FB Twitter

The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3

The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


The Cottage has stood here for over 200 years looking down over the City boundaries, Dublin Bay and beyond.

There are two bedrooms, a double and a single, a large shower room and a fully equipped kitchen / living area.


For very young visitors to the Cottage there is a Cot and a High Chair available and, of course, linen, towels, etc. are there for you.

Electric heating throughout keeps The Cottage cosy and warm when there is a chill in the air.

We have recently had our Cottage renovated and renewed so as to provide four star comforts within its two foot thick walls.
The Cottage is a great place from which to explore. There are no less than nine golf courses within 5 miles of the cottage. The LUAS tram running to the City Centre is only a few minutes’ drive away. The Cottage is also very easy to reach from

A short stay within easy reach of Dublin city, but with wonderful options to explore further afield

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
"The Cottage, Dublin" sounds like a bit of weird address, but it really is lovely with wonderful views over Dublin Bay but surprisingly secluded. If you want Dublin city, you can get there in +/- 30 minutes on the LUAS (tram) which is only a few minutes' drive away. Check out the visitor LEAP cards at Visit Dublin for full access to public transport or buy a day ticket - don't forget to pay for parking - on the LUAS.

If you want to explore the area south of Dublin, you can drive easily to Powerscourt Gardens and the (separate) waterfall or to Glendalough. Both are major attractions for tourists, so best to follow Hilary's advice and go on a weekday if you can.

Local shopping is great with a big Dunnes at Leopardstown and a good branch of Centra at Stepaside - both well marked on the helpful map you will find at the property. Also in Stepaside, you have a great greengrocer and a very good butcher. If you are lucky enough to be there on a Saturday morning, don't miss the market in Kilternan - very easy to spend money on some fantastic local produce!

Hilary and Howard were great, allowing us our own space to enjoy the holiday, but always there to help in case of any query.


David from Tetbury stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 7 nights in July 2017


LetsGoSelfCatering.com replied 27 days ago
David We appreciate you taking the time to give this comprehensive review of The Cottage and highlighting how its great location is ideal for visiting Dublin City and the surrounding counties. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks LetsGoSelfCatering.com team

Holiday in Ireland

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, a peaceful heaven away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Great location - easy access to Dublin using the Luas tram system. The cottage itself has great views and inside all the amenities you need to make your stay comfortable.

Margot from Pittenweem stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 5 nights in July 2017


LetsGoSelfCatering.com replied 27 days ago
Dear Margot Thank you for submitting this glowing review of The Cottage. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Regards LetsGoSelfCatering.com team

Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a wonderful short break at the cottage, fabulous location, perfect cottage, with absolutely everything u might need and lots of thoughtful extras, in the countryside yet minutes from main m50 ... highly recommend, will definitely return..

Deirdre from Corofin stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 5 nights in July 2017


LetsGoSelfCatering.com replied 45 days ago
Dear Deirdre Thanks so much for this wonderful review of your short break at the Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Warm wishes LetsGoSelfCatering.com Team

Lovely quality cottage close to Dublin

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in early April. Howard and Hilary are very helpful hosts if you need any advice but otherwise they leave you to your own devices and, as the cottage is tucked away next to the gate and their house is sheltered by the garden, you don't feel overlooked. The cottage is well equipped to a high standard, including wifi, microwave, electric heating, electric oven and hob, fridge, washing machine and dishwasher - all the essentials. The heating is more than adequate - we turned a couple of electric heaters off during our stay and it was not particularly warm weather. Can't comment on the TV as we were totally chilled and read if we were in rather than watching the box - there are plenty of the main channels to choose from though. There is a good-sized double bedroom and a small (but perfectly formed) single room, each with a wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable as was the seating in the main room which is a sitting room at one end and the kitchen at the other. There is plenty of light in the main room as there are velux windows in the roof space. The bathroom has no bath but a large shower - it's not a particularly powerful shower but works well and there is always a plentiful supply of hot water. I particularly appreciated the fact that cleaning materials are provided, including dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. So often, you're expected to buy all these yourself and I find that a bit mean, especially when it's a short stay!

The view down to Dublin Bay is just gorgeous and there's room to sit outside and enjoy it should the weather be more kind to you than it was to us! We tried out the pub up the road and can recommend it for food. The cottage is situated within easy reach of the motorways around Dublin as well as the Dart and/or LUAS stations. We visited a number of tourist sites outside Dublin as we had a car (essential for this cottage) but we also went into Dublin on a couple of occasions using the Dart from Dun Laoghaire which is a scenic route along the coast. All in all, a lovely stay and thanks to Howard and Hilary.


Stephen from Chalfont St Giles stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 7 nights in March 2017


Dorren LetsGoSelfCatering replied 129 days ago
Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing review of The Cottage. We appreciate the time you took to give this comprehensive review which really helps the reader imagine they were experiencing this for themselves. Thanks again

The Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at the Cottage in Kilternan was a 5* experience. The cottage was a delight to stay in. The beds were very comfortable. Information pack about the local area, very handy. Fresh scones waiting for us on arrival. The views were spectacular. Johnny Fox's just a short walk away great traditional well known pub. Hillary was an outstanding host. Will definitely stay again.

Andrea from Wellingborough stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 4 nights in October 2016


A great short break in Dublin

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We previously stayed in this property in 2012, so we knew it was a place we wanted to come back to. The cottage is set high in the hills on the south west of the city, and has stunning views over Dublin Bay towards Howth. It is a very peaceful, comfortable and nicely appointed cottage, and a great base for exploring Dublin and County Wicklow.

David from Edinburgh stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 5 nights in September 2016


a most perfect stay in Co. Dublin

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have appreciated everything of our stay at "The Cottage" in Ballyteagh.
At first the stunning view over Dublin Bay and the perfect quietness of the place , so peaceful and calm and so close to the city. Of course the house and the welcome of our hosts was what we would have expected and even more. The accommodation has everything that we could have wished for, and even more since the owner provided us with a magnificent welcome pack including flowers from the garden and fruit-juice on top ofthe essential items for breakfast for our 5 days' stay.
Last but not least, the proximity to a park&ride place for the LUAS ( 3 km ), from where "that great little train (tram") would take us to the centre of Dublin in about 40 minutes. It was also so easy to reach the main trunk roads for further and farther visits in the countryside.
Wehave been so pleased with everything that we are already planning to come back here next year for further discoveries in and around Dublin


Philippe from Notre Dame Du Bec stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 5 nights in September 2016


Charming Cottage in the mountains

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in the Dublin mountains with spectacular views. Very comfortable cottage with all mod cons provided. Very friendly greeting by the owner who also had provided essentials such as milk,bread etc. Peaceful and relaxing. Highly recommended.

Noel from Glaslough stayed at The Cottage, Dublin, Sleeps 3 for 4 nights in July 2016


LetsGoSelfCatering.com replied more than 1 year ago
We sincerely thank you for sharing great feedback with us. We are all glad to read that you had a wonderful experience. Thank you once again and we are definitely looking forward to welcoming you to another of our LetsGo properties in the future. Kind Regards, LetsGoSelfCatering.com