FB Twitter

Sandholm Holiday Cottage

Sandholm Holiday Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Sandholm Cottage, Newcastleton

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this cottage and it was as good as we remembered it.
Lots of nice touches make this cottage stand out from the usual holiday let, from the welcome pack to the telescope in the lounge. It feels more like visiting a friends house than a holiday cottage.
If they could only guarantee the weather it would be perfect!




Excellent value in great area

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An great cottage with excellent amenities. The countryside is brilliant and there are many local walks. The paddock is excellent for our canine friends and Texas our dog loved the freedom it gave him. The cottage was very clean and ugly was nice to get a welcome pack.

The tranquil surroundings were just what we wanted.

A great break and we will certainly be recommending Sandholm to others and we will be back.

Five stars.




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
.A lovely few days break in a beautiful cottage in peaceful surroundings. This was our second visit to this cottage and it remains the most comfortable and well equipped of all the ones we have visited. The weather was mixed but that simply gave us an opportunity to make use of the log burning stove; after returning from our long walks out in the surrounding countryside. We would highly recommend this as a great base to visit all the surrounding areas of interest. The local pub/hotel does great food at reasonable prices and there is always a friendly welcome. The secure paddock adjacent to the cottage is ideal for exercising the dog first thing in the morning without having to head out.



Well equipped and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our family Christmas at Sandholm cottage. A really well equipped kitchen, comfortable and welcoming sitting room. Perfect for our Christmas festivities. We slept soundly after indulging in good food, wine and long country walks. Highly recommended cottage. We would definitely stay again



Possibly best holiday let we've had

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This two bed cottage is one of the best equipped and nicely presented holiday lets we've stayed in. Well furnished and appointed throughout it's a real home away from home. Exceedingly clean too and just a pleasure to relax in. The welcome pack was great and the relaxed approach to ensuring you enjoyed your stay was really great. We'd have quite happily stayed another week, the accommodation was without fault. Some people might not enjoy the lack of mobile phone signal (problems with Vodaphone, EE & Three - maybe others too), but some might welcome it. I wouldn't say it was the cheapest rental you can find, but it was really good value considering the extremely high standard. You'd be very hard pressed to find anywhere better in the Scottish border region. Highly recommended!



A real gem

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholme Cottage is a sheer delight. It is so well equipped - the owners think of everything you could possibly need. The welcome pack you receive on arrival is second to none and certainly the best we have ever had before. It is very clean and comfortable. There is a wood burning stove for those cooler evenings. We couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough. It is surrounded by the most beautiful walks and picturesque scenery.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is truly an excellent place to stay. Exceptionally well furnished, clean and warm, the house is a delight to stay in. The welcome pack is the best and most thoughtful I have ever come across in a self-catering property.

The location is also very good with easy access to Keilder Forest and Newcastleton if mountain biking. The private patio round the back is very inviting , catching the sun from early on and with pleasant views. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough




Comfortable and well equipped holiday base.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is clean, well equipped and comfortable with garden and patio for outdoor relaxation. Even emergency lighting is supplied throughout. The welcome pack is much appreciated. The road is surprisingly busy but opening windows at the rear meant no disturbance to sleep. Our only 'downside' was that there is nowhere for a short post-meal walk without taking the car or walking on the road. Newcastleton provides all that is needed In shopping, eating out, coffees etc and the surrounding area has forest walks for all levels of fitness. The countryside of rolling hills and valleys is a pleasure to drive through albeit some of the roads are single track. A very enjoyable location for a holiday break.



A blissful retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay at Sandholm Cottage and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends, relatives or to anyone. It is a well maintained and lovely cottage with all the comforts and conveniences you might need. It is near a remote but very friendly and civilised village with an excellent butcher, baker, local stores hotel bars and eating places. Scenic drives are in every direction. You could never be bored here.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit, which speaks for itself. The cottage is beautifully appointed, clean and welcoming with a supply of basics like bread, milk, cheese and even a bottle of wine on arrival. The kitchen is well equipped and the whole cottage is very cosy and comfortable. We were impressed the first time we stayed and the return visit didn't disappoint. Highly recommended.



100/ percent Good Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been holidaying in Newcastleton for the last 7 years
And this holiday was of the best
We are booking another holiday
in September if it as not been booked




First Class accommodation in an ideal location for exploring the borders.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful cottage in a quiet location. The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything we could have required to make for a very comfortable stay and the owners have paid a great deal of attention to the little details which make all the difference. There was a lovely decked patio area to the rear to enjoy which had a dining table, chairs and barbecue as well as being a nicely sheltered sun trap.
The paddock to the side of the property was absolutely ideal for exercising our dog, first thing in the morning and when we returned from our travels in the evenings.
A thoroughly relaxing stay in a lovely cottage that we would recommend highly.




A Week staying at Sandholm Holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage for a weeks walking in the surrounding areas. We took our dog with us and the accommodation was ideal for dog owners with a small enclosed field adjoining the property. The generous "welcome pack" was very much appreciated and a lovely thought.

The cottage was equipped to a very high standard with everything you could need.




Third visit in a year!

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that this was our third visit in a year says it all! Agood centre for looking round the area, with lots of history to involve ones self in! A good centre for touring an area which is off the tourist trail and therefore peaceful and quiet (apart from the logging lorries of which - be well aware!).

The accommodation is excellent, comfortable and warm, with a wood burner for those who feel the central heating need a boost - it doesn't, at least not for us! Very dog friendly with the adjacent field which is quite secure, although an escapologist dog might defeat the defences!

The owners are helpful and their local "Girl Friday", Heather, is a tower of strength! She can also be found at the Grapes Hotel- an excellent pub with good food and beer!




Would definitely come back

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The people were friendly and helpful. The cottage was easy to find and in a lovely location. Not to far from a neighbouring village but on its own so that its your little holiday. The cottage is lovely. The welcome package was a great help.



Excellent property with lots of the touches of home

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great holiday home with lots of well thought out touches to make it extra special, very well laid out and equipped. This is our second time here and our 6 year old was gutted to leave. Highly recommended holiday cottage in love,t surroundings and very well priced!



Amazing weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked Sandholm cottage as it I wanted to be reasonably remote and visit Hadrians Wall.
The location filled both those requirements, although I was able to get dinner delivered from the local pub in Newcastleton, so not too remote.
The cottage itself far exceeded my expectations. The cleanliness and level of décor was exceptional, we arrived with a reasonable load of groceries, but the amount of complementary provisions supplied was more than enough to tide you over until the shops opened, including a decent bottle of wine!
This was a stunning find, pretty ordinary looking from the outside, but dazzling on the inside. I've been in show homes that are not as well appointed. The home heats up quickly and stays warm easily, the log burning fire was a highlight, easy to light and fiercely hot.
I'd have no hesitation personally recommending Sandholm, it really was that good, I'd love to return in the summer to make use of the outdoor area.




Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You've got to stay there to believe how good this place is. It heating system is great.
The welcome pack of milk
butter
bread
Ham
teas
ground coffee
Instant coffee
Decaf coffee
Cheese
Eggs
Orange juice
Crisps
And much more
We will be going back
It a great location too




The perfect place to relax and unwind

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely reccommend this place to our family and friends. It has been the perfect retreat. On arrival the hosts provided a well thought out welcome pack. A marvellous touch. We love the outdoors and this has been the perfect place to do just that. We have explored the area trekking and mountain biking locally at 7 Staines and Keilder Forest.



Cottage stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm Cottage is lovely with more facilities than most people will need for a small break. We were very lucky with the weather for this time of the year and even managed to have lunch outside on the decking, which is a lovely sun trap. The wood burning stove made the colder nights worth staying in for. Surrounding area is beautiful, with wonderful walks for all types.



Perfect in every respect

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, comfortable, well equipped cottage in excellent location for walking, cycling and touring. Could not fault the cottage in any respect - just perfect for us.



Repeat visit to Sandholme!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Sandholme this year. The cottage was just as good second time around. We really appreciated the welcome pack - all you need to tide you over the weekend! The directions were excellent and the property couldn't be easier to find. Having Heather next door (accross the road) was a positive asset!

Couldn't really fault the cottage - nothing more needs to be said.




A gem of a cottage in the beautiful Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful relaxing weekend at Sandholm - a beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need, spotlessly clean with a very much appreciated welcome pack which was a lovely surprise. Had a great time exploring the wonderful countryside, will definitely return, a very special place.



Ideal location for exploring Scottish Borders, English Heritage sites

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for exploring Scottish Borders, English Heritage sites. The owners of Sandholm Holiday Cottage have a little gem here. Relaxing area, and friendly people.



Fantastic home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the accommodation as it was central to a number of places we wanted to bike and visit. The house is superb very well equipped with all the kitchen essentials, plenty of towels, great beds and excellent facilities such as wi-fi, BT freebies and a selection of toys for the little un, DVD's, books , maps etc. very well thought out premises with secure bike outdoor kit storage.



A relaxing home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Sandholm Cottage, and once again we had a great time. The cottage is finished to a very high standard and is very well equipped - I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't available. We also received a welcome pack of essentials which was a lovely touch.

The view from the back patio area is very relaxing, there is a BBQ to use on warm summer nights, and an area for your small
children/dogs to run around safely.

Sandholm cottage really is a home from home and we hope to return for a third visit sometime in the future....




Fantastic stay at Sandholm

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Sandholm for a short break over the May Bank Holiday. Really good accommodation, well kept, well equipped, very comfortable. I would definitely consider returning for another visit.



An excellent stay at Sandholme

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the welcome from Heather to our departure a week later we had a splendid time at Sandholme. The welcome pack was exceptional and most unexpected. The directions to the cottage were precise and easy to follow. The real surprise was the freedom for Hector, our Airedale! the field gave him hours of pleasure, finding the toys others had left behind. Everything we needed was catered for.. This was one of the best, if not THE best accommodaation we had ever had. Need we say more. Another visit is definitely on the cards.



Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy and comfortable cottage, with lovely outlooks. It has been very thoughtfully fitted out, and is fresh & modern, with character. We enjoyed the log burning stove, and trips in the area, including the Keilder Water and mountain biking.



Absolutely brilliant!!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very, very pleasant experience; recommend it highly. The wood burner and views win the day. Within reach of Hadrian's Wall and not far fom Carlisle.



Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found this cottage by chance and so glad I did. The Cottage is lovely and clean, and so comfortable and has everything you could wish for and more. It isn't hard to see that a lot of thought has gone into the furnishings - everything is very tasteful. Because of the time of year we stayed, we weren't able to enjoy the lovely patio but we plan to come back so that we can sit out and enjoy the surrounding views. The cottage is in such a lovely part of the country and a superb base for travelling around the Borders of Scotland. I am disabled but I found this cottage so easy to get around. Having WIFI was a real bonus. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise and was one of the best I have experienced - most kind. The wood burning stove was just the thing for the cold nights. We had very high winds and freezing temperatures outside but we were so cosy - the heat from the stove was unbelievable - I'm going to miss that stove!!

I genuinely cannot recommend Sandholm Cottage highly enough - I just wish our stay had been for a bit longer but it just means we must come back soon :-)




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was wonderful we had a welcome back that supplied us with our basic needs. Everything was clean and beautifully decorated. Will definitely be returning.



lovely cottage set in peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and myself stayed here for a couple of days with the dog to do some running and biking. We were really impressed with our stay! The cottage is beautifully decorated and really homely. The log wood fire was fantastic and the front room really comfy. It was kept in really good condition and a real credit to the owners. The kitchen was really well equipped and we were found wanting nothing. There was even a welcome pack with milk, cheese, ham and a bottle of wine! We have stayed in many cottages and never had this before.

The location is really good too. About a mile and half from Newcastleton so extremely walkable to the lovely pubs on offer, but really peaceful. the forest including it's walking and biking trails can be accessed by just going down the road a mile or so. Can't wait to go back.




Charming Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Right from the time we found this cottage on the net, we have had great service.

The information was clear and complete - what we found on our arrival was even better than expected.

We have stayed at quite a few cottages and found this to be one of the best; and at great value too.

The facilities were excellent - e.g. there was no mobile coverage, but the owners have provided a free landline' excellent. The beds were comfortable and the whole cottage warm and cosy.

The welcome pack was very nice, wine, bread, butter, jam and shortbread - very thoughtful.

We also found the local village shops and restaurant very friendly and welcoming.

We would thoroughly recommend this cottage and area to anyone seeking a quiet, relaxing location; yet near enough to the bright lights if wanted.




Fabulous property

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the nicest cottages we have ever stayed in. Refurbished to a very high standard and very thoughtfully equipped to ensure that you have everything possible that you need during your stay! Arrived to a welcome pack which was really handy. No mobile phone reception but they have this covered with the use of a landline with free calls to 01, 02 and 03 numbers. Lovely location for Newcastleton 7 Stanes. Would certainly recommend this property to others.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandholm Holiday Cottage has a soul. All rooms in the cottage are very nice decorated. We appreciate confidence in guests. Welcome pack, available books, brochures, maps and CDs are very good idea too.



A great stay in Newcastleton!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a great week at Sandholm cottage in Newcastleton, the cottage was excellent with a very high standard of accomodation. We were greeted by Heather from the cottage across the road to let us in to our cottage and show us around, she was very friendly and showed us how to use the heating etc. Heather also showed us the 'Welcome Pack' which consists of things like milk, orange juice, bread, cheese, ham and even a bottle of wine, this was a very nice touch. The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard with an en-suite off the main bedroom, a well equipped kitchen including a dishwasher and a large flat screen TV and BT vision recordable box in the living room. Outside there is a very private deck at the back with patio table and chairs. Another treat was a small paddock off the side of the cottage which was totally enclosed with wire fencing and hedges and was a marvellous area for our little dog to run around to his hearts content. We found the cottage to be a very good base for visiting many of the great small border towns that are nearby, we went to Gretna, Hawick and Selkirk, we had a couple of visits to Kielder, which is only half an hour away, for the Observatory and the birds of prey, both worth a visit. We hope to visit Sandholm again in the future and if staying in the borders would not consider staying any where else!



Fantastic introduction to the Scottish Borders

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here and must arrange to come again. Great area, plenty to do regardless of activity level. Superb accommodation. The inclusion of a welcome pack was a lovely surprise.