FB Twitter

Swallows

Swallows

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Friendly farm animals, an indoor heated pool, play rooms and ‘peace of mind’ baby packs are just some the best bits about Tregongeeves Farm near St Austell. Owners John and Judith have made it their mission to make holidays to their 7 cottages as stress free as possible, from providing a long list of baby and toddler gear to making sure kids have fun so parents can relax.

‘Down on the farm’ what better way to start that day than by helping Judith collect freshly laid eggs for brekkie and the welcome hamper also includes locally sourced bacon and sausages, bread, milk, a Cornish cream tea and a Sunday newspaper. Besides getting to know the hens, children can feed apples to Alice the horse, brush the friendly donkeys and meet the portly piggies, Ruby and Ronnie.

When the sun is out, the lawns and play area beckons, with swings and a slide, plus parents can borrow racquets and balls for a set or two of tennis on the adjacent full size court. All the cottages also have their own outside patio or enclosed garden with a picnic table and a barbecue for eating outdoors.

No weather dampens the fun, thanks to an indoor heated swimming pool, a bubbly spa pool, a games room and new soft play room for under 5’s. Steps into the pool mean little ones can splash in the shallows and a play pen and bouncy baby chair can be set up at the side. The big games room has table tennis, a pool table and boxes of toys, games and puzzles for all ages, plus every cottage has its own box of toys, DVD’s to borrow and free Wi Fi for streaming favourite films and games.

The 7 cottages are cosy and modern, with unlimited central heating, high quality furnishings, well equipped kitchens, gleaming bathrooms and comfy beds for good nights’ sleep. Four of them have an upside down layout, with lovely pitched roof living rooms and one has a beautiful minstrel’s gallery with a romantic canopied bedroom under the eaves.

Accommodation overview
Tregongeeves Farm comprises 2 cottages for a couple with a baby (Corner Cottage and Swallows), 1 cottage that sleeps 3 plus a baby (Hedgerows), 3 cottages that sleep 4 plus a baby (Quakers, Lovedays and Gallery) and 1 cottage that sleeps 6 plus a baby (Donkey Mill).

Swallows (sleeps 2 + baby) is one of the four topsy-turvy cottages at Tregongeeves Farm, which has been designed so the lounge, dining area and kitchen has a cosy, open plan layout under the eaves, flooded with light through the skylights. There are plump sofas to flop into by the fire to watch the flat screen TV or DVD’s, or listen to music through the docking station, log into the free Wi Fi, or play with the toys and games provided. On the ground floor, the bedroom has a luxurious zip link bed that can be made up as a super king-size or twin beds. The gleaming ensuite bathroom has a bath and a walk-in shower. The cottage has a private patio area with a BBQ.

Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect, plenty of room, comfortable, clean and peaceful. Excellent cream tea on arrival.

Henry from Burton-on-trent stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2017


Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply one of the best weeks away we have had! A real home from home and great for families. We have told so many people about it. Swallows was the perfect size for the 3 of us (2 year old in tow). Everything had been thought of - everything! We will be coming back. Thank you!

Sarah from Aylesbury stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2017


Swallows holiday cottage treggongreavest

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is the third stay, at Swallows, it is an excellent holiday accomadation, with fantastic hosts, John and Judith, nothing is a bother to them, best holidays ever spent at this cottage, could not ask for anything more pleasant or comfortable. Looking forward to next year already.

Paul from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Swallows for 14 nights in August 2017


Restful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable Every thing you could want provided for Good size cottage Owners very friendly and nothing a bother

Linda from Whitley Bay stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2017


Stay in the Swallows Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm, friendly welcome by the owners. Excellent attention to detail and everything catered for children and pets. Beautifully decorated cottages, with every home comfort. Welcome pack was a thoughtful touch and a delight to have. Pool, play barn, games room, gym and animals on the grounds were all an excellent bonus. We would highly recommend this complex to anyone. Amazing! Lots to do in the area. Shops, pubs walking distance. Beaches and cycle rides are a short car ride. Really lovely. Thank you x

Luke from Wimborne stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in April 2017


Judith Clemo replied 142 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had a lovely time.

lovely cottage and alays a lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean cottages with just about everything u need for your stay. A great place to relax and get away from everything.

Amanda from stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in March 2017


Judith replied 168 days ago
Thank you for your review, pleased you enjoyed your break and hope you can come back again soon

Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday cottage,lovely and comfortable.cant fault anything,would recommend highly.5star accomadation lovely comfortable bed and furnishings.welcome cream tea and breakfast pack were deliciousJudith is very friendly and welcoming.Fabulous place for children,looking forward to returning again.

L from Leics stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in March 2017


Judih replied 189 days ago
Thank you so much for the review on your recent short break. So pleased you enjoyed Swallows and all the comforts.

Wonderful family stay at Tregongeeves

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows at Tregongeeves Farm provided us with fantastic family friendly accommodation in the beautiful county of Cornwall. Situated on the outskirts of St Austell, it was both close enough to the town to be very convenient for shopping etc. yet far enough out to feel like a break in the countryside, and very convenient for getting to local beaches and other attractions. The accommodation itself was in great condition and very comfortable and clean with everything we needed as well as lots of extras - our hosts had clearly put a lot of thought into everything we might need. Little touches such as a cream tea and breakfast hamper on arrival were very welcome. The owners were also very hospitable and friendly, always available to offer advice and information on the local area or answer any questions. We were able to go and feed the animals some mornings too; this was great for our 2 year old, who was kept well entertained with the pool, play room, outdoor play area and toys in the cottage itself. We felt that the holiday provided very good value for money too. We would recommend Tregongeeves to others and would love to return ourselves one day!

Joanna from Southampton stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the facilities.

Amazing place! Just as it looks in the pictures!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely brilliant time away here for my Mum's 65th birthday, we couldn't have asked for more!
We have already been looking to re-book for next year, would definitely definitely highly recommend!


Rose from Fareham stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in October 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for the review, so pleased you enjoyed your birthday with us.

A very agreeable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Converted farm buildings were well designed, well appointed and very comfortable.
We particularly enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the library of tourist information and
walking books. Everything we looked for in the cottage was there, where you expected to find it and fully
functional.


John from Maeni Bridge stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you like the cottage.

Short end of summer break.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chose this location due to its near proximity to Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Helegan. Lovely cream tea on arrival along with a selection of local produce in a welcome pack. Judith certainly has thought of everything to make for a very comfortable stay, and was keen to help with any information needed. Immaculate accommodation with all the amenities you could want. Inside heated swimming pool which we used every day with a jacuzzi. The donkeys were a delight and brushes were available to groom them! Children would love the other farm animals especially Declan the sheep who came trotting to you when you called his name!
Stayed for four nights and there plenty of places of interest to visit in the area and eateries. Would recommend walking to Polgooth pub for a meal, excellent.
Would definitely book again.


Cedric from Selby stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in September 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you found and liked the pub!

Quirky cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the quirkiness of an upside down cottage. Large rooms, huge bed and bathroom. Other facilities - pool, games room etc a huge bonus. Our second visit and second cottage and will book another cottage in the not too distant future

Malcolm from Basingstoke stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in September 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for the review, lovely to welcome you back and hope to see you again soon.

Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish a fabulous holiday...
We stayed in the swallows cottage . Which was immaculately clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped.
Judith the owner could not be more helpful and forthcoming with information on places to visit and explore ,and also to eat.
The location is also really good, nearby mevagissey was lovely its harbour so quaint. Fowey again only a short drive or ferry trip away. And Padstow only a half hour drive .
Our first time at Tregongeeves farm , but most certainly not our last as within 24 hours of being there I booked for 2017. We will return next year with our son his partner and our grandson, who I'm sure will enjoy it as much as me and my husband did this year.
See you next year Judith and the team at Tregongeeves .
Julie R


Julie from Warrington stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2016


judith replied more than 1 year ago
thank you so much for your glowing report of your holiday here at Tregongeeves. Look forward to seeing you with your little grandson in 2017.

A great family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Swallows cottage. It was comfortable and clean and we felt relaxed there straightaway. The recreation room was fantastic for our one year old. We were made to feel very welcome and it's just a shame the holiday had to come to an end!

Guest from London stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2016


judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to put a review on your recent holiday with your little one. Always a challenge your first holiday with a little person, but hopefully with the toy box,stair gates and the soft play area you could relax.

Excellent holiday at Swallows at Tregongeeves

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault anything about Swallows and Judith's friendliness makes the stay an absolute pleasure. Also a good position for trips to the surrounding area. Visited Fowey, Mevagissey and Charlestown as well as river trip from Truro to Falmouth.

B from Fawr stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in May 2016


A Perfect holiday cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows cottage was spotlessly clean. There was everything in the cottage you could need and more. Judith cared so much that you were having a good time and had everything you could want. It was our second visit. We had stayed in Quakers previously with our son and found the same level of comfort and cleanliness in both. A perfect place to stay and for visiting all areas of Cornwall.

Doreen from Huntingdon stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in May 2016


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you once again for choosing to return to Tregongeeves. I am pleased you were just as happy with Swallows cottage, five more to go.

Family get-together; perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had two apartments between our group, great for sharing the sun and outside areas; next time we'll have to use the BBQ!
Extensively equipped and great for kids with the chickens and lambs to feed at breakfast time


Paul from Buckley stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in May 2016


Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous holiday! Tregongeeves provided us with the perfect foundation to explore, enjoy and engage with the wondrous opportunities that the Cornish coastlines have to offer.

Judith (and family) runs a fantastic base; from the subtle to the grandiose. The cottage was perfect, furnished immaculately, with additional little touches that included a cream tea on arrival and a generous, locally sourced, breakfast hamper that saw us through two mornings!

The complex has a converted barn equipped with indoor swimming pool and spa area, great for relaxing after a hard days exploration. There is also a superb adjacent recreation area incorporating: table tennis, pool and air hockey - you can compete to your hearts content. Wifi is freely available throughout the complex.

Tregongeeves is easily within many of Cornwall's vast array of places to visit, but it is always nice to be greeted back by Declan the sheep and co, the animals which Judith keeps on the farm!

The village of Polgooth, just a short stroll down the hill from Tregongeeves, has a great pub which serves fantastic food and ales.

We're already planning our next visit and will be recommending Tregongeeves to friends and family. Thank you Judith and family for a superb holiday experience.


A from Notts stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in April 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sumptuous stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Tregongreeves this time in Swallows (Quakers previously) and the same level of comfort, cleanliness and luxury awaited us. Our lovely hosts, Judith and John were always on hand and nothing is too much trouble. I could wax lyrical about this little gem but think you should try it for yourself....you will not be disappointed.

Roger from Glastonbury stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in November 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking to time to leave such a lovely review, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and that you have booked again to stay with us next year!

Another Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again another wonderful stay at Tregongeeves in Swallows cottage. As usual we were well looked after by Judith and John.
A cream tea on arrival and a breakfast pack all there for us. The use of the swimming pool for a morning swim was a great start to our day. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a holiday of short stay in Cornwall


Lucy from London stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in October 2015


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for taking the time out of your busy life to write a review. See you all again in a few weeks when we welcome in the New Year.

An Autumnal Break at Tregongeeves Farm Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors now to Tregongeeves Farm Cottages and have been making regular holiday visits since 2006. You will get a real Cornish welcome from John and Judith Clemo who are always available for help and advice, if needed, during your stay. The holiday cottages are maintained to the very highest standards and even on a rainy day you will find something to do in the Recreation Room and swimming pool which is an integral part of the cottage site. Our stay in Swallows this year was marked by some lovely autumnal sunshine and Swallows has the advantage of an upstairs living area which captures the sunshine during the afternoon and evening. It's the perfect place to be after a day exploring the lovely city of Truro or exploring old Cornwall at Heligan Gardens. We always find something of interest 'going on' in the local area and this year was no exception. The second series of Poldark was being filmed in Charlestown just a few miles away from the cottages with an opportunity for the ladies to catch a glimpse of Aiden Turner who plays the dashing leading man Ross Poldark. Thoroughly recommended as a stay at Tregongeeves Cottages is a holiday with a difference!


PC from PONTYPOOL stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in October 2015


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the review of your holiday. We always look forward to welcoming repeat customers

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Swallows and will definitely be back. The cottage was lovely, facilities were really good and the owner was friendly and helpful.

Iola from Walsall stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review on your holiday in Swallows. I hope you are able to bring your little one back to enjoy meeting the animals and collecting her own egg.

Perfect Cornwall holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic holiday! Tregongeeves farm cottages are the perfect location for a great stay in Cornwall. Swallows is a beautiful cottage and has everything you could need for a home away from home - the bed was incredibly comfortable, sofa was plush and snuggly and it is beautifully decorated throughout. In fact I'm now rethinking the decor of my own home! It truly was a shame to come home! It's perfectly positioned within Cornwall for everything you could want to do. The North Coast is no more than a 45 min drive and the South is around 10mins. Judith was a pleasure to deal with and struck the perfect balance between friendly and giving you your own space. We will definitely be back.

Lois from Bushey stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to Hear you both enjoyed your holiday in Swallows and feel really refreshed Thank you for taking the time to send a review. Look forward to welcoming you again to Tregongeeves.

This is a very special place we found in Cornwall .

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the forth time here thee in the swallows and one in corner. Cottage Everything you need is there kitchen well equipped with tea & milk sugar butter scones bacon eggs sausage it goes on.. Lounge very comfortable t v dvd games for kids . Bedroom very nice and comfortable lush place.

Paul from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Paul for the review, so pleased you enjoyed another holiday in Swallows despite the weather. The chickens are missing your evening visits. Judith

Stunning conversion of farm buildings to a first class holiday let

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The attention to detail in these cottages is second to none. The beds are really high quality and extremely comfortable. Every little detail has been included, down to the welcome pack with freshly baked scones, jam and clotted cream!

I cannot recommend it highly enough.

The only downside was the weather - so if you could do something about that, it would have been the most perfect holiday (and oh, also move Cornwall a bit nearer to West Sussex!!!)

Many thanks to John and Judith for a wonderful stay.

Lyn Povey


Guest from Lower Beeding stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2015


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in this cottage, spacious, extremely clean, great location just off the main road between Truro and St Austell (quick to get out and about!)

Lovely swimming pool and lots of facilities for children - swings and climbing frame, trampoline, tennis court, animals, games room etc.

The only thing we would have changed would be to get clean bath towels mid way through the week - there is a washing machine, but no detergent.


Guest from Luton stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2015


Cosiness and comfort in a great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Swallows for the fifth time at the end of May. It is one of our favourite places to stay because it is so clean, comfortable and well equipped. The cottage is lovely and spacious and is in a great location. It's easy to get to many different places in Cornwall. We have enjoyed lovely days out in places such as Mevagissey, Fowey, St. Mawes, Truro and further afield. There are also great beaches and fantastic coastal walks not too far away. An added bonus are the on-site swimming-pool, games room and lovely grounds. The owners are welcoming and always on hand should you require any help. It really is a lovely place for a relaxing holiday.

Guest from Southampton stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in May 2015


A wonderfully peaceful haven from the storm!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many months of family trauma Judith and John gave us the opportunity to stay in their wonderful Swallows cottage where we relaxed in comfort and were able to soak up the pleasures of the peaceful surroundings. Looking forward to returning later this year. Love Diane and Alan

Guest from Burrowbridge stayed at Swallows for 156 nights in November 2014