FB Twitter

Donkey Mill

Donkey Mill

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Friendly farm animals, an indoor heated pool, play rooms and ‘peace of mind’ baby packs are just some the best bits about Tregongeeves Farm near St Austell. Owners John and Judith have made it their mission to make holidays to their 7 cottages as stress free as possible, from providing a long list of baby and toddler gear to making sure kids have fun so parents can relax.

‘Down on the farm’ what better way to start that day than by helping Judith collect freshly laid eggs for brekkie and the welcome hamper also includes locally sourced bacon and sausages, bread, milk, a Cornish cream tea and a Sunday newspaper. Besides getting to know the hens, children can feed apples to Alice the horse, brush the friendly donkeys and meet the portly piggies, Ruby and Ronnie.

When the sun is out, the lawns and play area beckons, with swings and a slide, plus parents can borrow racquets and balls for a set or two of tennis on the adjacent full size court. All the cottages also have their own outside patio or enclosed garden with a picnic table and a barbecue for eating outdoors.

No weather dampens the fun, thanks to an indoor heated swimming pool, a bubbly spa pool, a games room and new soft play room for under 5’s. Steps into the pool mean little ones can splash in the shallows and a play pen and bouncy baby chair can be set up at the side. The big games room has table tennis, a pool table and boxes of toys, games and puzzles for all ages, plus every cottage has its own box of toys, DVD’s to borrow and free Wi Fi for streaming favourite films and games.

The 7 cottages are cosy and modern, with unlimited central heating, high quality furnishings, well equipped kitchens, gleaming bathrooms and comfy beds for good nights’ sleep. Four of them have an upside down layout, with lovely pitched roof living rooms and one has a beautiful minstrel’s gallery with a romantic canopied bedroom under the eaves.

Accommodation overview
Tregongeeves Farm comprises 2 cottages for a couple with a baby (Corner Cottage and Swallows), 1 cottage that sleeps 3 plus a baby (Hedgerows), 3 cottages that sleep 4 plus a baby (Quakers, Lovedays and Gallery) and 1 cottage that sleeps 6 plus a baby (Donkey Mill).

Donkey Mill (Sleeps 6 + baby) is the largest of the cottages and was originally the mill house where donkeys turned the mill wheel. The cottage has its own patio garden with a barbecue and views over a patchwork of countryside where the owners’ donkeys, sheep and horses graze. In the lounge, families can snuggle into a comfy sofa and armchair, with a wood burner blazing in the corner, to watch the flat screen TV or DVD’s, or listen to music through the docking station, log into the free Wi Fi, or play with the toys and games provided. Upstairs the cottage has one double bedroom with a TV, one bedroom with full size bunks and a twin bedroom with zip-link beds that can be made up as a double. The twin bedroom has an ensuite bathroom, with a bath and a shower and there is a separate shower room. One cot is provided along with a comprehensive baby pack that makes feeding time, playtime, bathtime and bedtime that bit easier.

As good as ever !!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Tregongeeves Farm cottages, and our second stay in Donkey Mill. Cottage is very well appointed and facilities on-site (including pool, Jacuzzi, games room, tennis court & outdoor play area) are all excellent. Our children particularly enjoyed being able to help feed the farm animals and collect the eggs. Judith (the owner) is on hand and is full of good suggestions for good places to visit and to eat in the local area. There really is loads to do in the local area, with excellent beaches, good walks and National Trust gardens & properties all within a short drive.

Glynn from Chorley stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2017


Epic 1st holiday with our grandchildren.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spectacular place to stay with children / grandchildren. Totally child friendly with plenty to keep them occupied. Owner Judith made special efforts to make any child welcome and involved them with animal care and feeding times. Donkey Mill cottage has all you could need for a total 'Home from Home' experience, plenty of space with beautiful furnishings. Look out Tregongeeves ' We WILL be back '.

Alison from Redditch stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2017


2 weeks at Tregongeeves again!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently home from 2 weeks in the sumptuous Donkey Mill.
In case you're a new visitor to the cottages what's helpful to know is when you arrive it will be spotless - and I mean spotless - the level of cleanliness of these properties is the highest I've experienced of any self catering property (many through Premier Cottages, of which Tregongeeves is also a member). There's no wiping kitchen cupboards down before you pop your bits in, or dusty bedroom draws that need a wipe before you fill up - you can just unpack and relax and let your holiday begin!

If, like we did, you enjoy cooking most evenings, you'll find everything you need (I can't think of anything we couldn't put our hand on) even down to a huge flask that came with us to the beach on a few days.

It's this attention that quickly makes your cottage feel like "home" - there's no sense that anyone else has stayed there because it's just so clean and well appointed - a real testament to Judith, John and their team's hard work.

3 mornings a week the children love joining Judith to collect the chicken's eggs, feed the pigs and see the horses - it's literally the highlight of the day for them and something my daughter spoke about fondly all year through after our last visit. This is of course down to Judith, who encourages and includes all the children - finding a job for even those who aren't quite sure of the animals.

The location of the cottages are superb - tucked away nicely but a 5 min car journey to the centre of things. Tesco and Asda both within 10 mins and the centre of St Austell. Mevagissey harbour 10 or so mins and is stunning (especially in the early evening sunshine for a crepe or ice cream). Local beach Porthpean wonderful for rock pools, kayaking and beautiful sandy beach. Over on the Roseland peninsular you'll find Pendower beach - another stunner and one of our favourites. There really are so many places to visit, we didn't visit all the places we did last year, but found new ones too. North Cornwall also within easy reach if you fancy a 45 min drive one day - Rock, Padstow etc.

Didn't manage Eden Project or Lost Gardens of Heligan this time, but given we've already booked Donkey Mill again for next Summer, we can always fit it in then!

Really, we should all keep quiet about Tregongeeves so we can keep it to ourselves, but if, like us, you've fallen in love with these cottages and Cornwall - book well in advance and then you'll not be disappointed !


Caroline from Crayford stayed at Donkey Mill for 14 nights in July 2017


A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our Donkey Mill and the wonderful facilities at Tregongeeves. Wonderful hosts, nothing to much trouble. We have four young children who loved the cottage and the swimming pool and play barn. All so clean and tidy. We will certainly be back. Thank you

Elisabeth from Penrith stayed at Donkey Mill for 9 nights in June 2017


Judith replied 95 days ago
It was lovely to see you all again. The boys certainly enjoyed the facilities. Hope the tractor has arrived.

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday in beautifully appointed cottage. Judith and John were extremely welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was perfect. The facilities are outstanding and the pool, games room and gym were excellent, and especially welcome on the days when the weather wasn't so good. I cannot recommend highly enough.

Guest from Bishops Cleave stayed at Donkey Mill for 8 nights in May 2017


Judith replied 133 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

Our Cornish adventure

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rural setting and central for many tourist attractions. Facilities available on site perfect for my age range. Granddaughter enthralled by the animals and soft play area

Michael from Shrewsbury stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in April 2017


Judith replied 141 days ago
Thank you for your review, it is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit to Tregongeeves, and our first time staying in Donkey Mill. Donkey Mill is of the same high standard to all the cottages at Tregongeeves but the size and layout made it even more appealing.
This was another fantastic stay - a cottage with all the finer details considered, all the facilities we require - a lovely warm swimming pool, play areas for the children and perfectly located for a visit to so many areas of Cornwall.
We would recommend Tregongeeves to anyone looking to visit Cornwall.


Lauren from Westbury stayed at Donkey Mill for 4 nights in April 2017


Judith replied 152 days ago
Thank you for your review, am pleased you enjoyed your stay in Donkey Mill. Hope to see you again soon

Excellent for families with young children. Wifi an issue though

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very good stay. Our 3 year old was happily occupied in the recreation room for hours (dressing up, Toys, art options etc). The outside play area was a good change in location and when the weather was a bit average we happily passed time at the site visiting animals too.

The accommodation in donkey mill was spacious and comfortable and there was enough equipment to properly self cater (knives could do with a sharpen!).

We have visited Cornwall regualarly since having a child and haven't found anywhere we would return to before finding tregongeeves. The only issue we had was the stability of the wifi. If you actually need a connection (to work for example), then you need your own data connection. I know this isn't a location issue because we have family local to the resort who manage a stable solution.


Claire from London stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in April 2017


Judith replied 158 days ago
Thank you for your review and apologies for the problems with the WiFi. Its lovely that your little one enjoyed the Recreation Room and that you would like to come and stay again, we look forward to seeing you

Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great time at tregongeeves.
We hadn't stayed there since 2008 and we're pleasantly surprised with the upgrades since our last stay.
The owners couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming and we will definitely be returning.


Andrew from Brierley Hill stayed at Donkey Mill for 3 nights in March 2017


Judith replied 187 days ago
Thank you for your recent review of your short break. I am so pleased you enjoyed visiting Tregongeeves again even if only for a few days. Look forward to seeing you all again when Oscar can enjoy the animals.

An excellent rest for families

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have been more lucky with our accommodation. What a brilliant place to go with a very chatty and active toddler and a 17 month year old. We were so comfortable in donkey mill, we had much more provided than we needed and all our sleeping needs were met perfectly! The Woodburner worked a storm, and our friends, whose monitor stretched to our cottage meant that we had adult time chatting lots too. Coffee machine in the amazing playroom, swimming, pig feeding- not sure what else we could have dreamt for. Our hosts were great too. Thanks to all them. A top knot has holiday!

B from Manuden Bishops Stortford stayed at Donkey Mill for 9 nights in March 2017


Judith replied 187 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing report of your holiday at Tregongeeves. I enjoyed seeing the children each day in the soft play area with Mums and Dads watching on.

Second Stay over Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Tregongeeves Farm. We stayed in Donkey Mill over the Christmas holidays. Yet again a fabulous stay and everything we needed was provided. Judith is friendly and welcoming and always on hand should you need her.
My three children enjoyed the newly refurbished games room, upstairs was a pool table, table tennis and air hockey and downstairs was a soft play area, wendy house, dress up and toys. Lots to keep three boys entertained. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were fab yet again and we never had to share with anyone else.
We love coming to Tregongeeves and will definitely return in the future.


Claire from Chatham stayed at Donkey Mill for 8 nights in December 2016


Our Family holiday at donkey mill.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was not our first stay at Donkey Mill. Every time we have stayed there you notice improvements in comfort and entertainment. The cottages are clean, comfortable and cosy and have all you need. The location is perfect for all local sight's and attractions. We as a family can thoroughly recommend Tregongeeves Farm and Judith and John make you feel welcome.

from Dorchester stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in October 2016


Judith Clemo replied 315 days ago
Thank you for the kind review. So pleased you all enjoyed another break at Tregongeeves enjoying once again the inside facilities.

A wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You can really tell Judith and John have grandchildren as the attention to detail for families with little ones is excellent - from stair gates and toy boxes to indoor playbarns and egg collecting.

The facilities were excellent - both indoor and outdoor- ideal to enjoy with our 2 year old and 4 month old. Judith and John were friendly and welcoming with good advice of where to visit around the area.

The idea of the online food shop before arrival was great too.

We had a wonderful family holiday. Brilliant. Xx


P from Doncastor stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in September 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome your family.

Family with 2 girls

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We Stayed at Donkey Mill for a week Aug 2016. The accommodation was superb! lots of helpful extras too e.g dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, tea towels most of the household basics. lovely garden area to sit in on warm evenings.
The animals were a major hit with my girls (12& 10) they loved helping to look after them! The recreational facilities were excellent, girls loved the pool, hot tub and table tennis. Everywhere is so clean and well tended, really lovely place.
Tregongeeves is central for travelling around. Speak to Judith she has so much good advice and suggestions!
We had a fantastic time, really hope to revisit soon. Big thanks to Judith & John, always smiling and it must take a lot of hard work to keep everywhere looking so fantastic. We would not hesitate in recommending Trgongeeves!




Alex from Pontyclun stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2016


Judith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review, lovely to meet you and your girls.

Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing holiday here, great facilities and my children aged 4 & 8 loved the many farm animals. Judith is a wonderful hostess and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property.

Julie from Flint stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2016


JUdith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.

A lovely holiday at Tregongeeves

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Tregongeeves, the children loved all the facilities and animals, especially feeding time! The cottage was fully equipped and spacious. Judith was very welcoming and offered lots of advice on places to visit. Plenty to do in the area and we had a very enjoyable and relaxing week, would highly recommend.

Angela from Bingham stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in July 2016


JUdith replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a lovely time.

Brilliant family holiday facility.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family holidayed in the very comfortable and spacious accommodation provided by Donkey Mill. The cottage was equipped and maintained to a very high standard. The additional facilities,e.g., the swimming pool and recreation room, were excellent. The owners, John and Judith, are very friendly and approachable and nothing is too much trouble. The location is good for many of the main attractions and there are some very good beaches are close by. Tregongeeves will be the venue for our future visits to Cornwall.

Peter from Torksey stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2016


JUdith replied 327 days ago
It was lovely to welcome your family here; we hope to see you all very soon.

Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Tregongeeves a few times now and are never disappointed. The cottages are beautiful and the welcome from Judith and John is excellent. The new addition of the play room was briliant and the kids were in it every day. Had a fantastic holiday and have already booked next years here!

Clare from Bexleyheath stayed at Donkey Mill for 14 nights in July 2016


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. So pleased you enjoyed the new soft play area. Especially when Daddy loaded the car, handy to get the younger members of the family out of the way. See you all in 2017

Donkey mill

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay st Tregongeeves and received a warm welcome on our arrival. The accommodation and facilities are excellent and would highly recommend staying here especially if you have children as there is plenty to do on site and the cottages are very well equipped.

Guest from Cardiff stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in June 2016


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you all enjoyed your holiday at Tregongeeves. Thank you for taking the time to put on a review and share your thoughts with others. Hope to see you again one day.

Fabulous trip, especially for children

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Tregongeeves farm cottages. Everything is taken care of with regards to children on holiday and this, along with the welcome pack / cream tea really made a difference. The pool, play area and animals were all great successes with our family and I could imagine having a great time here whatever the weather. We were lucky but as it turns out didn't need to be! I'm sure we will be back. Thank you.

Helen from Rugby stayed at Donkey Mill for 4 nights in May 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments and for taking the time to share with others. I am pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Tregongeeves. Please come back soon.

Beautiful & comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with the accomodation as soon as we arrived, beautiful place & very comfortable.Will certainly return in the future . The swimming pool & recreation were a real bonus. Eveything you could have wanted was there to use. The surroundings were lovely as were the animals. Great location to visit the many attractions in Cornwall

Guest from Crediton stayed at Donkey Mill for 3 nights in May 2016


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review of your short break. Hope we can meet up again sometime.

Fantastic cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Tregongeeves farm and, once again, it was excellent. Donkey mill cottage is spacious and very well equipped. Since our last stay the games room (which was already good) has been further improved, providing entertainment for all ages (dressing up & soft play for younger children, and table tennis, pool and air football for older kids). An additional outdoor area with pedal tractors has also been installed.
Judith, the owner, was as helpful as ever and is great at encouraging the children meet the onsite animals (currently a pony, 3 donkeys, 2 lambs, horses, sheep and numerous chickens).
There's also plenty to do in the surrounding area, including numerous National Trust gardens/properties as well as Heligan gardens and the Eden project (book in advance for this as it's expensive if you simply pay on the day of your visit).
Overall I would thoroughly this property and will definitely be returning.


Glynn from Chorley stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in April 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you all enjoyed another stay here at Tregongeeves Farm. I always enjoy introducing the children to the animals, you would be amazed they realise where an egg comes from. The new indoor play area is already proving a popular attraction. Look forward to seeing you in 2017. Judith

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again another perfect stay in Donkey Mill, our fourth Easter here and by no means the last. Judith's personal touches certainly don't go unnoticed. Ideal location for travelling around or just chilling out on the farm. Feeding the animals and a swim each day is a must for our 8 year old, who after visiting places such as Malaysia, Thailand and Florida still has Tregongeeves at the top of her list for holiday destinations!! Looking forward to returning in the Summer xx

H from Stafford stayed at Donkey Mill for 10 nights in March 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Helen,thank you for the review, much appreciated. See you all n a few weeks when you can experience another cottage. Eloise will enjoy the new arrivals. Judith

Another great stay at Tregongeeves

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoy staying at Tregongeeves. The swimming pool is lovely and warm .The children really like to stay here!
Think they missed the trampoline ! But understand the safety issues. They enjoyed the table tennis and pool .
Will definitely be back .


Katy from Bristol stayed at Donkey Mill for 5 nights in April 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry you miss the trampoline, but we hope the 'Little Tikes' area we have replaced it with will be loved equally as much.

Another great stay at Tregongeeves

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great experience for all - the kids absolutely love it. From feeding the animals, collecting chicken eggs, looking after horses to trips to the beaches of the Roseland peninsula, coastal paths and standing stones on the moors. There's so much to do and if it rains a bit of sightseeing/shopping in Truro, a swim in the onsite indoor pool or just cozy up around the wood burning stove and watch a movie....and it's right next to St Austell golf club for a round or a bit of practice. 5 stars all round.

Robert from Cardiff stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in February 2016


Judith Clemo replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed helping with the animals.

Fabulous Family Getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my husband and my three children stayed in Donkey Mill from 21st-28th December. It was our first time at Tregongeeves and we had high expectations going by the reviews we had seen online. And we were not disappointed!
Upon arrival, the key was in the door, the heating was on and the christmas tree was twinkling. There were mince pies and a bottle of mulled wine, and in the fridge was milk, butter, clotted cream, eggs, sausages and bacon.
All of the bedrooms were roomy and comfortable, with plenty of storage space. There were plenty of towels in the bathrooms. There was a toy box for the children to play with and also plenty of board games and puzzles in the sideboard in the living room. We had bed guards, booster seats, a change mat, and a box of baby essentials. There was a highchair and travel cots too, although we didn't need these, it saves on what you need to take.
In the kitchen were all the utensils and cooking equipment you could need, along with tinfoil, cling film, tea towels, oven gloves, teabags, sugar, washing up liquid, cloths and scourers and dishwasher tablets!
All you really need to pack is clothes and food!
The facilities were fab and very clean. The pool was warm and had plenty of inflatables and toys for the children to use, there were also swim nappies and float vests in the changing rooms. The hot tub was lush, really warm and was on a 15 minute timer.
The Recreation Room had plenty to keep young and old entertained. There was pool, air hockey and table tennis. Also a big chest of toddler toys, ride on's and rocking horses. Puzzles and games, books, giant dominoes, and an easel with colouring pens.
We were right by the donkey field and my children loved feeding them carrots and also the shetland pony.
You are able to help Judith feed the animals too. She is great with the children and makes them feel at ease. We fed the chickens, pigs and Tom the horse.
Judith is a very warm host, she was able to recommend us plenty of places to visit locally and provides lots of information both in your accommodation and in the recreation room. Also Charmaine the housekeeper was a lovely lady and very chatty.
Everything about Tregongeeves is perfect from the accommodation to the facilities to the site it's on. It deserves more than 5 stars!
We had a fabulous holiday and we were very sad to leave and go back to normality. We will definitely be returning and are already looking into booking again for next christmas. This may become a family tradition for us.


Claire from Chatham stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in December 2015


Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time in 'Donkey mill' but have stayed at other cottages at Tregongeeves. The accommadation in all the cottages is excellent the facilities are great and our daughter loves helping out with the animals every morning. I would highly recommend Tregongeeves.

G from Southampton stayed at Donkey Mill for 3 nights in November 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind words, we really do appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that Rebecca enjoyed the interaction with the animals, she was a great help each morning.

A truly beautiful setting convenient for discovering the surrounding area of Cornwall

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Donkey Mill Cottage at Tregongeeves Farm for a short stay. We arrived to a very warm welcome of scones with jam and clotted cream together with milk and tea; also supplied were fresh eggs from the farm, bacon, sausages, a freshly baked loaf and Cornish butter to make a hearty breakfast the following day. The cottage itself is absolutely delightful, suitable for six persons including one bedroom with bunk beds. We had the main bedroom made up as a super-king (can also be a twin) that had an en suite bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, there was also another double room and a shared bathroom with shower. The downstairs had a lovely sitting & dinning area, with a galley style kitchen. All rooms were furnished to an excellent standard, with a personal touch to the soft furnishings. It was both homely and very comfortable.
The owners had provided all the little things required for your stay, including washing up liquid, dish washer tablets, washing up cloths, loo rolls and towels, even a bottle of olive oil to aid cooking the breakfast. The icing on the cake was the swimming pool and jacuzzi that we used after our busy days out exploring. There us also a recreation room with everything you could need including games and toys, a snooker table, books and DVD's. There is surrounding land with animals that visitors can help to feed as well as an outdoor tennis court. Everything was exactly as described on the website and more.
You will not be disappointed if you decide to book this accommodation, Judith and team go that extra mile to make your stay complete, Providing visitors information for the surrounding area and suggested places to eat nearby.
What more could you want, Tregongeeves is home from home, so if you have visited this site, don't hesitate, get your booking confirmed before it is snapped up by someone else.
We will definitely return.
Jan Shaw, Stockport, Cheshire.


Jan from Stockport stayed at Donkey Mill for 5 nights in September 2015


Judith replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for taking the time to leave your comments. Look forward to welcoming you again to Tregongeeves.

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Tregongeeves Farm. So many happy times staying at Donkey Mill. Judith, John and family do everything possible to make it a real home from home. Can't wait to stay again!

Virginia from Cambridge stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2015


ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC - AS USUAL!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay. We cannot thank Judith and family for such fantastic facilities. The kids loved the animals and feeding them each day, although they are now a bit reserved eating Chicken as they got so attached to them. The welcome pack, and little extras like dishwasher tablets and cling film help us busy mums..... something we don't think of packing!!! We visited many recommended places and can't wait to return next year. Thanks. Hugs and kisses to all the animals from the kids. x

Guest from High Wycombe stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in August 2015


Fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not fault our stay at Donkey Mill, brilliant cottage with excellent facilities. Hosts were fantastic very welcoming but not intrusive at all. We have four young children and they all loved staying here. We will be back most definitely . Ten out of ten. Thank you

Guest from Penrith stayed at Donkey Mill for 8 nights in June 2015


Excellent stay at Tregongeeves Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Tregongeeves Cottage. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the cottage was immaculately clean with excellent facilities.

from stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in May 2015


Wonderful cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Donkey Mill for a week with friends and had a wonderful holiday. This is our third time staying at these wonderful cottages, twice in hedgerows and this time in Donkey Mill. The cottages are so well equipped they are like a home from home. The location is perfect with so many places to visit on your doorstep and wonderful for families and couples. Judith and her family are so welcoming and we will definitely be returning for our 4th visit.

Guest from stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in May 2015


Fantastic break

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My children loved the views over the fields of the donkeys. An idyllic setting, warm welcome and Judith does everything possible to make your stay relaxing.

I from Wembley stayed at Donkey Mill for 3 nights in April 2015


Another year another great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again Tregongeeves Farm delivers - a lovely stay in a lovely part of the world. Great hospitality and the kids love it - they even went swimming (in the sea) in February! 5 stars

Guest from Cardiff stayed at Donkey Mill for 7 nights in February 2015