FB Twitter

Eden Cottage

Eden Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Eden Cottage slps 2
Located on a quiet side road leading to the river.

Eden Cottage is the smallest cottage in the row of three, is ideal for a couple, and has a pleasant garden to the rear.

Bliss!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying in holiday cottages for many years but not one has matched Eden. The warm greeting from Carol was a tonic after a nine hour car journey, quite simply the most welcome we have ever felt on arrival.
The cottage was very well furnished and spotlessly clean. For the first time in 20 years of self-catering holidays, my standards were matched.(Believe me, that is no mean feat; I'm a fanatic!)
Kitchen facilities were excellent too. Another first, my husband didn't need to use any of his favourite cooking utensils/equipment, brought from home.
Outside? Well, a very brief stroll around the corner brings you to a gorgeous view of the Tweed. Walk down to the water's edge and enjoy the sense of tranquillity, particularly in the late evening and early morning.

Our holiday was also a house-hunting trip, in preparation for a move to Northumberland. We found our ideal home but, unfortunately, it wasn't for sale.
If Carol ever decides to sell one of the cottages,we hope she will get in touch. We will be the first in line!




Another enjoyable stay at Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy our stay at West Ord and have booked again for next year in Geary Shiell already. It is a great spot for visiting the area. Carol and Sandy are always welcoming and helpful.





A lovely cottage .

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from Carol Lang who remembered us from the last time we stayed, flowers on the table was a lovely touch.The cottage is comfortable and clean.The addition of the panels between properties is an excellent improvement since we were last there,as with the patio and BBQ.



Carol lang replied 27 days ago
Mandy thank you for taking the time to review us, great to hear your comments, and very nice to have you staying with us again. Hope to see you again!

Perfect Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday in a delightful cottage, Carole & Sandy are a lovely helpful couple made our stay even better.
No doubt we will be back.




lovely cottage, lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage in a lovely place. Peaceful & remote but ideal for our needs. Comfortably furnished, shame we couldnt stay longer. Brilliant place to go with a dog, unfortunately had to leave ours behind!



Review

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent and very enjoyable stay at Eden Cottage. I could recommend it to anyone who loves peaceful living in a beautiful area



May 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful rural location but easily accessible from A1. Cottage is warm and cosy, well equipped, good outside space to relax in.




Bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in all the cottages at various times over the years.We keep going back because it's such a beautiful,peaceful place to stay.The cottages are all well equipped and every comfort catered for.They are always spotless clean which is very important to me.Carol and Sandy and the rest of the family always offer a very warm welcome and will go the extra mile to ensure you have a good stay.They were in full swing with lambing and we were encouraged to pop into the lambing sheds to see what was going on if we wanted.Even though they were so busy they still spared the time.Would definitely recommend a stay here.Cant wait for our next visit.



One month on the banks of the Tweed

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here a lot of times before moving into the area.

Then as now we have found West Ord Holiday Cottages excellent. Carol Lang is an excellent hostess, always there if you need her, but never intrusive.

Oh the bliss of a wood burning stove in the midst of winter along with the night store radiators.

I cannot recommend this accommodation enough.

Tony




Another delightful stay at Eden cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage, always our first choice in Northumberland. Sandy and Carol always helpful if help needed. Log fire makes the cottage feel warm and welcoming. Lots to do in the area - it must be good as this was our third visit this year and we will be back again.



Easy to see why so many return guests

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy and comfortable cottage .
Looking through the visitor book there are many guests who return and it was easy to appreciate why .
Various sizes of properties so something to suit couples or families .




home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is immaculate, has all the facilities you could need, and is located in a lovely position close enough to civilisation that you don't feel cut off, but far enough away from the main roads that it is blissfully quiet. The bed was comfy the shower cubicle a large size so you could shower without bumping into the sides so all in all top marks.



Carol lang replied 346 days ago
Thank you Martin, it was lovely to meet you both, and very pleased you enjoyed your time in our lovely area.

Beautiful Berwick!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to several of the West Ord cottages over the years, and have found them all to be well equipped, nicely decorated and laid out, comfortable and cosy. The views are stunning, and fresh air knocks you out, and we always find there is lots to do and see in the area, as well as just walking down to the river, or playing tennis. The Hosts are welcoming and helpful, but unobtrusive, so you really feel you are staying in the countryside without crowds around you!



Carol Lang replied 355 days ago
Thank you for taking time to comment Ruth, it was lovely to see you again last week, and enjoy a little reminiscing...scary where the time goes, and thank you for coming back!

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic location on the Tweed not far from Berwick but felt like you were miles from any where. Cottage fantastic & Carol very helpful and polite, we have stayed all over Northumberland this is one of the best for location & cost.



Carol lang replied 356 days ago
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.

Relaxing countryside and walking locality.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weeks' stay at West Ord cottages. We could easily walk to many places from the cottage as it was ideally placed for hikers and walkers. It was so quiet as well and allowed us plenty of relaxation time. There was every comfort thought of as well. It was just nice to sit and relax with the wood burning stove on in the evenings. Berwick was an ideal market town as well to drop into with plenty of pubs, cafés and places to choose for shopping. There was a map Carol provided for walkers and all the tourist information as well so, we had plenty of choice for day's out.



A pleasant quiet week in June

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We know the Northumbrian coast fairly well after several previous visits, but were in need of quieter, neater and more professionally run accommodation. We felt that in West Ord cottages we found what we wanted and were very satisfied with the ease of booking, the friendly reception and general comfort and condition of the accommodation. If visiting Northumbria again we would certainly give preference to West Ord cottages as a future base.



We had a very good holiday west ord

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every thing in the cottage was very clean. When we saw the washing machine and the dish washer we said anyone could stay a while and still have every thing they needed.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for taking time to comment on your holiday, lovely to meet you and hope to maybe see you again at some point.

A week in Eden

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this cosy and comfortable cottage. The owner was very helpful when we encountered a problem and dealt with it quickly. The location is excellent, with an amazing view of the River Tweed just a short walk along the lane.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review us Alison, I will certainly take on board your comments re welcome packs, and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Great cottage in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at West Ord Cottages. Booking is easy via the website and Carol is always helpful if you ring her. The cottages are always clean and very well equipped. The location is convenient, being close to Berwick upon Tweed, and well situated for walking and enjoying the countryside, including the picturesque coast.
The garden area is well maintained and picnic tables are thoughtfully provided, as well as a washing line and pegs!!




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Louise many thanks for your review, it was lovely to see you again and your business is much appreciated.

Peaceful, comfortable, clean and welcoming “Home from home”.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Wife and I stayed in Eden cottage during July 2016.
Carol the owner greeted us and made us feel welcome throughout our holiday. When we first went into the cottage we were pleasantly surprised. The cottage was a real "Home from home", tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the cottage, and its surroundings. The rooms were all very clean which was very important to us especially as we did quite a bit of cooking in the well equipped kitchen. Sometimes on a night the weather was cold but the storage heater in the living room, (all rooms have them), heated the room quickly. We slept well throughout the week due to the extremely comfortable bed and the quiet surroundings. There is also a lovely garden area at the back of the property with a picnic bench.
The cottage has lots information about where to eat and where to visit. Carol, (the owner), knew a lot about the surrounding area, which was helpful as we are fairly new to the region. The cottage is near to lots of interesting places within a short driving distance. We particularly enjoyed walking the walls in Berwick, shopping in Kelso, and visiting Bamburgh, Seahouses, Beadnell Bay, Holy Island and St. Abbs. Our favourite place was the village of Eyemouth, especially the small ice cream parlour in the harbour!
Thank you Carol for a lovely holiday, we would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for sending in a review of your stay with us Colin and Carol. It was lovely to meet you and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "last minute" holiday with us. Very much hope to see you again at some point.