FB Twitter

Luss Cottage

Luss Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Luss Cottage is one of three cottages which are part of The Gardeners Cottages. The
cottage sleeps 2 persons. <br>
The cottage is situated in the wooded grounds of Arden House which is on the
shores of Loch Lomond. The row of Cottages is built along one side of a
magnificent Victorian walled garden which is available for the recreation of
guests.<br>
<br>
The cottage is well equipped with all that is needed for a comfortable stay and
wireless, broadband, Internet access is available for use by guests.</span><br style="mso-special-character: line-break;">

Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed three times previously. As usual everything excellent. Hosts available but unobtrusive. No problems.



Welcoming & fabulous location

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming & helpful.
Had a wonderful experience, great location as a base to travel around the highlands.
Highly recommend to family & friends.




A very special place

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We looked for a well located cottage for a short break around Loch Lomond and found a very special place in The Gardeners Cottages.
The location is perfect. Set back from the road it is quiet with lovely private gardens both front and rear of th3 property. A sort two minute walk takes one to the edge of the Loch. One morning we were treated to magical views as the swirling mist lifted and the boats emerged into the sunlight. Unforgettable.
From the cottage a short drive of just minutes takes one to restaurants both everyday and fine dining and ten minutes to Balloch with a nice farmers market on Sundays. Up the road is a small farm shop and tea rooms
Nearby Helensburgh has NT properties to visit. Short drive around the Loch to Balmaha with lovely walks up the hills or take a boat to the islands
The cottage itself was small but perfectly formed and ideal for a short break. On the same site larger cottages are available. All are well appointed and comfortable. The owners Avrial and Andy are the best hosts and ensure all is as it should be.
Strongly recommended.




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in this cute little cottage which was in a lovely location with beautiful gardens and superb facilities. Only negative was slight smell of damp in the bedroom.



luss stay

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very nice place to stay ,,, our cottage luss was great ,,, would stay again and would recommend it to others

thanks




Family Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all 3 cottages for family members to stay in while some of us took part in the Great Scottish swim and some spectated.



One week break in Luss Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent peacefull and quiet location for exploring the beautiful and scenic area around Loch Lomond and further afield.. The accommodation was excellent, the welcome from Andy and Averil warm and friendly and their advice on the local area made our visit to the area all the more enjoyable. The little book that they left in the cottage,( Loch Lomond and the Trossachs ) by Robert D Campbell, was a great source of historical information on the area. We would like to return some time in the future and would definately recommend these cottages to friends and family. Thank you Averil and Andy for your hospitality



A weekend on Loch Lomond

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gardener's cottage is an excellent B& B. We were particularly attracted to their Environmental policy which is fantastic!



Lovely cosy cottage.ideal for two as a base to explore the Loch Lomond area.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comprehensively furnished. Excellent quality. Superb hosts. Situated just off the main road. Lovely gardens to wander around. Neat,compact and perfectly formed.



Delightful cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was charming with a lovely outside garden space .I had a one bedroom cottage which was fine for one person. It is very well equipped and cosy The owners are friedly and helpful You can walk along paths to the lochside and get a ferry to Inchmurrin.It is midway on the west Lomond cycle path.I really enjoyed my stay



Sehr empfehlenswerte Location für Touren in das Umland

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir hatten während unserer Motorradtour durch Schottland zwei Nächte dort verbracht. Perfekt ausgestattet, sauber und liebevoll eingerichtet. Als Willkommen stand sogar ein frischer Strauß Blumen und Fudges auf dem Tisch. Den tollen Garten haben wir leider zu spät entdeckt. Andy ist ein äußerst freundlicher und angenehmer Gastgeber. Wir werden sehr gerne wiederkommen!!!



Perfect place and people .

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was delightful, close to Loch Lomond, with a lovely garden. The cottage was beautifully laid out, very comfortable and peaceful. Andy and Averil couldn't have been better as our hosts. Perfect place for a break.



Mini break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very quiet and private yet close to main roads north & south making a great base to explore. Loch Lomond a stones throw away.



Best stay of our Trip

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome was warm and the booked cottage was beautiful and perfectly prepared.
The Building is surrounded by a nice huge garden.




Weekend Break for 2

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found Gardner's Cottage on the internet it looked just what we wanted and indeed it did not disappoint! Location is excellent for access to all the main routes around Loch Lomand and very close to Luss village which has some excellent eating places! We were having a short break for some walking but didn't want to break the bank, whilst the living area in this one bedroom cottage wasn't too large it was very clean and comfy and suited us down to the ground. Andy was very helpful with information on the local amenity's and there was plenty of information in the cottage to assist us. This row of cottages in very well looked after in a beautiful setting close to the Loch. We would definitely recommend this place and we are looking to return again with friends and stay in one of the larger 2 bed roomed cottages they have.



Amazing Christmas Break

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have literally just left and could not wait to write a review for this amazing place. I stayed in Luss Cottage which was lovely and snug for a christmas retreat. The grounds were amazing and direct access to the loch for some wild swimming and canoeing on christmas day (wet suit needed!!!). Avril and Andy pop up out of nowhere when you need them and can't be seen or heard of when you want to imagine you have the whole place to yourself. Excellently stocked out and M&S only 7 miles down the road (even open on christmas day!). I have already booked my stay for next year.



Cosy country cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed in the Luss cottage. A cute, cosy cottage ideal for 2 persons or, as in our case, with a child. Situated on the banks of Loch Lomond and surrounded by a lovely walled garden. Not much else to do in Arden itself, so you will have to go to Luss or Balloch. Both very close though.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a few days here and it was the perfect base for exploring the area. The cottage is small but has everything you need and you can walk to the loch in just a couple of minutes. The owners were really welcoming and helpful in giving us ideas of what to see and do.



"A hidden gem"

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Luss cottage where we stayed is a lovely little cottage for two people. We absolutely loved staying there - it is a real gem - glad we found it! The cottage was immaculately clean with all the amenities one can think of. It is an extremely cosy cottage in a fantastic location yet hidden from the main street (though still easy to find). Very peaceful. It had a huge play area, a BBQ area, a recycling area and just a minute walk to the lake! The only downside is that the wi-fi sometimes doesnt work! But we were lucky as the Luss cottage seemed to have the strongest signal. Our neighbours from the next cottage had to come in front of our cottage to get the signal.
The cottage had a real character, the quality of furnishing is high - very comfortable; yet the price of the cottage is very reasonable. Jackie was really lovely and helpful. We LOVED staying there and can't wait to go back there again.
Thank you Andy and Avril.




Peace and quiet,great chill out.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great little cottage for some r and r,perfect for location,good for amenities,just great for doing nothing!,the loch views down the little hidden path along the river are amazing,like your own private beach.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gardeners Cottages are situated in a very peaceful location with a short private walk through woods to the small beach, yet they are just off the main road along Loch Lomond. You wouldn't know they were there but so convenient for exploring the area. There are plenty of local walks but also easy access to other areas by car. The cottages themselves are of a very high standard with more than the usual items provided - coffee machine, DVD player, ipod dock, to name but a few. The owners, Andy and Avril MacLeod, are excellent hosts and live in one of the cottages so are on hand should you need them. Avril provides the cottages with fresh flowers, milk, shortbread and fudge as a welcome gift. There is a communal laundry room which also houses a chest freezer, a library of books, DVDs and children's toys, cool boxes, disposable barbecues, all for the use of the holidaymakers. There is plenty of parking space too.



Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely tiny cottage with everything you need. Location great for driving to other locations both local and further a field. Cottage gardens beautiful and a pleasures to sit in.



Nothing short of perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location

Brilliant welcoming

Very cosy and intimate

No complaints at all. Highly recommend coming here for a romantic get away.

Loch lomond is stunning and if you are in to biking and hiking your will love it.





A quiet and comfortable retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE we're staying in the smallest of the cottages which was just the right size for a couple, thoughtfully kitted out so that everything needed was provided. The owners provided a warm welcome and were very helpful. The cottages are located in a quiet location and are the perfect place for a quiet retreat and as a base to explore Loch Lomond and the surrounding area.



More Perfect than Could have Hoped For

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet to stay - a home from home whilst at a friends wedding near by. When we arrived we were amazed and thrilled by what we saw. There is a little pathway off the cottage grounds with a burn, leading to a private beach. Just behind the garden is a walled garden with seating areas and everything you could think of and possibly need was in the cottage. We absolutely loved the eco-friendly and organic products used. We don't drive but there is a regular bus going to Balloch and Luss. However, the owners kindly went of of their way to offer us a lift down to the bus stance on the last day as did another member of staff when she saw us missing the bus the first day. Could not reccomend enough - More than excellent value for money and we'd love to go back.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avril and Andrew are very welcoming and helpful. The stay was just wonderful - great location and superb cottage. Can highly recommend. The brilliant weather we had during our stay was an added bonus.



Lovely time

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in the cottage. The owners are extremely friendly and their hospitality is excellent. They have the most beautiful garden in the back and offer the possibility for all sorts of additional serviced. So not forget tovisit the nearby Cameron House for great views over Loch Lomond and have a nice glass of wine in the boathouse..



home Visiting from Florida

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times on our visit back to our home land , from here you can visit most of central Scotland in one day
To Glasgow , Edinburgh from Balloch or Helensburgh. Glen Coe is also about 1hou away by car.




jones/luss cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Luss Cottage for 6 weeks while our house was being renovated.
The Welcome and service provided by Avril and Andrew McLeod was excellent and a great example of how Holiday services shhould be provided.




A real home from home!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really can not rate this place high enough! Avril and Andy were just so lovely and welcoming hosts. The cottage (Lomond) was so beautiful i was really taken back! Me and my partner stayed here for my Birthday weekend and there was no where better we could of possibly stayed. Close by to all the picturesque places we wanted to see and the cottage had everything we needed.

Avril certainly has a very special way of doing things and all the little touches certainly do not go unnoticed! Fresh flowers, high quality tea and coffee, EVERY item in the kitchen you would need and overall exceptionally keen and beautifully fitted out. We will certainly be back and are already looking forward to our next trip to the lochs! Thank you both! Ben and Sam





Warm welcome

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our welcome at Luss cottage was as warm as its athmosphere. Avril and Andy are really nice people and made our stay comfortable with their helpfulness.



Made very welcome.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage warm and very comfortable. It was ideal for our needs which was to attend the NVA Hinterland event at Cardross. We were able to store bikes in the garden. Between Helensburgh and Balloch we had loads of choices for shopping and eating places



Review

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very nice set of cottages in an ideal location for both the Loch's, Glasgow and the coastal region. Simple, warm and clean; we will definitely look to return.



The Perfect Get away!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Avril & Andy

Take pride in their hospitally and level of service, it is apparent in how the cottage was presented when we first walked in.

We love every second spent at the cottage and we couldn't recommend it more. It was incredibly cosy and perfect for me and my wife on our first wedding anniversary.

All the Best and looking forward to returning to the cottages in the near future

Regards
Eric & Lea




Our stay in Luse cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Luss cottage for a half term break. It is close to Loch Lomond and lots of other great places. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The cottage was cosy and provided a good base for us to explore the local area.
We travelled to Glasgow to the Hydro centre for the world gymnastics champion ships on the Saturday and this was not too far to get to from the cottage. All in all, a great stay.




Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luss cottage was very comfortable and the owners had thought of everything anyone would ever need when staying there. We will certainly consider staying here again if we're in the area and will recommend The Gardeners Cottages to friends and family.



Luss cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A small, cosy gardener's cottage on the Arden Estate. It was convenient to lots of sights if you had a car. We can recommend the Loch Lomond cruise from Balloch. The train to Glasgow during the week ( a reasonable fare) is ideal as there is no hassle with parking...otherwise, on Sundays, parking is free in a lot of city areas and half price in parking lots.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in a lovely location with plenty to do round and about. The gardens were beautiful. Although the cottage is small it is lovely and cosy for 2 people and everything you can expect was provided along with lots of extra personal touches like fresh flowers, milk and shortbread!!! The only thing we thought was the chairs were uncomfortable and would have preferred a small sofa or more comfortable chairs. Avril and Andy were full of local knowledge helping us plan visits etc, lovely people. We look forward to staying at the cottages again soon, in one of the larger cottages as we will be bringing the children.
Overall a great place and can't wait to stay again.




Amazing, 10/10

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Massive Thank You to Avril & Andy for the exellent stay.
Myself & my girlfriend arrived for a 2 nights stay and were met by both the owners to show us around, Very welcomming.
Luss cottage was perfect, Had everything you need.
Location was perfect as we wanted to be close to duck bay restuarant & balloch was only a short drive away for anything else needed.

Would recommend this to anyone, Thanks again.




Brilliant stay, full of really nice touches and everything you could possibly need- well done!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic two night stay for a friend's wedding at Cameron House. We were very pleased with all of the facilities on offer- this would make a fantastic break in summer with the BBQ and other facilities in the garden area. The cottage was very comfortable and Andy & Avril were brilliant. Thoroughly recommended.



100

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were greeted by avril and andy who showed us around the cottage , very helpful and friendly , the cottage had everything we need and was very comfortable and clean , in all the facillities were excellent , there were guide books and a visitors comment book that helped us enormously getting around and recommending restaurants . We would have no hesitation in staying again or recommending gardeners cottages to friends and family . Thank you so much for a very pleasant break



Beautiful Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent only two days in Arden. We had the Luss accommodation (2 persons). What a surprise it was. The warm and friendly welcome of Avril and Andy. Wonderful hosts. The Luss cottage is small but very cosy. Everything you need is available. And the garden awesome. A perfect place to stay for a short break or longer. We'll be back!!



Nice stay but missed my dog

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I had a lovely time marred only by the fact that no pets are allowed. We would've happily paid extra to be able to bring our dog but I do appreciate some pets could be problematic.2-person cottage was much smaller than it appeared in the photos, but extremely well equipped, very clean and comfortable - although a little open fire or wood burner would've been really cosy. The setting was lovely but the weather prevented us from taking advantage of the walled garden and BBQ etc. The location is a great base for the surrounding area and shops available a few minutes away in Balloch. All in all an enjoyable and comfortable stay but would've stayed much longer had we been able to bring our dog which had to be put into boarding kennels. Didn't get the opportunity to meet Andy and Avril as they were on holiday.



Very pleasant family break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here as family group occupying the three cottages.We all really enjoyed our five days.Everything we needed and it was ideal having the walled garden and the big grassed area for playing games with the children.Being so close to lochside was lovely to Lady who was looking after property while owners were on holiday was welcoming and helpful.



The Gardeners Cottages at Arden Estates.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ellen & I had a marvellous four day break at the Gardeners Cottages in Arden. The views & atmosphere was second to none. We were in Luss Cottage a really comfortable cottage in every respect, it contained everything we could possibly need. We were sorry to have missed Avril & Andy who were away at the time. However, we were catered for by Jackie who was a wonderful hostess, she did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. To say we had an exceptionally great stay would be putting it mildly. Would we return? You bet we will. We now consider it to be our wee But n Ben.



Very enjoyable stay in a very comfortable and pretty cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Luss Cottage as part of a Wedding Party. Really enjoyed our stay in a beautiful cottage in a lovely setting.
Hopefully will return for another stay soon.




Gardener's Cottages - Luss

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Small but perfectly formed cottage! Thoughtfully equipped with everything necessary for our stay, including the addition of a cot and highchair at our request. Brilliant resources in the laundry room, including maps and guides, magazines, bbq's and an honesty bottle shop. Ecologically minded with recycling and food recycling encouraged, and lovely natural toiletries provided. Wonderfully relaxing!



Nice stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A nice little cottage in a peaceful setting. Great to go and explore the park and do some walks. The cottage was very complete. Outside there was a laundry room with provides much more than just room to do your laundry :-) It contained a lot of information and also stuff to borrow like a coolbox or a picknick-basket. Behind the cottages lays a wonderful huge garden with you can use to walk, sit or even barbecue at. We enjoyed our stay very much.



Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were visiting Scotland for a very special reason and couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. The owners were so accommodating and did everything they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The cottage itself is very cleverly designed to provide everything you need in a small space!

We'd definitely visit again.

Thank you, Keren and mark




Magnificent surroundings in an ideally located cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully thoughtful layout and design of a beautifully restored gardeners' cottage. The walled garden was an unexpected bonus and is out of this world.



The review of Loch Lomond garden cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Andy and Avril are the most friendly hosts you can ever imagine. They guide us so well that we found the cottage without getting lost , also Andy and Avril left some lovely fresh flowers and biscuits in the cottage that made us felt so welcome. The cottage itself is very cosy and has everything we need. There's a lovely garden that open to the customer. Anyway we really enjoyed our stay there.



Good things can come in small packages.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is compact but very cosy, well fitted and in a great location.
The owners who live nearby are the perfect hosts and make you very welcome.
We had a very wet and cold week but Luss cottage was such a nice place to return to.
If in doubt,book it.




Cozy and quaint

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Compact and perfectly kitted out to meet our needs. We especially appreciated the small touches such as the fluffy towels, sweet smelling handwash (my thing!) and a choice of coffee makers. It really was a lovely base from which to explore the gorgeous scenery round about. Thank you to the owners for helping to make our wee break so relaxing.



Fantastic, peaceful location, a hidden gem! Highly recommend accommodation, a great base to explore.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to the region of Loch Lomond and the accommodation was a fantastic base to explore the Loch and attractions. Very friendly welcome on arrival to the cottage which was clean tidy and offered everything required for our stay. A quiet location with beautiful grounds. The owners were very nice and gave great advice with regards to local attractions and places to visit. On the list to visit again - I would highly recommend.



Perfect cottage stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 days in this beautifully cosy cottage and loved every minute of it. Ideally located in beautiful wall gardens with wild rabbits hopping around all day, and a short walk to the waters edge. The cottage is petite but had everything we could possibly need, very well thought out layout and contents. The bed was the most comfortable bed we've stayed in for some time, and the linen of the finest quality. Fresh flowers, milk and tea and shortbread and tablet were lovely added touches. Also the board games and DVD collection in the laundry room is quite impressive! Could not recommend this place enough, lovely helpful owners too.



Wedding Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived on a Friday night and were pleasantly surprised by the cottage. Tasteful decor, perfect surroundings and complimentary milk, shortbread, tablet and tea bags. Cottage had everything required and had a very homely feel. Cleanliness was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed stay. Wished we had more time to explore the garden grounds as looked amazing.

Would definitely recommend, especially for weddings at the Cruin as it is a short walk back.




Couple with baby

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time here. Very cosy, with nice touches, fresh flowers, delicious fudge and shortbread. It was very well stocked. We would defiantly recommend this to others.



Luss Cottage one of the Gardeners cottages at Arden

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at Luss Cottage last week April 2015. We were met with a warm welcome by our hosts Avril and Andy. Avril had fresh flowers tea coffee milk and shortbread waiting for us in the candlelit cottage making it very homely. Avril also made up a breakfast tray for us including eggs cereal and bread. Our plane was delayed which resulted in us arriving in the dark and not having time to get any supplies so we thought this was a lovely gesture. Andy was also very helpful nothing was too much trouble. The cottage is very small but very well equipped without being cluttered. It is warm and cosy. The cottage is in a good position for exploring Loch Lomond and the surrounding area.



perfect place for perfect break

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is perfect this elegant row of cottages wonderfully looked after by Avril and Andy. Quiet and discrete with parking before the cottage each cottage is well prepared for self catering with nice touches not forgetting the garden and walking opportunity to the loch and various eating places on the loch. Easy to drive to other loch Lomond areas and the towns of helensburgh and balloch. Stifling is around 40 minutes. Perfect for all occasions and with such great hosts you cannot go wrong. We will be back yet again....



Superb, charming, comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Luss for a short weekend break of two nights, and when time came to leave we were very sad to say goodbye. The whole trip was made lovely by the consideration of our fabulous hosts and other staff at the Gardener's Cottages. We were not only impressed but touched by little things such as shortbread, tablet, and milk in the fridge. There is absolutely nothing we would have changed, it was a real treat and we very much look forward to coming back. We shall be bringing our families too, as it is the type of place we think they would also really love! Overall, a magnificent place. Thank you so much for such a wonderful stay.



Luss Cottage is an absoulte gem of a place!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luss Cottage is a beautiful place to stay. We know the area well and had stayed on the estate before, but not as guests of Avril and Andy's. These lovely people think of everything to ensure you have a wonderful stay - the welcome shortbread and flowers were both really nice touches. The tablet to take home was kind and thoughtful too! The cottage is warm, very cosy and beautifully furnished and completely suited our needs for a short stay meeting up with friends and family. Just sorry we had to dash off on the morning of our departure so that we didn't have a chance to tell Avril and Andy what a great stay we had - however, we'll be back.

Fran and Robert x




Relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed in the Luss cottage for 3 nights, on arrival we were met by Avril & Andy who welcomed us into their home, until our cottage was ready. When we went into the Luss cottage we were met with freshly picked snowdrops, milk, tea, coffe & sugar. Unlike other Self catering holidays we've stayed at everything was provided from kitchen roll to a bottle opener! We loved how peaceful it was and how non intrusive Avril and Andy were if we needed anything they were more than happy to help otherwise they let us enjoy the little time we had together. The garden is beautiful with pheasants, rabbits and a variety of birds that can be seen daily and the private beach you could spend most of the day there skimming stones and watching the boats sail by! This place is an absolute treasure. This is the place to spend your pink pound! :) Thank you again Avril and Andy we will return with our daughter very soon!



Andy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify that the nearby 'private' beach does not belong to The Gardeners Cottages.

review of Linnhe cottage NOT Luss cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Feb 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were offered the oportunity to upgrade to Linnhe cottage, which we gratefully did (Luss looks very tiny when looking through the window, but we didn't go in). The owners were very welcoming and stressed they were available at any time to help with quetions/queries. A lovely cottage, just right for 2 or 3, maybe a little too cosy for 4(?).Lots of pine & tartan, which made the cottage very cosy & homely. Kitchen well stocked and plenty of armchairs/sofas to sit on. A really comfy bed. Very peaceful location - can walk to Balloch (initially along fairly bus road (with footpath) but after a while follows old A road & then through grounds of a hotel complex. Walled garden very well looked after & would be lovely to spend time there in summer. A nice base for the area but if you want to walk you either have to do a little road-work initially or drive short distances. We had lovely trips out (Aquarium at Balloch shores great on a wet day), Balloch shores very good quality shops & cafe. Took a trip on west highland railway fro Tarbet to Oban 25 min drive to Tarbet) - note if you purchase your tickets from tourist information in Balloch you receive a discount. Lots of books & dvds' to borrow from owners - separate room near cottages has these, plus washing machine, dryeer, etc.
A lovely cosy relaxing stay.




Lovely Little Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Feb 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage, good value and great location. The grounds are fantastic.
Avril and Andy are such lovely hosts.
Only request would be more comfortable sofas.