The kitchen was perfect. A lovely table and chairs is available. The appliances were updated and everything, including a washer/dryer operated beautifully. The back hall and most especially the lovely back garden could never have been better. The late fall weather allowed us to use this area almost daily. Many pictures were taken! The bedroom and bath on the second floor were thoughtfully and beautifully appointed. Very good size and storage available.
Heating, weekly cleaning-- perfect. The addition of the view of the St. James steeple, an amazing lemon drizzle cake and weekly vase of flowers made it almost impossible to leave!
I should say there is not a better location. The quiet end of High Street but a tiny stroll to everything with consistent parking available--usually in front of Benfield.
We had no problem with the interior stairs--good light and rails. They are a bit steep however and should be considered if ambulation is an issue.
We would happily return in a heartbeat!





Excellent location in a great Cotswolds town

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield Cottage is well located close to amenities in one of the more attractive and less touristy towns in the Costswolds. It is very well appointed and the hosts provide an exeptionally warm welcome.



Great Cottage - just a few suggestions

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Delicious homemade bread provided was excellent. It is obvious that the owners are intimately involved in the care and upkeep of the cottage. Our overall experience was very good. Just a few observations and suggestions: Downstairs is very nicely remodeled and appointed, but kitchen/dining seating was cramped. TV and cabinet under stairway were difficult to access and view. Wall mounted TV might help. Settee in the living room was uncomfortable. Bedroom was comfortable but the exposed rafter presented a painful reminder if you forgot it was there or couldn't see it in the dark. Street noise could be lessened with double windows on the two street facing windows. Shower works well but missing a small shelf or dish for soap and shampoo so they are not on the shower floor.

Despite these observations and suggestions we had a wonderful two weeks vacation and thoroughly enjoyed the Chipping Campden area.




Bellfield

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage well equipt kitchen very comfy bed liked the walk in shower. Good position in the village. Owners made us v welcome. Garden patio needed a little t l c. Overall had a great few days




Very comfy!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay at the cottage. We were treated with a yummy lemon cake and fresh milk and tea. The garden was darling. The bed was comfortable and spotless. we would recommend benfield cottage highly! Thank you for a wonderful stay.



Fantastic.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant few weeks in a beautiful location. There is so much to see in Chipping Campden and its surrounded by wonderful villages and other interesting historical places.



Have never been to Cambden Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
1.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
I have never been to Cambden Cottage, I don't know where it is and have no intention of ever going. This is the fourth time of asking and I won't say please. Take my name off your mailing list immediately. This is getting to be like harassment.



Superb Small Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield Cottage is a superb cosy hideaway in a beautiful and very well appointed village. The instructions for getting to and accessing the cottage made our arrival straightforward and hassle free. The waiting chocolate and home made orange drizzle cake were an excellent welcome gift after our journey from London. The village of Chipping Campden is well serviced by a large number of high quality and welcoming independent pubs, restaurants, bakers, delicatessens and other shops. We could only stay for the weekend and so were a little disappointed that we couldn't reach a better deal particularly as it was the February low season.



A beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed here for my birthday, the weekend before Christmas.
The cottage is beautifully furnished with all the appliances and equipment you need to self cater. Logs for the burner were in abundance, and we were welcomed with a homemade cake and tea tray which was a lovely personal touch. There were also basics in the cupboard which was lucky because we forgot to bring sugar!! The information in the cottage was very thorough and answered any questions we had during our stay.
Upstairs the bedroom was lovely and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was very powerful, and a woman's dream - the plug sockets were well placed by a mirror!!!
As it was winter we didn't use the garden but I imagine it is a lovely area to sit out in the summer.
We were in no rush to leave, and as noted in the cottage we contacted the owner and were delighted that we could check out an hour later than advertised.
Unfortunately we don't visit the area too often, but we would definitely stay here again without hesitation.




A fantastic cosy little cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fantastic week at Benfield Cottage at the end of Sept. This cottage is a perfect place, arrived to a very welcoming and delicious banana and honey teabread. All the fixtures and fittings are very well thought out and of great quality, the bed was so comfortable and there were lots of little extras to be found throughout the stay. Only disappointment that we had was that the weather was so fabulous that we didn't get to make full use of the cosy woodburner (all logs etc provided) we did light it the once with the windows open just to see, guessing it would be lovely on a really cold night. The cottage also boasts a great little garden at the back and on street parking at the front was always easy to find. It was a great base for exploring the Cotswolds and Chipping Campden itself was a great place to spend some time, we will hopefully return again.



Homely and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely,old cottage with all mod cons and covenient for the village. The kitchen and all facilities were very usable and provided a home from home. The boot room was particularly useful for drying washing! The lounge was very comfortable and warm....no need for the wood-burner when we stayed. The bedroom was very nice with good storage space and lovely bed.
The bathroom was clean and modern and we didn't really miss having a bath, although not having a lock on the door was strange and my wife was not always comfortable using it during the night because of the proximityto the bed. Parking was a bit of a lottery but generally fine during our stay,although it must be difficult during high season. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at Benfield and would recommmend it to any couple as a great base from which to explore the Cotswolds.




Our Week-long Stay at Benfield Cottage in chipping Campden

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Benfield Cottage was the perfect place for us to stay while in the Cotswolds. We wanted a place that allowed us easy access to the many public pathways in and around Chipping Campden. The cottage was right on the main street so we could easily get to every place that we needed, including the bus stop when we wanted to go further afield and local stores for food. It was a delight to return to the comfy cottage after each day's walk or exploration. We appreciated the high quality if the furnishings and appointments. We felt right at home while we were there!



Ideal for couples

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent a very enjoyable week at Benfield Cottage. It was clean, comfortable and had all the facilities we required for our stay. The cottage is ideally located in Chipping Campden and also for exploring the northern Cotswolds. The owners were also friendly and helpful when any advice was requested. Would not hesitate to stay there again.



Our stay in Chipping Campden

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Benfield Cottage for 12 days. Our stay was wonderful and relaxing. We were able to visit many attractions in and around Chipping Campden. The facilities in the cottage were excellent and all that we required for our stay. We would not hesitate in recommending Benfield Cottage to anyone.



A great place for a short stay in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage in a beautiful Cotswold town. Well placed on the High Street near the church, remarkably quiet and with car parking on the street right outside the door.



A wonderful place to stay in Chipping Campden!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Benfield Cottage and our only regret is that we could not

have stayed longer. The Cottage exceeded our expectations and we were impressed with

both the cleanliness and complete furnishing. We could not have asked for more and will look

forward to returning to Chipping Campden and the Benfield Cottage at our earliest opportunity.




Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Benfield Cottage was even better than the website said. Everything you need. We had a lovely week celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Lovely walks straight from the cottage and would recommend the Indian for food. Very pretty villages around. Even took the bus and train to Oxford for the day ( even thought we had a car)




Cozy little cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is clean and cozy. Every room are sizeable and we particularly enjoying sitting in the back garden and have a lovely meal. The cottage is located very close to the market with plenty to eat, do and see. Would definitely come back again!